We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Management got it right” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana to your Saves list
Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Cabeza de Toro - Provincia La Altagracia, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 99 Hotels in Punta Cana
GreenLeadersSilver level
Kansas City, Missouri
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Management got it right”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Recently stayed for a wedding and they did an excellent job organizing the event for the bride and groom. Their customer service was excellent.

It is hard to expect everything at every hotel to be perfect. Mistakes can happen and its important to know that a resort's management is willing to fix the problem. After a recent stay with some minor hiccups, all was made better by Pedro T. and Katlin K. These two became aware of my issues and got everything fixed without question. It is nice to be treated like a friend and not just a number in a room.

The restaurants are excellent and unlike most resorts, they take reservations and it isn't impossible to get into. With our large group, they allowed us to walk up and put our name on the list and gave us a buzzer. While the ladies were getting ready, us men would head to the bar and get a few drinks. By the time the ladies arrived, we would have one more drink and our table would be ready. Nice that the reservation restaurants allow walk-ins.

Other tips:
-My Verizon iPhone with a global plan worked perfectly. Even could steam my favorite baseball games on it
- 30 Dollars each way from the airport to the hotel
- Large resort and even at full capacity, we were still able to find chairs halfway through the day
- Did the excursion out to the "hut" a mile of so off the shore for about 120 each. This was fun to swim with sharks and devil rays. Enjoyed the 3-4 hours out there.

Room Tip: Upgrade to the preferred club with views of the ocean. Rooms are WAY better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,446 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,010
    1,491
    595
    216
    134
See reviews for
2,430
2,532
60
55
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,655)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
hartford,maine
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Just got back from the Dreams Palm Beach in Punta Cana Dominican Republic EXCELLENTE!!!!!!!!!!!! Chris (big Papi) & Betsy,
We, Chris (big Papi) & Betsy, upgraded to the Preferred Club & had the most amazing time we had so much fun & really enjoyed celebrating our 10th anniversary that we didn’t want to leave & I cried when we were leaving because I had to say good bye to our new family . We hung out at our cabana on the beach every day & were waited on by the staff who were amazing no matter who you came into contact with. We want to send out a special THANK YOU to our extended family there; Vangie & Alexandra who made our stay personal & special, & making us feel like her favorite guests, along with the entire preferred club girls. Thanks to Ray, Felix & the entire staff at the Sea Side Grill who took care of us. To Wilkin who made our anniversary dinner at Portofino so special. Jenny who made me so relax at the spa I almost fell asleep & Roseanna for making our room nice, along with Angel, Joel & Juan taking care of us on the beach, the entertainment team Cuchy & Rankin who got us to play games & the Spanish lesson I got (I will practice). A very special THANK YOU to German we will miss you very much, you took such GREAT care of us & went beyond that, you are an asset & we can’t wait to see you again when we come back

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management-Palmbeach, Public Relations Manager at Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Please receive the warmest greetings from Dreams Palm Beach. We feel so honored to have been chosen by you for this past vacation as your home away from home in Punta Cana. Thank you for taking a moment of your precious time to share your experiences with others through this forum, as this helps others know what to expect when vacationing with us.

We are thrilled to read that we were able to take good care of you, and that we managed to make this trip a very special one for you.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you home and make the next stay even more special. See you really soon!

Kindest regards,

Vangie Severino
Management Assistant
Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana
Cabeza de Toro, La Altagracia Dominican Republic
Tel:(809)552-6000 Ext. 1606
operaciones.drepb@dreamsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fall River, Massachusetts
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

The overall vacation experience was great, staff was extraordinary and the friendliest I have seen. The room however had some issues; the glass rail in the patio was loose and a major safety issue for my children , the fridge did not work and neither did the DVD player. All 3 of these issues were addressed but I would not recommend unpacking until you are sure the room is appropriately checked, the A/C in the room was poor and if you have children do not stay in the third floor.
The entire staff will go above and beyond, especially Wilkins and Frances from the Portofino restaurant and Christian from the main lobby bar, Thank you for the great service.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuckerton, NJ
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

