We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Families think twice...its lengthy... but will save you in the end.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana to your Saves list
Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Cabeza de Toro - Provincia La Altagracia, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 100 Hotels in Punta Cana
Sterling, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Families think twice...its lengthy... but will save you in the end.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

We had a string of problems at the Dreams Resort and all noted in the letter to the management. This is after we had a lengthy discussion with the hotel manager the night before we left the resort.

We are currently in communication with American Express Vacations to settle our numerous problems that arose during our stay -- they are yet to be resolved with the management at Dreams.

First I want to give proper kudos to the ladies in the Explorer's Club-- Awilda (Abby), Elizabeth & Ysabel. They were amazing with the kids; firm but fun and our two kids (ages 8&5) had a blast with them. Besos to all!

However there were many issues with our stay please read below before you book ESPECIALLY FAMILIES with young children.
********************************************************************************
FLOODING IN ROOM:
"As you probably remember, the problem that prompted our discussion was the flooding of our room (8212) through the ceilings and walls, which left crumbled ceiling plaster and at least 1 inch of standing water in part of the room. Despite that, it took 3 phone calls to the front desk and concierge and nearly 20 minutes before anyone came to the room - and even then, it was by sheer accident because housekeeping showed up to service the room, at which point I told them about the problem. After they began cleaning, I finally reached an on-duty manager, who asked if we wanted to stay in the room. Of course we didn't, and we spent over an hour of our last night of vacation packing up and changing rooms - certainly not the relaxing evening we were hoping to enjoy.

NOISE LEVEL: But as you may also recall, this was not the first problem we had, nor was it the first time we had to change rooms during our stay. The first night we were there, we were in a room facing the pool, where there was a wedding reception with extremely loud music that kept our young children awake till well after 10pm. After the concierge on duty admitted that many other weddings were scheduled during our stay, and that most of the resort's nighttime activities started just under our window, he helpfully changed our room to the "quiet side" of the hotel the next morning. We appreciated that -- but we were honestly surprised that a resort that bills itself as so "family friendly" would have loud outdoor activities going late into the evening without warning people or advising them to choose the quiet side of the hotel. We've stayed at several other resorts that have late-night programs, but they do them inside or well away from people's rooms.

SPA: We were also disappointed in some of the hotel services, particularly the spa. We knew in advance that the spa was undergoing maintenance, but the gentleman taking spa reservations outside the restaurants told us that they'd been completed and that the spa was fully functional. Of course, when we arrived the repairs were not ready, and the women working in there laughed and said "oh, he always tells people that, but it's not true." In addition, we found it outright dishonest that the "spa coupons" we received as part of our booking special didn't give the actual discount advertised. The woman at the spa explained that the price for a massage was approximately $80, but that if we wanted to use our $40 coupon, the base price would be well over $100 before they deducted the $40. I have never seen anything like that in my life.

VENDORS: There were numerous other disappointments that would hardly warrant mentioning in isolation, but added to the issues I've outlined above, they suggest a serious lack of commitment to guest service and satisfaction. For example, I have never been bothered so frequently by salespeople while at the beach--mostly by the hotel's spa and watersports salespeople--or around a resort's pool. It seemed as though we couldn't go 10 minutes without being aggressively targeted by these vendors. And on the nights when outside vendors were allowed to set up tables poolside at the resort, we were unable to go anywhere in the resort without being badgered by those vendors.

HOUSEKEEPING: In addition, power and water were out for nearly one full day while we were there, and on four of the seven days we stayed at the resort, by the time we returned to our room at about 5pm, the room had still not been made up (and we were out of the room by about 9am everyday). For a hotel that advertises twice-daily housekeeping, this missed the mark, and was especially noticeable given the frequent lack of cleanliness at the resort (lampshades, curtains, and restaurant chairs were noticeably stained, pillows and linens were not always clean, and the pools frequently had visible debris floating in them that the staff appeared in no hurry to clean) - which again we found really surprising and disappointing."

I hope this saves some other family from experiencing what we did!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management-Palmbeach, Public Relations Manager at Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Dear Guest,

Receive a warm greeting from Dreams Palm beach and thank you for sending along your feedback about your recent stay. We apologize we were not able to meet your expectations, as a service oriented company our main objective is to fulfill all expectations.

It is unfortunate to read this review as this is not the type of service or facilities that we provide here at Dreams Palm Beach. However all these issues have been addressed to our Maintenance and Spa Manager. There is always room for Improvement and we will certainly recognize the areas of opportunity that may surge from them. Rest assured that action has already been taken place.

