We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, not great” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana

Save Saved
You added Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Cabeza de Toro - Provincia La Altagracia, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Hot Hot Hot Saving!
Ranked #23 of 100 hotels in Punta Cana
Sudbury, ON
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good, not great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana is a very nice, compact resort about 20 minutes drive from the airport. It is a relatively small complex, perhaps a 5 minute walk from lobby to beach.

Rooms
Our room was well appointed, clean and comfortable. The rooms are a little small - no couch, but a couple of chairs for sitting in. Nice balcony with two chairs and side-table. Rooms were kept clean by housekeeping staff. Rooms and furniture showing some sign of wear and tear.

Service
Service was typically very good (some exceptions). For example, we ate at the French restaurant twice, the first time was some of the best service we had, the second time was the worst service we had (different waiter) and after being mostly ignored and long waits for food and service we left that meal without finishing. Bar service was friendly and courteous, but not memorable. Wait staff in the buffet, where we had breakfast and lunch was very good and friendly. Hostesses at all restaurants were very friendly and welcoming.

Food/Restaurants/Bars
There are several a la carte restaurants and a good selection of food. Advance reservations were not available for the restaurants. You just showed up and requested a table. At times this resulted in table waits of up to an hour, other times we were able to get a table immediately (early at 6pm, or later after 8:30pm) - between 6:30pm and 8pm the waits could be long for most restaurants. Food quality was typically very good in the a la carte restaurants. Service was usually very good with staff making sure that we had a pleasant dining experience. Staff at the Mexican restaurant and sea-side grill were the most fun. Issues were at the French restaurant where the Mahi-mahi was overcooked, the chicken with pears had no pears and the service was terrible. The buffet was well stocked, the food good but the choices were quite limited. The lobby bar closed at mid-night and the only bar remaining open was in the disco where the throbbing music was so loud that you could barely carry on a shouting conversation. There was a beach grill where hamburgers, hot-dogs, fires and nachos were available most of the day.

Pool
The pool meanders down the centre of the property. You are never far from the pool, regardless of room location. Pool was clean and the pool area was well maintained and kept clean. Signs advise that people are not to leave towels on chairs to reserve them, and that they would be removed if left unattended for more than 15 minutes. However this was not enforced at all, and it was often difficult to find an unoccupied lounge chair near the pool, especially the section near the pool bar. Service in the pool area was very good with wait staff coming by regularly.

Beach/Ocean
The beach was very nice, consisting of very fine white sand. Some issues with the constant pile-up of sea-weed, especially on windy days. Beach staff were regularly working to take away the sea-weed and it was a non-issue most days. However, there was also significant quantity of sea-weed floating on the water surface, which made swimming less pleasant for some. The beach was busy with vendors constantly trying to sell their wares or activities. The ocean was busy with boat traffic - primarily parasailing, but also other boat excursions - convenient if one was looking to do those activities and often entertaining to watch.

Entertainment/Activities
The resort produces a daily newsletter advising of the activity schedule for the day, both adult activities and children's activities. The evening entertainment was of low quality. Dominican content was almost non-existent other than a 30-minute presentation of Dominican dance one afternoon. Kayaks, windsurfers, and Hobie-Cat sailboats were available for use at the ocean and easy to book at no-charge. The resort had a small on-site casino and disco. The disco was suitable for the 18-30 age group.

Other
Wrist bands were not required which was nice. Also, did not require towel deposit and could exchange towels at any time.

Room Tip: Avoid ground floor as some in our group that had ground floor rooms found them musty.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management-Palmbeach, Public Relations Manager at Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Please receive a warm greeting from sunny Dreams Palm Beach and thank you for having chosen us to spend your vacations with us. We appreciate the fact you took the time to share your comments with other reviewers.

We are pleased you were able to enjoy our cuisine and service in general. We apologize for the poor service experienced in the French restaurants, rest assured this will be addressed to our food and beverage Manger.

As you say, we have a no reservation policy for lounge chairs at the beach and pool area and any personal belongings found unattended after 15 minutes is removed by our security staff and taken to lost and found. This is all to provide all guests to have the same opportunity to have the best areas. Please know that we will be reinforcing this, making sure it is followed.