We just returned from Dreams Palm Beach, being there the week of April 29th. This was our first time at this resort, but we had previously spent a week at Dreams Punta Cana.
We found this hotel to be just as excellent as the other Dreams resort. It's a nice size, @530 rooms. Not too big like some other resorts we've stayed at. The place is immaculate, the staff could not be more friendly and accommodating, and the food is beyond excellent. We were also fortunate, in that the weather was very cooperative. Since May has been said to be the "rainy" month, we escaped with two occasions of rain, both during the night.
From a personal preference standpoint, the beach was somewhat less than desirable. Since we are both slightly older, late 60's, we found the beach to be difficult walking. In four previous visits to Punta Cana, each at a different resort, the beaches at each and every one of those resorts invited unlimited walking; flat, wide beaches with no obstructions or hindrances. The beach here at Dreams Palm Beach is considerably more narrow and quite obviously experiencing severe beach erosion, evidenced by the dead palm trees 15-20 feet out in the water. And walking in a southeast direction, you soon encounter a wall which you have to circumnavigate by walking a block down a street before regaining the beach.
Before leaving for our trip, I had requested a room NOT on the ground floor. We were put on the third floor, overlooking the pool. Great room, nice view, and I was told it would be quiet. Not quite. There was music every evening, lasting usually til 10:30-11:00 P.M. Right at the pool! Not exactly my idea of quiet.
Each of the the restaurants where we ate were absolutely first rate, excellent. Food was fabulous, wait staff beyond reproach, fantastic service, friendly, accommodating, any superlative you can think of; especially, for us, the French restaurant, Bordeaux. Our favorite, and was at the other Dreams as well. We ate at this Bordeaux 3 times out of the 7 nights. Can't say enough about the staff, especially the manager, Prefecto. We usually had the surf & turf; the filet could be cut with a fork! We also ate 2 nights at the Seaside Grille. Equally good, with a nice view overlooking the ocean. One night we ate at the Japanese restaurant. Also excellent, with a lot of food, great presentation by the chef. The 7th night was on the beach, hosted by Apple Vacations. Lobster, steak, you name it. Outstanding!.
Bottom line? Would I go back to this resort? Probably not, but only, and I stress only because of our perception of the beach. The resort itself is beautiful as I previously stated. One other thing I would point out is the "credits" we received as part of the package. We got $400.00 in credits to be used at the hotel for various services. We obviously did not understand completely how these credits could be used. We assume that we could each get a nice massage "for free". Not so. Turns out you could only deduct $40.00 from a massage. A 50-minute Swedish massage costs $124.00, so it would still cost us $84.00 each. All of the $200.00/person credit was broken down in varying amounts for various services; $10.00 off wine, $20.00 off a romantic dinner, so much off for facials, etc. I would not call this a rip-off, but I do think it's somewhat misleading, or a come-on, when you read the ads.
Be careful also of some of the additional excursions. We booked the excursion to Saona Island. The destination, Saona Island is remarkably beautiful, but the getting there is somewhat taxing. Again, for people of our age. For younger people, no issue, I'm sure. We were picked up at the hotel lobby in a mini van, drove 10 minutes onto the highway, and pulled over. The driver spoke no English, so we had no idea what was going on. Turns out, we waited there for almost a half hour for a larger bus with passengers from other hotels. Then onto Bayahibe to get the boat. We went out on a speedboat, stopping to see the starfish in shallow water along the way. Very nice. On to Saona Island, where we spent roughly 3 hours. Lunch was - not memorable. Coming back, we took the catamaran. But one got on the speedboat first to get to the catamaran. Once back at Bayahibe, we had to transfer back to the speedboat to get to the beach. For us, that's the snag; all the climbing from boat to boat. Not a problem for younger people, but a bit of an issue for us.
The overall trip to Punta Cana was absolutely wonderful, as it has been the previous 4 times, and we look forward to going back again. And a real good chance it will be to a Dreams resort again.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the pool area are quieter. If you don't care for steps, ask for ground or second...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Canada
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Just got back from this resort, went for a friends wedding and had an amazing time!!! The staff were very friendly, from Juan the best bartender ever, Johnathan the pool waiter, Felix the waiter at the steakhouse, Freddie #1 who makes the best chicken ever to the guy who made my omelete every morning and knew what I wanted before I even told him, oh and George who knew to bring me two lemonades first thing in the morning at the buffett :) The food was great the rooms were spacious and clean and the staff were extremely friendly, would definitely go back in a heart beat!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

I just arrived home from a wedding at Dreams Palm Beach, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic. It is only 20 minutes from the airport. First of all, I would totally recommend having a wedding there. It was gorgeous and little to no stress. This was my first trip down south and the resort was amazing. The staff and locals were over the top, we couldn't ask for any better. There was a very wide variety of food. There were 4 different Restaurants, French, Italian, Japanese and Chinese in the one and Mexican. There is a coffee shop there as well as the World Cafe which is where me and my family ate mostly. There was so many different types of food there. It was perfect because you get to try all sorts of different dishes. I would also recommend parasailing, it is very safe and you are lifted off and land just as light as a feather. There are two gift shops, and a photo kiosk where they bring in some animals from the zoo on certain days, like a tiny monkey, parrots, iguanas and a few others. I thought that was a really neat part of the resort. I would definitely return to this resort and recommend it to anyone who is planning on taking a trip there.

Room Tip: I would try to get a room that isn't on the first floor due to the easy entry of bugs and little...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norridge, Illinois, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

We LOVED our stay at Dream Palm Beach! We were well taken care of, treated like royalty but also like we were part of a huge family! A HUGE shout-out to Yuli and Daniel and James Bond 007 for entertaining us, looking out for us, making us feel SPECIAL!!!!!!!! We were a roudy group because we were having SUCH A GREAT TIME and they took FABULOUS care of us!!!
The food was enjoyable, something new to try everyday! We had some minor issues with our rooms (safe not working, clock radio broken, plumbing problems in 2 rooms) and the staff handled it in a timely manner. There were several different things to do all day and they worked hard to get people involved. We would definitley go back...if they would have us!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana

Address: Cabeza de Toro - Provincia La Altagracia, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#15 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#21 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#29 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana 4*
Number of rooms: 500
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facing the Caribbean Sea, white sand beach and lush gardens, Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana boasts 500 spacious rooms and ample suites surrounded by swaying palm trees and views of endless blue waters stretching to the horizon - the perfect setting in paradise. Take advantage of all the unlimited luxury activities Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana has to offer. Swim, sail, snorkel or windsurf in the turquoise Caribbean, enjoy fine a-la-cart dining, sip favorite cocktails at one of our bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, HotelTravel.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana Hotel Punta Cana
Occidental Punta Cana
Occidental Allegro Punta Cana
Punta Cana Occidental
Sunscape Punta Cana
Punta Cana Dreams Palm Beach
Punta Cana Allegro

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.