We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful honeymoon in a beautiful place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana

Save Saved
You added Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Cabeza de Toro - Provincia La Altagracia, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Nights!
Ranked #23 of 100 Hotels in Punta Cana
Co. Kerry
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“A wonderful honeymoon in a beautiful place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

We went to Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana on our honeymoon Jan. 28th- Feb. 6th and really I could hardly fault a thing. We were in the Preferred Club Deluxe ocean view room and we had a fantastic view from our balcony of the pool and beach. The rooms were lovely, a great size with a constantly stocked fridge, safe, robes, slippers, hairdryer, iron & ironing board. The room was cleaned and we were provided with fresh towels every day.

In the preferred club you get your own pool area and section of beach(beds much more comfortable as well as huge 4 poster style beds) but alternatively you can also go to any other part of the pool area which was huge and you'd always get a bed. It also has a swim up bar. The internet in the P.C. was free and there was always nibbles on the go as well.

Check in and out was efficient. We were handed two glasses of champagne on arrival which was lovely. The resort is only about 30 minutes from the airport. On arrival you have to fill out two forms ands its a pity travel agents don't tell people about this. One you can get on the plane but the other you have to fill out when you arrive and it was very chaotic with one line for just french nationals and a few other disorganised lines for everybody else. The last thing you need really after a long flight. The form you get on the plane is also one you have to fill in on departure so its handly to pick up a few extra ones so you can have them ready when you get to the airport when you're leaving. We had read in reviews that you pay $10 and $20 each between the forms but we only had to pay $10 on arrival and nothing leaving.

Foodwise there was a huge buffet dining room(World Cafe) and I'd be amazed if people didn't find something they liked here as there was a fantastic choice. Like all buffet style restaurants the food was never very hot but it was perfectly fine. There was also a Chinese, Mexican, French, Italian and Seaside grill restaurant (just for P.C.)so you had plenty of choice. The french one Portofino was my favourite. There was also a coffee shop with every kind of coffee imaginable as well as teas, hot chocolates and a big array of pastries, muffins, doughnuts etc! also around the pool area there were BBQs so you would never be hungry.

There is a beautiful spa there where I had a massage and my therapist was excellent. You can get vouchers when you arrive and get $40 off a massage, $20 off a facial etc. You can also get a massage in the beach huts if you'd prefer.

The staff here were all just lovely, so friendly and happy all the time. You certainly don't feel obligated to tip them but we always did no matter where we were whether it was in the restaurant/the bar/tipping the maids etc as they work very hard. It never ceased to amaze me at the pool and beach when the waiters would be constantly bringing drinks to people, that sometimes they wouldn't even get a word of thanks never mind an acknowledgment. If someone can't be bothered to get up for a drink and someone brings it to them, a thank you wouldn't go amiss and at the end of the day its only a couple of dollars. I'd be very uncomfortable being waited on but I was lucky enough to have my husband do that!!

The beach is lovely but alot of seaweed spoils it somewhat but if you walk further up its much nicer. There are all the usual beach activities/day trips to go on so you need never be bored.
The entertainment team were brilliant, always on the go with plenty activities for people to take part in so your holiday could be as quiet or as lively as you liked. There was no pressure.

There was a casino and night club there as well as shows on every night and also you could watch a film on a screen on the beach although we didn't get to see any as they started at 7.30.

On our last day we were given a courtesy room to shower and change as our flight wasn't until that night so it was a very welcome service. It was in block 9 and quite open plan so if you wanted to go to the toilet you had no privacy whatsoever! Married or not, there are some things you need to close a door to and going to the toilet is one of them! So I was glad we weren't in that kind of room!

Overall a brilliant holiday and I would recommend Dreams Palm Beach to anyone whether its a couple, friends or a family.