We are glad you found the beach to your liking. Please know that seaweed is part of the ocean nature and something we can’t control. As you say due to weather conditions as the wind it tends to pile up more at times. However, we have a staff who are in charge of raking off the seaweed daily several times a day to maintain the beach area pleasant for all our guests.

We are looking forward to welcome you home for your next vacation. It was an honor to have served you.

Best regards,

Vangie Severino
Management Assistant
Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana
Cabeza de Toro, La Altagracia Dominican Republic
Tel:(809)552-6000 Ext. 1719
operaciones.drepb@dreamsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,277 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3,201
    1,246
    514
    198
    118
See reviews for
1970
2101
48
46
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,210)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

It's amazing resort. Me and my wife we had great time there in late December 2012. Rooms are clean , food selection and variety was great , beach area was clean and enough chairs were there but the water was not very clean and swimming pool was great clean and not to crowded. Them events were great and fun we had so much fun me and my wife in true love event. The GM was so friendly and always around for any problem or complaint. We loved it and I think we will defiantly stay there if we visit Punta Cana.

Room Tip: We had room with jacuzzi in preferred club it's worth the money and experience. You can try the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Just got back from a week at Dreams Palm Beach with family for the holidays. We had a row of four rooms on the third floor of building 2. We were all very impressed with the resort and employees who couldn't do enough for us. Pools were excellent and the service from employees during the days at the pool and the beach were amazing. It is clear that the customer is king at this resort. We all appreciated the extraordinary efforts of the staff to make sure we had a great time. The food was ok and what you would expect from an all-inclusive resort. Lots of fresh fruit, hot and cold entrees all day long. Very impressive and I would not hesitate to recommend this resort to family, friends and co-workers (already have!!). Staff at US resorts and hotels could take a few pointers on customer service from the folks here!

Room Tip: I didn't have an ocean view, so I would try to get one next time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walled Lake, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

We were Happy with everything. This review is coming from parents of 2 college students who don't have the luxury of frequent travel. So our expectations were HIGH.
From check-in to check-out all the staff tries to make your stay enjoyable.
We upgraded to the Preferred Club when we purchased our package and we are glad we did. (It is not pushed but is quite useful for the extra cost / the beach area is quite and the location is ideal.)Our room was upgraded to a Jacuzzi suite within minutes of our arrival, once the preferred club staff found out it was our 25th Anniversary. The room was clean and the balcony had a great view overlooking the pool.
All the staff are friendly especially Angel Polanco the pool concierge who takes care of everything and Joel who kept out drinks coming out on the beach without even asking!
He even brought me ice to heal my bee sting within minutes of my request.
My husband and I shared a romantic dinner for 2 on the beach which we highly recommend. The food was delicious and the service from young Miguel Mejia was superb that evening and again at breakfast the next day in the oceanfront grill.
Simon the supervisor even had a cake for us on our 25th Anniversary at the Apple dinner.
We were thrilled with our trip and will highly recommend Dreams Palm Beach to all of our friends and family because of the service and friendly employees and outstanding clean resort property.
Perfect location not far from the airport and loved the Nature Park and long beach for our early morning runs.
The food was delicious and the weather perfect.
The entertainment was fun and the management very accommodating. It was a wonderful trip for our first time to Punta Cana. We will be back!

Room Tip: Rooms near the preferred club area are close to the beach and pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Spent 8 days in this beautiful resort. We had a great room, beautiful beaches and pools and outstanding restaurants. Angel Polanco, Conceirge was quick to offer his assistance to us every day to make sure I time there was wonderful. He even arranged for a special birthday cake for my 50th birthday. The entire staff were very friendly and helpful.

The restaurants were all really good but we especially loved the Italian and French restaurants.

Our only complaint was there was not enough hot water for showers every day. We had a great Jacuzzi tub but there often was not any hot water or enough hot water to fill it.

We definitely will recommend Dreams Palm Beach to others and hope to return their soon.

