We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana

Save Saved
You added Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Cabeza de Toro - Provincia La Altagracia, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to $350 Air Credit
Ranked #32 of 101 hotels in Punta Cana
Tinley Park, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Excellent service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

This was our first trip to Punta Cana and we had a GREAT time! The grounds, food and service was excellent. We also had butler service from Wilson and Jose and they made our expeirience unnforgettable. Highly reccommend Wilson and Jose when you stay at Dreams Palm Beach!

Room Tip: all rooms were close by entertainment or the pools.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management-Palmbeach, Public Relations Manager at Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Dear Guest,

Please receive a warm greeting from Dreams Palm Beach and thank you for taking the time to share your comments with others. We would also like to thank you for choosing us as your vacation destination.

We are glad to read that your first time experience here in Punta Cana was great and that food and service, especially the butler service managed to make your experience unforgettable as that is our main goal. We will make sure such positive and encouraging comments are passed on to Jose and Wilson.

On behalf of the Dreams staff, it was more than a pleasure to have served you and we hope to welcome you home for your next vacation.

Best regards,

Vangie Severino
Management Assistant
Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana
Cabeza de Toro, La Altagracia Dominican Republic
Tel:(809)552-6000 Ext. 1719
operaciones.drepb@dreamsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,850 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2,892
    1,154
    498
    194
    112
See reviews for
1814
1950
44
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,040)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

We experienced this distaster of a hotel in November. It has taken until now to get over our frightening experience and be able to write this review.
From the minute we arrived the welcome and the service were very poor.
We were promised a bath by our tour operator Thomson/First Choice and told the day before they had upgraded the rooms and there were only showers available. This was totally untrue as our room had never been touched since the hotel had opened many years ago.We were then expected to pay extra for a bath.
We had already paid a considerable amount extra to be in "Preferred Club" which was just another way of getting extra money from us. We were in a room which had a leaky shower and toilet both which flooded the floor and the bathroom was not even a separate room it was straight off the bedroom with the sink actually in the bedroom hence no privacy, a sink without a plug(they came 3 times and still it didn't fit), a filthy room (the fan had never been dusted and was thick with dirt) and the beds had bugs, so the room had to be fumigated.
You could tell the difference between the French and Italian restaurants only by the music they played. Menus were very sparse with minimal choice and not bookable, first come first served.
Anyway, to cut a long story short, on our third morning we were confronted in our room by a "Posse" of 5 men who entered and blocked our exit by standing in front of the door.
This consisted of the hotel manager,rooms manager,concierge manager,security manager and our rep. Pedro Tomas the manager (who obviously has a problem with his height or the lack of it hence his gang of henchmen to protect him) shouted in my husbands face to leave the hotel because we had complained too much. He didn't give us a chance to speak just kept shouting he would call the police if we didn't go he then stepped forward aggresively towards my husband and had to be held back by his own staff. We are a couple in our 60's who just complained about a poor hotel with very bad service, for which we paid a lot of money.

I now understand why the staff and service were so poor as a happy staff comes from the top.
We would not recommend this hotel to anyone unless you like bad service without a smile and menacing management.
We were moved after being holed up in our room for 6 hours to a far better hotel but were asked to pay an extra £700 for the equivalent of Preferred Club We are still hoping that our tour operator Thomson/First Choice will refund us the extra we paid for Preferred Club as we know the hotel are not charging them for it
At this time they are still refusing and have never even given a chance to tell our side of this story which we feel is unfair. Please note we have not asked for any compensation

Room Tip: There are no tips just don't go
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management-Palmbeach, Public Relations Manager at Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Please receive a warm greeting from Dreams Palm Beach and thank you for sharing your feedback. We are sorry we were not able to fulfill your expectations, know it was never our intention to disappoint you in any ways.

There are a few points we would like to clarify. Please have in mind that all comments made are subject to your perception and personal experience.

As you clearly state you were promised a bath by your tour operator, not by the hotel. We do not advertise rooms with bath in the category you booked. This discontent you talk about, we recommend you address it to your Tour Operator. All rooms in the higher categories, which are in the Preferred section such as Deluxe Jacuzzi Tropical View, Deluxe Jacuzzi Ocean View, Honeymoon suites and The Presidential suite have Jacuzzis. As in all hotels, the fancier, luxurious rooms have a higher cost and it is optional for guests to upgrade to the category of their choice.

