We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The staff were friendly ad helpful” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana

Save Saved
You added Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Cabeza de Toro - Provincia La Altagracia, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Nights!
Ranked #23 of 100 Hotels in Punta Cana
Mountville, PA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The staff were friendly ad helpful”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Dreams PB was great, except for the rooms and bathrooms. Bathrooms were outdated and need to be updated. Rooms could have been cleaner. There is no elevator, so if you don't want to do flights of stairs, try to get one on the first floor.

Room Tip: There are no elevators, so if you don't want to go up and down stairs, try to get a first floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management-Palmbeach, Public Relations Manager at Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Dreams Palm Beach. Thank you for having chosen us to spend this past vacation and for taking the time to send along your feedbacks in regards to your stay. It is quite a shame we were not able to fully fulfill your expectations, as we are all about pleasing our guests and making sure they are happy and feeling right at home.

We apologize rooms were not to your standards, however one thing we can assure you of, is that they are always maintained spotless, according to international standards we have been awarded for in various occasions. We also have supervisors in charge of making sure that every room is ready for the new arrivals.

Nevertheless we thank you for highlighting how friendly and helpful our staff is. They work very hard, with a smile on their face making sure our guests are always happy and having a great vacation.

We hope to have the chance of being able to welcome you to our resort again in the future and be able to show you what the real Dreams experience is all about.

Best regards,

Vangie Severino
Management Assistant
Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana
Cabeza de Toro, La Altagracia Dominican Republic
Tel:(809)552-6000 Ext. 1719
operaciones.drepb@dreamsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,509 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,365
    1,287
    536
    200
    121
See reviews for
2,084
2,173
48
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,285)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Before we go anywherer on holiday my wife and I always review what others say on this site to help with making our decision in regards to resort and hotel choices. There will always be an element of reviews where things happen or do not met expectations, that is inevitable (everyone has different tastes!) but we always ensure a hotel has more positive than negative reviews. In Dreams Palm Beach where 85% rate it 4 or 5 they can't all be wrong!

With our experience we can genuinely say that we had a great time and will look forward to going back in the near future. The only reason we did not give this 5 out of 5 was more to do with mosquitoes rather than the resort itself plus the room which needs a little modernisation.

Good points:
Staff - Greatest asset, all work hard to ensure everyone has a good time and to handle any problems that arise.
Food - Excellent choice, hard to go hungry although we did not use the a la carte restaurant's apart from the Mexican which was okay.
Beach grill - Best burgers I have seen on a holiday, plus great hotdogs or even chilli with nachos all afternoon!!!
Pools - 3 pools (one for preferred guests) no problem going for a swim.
Layout - nice to walk around after your evening meal.
Seaside Grill - Best Restaurant in our opinion with view over the ocean and great steaks as well.
Easy to get a sunbed
Sandro - Our First Choice Rep, best Rep we have ever dealt with.
Drinks - Champagne and Chi Chi Kapapuka(?) - need to try this from the Seaside Grill Bar.

Not so good points:
Room - (5210) Clean but basic, for a preferred club room needs modernising especially the shower.
Restaurants - queuing for these but as we did not use them it became less of an issue
Mini Bar in Room - No optics or spirits (not really a problem when drinks are widely available til late)
Hard to get a sunbed in cooler areas without re-arranging the place.
Lounge Bar - Hard to find a cool spot in the evenings.

Bad Points:
Mosquitoes - Wife bitten several times and had a bad reaction. Thanks to Sandro, our First Choice Rep, he provided creams and even assisted us in getting some strong steroid cream from the on site shop (it was expensive though!!!!)

Rude guests - we like to treat staff as humans and talk to them in a polite manner, why can't other guests show them respect, they are working hard for us after all!

Other Details:
Entertainment - we did not see much but we saw Jeerk and they were brilliant a must see for anyone. Magician okay but did not see much more so cannot comment on these.
Pool areas wtih excellent service. Special mention to Angel and Jose who served us so well in the Preferred Club Pool and Beach areas, keeping us well refreshed.

George and Joel, did their best in the other pool areas. Cannot forget Milton, was a face that kept popping up, first in the nightclub, then in the Sugar Reef Bar and the World Buffet, always a great smile and lovely person. Reynaldo in the World Buffet was one of the nicest waiters you could wish to meet, always ready to assist.