Vendors visit our property twice a week. Currently, they are scheduled Tuesdays and Fridays which provides an opportunity to purchase souvenirs, local jewelry, paintings and other things not available at our shops. Aggressive or pushy behavior to guests is not allowed and sanctions are taken immediately if such an incidence is reported. In addition, security staff is assigned to that area in order to oversee the event and to reassure proper conduct by vendors.

It is very surprising to read that you did not find cleanliness in the rooms and the hotel. Rooms are cleaned twice a day, except if the ‘do not disturb’ sign is on the door, which according to hotel policy staff is not allowed to enter or knock on the guests’ room. We have over 200 employees who work in different shifts in charge of maintaining hotel grounds clean according to international standards. Again all these issues have already been addressed to our House keeping manager.

We would like to apologize, once more for all the issue you encountered. Please know that it was never our intention.

Again, we do value your comments very much and hope to have the opportunity to serve you again in the future and provide you with the over top service you were expecting and we are used to providing.

Regards,

Vangie Severino
Management Assistant
Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana
Cabeza de Toro, La Altagracia Dominican Republic
Tel:(809)552-6000 Ext. 1719
operaciones.drepb@dreamsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,554 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,403
    1,292
    537
    201
    121
See reviews for
2,096
2,193
49
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,296)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

We stayed at Dreams Palm Beach last weekend for one of my best friends wedding! Everything was great, Smooth, not stress! Kudos to Cristina the Wedding Coordinator for her patience and support, the decoration was great, food was delicious. We LOVED our rooms, stayed at the VIP section thanks Patricia and Hilario everything was great! Had lunch at the seafood restaurant, thanks Tito and Perfecto for arranging a anniversary wedding cake for my hubby and me, we just mentioned it and they did everything for us this was an awesome and lovely touch, thanks Wilkins at the Mexican Restaurant, Nelson, Mercedes and Kelvin at the Italian Restaurant and last but not least Gasolina thanks for all the unexpected laughs.

We highly recommend you to stay at this beautiful resort, beach and pools are great, perfect for families, our nephew spent the whole vacation at the explorers club AWESOME. They took him to the pool, lunch everything, AGAIN AWESOME! He and we had a BLAST!

Room Tip: Upgrade to VIP section while you are there, you will not regret of the extras services and extra pam...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dos Palos Y, California, United States
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

This trip was excellente as they say there. From the time we stepped off the shuttle we were treated like Royalty. They had a drink in our hands before we could get to our room. I tried to carry one bag into our room and the bellhop said stop this is your vacation we'll do all the work. that type of service never stoped. We stayed on the prefered club side but from what we saw every body was treated the same. Special credits to our pool concier Angel. He was great. also our prefered club concier Kenia she rememberd our names from the begining to end. Thanks Dreams.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management-Palmbeach, Public Relations Manager at Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Dear Dean,

Please receive a warm greeting from Dreams Palm Beach. We really appreciate you took the time to sharing your experience about your recent vacation as it allows other reviewer know what Dreams is all about and for having chosen us as your vacation destination.

It is our intention to make every single guest feel at home, especially like ‘royalty’ as soon as they step into our resort and provide them with the most memorable, fun vacation. We will make sure to pass on your comments to our staff, especially to Angel.

Please know that it was a pleasure to serve you and we are looking forward to welcome you to your home away from home.

Warmest regards,

Vangie Severino
Management Assistant
Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana
Cabeza de Toro, La Altagracia Dominican Republic
Tel:(809)552-6000 Ext. 1719
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012 via mobile

My stay at the dreams palm beach resort was very enjoyable and relaxing. Food was amazing and service was great. However one employee named tomas from the entertainment team had been a bit too friendly at times and he then told me he wanted his tip..? I had no cash and wasn't sure how to say no because i wasn't sure if that was something i was supposed to do so he offered to go to the atm machine in the back stage for me to get 3000DR, which he had told me was 30$ Canadian. I later found out it was approx 67$ Canadian and of course this all happened on the last shift of that week I was there and wouldn't be seeing him again.. Not happy or impressed at all about that and hope NO ONE has to deal with that from him AGAIN. This is not a joke, and this is not fake.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

This was my first all inclusive resort and admittedly had no idea what to expect. I have nothing to compare this to- only that I have some expectations of what a resort is and all in all this place had some good/bad things (like all places).

Pros-
Service of the staff was friendly (they answer everything with "it's my pleasure")
Very close to Beautiful Beaches
Lots of Food/Drinks whenever you want it
All inclusive includes room service- which was a nice treat.
Room was very clean

Cons
Room was warm every night (major issue with the AC throughout, you just have to get used to sleeping in warm muggy weather)
Food was meh (didn't have any meals that were that good, including the on site restaurants)
Anything you spend at the resort (for me contact solution) was a FORTUNE . This is coming from someone who lives in NYC where everything is expensive

Some additional tips:
Take a lot of 1 dollar bills (many of these staff depend on tips and take US dollars)
Arrange transportation to and from the airport in advance (don't risk the cabs, it's not worth it nor reliable)
Ask for a corner/quiet room
Get the coupon book they give you upon check in (I didn't spend any money or time and got a lot of reductions on things like a massage and didn't have to give them my info or anything).