From the moment of your arrival, you complained about the room having no shower and since things didn't turn out your way you started verbally assaulting all staff members that came in contact with you, for no particular reason, making extremely racist, degrading comments towards Dominican people. In fact you mentioned not wanting to have any kind of contact with one member in particular, hurting our employees feeling when she only offered to help.

It is disappointing to read that people would use this medium to post whatever comes into their minds, especially things that are not true such as the flooding you claim to have had in your room, which was never reported. Bed-bugs have never been an issue on our hotel. During the short period of time you remained in the hotel, let me remind you that your room was not cleaned because you wouldn't allow our staff to enter; every time they would come to clean the room you would yell mean things back at them as well.

Again, the comments’ regarding the restaurants is your personal opinion and perception. Many guests would disagree with you, as they really enjoy the different atmospheres and selection of the menus offered, especially not having to make any reservations. This gives guests the option to dine at the restaurant of their choice whenever they feel like it.

You were never asked to leave the hotel; you left willingly because according to you this hotel wasn't up to your standards. Our staff did present themselves at your room to try and change your mind about leaving and to try and make things better for you, but every time they tried you would verbally abuse them.

We have a hard working staff of over 500 employees, who are willing to do whatever it takes to make all our guests have an excelente stay and provide service beyond this world. It is a shame you were not able to appreciate it.

Again we apologize for not being able to fulfill your expectations, know it was never our intention. Any further comments please do not hesitate to write to us.

Best regards,

Vangie Severino
Management Assistant
Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana
Cabeza de Toro, La Altagracia Dominican Republic
Tel:(809)552-6000 Ext. 1719
operaciones.drepb@dreamsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

My husband and I just returned from our 6 night stay at Dreams Palm Beach. We had an amazing time and absolutely loved this resort. While it isn't the most modern or newest resort, it was very clean and looked gorgeous. We were especially impressed by the flow of the resort, the quality of the beach, and the variety of palms and beautiful foliage. There were five restaurants, a buffet, an outside grill, and a cafe. We tried the French, Italian and beach restaurant as well as the World Cafe (buffet breakfast, lunch, and dinner) as well as the Coco Cafe bakery & coffee shop - all of which were incredible. There were plenty of activities to do and we checked out the catamaran, casino, disco, and a show at the convention center. We have been to other resorts and have never felt so pampered and received such excellent service. The staff were friendly, welcoming, and truly made us feel like we were VIPs. The staff seemed genuinely happy to be there and happy to help and that made a world of a difference in terms of the luxury experience. Specifically, Sapito and Francisco of the Entertainment Team did an excellent job reaching out to us, checking in, and helping whenever needed. An example of the level of service I can show to explain the extreme high quality is one afternoon my husband and I were laying by the pool and had just come back from the market in town where we bought a wrap / beach cover up thing. We were talking amongst ourselves about what it was called in Spanish when a waitress stopped over to see if we needed drinks. We didn't but my husband asked her if she knew the name of the coverup. She apologized profusIey for not knowing the name and we told her not to worry about it, no big deal. A few moments later she came back with another member of the staff and asked him to tell us the name, which he kindly did. We couldn't believe she went out of her way to have someone help us, even for such small a thing that we would never have expected her to follow up on. I can go on forever about how incredible the trip was, but suffice to say I would absolutely recommend it! In terms of negatives, there was some seaweed on the beach, our mini fridge was broken and took several looks before it was replaced, and our shower didn't have a door which is a little weird (it was within a room within the bathroom with a door but the actual shower stall didn't close) All in all, an excellent resort, a beautiful country, and an incredibly kind staff that makes dreams feel more like a family than a corporate machine. We will be back soon :)

Room Tip: Our room was beautiful and well laid out. Just a head's up, the shower had a half door and didn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Louisiana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

We just returned from a one week family vacation. It was awesome. We loved everything, the rooms were clean, shower in the room could use some improvement, but very clean. The pool and beach areas were nice, always a place to sit. The food was great, but the best part was the staff. They are the absolute best. Pedro Tomas- General Manager, does an excellent job. It shows in the quality of the service and the kindness of his staff. The girls at the preferred club were so helpfull at all times, special thanks to Patricia and Isabel. At the Seaside Grill, Tito, Flor, Nestor, and Carlos, thank you for making every meal an enjoyable one. At the barefoot grill, Freddy was awesome, nice guy all around and at the Coco Cafe, Manuel, Damary, and Rosa, took care of my husband 24/7 (he almost moved in). At the hibatchi, Rafael, Julio and Miguel made up for a very enjoyable night, thank you. I don't want to forget Rosana, our housekeeper, she was the best. Always with a smile.
Overall I would recommend this hotel to anyone and we would certainly go back when possible.
THANK YOU ALL WE HAD THE BEST TIME!

