We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Time” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana

Save Saved
You added Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Cabeza de Toro - Provincia La Altagracia, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 101 hotels in Punta Cana
Dos Palos Y, California, United States
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

This trip was excellente as they say there. From the time we stepped off the shuttle we were treated like Royalty. They had a drink in our hands before we could get to our room. I tried to carry one bag into our room and the bellhop said stop this is your vacation we'll do all the work. that type of service never stoped. We stayed on the prefered club side but from what we saw every body was treated the same. Special credits to our pool concier Angel. He was great. also our prefered club concier Kenia she rememberd our names from the begining to end. Thanks Dreams.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management-Palmbeach, Public Relations Manager at Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Dear Dean,

Please receive a warm greeting from Dreams Palm Beach. We really appreciate you took the time to sharing your experience about your recent vacation as it allows other reviewer know what Dreams is all about and for having chosen us as your vacation destination.

It is our intention to make every single guest feel at home, especially like ‘royalty’ as soon as they step into our resort and provide them with the most memorable, fun vacation. We will make sure to pass on your comments to our staff, especially to Angel.

Please know that it was a pleasure to serve you and we are looking forward to welcome you to your home away from home.

Warmest regards,

Vangie Severino
Management Assistant
Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana
Cabeza de Toro, La Altagracia Dominican Republic
Tel:(809)552-6000 Ext. 1719
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,380 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3,282
    1,259
    521
    199
    119
See reviews for
2033
2119
48
49
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,248)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012 via mobile

My stay at the dreams palm beach resort was very enjoyable and relaxing. Food was amazing and service was great. However one employee named tomas from the entertainment team had been a bit too friendly at times and he then told me he wanted his tip..? I had no cash and wasn't sure how to say no because i wasn't sure if that was something i was supposed to do so he offered to go to the atm machine in the back stage for me to get 3000DR, which he had told me was 30$ Canadian. I later found out it was approx 67$ Canadian and of course this all happened on the last shift of that week I was there and wouldn't be seeing him again.. Not happy or impressed at all about that and hope NO ONE has to deal with that from him AGAIN. This is not a joke, and this is not fake.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

This was my first all inclusive resort and admittedly had no idea what to expect. I have nothing to compare this to- only that I have some expectations of what a resort is and all in all this place had some good/bad things (like all places).

Pros-
Service of the staff was friendly (they answer everything with "it's my pleasure")
Very close to Beautiful Beaches
Lots of Food/Drinks whenever you want it
All inclusive includes room service- which was a nice treat.
Room was very clean

Cons
Room was warm every night (major issue with the AC throughout, you just have to get used to sleeping in warm muggy weather)
Food was meh (didn't have any meals that were that good, including the on site restaurants)
Anything you spend at the resort (for me contact solution) was a FORTUNE . This is coming from someone who lives in NYC where everything is expensive

Some additional tips:
Take a lot of 1 dollar bills (many of these staff depend on tips and take US dollars)
Arrange transportation to and from the airport in advance (don't risk the cabs, it's not worth it nor reliable)
Ask for a corner/quiet room
Get the coupon book they give you upon check in (I didn't spend any money or time and got a lot of reductions on things like a massage and didn't have to give them my info or anything).

All in all- I think this is a great place for family trips and the service is nice. I wouldn't necessarily go back unless I got a really great deal.

Room Tip: If it's a decent rate- I would get the upgrade. And definitely inquire about the AC before you g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management-Palmbeach, Public Relations Manager at Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Dear Guest,

Please receive a warm greeting from Dreams Palm Beach. We would like to thank you for sharing your experience about your recent stay. We apologize we were not able to fully fulfill your expectations, as this is our main goal.

We apologize the AC was not to your satisfaction and that the food was not to your liking. Please have in mind that all these are subject to each individual’s perception and it is a shame this was not brought to our attention while you were still here, as our management staff would have gone beyond to try and make your stay more pleasurable. Furthermore our executive chef is always welcomed to cater any special requests for our guests, when food is not to any of our guests’ satisfaction.

We will certainly recognize the areas of opportunity that may surge from them and take full
action, as we understand there is always room for improvement.
We are pleased you enjoyed our staff’s hospitality and friendliness, as well as our beach and other facilities.