Our favourite restaurant was the Seaside Grill, where Ray and Christina always provided great service. Cannot forget Elvis and Victor from the bar here which provided the bulk of our Chi Chi cocktails (tasted different from other bars).

We were fortunate to meet the General Manager, Pedro, who gave us a brief history lesson on the Domincan Republic Independence Day. We bumped into himon several occasions and always took the time to speak to us and showed a genuine concern in my wife's condition (mozzie bites) and asked if there was anything he could do to help.

Finally we need to mention the girls in preferred club, from Eunice and Yeraldin who served us drinks to the faces of the preferred club - Kary, Mailena, Julia and Kenia who were always happy and smiling and always asking if everything was okay and wanted to make sure that our experience there was as good as it could be.

To conclude we also met many people on this trip as it was a friendly place to be, Noticeably Mitch who was on his 4th or 5th trip to this resort. I have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to anyone and we are already planning our next trip for next year.

PS - Weather fantastic - a little rain but usually overnight or early morning so not an issue (except for our last day!)

Room Tip: Upgrade to preferred club but try to choose building 3 or 4 plus with pool or ocean view. Not Block...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, Ohio, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We stayed here 2/11/13 - 2/16/13, it was such a great experience. From the very beginning the resort staff was ready help in any way. Our rooms were always clean, the food was very good, plus there where different variety of food style at each restaurant. We were 2 doors away from the preferred office with bar, and everyone there went above and beyond to assist us with anything we needed. We had an issue with using a calling card with room phone and the 2 ladies in prefered office went above and beyond to help us out, in return they cut our bill in half. Customer service was awesome. The bartenders were wonderful. There was seaweed on the beaches ( to be expected in that region) but the staff was on top of it all day. The bartenders where awesome, especially the ones by the pool, if they didn't know your drink they would try to make it anyway. I could go on and on with many great things to say about this resort. We are already planning a family trip for next year!!!! Thank you again Dreams Palm Resort staff!!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management-Palmbeach, Public Relations Manager at Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana. We thank you for having chosen our property for your trip and we are honored that you have taken the time to share your experience with other reviewers as so many of our future client´s will have an idea of the special moments they will experience with us. This shows us that we are on the right path to fulfill all our clients´ expectations and needs.

We are glad that you enjoyed the Preferred Club, the rooms, the food and more. We are proud of our hard working employees, because they show the true Dominican spirit, charisma and service.

We hope that you plan your next family trip with us. We are ready to make your next vacation even better. See you next year!

Regards,

Vangie Severino
Management Assistant
Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana
Cabeza de Toro, La Altagracia Dominican Republic
Tel:(809)552-6000 Ext. 1719
operaciones.drepb@dreamsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Read many reviews on this resort and after booking it started to wonder if we had done the right thing. But having been at a Dreams Resort in Tulum I just couldnt believe some of the reviews I had read. We went and stayed with 4 friends for a week March 6-13th. The resort was very very nice. The property itself was immaculate and the grounds were beautiful. The food was outstanding. We especially enjoyed the Seaside and Mediterranean Restaurants.We did not upgrade to a preferred section and did not think anything could have been better as far as the service went. This is a family friendly resort and not having children we were a little leery but the resort had so many programs to keep the children Happy you barely noticed they were there. Yes there is seaweed on the beach but you are on an island in the middle of the Caribbean so why wouldnt you expect that! The staff did rake the seaweed up every day and having walked the beach for miles I can tell you the Dreams property was immaculate compared to some we walked past.I would like to commend the manager on his oputstanding staff. Everyone from the groundskeepers to the restaurant staff were wonderful. We enjoyed our entire week and would definitely say GO if you are thinking about booking this resort.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 3rd floor in building1. Although this was the farthest from the beach it was very c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management-Palmbeach, Public Relations Manager at Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Please receive the warmest greetings from Dreams Palm Beach. We are so glad that regardless of the comments you read you still went forward to come and decided to make up your own mind based on your own experiences in our resort. Thank you so much for contributing by sharing your experience with other reviewers.

We appreciate your compliments in regards to our hotel grounds, restaurants, activities, Preferred Club and our staff. It is truly rewarding to learn that we have managed to make one more guest happy and eager to return as this is one of our main goals.

On Behalf of Mr. Pedro Tomas and the Dreams staff, we would like to say that it was such a pleasure to have served you. Remember that you have a home away from home here in the Dominican Republic, for whenever you feel like visiting and vacationing. Hope to be able to welcome you soon.