All in all- I think this is a great place for family trips and the service is nice. I wouldn't necessarily go back unless I got a really great deal.

Room Tip: If it's a decent rate- I would get the upgrade. And definitely inquire about the AC before you g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management-Palmbeach, Public Relations Manager at Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Dear Guest,

Please receive a warm greeting from Dreams Palm Beach. We would like to thank you for sharing your experience about your recent stay. We apologize we were not able to fully fulfill your expectations, as this is our main goal.

We apologize the AC was not to your satisfaction and that the food was not to your liking. Please have in mind that all these are subject to each individual’s perception and it is a shame this was not brought to our attention while you were still here, as our management staff would have gone beyond to try and make your stay more pleasurable. Furthermore our executive chef is always welcomed to cater any special requests for our guests, when food is not to any of our guests’ satisfaction.

We will certainly recognize the areas of opportunity that may surge from them and take full
action, as we understand there is always room for improvement.
We are pleased you enjoyed our staff’s hospitality and friendliness, as well as our beach and other facilities.

We apologize once more for not meeting your expectations and we would like to express that we do value your comments very much and hope to have the opportunity to serve you again in the future and be able to change your experience. If you have any further comments or observations, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Warm regards,

Vangie Severino
Management Assistant
Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana
Cabeza de Toro, La Altagracia Dominican Republic
Tel:(809)552-6000 Ext. 1719
operaciones.drepb@dreamsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Binghamton, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We were just there for a week over thanksgiving. We had a great vacation. The best thing for us was the Kids (Explorer) club. We have a 5 year old boy and an 8 year old daughter. Our kids just wanted to spend every waking hour there. Elizabeth, Isabel and Awilda were wonderful! Those girls are worth their weight in gold! They kept the kids happy and entertained the whole time, thus giving us a nice couple vacation! This is the 5th time we go to a hotel with a kids club, and this was the best by far.
Generally the best thing about this hotel is the staff. AT all levels they are very helpful and thats the strength of this place.
The reason I didn't give it a 5 star is that the rooms are really dated and the AC was overwhelmed. The resort needs an update!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Stayed at Palm Beach the last week of Nov. 2012. A great resort and we have been to a few. I am not sure where the negative comments from but some of these people should be told that they are not in the States anymore. The hotel had a few glitches but bent over backwards to solve them and help. German, don't know his last name or if this is how he spells his first name, was there when we needed anything. He even asked if we had any positive or negative comments and wrote them down and fixed the concerns we had that he had the authority to fix. He was there to ask what we needed on the beach and pool, make reservations at the restaurants (a different one each night, tried them all and they all had excellent food, we pigged out). The food at the world buffet and the beach was also very good and I can only think that anyone who says they got food poisoning from this resort had to have trouble from water that they should have been more careful with and not the food. I ate quite often durring the day at the beach and never had a problem (the fried chicken is delicious),

The whole staff at this resort are great (and I made a point of getting a couple of names so I could mention them, they were that helpful). All the way from Floa Maria a hostess at the World buffet through Juan Francisco, Angel, German and on up to Mister Tomas the manager (my spelling may be off on these names) . This resort is very good and can only get better with a staff like this. We will go back to Dreams Palm Beach.

The resort is close to the airport, has very good food and will solve any concerns you may have what more could anyone ask?

Room Tip: Go preferred if you like quiet, rooms are always quiet from evening on but a little noisy around th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana

Address: Cabeza de Toro - Provincia La Altagracia, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#16 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#18 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#20 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#21 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#29 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana 4*
Number of rooms: 500
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facing the Caribbean Sea, white sand beach and lush gardens, Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana boasts 500 spacious rooms and ample suites surrounded by swaying palm trees and views of endless blue waters stretching to the horizon - the perfect setting in paradise. Take advantage of all the unlimited luxury activities Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana has to offer. Swim, sail, snorkel or windsurf in the turquoise Caribbean, enjoy fine a-la-cart dining, sip favorite cocktails at one of our bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, BookIt.com and Tingo so you can book your Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana Hotel Punta Cana
Occidental Punta Cana
Occidental Allegro Punta Cana
Punta Cana Occidental
Sunscape Punta Cana
Punta Cana Dreams Palm Beach
Punta Cana Allegro

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.