We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bravo to the Riu Palace Macao!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Riu Palace Macao

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Riu Palace Macao to your Saves list
Hotel Riu Palace Macao
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Playa Arena Gorda, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
EARLY BIRD SPRING DEALS
Ranked #25 of 102 Hotels in Punta Cana
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
“Bravo to the Riu Palace Macao!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2009

We recently returned from a week (29 May – 5 June 2009) at the Riu Palace Macao staying in Room 3232 overlooking the pool and courtyard. I have now stayed in five Riu Palaces, twice the Riu Palace Macao, the two palaces in Playa del Carmen, Mexico as well as the Riu Palace Punta Cana, and last week was one of the nicest stays we have had.

Why was this? The Riu Palace Macao, as others have posted, is a charming, smaller, colonial type old style hotel with superb service. In our last stay in December 2004 I had wished the food was a bit better. It is now much better, quite excellent, and the new Krystal Restaurant on the ocean is contemporary, handsome and with outstanding food and service. We loved the smallness, charm and ambeince of an old style hotel where one is very well attended to. In the evening there is much live music in the lobby bar from about 6:30-9:30pm.

My one suggestion to the Riu hotel chain is to update the Riu Palace Macao air conditioning and perhaps at some point update the rooms and bathrooms.

I want to commend two outstanding employees: TeoFilo in the Lobby Bar in the late afternoon and evenings and Virginio in the morning and evening buffets. Both of these men I found to be impressive in their work and service. I wrote the hotel manager a personal email noting their excellent service and care.

At the Riu Palaces one enjoys light excellent champagne the entire day and this I certainly miss. And let me not forget to mention the wonderful beach in front of the hotel and the many coconut palms under which one can sit so not to be burnt by the sun. If one patronizes Riu hotels regularly one can sign up for a Riu card which brings a few helpful privileges.

If you choose the Riu Palace Macao, enjoy!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,186
    669
    238
    108
    82
See reviews for
281
1,251
26
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (455)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southwest Kansas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2009

My wife and I stayed at RIU Punta Cana last summer for our honeymoon. We had a great time, to say the least! The pool was lovely, and it was nice having the beach just a short walk away. If you're looking for a vacationing spot for lounging around, Punta Cana is great for that. The service was excellent. As for the food, the buffet was very good and reliable. The restaurants were not the best, but we were surprised with the Japanese restaurant. We had read that the food there was terrible, but it ended up being our favorite. Room service is not worth the wait.

As for leisure activities, talk to the travel agent/specialist onsight at the resort (usually available in the lobb) before embarking on any journeys, like windsailing, snorkeling, horse back riding, etc. Companies will advertise on the beach and around the pool area, but at the time of our honeymoon, those groups were not insured. Our advisor "advised" us against going that route, and we set up all expeditions through her. We went snorkeling and horseback riding, which we enjoyed both very much, especially the horseback riding during the sunset. That was an amazing experience, and I highly recommend it. If you sign up for the horseback riding expedition, I recommend a massage the following day. You will be quite sore!

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2009

The bliss of your destination wedding and week-long vacation will truly boil down to your expectations and those of your guests. If you have high expectations of your wedding resort (even though it is a 2 star property and you paid next to nothing to be there) you are setting yourself up for a fall. Likewise, if you have lower expectations, paid little and understand that you are going to a foreign country, you may be pleasantly surprised. BUT, what if you have high expectations, because you have paid a lot to be there and the resort is advertised as a 5.5 star property and you arrive...and it's not? Then you will have the same issues I had....only it will not just be a vacation - it will be your Wedding Week and you will have 40 people with you, looking just as displeased. This is the case with the RIU Palace Macao.

Before I chose the RIU Palace Macao, I did extensive research. When you are inviting over 50 people to spend their money and fly with you internationally, you have to be sure that you are getting the best value for their dollar and for yours...especially in the midst of a recession. I contacted travel agents and spoke to those who had been to the Macao and was assured that the property was the 5.5 stars that it was rated in by Sunquest Vacations in Canada. They said it was. However, the traveller reviews on this site said otherwise...and so I started to grow worried. As you will see, the reviews are quite varied and making a decision on where to go for your vacation, much less your wedding is difficult. But in the end, we chose the Macao based on the stay-at-one, play-at-four deal: you can have full access to the other RIUs on the complex with the exception of the Palace Punta Cana for no extra charge. We thought that if guests got bored at the Macao, they could venture onto the other properties.

My wedding group of 40 stayed at the RIU Palace Macao from May14 - 21, 2009. In Canada, the Macao is rated a 5.5 star hotel available through Sunquest Vacations/ Thomas Cook Group. This is truly false advertising. The Macao is a 4 star property at best and Sunquest is aware of this. I was told upon return that it is one of the first Palaces that RIU built...so it is a 14 year old palace. The problem with this is that, if you have seen palace standard since, it has been upgraded significantly...and the Macao is no longer a palace. However, as the Sunquest rep. told us, they cannot downgrade the property...it is popular and one of their best sellers. So they advertise a property at a rating that no longer reflects the quality of the property. Strangely, in the USA, the Macao is (correctly) rated a4 star property...what a discrepancy.

All of this to say that we paid for 5.5 star tropical elegance for our destination wedding for ourselves and for our guests and we really did not get it.

The wedding coordinators are fabulous as everyone says and really do make your day memorable...it is the rest that is not quite what you expect.

They have two seatings for dinner - 6:30 pm and 8:30 pm. They close at 8 pm to clean up, refresh the buffet and re-open to serve the later guests. It is nicer to be able to eat when you want, as you can at other resorts....because what if you are not hungry at 6:30 pm? You miss your dinner time and it can be a hassle to get a later seating. In truth, this is really not necessary. Other resorts clean up and refresh the buffet all through the night. It would have been nicer to have the choice to eat when hungry, especially when on vacation and the atmosphere is so relaxed. I think this is just specific to the Macao...we honeymooned at a RIU in Jamaica and this was not done.