Room Tip: Preferred Club is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

This is an Awesome resort!
Pros: Compact resort - quick & easy to get to main lobby area, buffet, pool, beach!
Buffet - large selection of great tasting food.
A La Carte resteruants - no reservations needed! just show up, if they are busy they will give you a pager so you can go to the bar for a drink while you wait!

Explorers Club -for the little kids, they will keep them busy all day!

CoreZone Club - for the older kids, tweens, - "Johan" will keep them busy: pool table, fooze ball, Wii, table games etc. Large screen TV to watch movies. music. beverage fountain.washrooms.

Spa - they have a spa desk by the buffet, "WIKI" will offer spa specials so be sure to check - We got a two for one message on the beach for $90.
If you want access to the spa it is $35 per day. plunge pools, hot tub, sauna, showers, lockers.

Shopping - you can get on the free shuttle bus to Palma Real Shopping Mall. (15 min drive) just ask the bell boy for the pick up schedule, you have 2 hours of shopping, then the bus brings you back. ( something to do on a cloudy, rainy day)

Rooms: - they have soft beds!

Preferred Club- 3 internet computers, snacks, top shelf alcohol, 2 large screen TV, if you need extra pillows, bottled water, clothes hangers, anything, just pick up the phone and it will be sent up to your room.

Employees - EXELLENTE !

Take a few minutes to learn a little Spanish - they really appreciate it.
Go with a good attitute, relax, smile, and you will have a great vacation.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

We were there for a 10 nite stay Dec. 2012, from check-in to check-out all the staff try to make your stay enjoyable. We used the v.i.p. service which is not pushed but is quite useful for the extra cost (especially if you want wi-fi). All the staff are personable but a few that I had more contact with, so they made a bigger impression are Manuel (sommelier), Wilson, Alexander, and Jose (butlers with the V.I.P. package), Nelson (waiter), Juan (waiter),Cristina (hostess) and Roseangelina who took many drink orders. There are all the others that I did not have as much contact with and I have not mentioned but make your stay terrific such as housekeeping, all the kitchen staff, terrific cooks, entertainment staff, security. Anyone we had contact with were always so happy and smiling which brought up your level of happiness.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management-Palmbeach, Public Relations Manager at Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Dear Guest,

Please receive the warmest greetings from Dreams Palm Beach. We would like to thank you for choosing us to spend this past vacations and furthermore we appreciate you took the time to share your experience about your recent vacations with other reviewers.

We are extremely glad to read that we were able to full fill your expectations and that our staff were able to bring happiness, fun and smiles on to you. We will make sure your comments are passed on to them, especially the ones mentioned.

We shall be waiting for your next vacations. It was a pleasure to serve you.

Warmest regards,

Vangie Severino
Management Assistant
Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana
Cabeza de Toro, La Altagracia Dominican Republic
Tel:(809)552-6000 Ext. 1719
operaciones.drepb@dreamsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fayetteville
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Just returned from 6 day family vacation and had a wonderful time. There were 13 in our group and everyone enjoyed the trip. The entertainment staff are the ones that really make you feel important and would want to return in hopes of seeing them again. They made everyday fun and exciting. "Gasolina and James Bond" were two of the best along with "Rustin and Francisco:.

Room Tip: At first we were on the 3rd floor figuring the view would be better, but moved to a 1st floor room t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana

Also Known As:
Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana Hotel Punta Cana
Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana Hotel
Allegro Punta Cana
Occidental Punta Cana
Occidental Allegro Punta Cana
Punta Cana Occidental
Sunscape Punta Cana
Punta Cana Dreams Palm Beach
Punta Cana Allegro
Address: Cabeza de Toro - Provincia La Altagracia, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#24 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#28 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#28 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#29 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#32 Business Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facing the Caribbean Sea, white sand beach and lush gardens, Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana boasts 500 spacious rooms and ample suites surrounded by swaying palm trees and views of endless blue waters stretching to the horizon - the perfect setting in paradise. Take advantage of all the unlimited luxury activities Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana has to offer. Swim, sail, snorkel or windsurf in the turquoise Caribbean, enjoy fine a-la-cart dining, sip favorite cocktails at one of our bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Tingo, Orbitz, Priceline, Venere, HotelsClick, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.