Room Tip: Don't get a room in block 9!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,489 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,350
    1,284
    535
    199
    121
See reviews for
2080
2163
48
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,279)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Killorglin, Ireland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

this place is a piece of magic,we arrived with a welcome of champagne and a wet towel and a warm smile,we were then taken to the preferred section and led to our room which was 314,it overlooked the pool and a straight view of the beach and the beautiful ocean,the room itself was very nice,the beds were so comfy...you also get a lot of toiletries,toothpaste(crest)razors,foam,gels shampoo's and more....the beach was lovely always getting cleaned much better than next door(natura)but if you want WOW turquoise colour, then go left and walk about 10 mins it is amazing....food...the food everywhere was very good except the humistu(although we were there only once)the portifino was the best,then the seagrill,we ate alot at the world cafe so much food to choose from and not your usual buffet quality....pools...they have 3 pools(1 preferred)and each and every 1 is great..swim up is lively,large pool has music playing and a bit more relaxed and the preferred is quiet and more attentive...nightlife....well this is a relaxing resort so it's more of your kick back and enjoy each other's company,there's the lobby bar more for chit chat with fellow guest's or friends,there's a mobile bar(at 1 of the wedding gazebo) where there is a singer and you can have a dance,we tried the desires club bar but felt a bit cold and dingy,the preferred lounge seem,s to be if you really want to be just alone as not people seemed to go there,there is also a showtime theatre,we went to watch jeerk but did not enjoy it,the place is more like a conference hall,also went there for the superbowl that was an excellent night the surround sound was great..............lastly the staff were very very good,so many, every where you looked there was staff always saying hola,asking you if you wanted a drink or wanting you to take part in the fun,when serving you anywhere in the dining area's they introduced themselves,the bar tenders always smiling even though you know they must be dead on there feet,they are the magic dust in this part of paradise

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

I normally dont bother writing reviews, but our trip to Dream Palm Beach in Dom Rep needs talking about.

This was our 2nd trip to a dreams resort, having had a wonderful time at Dreams La Romana (so much so that my in-laws promptly booked and enjoyed a trip at La Romana shortly after our return). So based on this it was with joy that we booked and upgraded to this resort expecting a better, or at least just as good a trip as we had to DLR.

I dont want to write a big long boring review, but suffice to say that everything from the room, food, restaurants to the pool were below being described as poor. I had a very poor stomach 10 out of the 14 days away, so much so that I had to cut short most of my dives as I couldnt be seperated from a bathroom for any period of time. And this was a very common complaint around the resort. Personally, I feel that the 'delly belly' was caused by a lot of pressure being put on bar staff and not having the time to clean the glasses properly.

When we brought these points and many, many more to the managements attention, we were offered an upgrade should we want to return. However unless this Dreams improves significantly, or the upgrade was transferable to La Romana, it will be an offer that will sadly remain unused.

However, not all doom and gloom. Jose, the pool waiter at the prefered club pool always went above and beyond to offer great service with a constant smile.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easthampton, MA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

I have never had a better vacation than I did at the Dreams Palm Beach. We arrived on Feb. 2nd and were greeted at the check-in desk by a waitress with champagne. Our room was nice and spacious and the bed was very comfortable. The stocked refrigerator contained soda, water and beer and was restocked daily. The resort is not overly large. The beach wasn't the best mostly due to seaweed washed up on the shore, but that's not the resorts fault. We only had to walk about 10 minutes up the beach away from the resorts to get to a nicer section. The pools and the grounds are clean and inviting.

The best thing that The Dreams Palm Beach has going for it are it's employees. We met many wonderful people on our trip. Not only other guests, but the staff as well. I have never felt more at home on a vacation than I did at Dreams. On our 2nd night we dined at El Patio (Mexican theme) and were waited on by the manager Angel Liranzo. Angel went out of his way to treat us like family. From that day on we looked forward to visiting with him for a few minutes and his restaurant was the only one we went to twice. The food at all the restaurants was very good to excellent. I should note that like many all-inclusive resorts you do not need reservations for dinner (which means you don't need to get up at 7 am to make your reservation for the evening). We never waited more than a couple of minutes for a seat.
Then there is the entertainment. During the day, there are games and events for anyone who want to participate. The games can earn you Dream Dollars which are for use at an auction held every other night prior. Each night there is a different show in the conference center. Some of the shows come from outside, but at least every other night the show was
put on by the entertainment staff. Our favorite entertainers are Supito and James Bond (yes that's his real name). They even convinced me to sing karaoke on my last night (good thing it was my last night - it wasn't pretty).

We also enjoyed our daily visits to the swim-up bar. Milton (our favorite bartender at Dreams) would make up a different "Milton Special" frozen drink each day. We never had to wait more than a few minutes to get a drink at the pool bar. In fact, I don't recall waiting more than 5 minutes to get a drink at any of the bars.