If you ar concerned about your wedding meal, read on: your wedding dinner will be at one of the specialty restaurants. The only issue (and it is a big one) is that there is no special wedding dinner menu. The food is the same as it is every night. So if you or your guests have eaten at that specialty restaurant at any time during the course of the trip, they will have the same meal offered as your wedding dinner. Some of my group ate at our restaurant the night before....and had the same meal for our wedding dinner the next day. It would be nice if they could offer a special wedding menu...or just cook the chicken differently...so that it adds a bit of specialness to your reception dinner. Otherwise, it is common...the only difference is that you are eating it in your wedding gown.

The grounds are OK, but they are nothing special. This was my 12th all-inclusive, so I have been to many properties and can say this...you will know paradise when you see it. The Macao is pretty, but it is not beautiful...and choosing a pretty spot to vacation in and a beautiful location to get married in are not the same thing. This is a trip with greater significance.

Therefore, I cannot recommend the Macao to other brides unless: a.) you expect a 4 star property b.) you paid $1000 or under for 7 days c.) you just want a "pretty" place to get married in and d.) this is your first all-inclusive. I say this because if it is your first all-inclusive you will have nothing to compare it to and may not be disappointed. All of my guests had travelled before...so when we offered them a chance to see us married at a 5.5 star property, they were excited. They were not so excited when we arrived and they realized that their money could have taken them to much nicer places. As the bride, you will deal with your guests' experiences and reactions all week long.

I did not hate the Macao...I hated that I had chosen it for the special occasion that I had based on wrong information. My advice is to really research other resorts before choosing this one...even though they offer free weddings...and expect 4 star quality.

If you have not already discovered Best Destination Wedding as a website to talk and plan with other brides having destination weddings, I really recommend it at www.bestdestinationwedding.com. There are reviewsand tips and a place to scream if you need to...in the company of others planning the same thing.

The Macao just isn't what it is cracked up to be. The Palace Punta Cana is beautiful...but we were told that it is all aesthetics. The food quality and rooms are the same. They also have the same evening shows as the same performers travel between the 4 resorts.

Should you need any other info, feel free to send me a message.

  • Stayed May 2009
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2009

hotel was nice little smelly but that was all around resort. If your in your seventies and like to think your something your so not this is the place for you.champagne more lambrini. Staff were nice although just going through the motions like robots. We went for two weeks one would have been more than enough.Niteclub very seedy dont go there.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2009

First moved into the RIU Naiboa next door to the Palace Macao. Was at the Naiboa two days and could not wait to upgrade next door to the Macao. Best move I mad that vacation week. Stayed for 5 days at the Palace Macao and we loved it. Stay away from the RIU Naiboa, it's a horror.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wentworth
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2009

Our second time to this wonderful hotel. Everything here is perfect from the friendliness and attentiveness of all the staff to the lovely food and the superb cleanliness of the room.
To our amazement we were given the same room as we had last year!. This was really lovely as it over looked Caribean Street. When it was Caribean night we were seranaded by the street bands whilst getting ready for our evening meal. It was truely magical.
The food here is awesome. Last year we did not try the a la carte reastaurants, but this year we did. Do not go here without dining at the Krystal. It is really wonderful and the food is as good as a first class restaurant. The staff are wonderfull. Please rememember they are poorly paid and will gratefully receive any tips you give.
Last year we were fortunate enough to meet two people who have now become our best friends. We met up with them again this year and our holiday was made even more fabulous because of the memories we all shared of this lovely place.
The beach is like being in paradise, and I don't know where we are now going to go to better this. What a problem!
110%
PS. All four of us are now members of the Antonito Fan Club. "I love my job"

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2009

Just got back to Canada from Rui Palace Macao today. Very disappointed as we had stayed in other hotels of the Rui name in Mexico and they lived up to their billing. First, the hotel is not that clean, not the rooms, not the central areas and definitely not the washrooms. The front desk makes a show about changing rooms but forget it - everything is manana (tomorrow). The restaurant staff is great. The pool is wanting. The beach is wonderful. Its really a 3 star hotel though. Entertainment is poor - after dinner you are left to do almost nothing for awhile until they offer a 45 minute show and then there is little to do after that but sit in the heat. The disco is a rip-off, they try to cheat you at the bar if you are not careful. The DJ is hostile to playing anything besides home-grown music unless you slip him $20 bucks - he might play a song you recognize - and they wonder why no one dancing. The food is average. Don't bother bringing nice clothes for evening wear - its not a five star hotel!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Macao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Macao

Address: Playa Arena Gorda, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#19 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#20 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#22 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#23 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#36 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace Macao 4*
Number of rooms: 364
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Arena Gorda Beach in Punta Cana. Complimentary sun loungers on the beach. Within the Riu Resort, along with the Riu Palace Punta Cana, Riu Taino, Riu Naiboa hotels and the ClubHotel Riu Bambu. 3-storey building. Colonial style architecture. Surrounded by 30,000 m2 / 36,000 sq. yards of palm groves alongside the beach. 50 km / 31 miles from Higey. 200 m / 660 ft. from Caribbean Street. 30 km / 19 miles from Punta Cana Int'l. Airport. Credit cards accepted: Visa, MasterCard, Amex. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., BookIt.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Macao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Palace Macao Hotel Punta Cana
Riu Palace Macao Punta Cana
Riu Palace Punta Cana
Rui Palace Punta Cana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Riu Palace Macao, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.