Best regards,

Vangie Severino
Management Assistant
Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana
Cabeza de Toro, La Altagracia Dominican Republic
Tel:(809)552-6000 Ext. 1719
operaciones.drepb@dreamsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We arrived at the resort a bit jet lagged as the flight was delayed, we were expecting a welcome drink and a cool towel, however that did not happen I can only assume it was because of the delay, check in was smooth and we were taken to our room, although the room was clean and fresh we were not happy with its location as we were behind the world cafe and there were noisy trollies being pushed along a small pathway all hours of the day and night. 1st thing the next morning I decided to take this up with our rep who immediately took me to the front desk and demanded a change of room for us, we were taken to a new room above the pool area, it was great and from then on the whole holiday went like a DREAM the staff were polite and friendly and always smiling, nothing was too much trouble, the pools were clean and there was not too much trouble finding a couple of beds around the pool, the beach was heaven with white soft sand although the beds felt like they were overdue a change as they were not very comfortable the headrest would not stay in place as they were worn, and because you sort of sank into the stretched fabric it was a major task getting back out of the bed, the sea was fab, nice and warm there was a bit of seaweed however it was continually cleaned away each day, the vendors were not too much of a problem a quick no thanks and they were on their way smiling. The restaurants were great we never had to wait at all, we used to arrive around 7pm and walk straight in and the food was fab try the skirt steak (yummy) the Japanese section was fun and very tasty, the drinks were OK I used to ask for the bottled lager at the reception bar. The mini bar in our room was always stocked each day also turning down the bed each night was a nice touch, to conclude we would not hesitate in recommending Dreams Palm Beach and hopefully we will go back.

Room Tip: higher rooms are much quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We were at dreams Pb over thanksgiving with several families. We were the only ones to upgrade and even still appreciated the amenities. The breakfast and lunch were a great upgrade and I enjoyed the private pool on a few occasions. It even was special for check in and out.

Overall as a group our service was phenomenal, especially thanks to Simon who took great care of us every day and evening.

The entertainment staff was fun, from aqua aerobics to family events to the beach party and evening shows.

Food and drink were ok, but you can't expect gourmet in an all inclusive.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management-Palmbeach, Public Relations Manager at Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Please receive the warmest greetings from Dreams Palm Beach. First of all we would like to thank you for having chosen us as your vacation destination in Punta Cana and secondly for sharing such positive comments with other reviewers.

We are overjoyed to read that you enjoyed all the extra services and amenities the Preferred Club has to offer. We are glad our entertainment team stood out and it is very flattering you found them phenomenal.

It was a pleasure to have served you and most importantly that you enjoyed your vacation. We would love to have you here and vacation some more with us in the near future.

Warm regards,

Vangie Severino
Management Assistant
Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana
Cabeza de Toro, La Altagracia Dominican Republic
Tel:(809)552-6000 Ext. 1719
operaciones.drepb@dreamsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I was at the Dreams Palm Beach this past November with my family. We had a pretty good time. Lots of families. Probably not the place to go if you are looking for romantic seclusion. Their is variety in food. But, the quality of food is average. The rooms are well appointed. The bar tenders poor the drinks strong if you request. The wifi is very, very poor. Definitely not the place you want to go if you need to do any work. There is a business center in the preferred club, which I highly recommend as it grants you access to the lounge, business center,
as well as the beach side restaurant which is the best place for lunch. Stay away from the casino, it's a rip off. They tilt the rules and hence odds of even the most basic games, including blackjack, in their favor.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana

Address: Cabeza de Toro - Provincia La Altagracia, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#16 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#19 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#20 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#21 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#29 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana 4*
Number of rooms: 500
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facing the Caribbean Sea, white sand beach and lush gardens, Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana boasts 500 spacious rooms and ample suites surrounded by swaying palm trees and views of endless blue waters stretching to the horizon - the perfect setting in paradise. Take advantage of all the unlimited luxury activities Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana has to offer. Swim, sail, snorkel or windsurf in the turquoise Caribbean, enjoy fine a-la-cart dining, sip favorite cocktails at one of our bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo, BookIt.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana Hotel Punta Cana
Occidental Punta Cana
Occidental Allegro Punta Cana
Punta Cana Occidental
Sunscape Punta Cana
Punta Cana Dreams Palm Beach
Punta Cana Allegro

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.