Room Tip: We were in the preferred section and requested an ocean view room with a Jacuzzi tub. We got what w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jefferson City, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

First, my eoerience was fine, more than fine, despite a couple of minor issues - like a speck of dust on the Mona Lisa. We were there as gift of my younger son, on leave from the Afghan War, with my wife, my son and his wife and baby son. We were in the preferred section. We experienced sparkling white sands (cleaned every few hours by the staff), a myriad of nice lawn chairs, very clean pools (many, in nice shapes with palm trees all over), clean grounds, a choice of five or 6 restaurants with good to great food, nicely presented fruits and small cakes and candy as well as fruit and free (pre-paid, no limit!) drinks, tropical, with or without alcohol, wonderful rich coffee, wifi, an abundance of towels, beach parties, skin diving trips, casino, night club, and so on. All this was offered by wonderfully friendly and helpful staff. Note that a bit of respect and a gracias and a smile from the guest goes a long way as well, but every person I met was kind and helpful. As for Mr. Tomas, when we requested a different room for our son/grandson/d-in-law as the one we got had a smoking prev. guest, he promptly apologized and upgraded him to a bridal suite at no charge. Understanding that this was a special trip for us, seeing our Army Major son for only a few days before returning to the war, he went out of his way to shower us with kindness.

I am amzed at the two negative comments given here; like another place entirely. I wonder if the complainers were rude, or perhaps misused the toilet? Did they continually cmplain to other guests and ruin their stay? Our minor problems related to a light weight toilet seat, a squeaky door in the shower, and a water pressure issue in a pool rest room - beyond the hotels power, and was quickly fixed. The bathroom in my mid-range room was not delux, as perhaps the Chicago Hilton (but was better than those in London, Paris, Rome and Frankfurt!). As to a bath, never use them, and if I want to soak, there are hot tubs and pools all over, not to forget the sea! Why sit in a tub of somewhat dirty water? But that is just my choice, others like them. I believe the fancier rooms (my son's bridal suite was wonderful and huge) had them. I have had similar issues in the finest hotels around the world, and often have been met with crabby, aloof staff. Not here. I hated to leave as I felt I was leaving a new family, such was the kindness shown by each staff member from the janitor to the sr manager.Of course returning to cold north USA was not inviting either; Punta Cana is a great place to hide from the cold. Oh, an interesting feature of the unique walkways around the many pools and facilities is the blocks of ancient coral, from which they are constructed. As a former marine biologist I was fascinated to be viewing ancient brain and fan corals dating back thousands of years. The hotel was beautiful, the grounds were spectacular and charming the beach and water clean with talcum powder-like soft white sand, and the only things whiter were the many smiles of the staff. I hope to visit again one day! Karl

Room Tip: go "preferred"; ask for non-smoking, east end rooms have best view of surf, #50 sun screen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coatbridge
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

just returned from 2 weeks in this resort . totally exceeded all my expectations, and more importantly that of my 2 teenage boys . core-zone superb top staffing Alejandro a star
the airport was a bit of a culture shock but after the initial arrival all went smoothly.
we used private transfer so we were in the hotel in less than 20 mins .
Again after the initial arrival experience with Willie who was the consummate professional and settled us in well.
food excellent choice , variety superb only used the world cafe so cant comment on the other restaurants .
staff are caring, professional and very well managed from a hard working hands on management team who are in the public eye at all times. we will return God willing

Room Tip: to be fare all rooms are much the same unless you can afford the suites, which are far superior to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana

Address: Cabeza de Toro - Provincia La Altagracia, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Punta Cana
#17 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#19 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#20 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#21 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#29 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facing the Caribbean Sea, white sand beach and lush gardens, Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana boasts 500 spacious rooms and ample suites surrounded by swaying palm trees and views of endless blue waters stretching to the horizon - the perfect setting in paradise. Take advantage of all the unlimited luxury activities Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana has to offer. Swim, sail, snorkel or windsurf in the turquoise Caribbean, enjoy fine a-la-cart dining, sip favorite cocktails at one of our bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Tingo, Travelocity, Expedia, BookIt.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana Hotel Punta Cana
Occidental Punta Cana
Occidental Allegro Punta Cana
Punta Cana Occidental
Sunscape Punta Cana
Punta Cana Dreams Palm Beach
Punta Cana Allegro

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.