We also had the opportunity to meet the Dreams Resort GM, Pedro Tomas. He is very passionate about making sure the guests are having the best possible experience and it is evident that he has passed this passion to his staff. Everyone was friendly. The few that I mentioned earlier we personally connected with, but to a person everyone on the staff was friendly.

We ended up staying for 8 days (we got one extra "bonus" day due to our charter flight being cancelled due to a snow storm at home) just another day in paradise. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013 via mobile

Firstly not sure why people are complaining? Iv been to lots of Caribbean destinations and this hotel is the BEST. The location... Perfect
The staff..... So friendly
The food..... Great choice
The entertainment..... WoW! Very good for both adults and kids. There was volleyball everyday, aqua gym, Zumba class, merengue lessons.
Everyone was made to feel like a family there. If you want to have a enjoyable, relaxing, entertaining holiday with lots of sunshine and good vibes and even more great value for money stay here.
I stayed in Barbados a year ago and spend 3 times the amount on that hol and didn't have as much fun or luxury as at the dreams palm beach. Only complaint I had was having to go home.
If your reading this don't listen to the bad comments. This holiday was fantastic.... A must.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Sorry a bit late as we stayed in November 2012 .
Had considered the Dominican as a poorer quality carribean BUT OH how wrong was I,this hotel has it all.The rooms were great ,we booked a queen bed but was offered a king on arrival which we refused and although we accepted it for a night we were promised a queen the next day and they duly obliged .the rooms are spacious and clean ,the only criticism being that the turndown service was always too early as we were not ready for bed at 7 pm .
The food in the restaraunts was lovely and I thoroughly recommend the Italian a la carte and the ribeye in the seafood bar grill is to die for!
The staff are very helpful and polite,there is even waitress service around the pool which is a bonus,the coffee shop is wonderful ,like having a Starbucks on site and the cakes are delicious and great to have that included in your all inclusive.
Elvis is a star at the swim up bar ,although there are some smokers who like to smoke whilst in the pool which is a no no (hotel management take note).
Bar areas at night can be crowded but I guess that's anywhere and the cocktails are good .
All in all this is a great hotel and loved the Dominican just wished we had been sooner .

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montreal
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

From the moment we arrived we were taken care of !! It started with Robinson ( bell hop ) welcoming us home, after that the service just got better. My wife and I work very hard for our vacations and expect nothing less than 100% value for our money we got that at Dreams. The food was excellent the entertainment great and the service was fantastic, always with a big smile, tip or not you get the same service from all the people at Dreams, in short genuine kindess that you can feel. We stayed in the Preffered Club part of the hotel and with the little extras, private pool and jaccuzzi, beach side resto, private beach and lounge serving premuim brands found it to be worth the extra money. For my wife and I the people can make a huge difference in a vacation and having travelled to the DR for almost 30 yrs know the people there are great, this was proven again at Dreams from Juan Daniel whos job it was to clean up the beach, he made sure our hut area was clean all the time and provided us with an ashtray everyday, to German who served lunch and drinks on the beach, he would see your glass empty and bring you another drink without having to ask. Rey, Cristina and Carlos at the seaside grill were excellente!!( as the staff always say when you ask them how they are) to Tony Montana (buffet) as he liked to call himself, Mr Perfecto, Petronila, Rosa and the list goes on. Overall a fantastic trip, looking forward to going back next year, your friends from Punta Canada.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana

Address: Cabeza de Toro - Provincia La Altagracia, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#16 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#19 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#20 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#21 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#29 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facing the Caribbean Sea, white sand beach and lush gardens, Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana boasts 500 spacious rooms and ample suites surrounded by swaying palm trees and views of endless blue waters stretching to the horizon - the perfect setting in paradise. Take advantage of all the unlimited luxury activities Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana has to offer. Swim, sail, snorkel or windsurf in the turquoise Caribbean, enjoy fine a-la-cart dining, sip favorite cocktails at one of our bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo, BookIt.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana Hotel Punta Cana
Occidental Punta Cana
Occidental Allegro Punta Cana
Punta Cana Occidental
Sunscape Punta Cana
Punta Cana Dreams Palm Beach
Punta Cana Allegro

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.