We apologize once more for not meeting your expectations and we would like to express that we do value your comments very much and hope to have the opportunity to serve you again in the future and be able to change your experience. If you have any further comments or observations, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Warm regards,

Vangie Severino
Management Assistant
Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana
Cabeza de Toro, La Altagracia Dominican Republic
Tel:(809)552-6000 Ext. 1719
operaciones.drepb@dreamsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Binghamton, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We were just there for a week over thanksgiving. We had a great vacation. The best thing for us was the Kids (Explorer) club. We have a 5 year old boy and an 8 year old daughter. Our kids just wanted to spend every waking hour there. Elizabeth, Isabel and Awilda were wonderful! Those girls are worth their weight in gold! They kept the kids happy and entertained the whole time, thus giving us a nice couple vacation! This is the 5th time we go to a hotel with a kids club, and this was the best by far.
Generally the best thing about this hotel is the staff. AT all levels they are very helpful and thats the strength of this place.
The reason I didn't give it a 5 star is that the rooms are really dated and the AC was overwhelmed. The resort needs an update!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Stayed at Palm Beach the last week of Nov. 2012. A great resort and we have been to a few. I am not sure where the negative comments from but some of these people should be told that they are not in the States anymore. The hotel had a few glitches but bent over backwards to solve them and help. German, don't know his last name or if this is how he spells his first name, was there when we needed anything. He even asked if we had any positive or negative comments and wrote them down and fixed the concerns we had that he had the authority to fix. He was there to ask what we needed on the beach and pool, make reservations at the restaurants (a different one each night, tried them all and they all had excellent food, we pigged out). The food at the world buffet and the beach was also very good and I can only think that anyone who says they got food poisoning from this resort had to have trouble from water that they should have been more careful with and not the food. I ate quite often durring the day at the beach and never had a problem (the fried chicken is delicious),

The whole staff at this resort are great (and I made a point of getting a couple of names so I could mention them, they were that helpful). All the way from Floa Maria a hostess at the World buffet through Juan Francisco, Angel, German and on up to Mister Tomas the manager (my spelling may be off on these names) . This resort is very good and can only get better with a staff like this. We will go back to Dreams Palm Beach.

The resort is close to the airport, has very good food and will solve any concerns you may have what more could anyone ask?

Room Tip: Go preferred if you like quiet, rooms are always quiet from evening on but a little noisy around th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

I stayed at this resort from the 20th of Nov. to the 26th of same month 2012. from the time you get there, a bellboy is on hand to help you disembark from your transfer vehicle and carry your luggage to your room. For this part and throughout your sojourn, the bellboys are always available to help you. One of them who particularly stood out is Joseph Beras. He was very friendly and went above his duty to help.
The room assigned to me was on the first floor but was very humid and smelled of mildew. I thought the air conditioner would remove the extra humidity but I was mistaken. I had to ask for a different room which was made available right away. That room was on the first floor and had no humidity/mildew issues and was easily accessible in spite of a lack of elevator.
The rooms are spacious enough and they have plenty of amenities. The refrigerator was not always stocked with all the drinks however.
The food at the resort was excellent especially at the World Cafe with its international cuisine. The staff is very helpful in catering to your needs. One outstanding waiter here is Joan Feliciano who went out of his way to make your meal enjoyable. He was always on hand to refill your drink or remove used plates. He made me feel like I had a personal butler. So ask for him by name if you want him to make you feel like a VIP...
The beach was very close and had some fine powdery sand. The water, as in all the Caribbean's, is warm and very pleasant.
All in all, I recommend this resort if you are going to visit the DR.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brownvale, Canada
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

We were a group of eleven people from Alberta Canada who all can say we had a terrific week at the Dreams Palm Beach. We attended a wedding on the beach which was absolutely perfect - the ceremony, the supper, dancing on the beach. Rooms were clean, air conditioned, and mini bars stocked daily. The beach was awesome with some seaweed but workers always trying to clean it up. But above all, the service at this resort was the best I have ever encountered at any resort, and we have been to many different resorts in the last few years. The grill cook Freddie, butlers Jose and Wilson, the pool waitress who always smiled even though she was pregnant and had to walk all day, the entertainment staff, the waiters and waitresses at the restaurants. Everyone was always trying to make sure our stay even better than it already was. Thank you so much for making our week here such an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana

Address: Cabeza de Toro - Provincia La Altagracia, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#17 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#19 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#20 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#21 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#29 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facing the Caribbean Sea, white sand beach and lush gardens, Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana boasts 500 spacious rooms and ample suites surrounded by swaying palm trees and views of endless blue waters stretching to the horizon - the perfect setting in paradise. Take advantage of all the unlimited luxury activities Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana has to offer. Swim, sail, snorkel or windsurf in the turquoise Caribbean, enjoy fine a-la-cart dining, sip favorite cocktails at one of our bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo, Expedia, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., BookIt.com, Travelocity, Venere and Priceline so you can book your Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana Hotel Punta Cana
Occidental Punta Cana
Occidental Allegro Punta Cana
Punta Cana Occidental
Sunscape Punta Cana
Punta Cana Dreams Palm Beach
Punta Cana Allegro

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.