We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Riu Palace Macao

Save Saved
You added Hotel Riu Palace Macao to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Riu Palace Macao
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Playa de Arena Gorda, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to $2000 Resort Credit
Ranked #27 of 100 hotels in Punta Cana
Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
1 review
“Honeymoon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

The suite was large and very comfortable. They decorated your room with beautiful towels made into swans, hearts and baskets. The bedroom had a massive bed and was very comfortable and clean. The air conditioning was great especially after coming back from the beach. The staff were so friendly and helpful during the whole holiday. The food was incredible and the desserts ........... AMAZING !!! Highly recommended would love to return in the future :-)

Room Tip: Suite is large and have two balconies with lovely views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,972 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    997
    584
    213
    103
    75
See reviews for
259
1042
20
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (355)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

My partner and I spent 11 days at this fabulous resort from 12 July - 23 July 2014. We both have nothing but praise for the hotel and its staff - the negative reviews on here are not justified at all.

Check in

After a fabulous flight on the Dreamliner, we arrived at the hotel after a 35 minute transfer from Punta Cana airport to be greeted with a glass of orange juice and Champagne. Check in was prompt and we were addressed as a whole group by Francisco who explained all the important details. Each couple was then provided with the room key and wifi log in information.

The Room

We were provided with a room with a garden view on the third floor and although we could not see the sea from our balcony, the room itself was amazing and extremely modern. The room had no “damp smell” and was simply a delight to stop in. The mini bar was refilled every day and the four optics were changed when empty. The room was cleaned once a day with a nightly turn down service. The maid changed the towels twice daily and often left delightful creations such as swans and roses sprinkled over the bathroom. The bathroom has two sinks and the shower was more than adequate. Whilst the air conditioning was not state of the art, it still did its job.

The Food

I have read many complaints concerning the food and they are not merited at all. The buffet caters for all and the quality of the food is second to none. There is a wide range of food available from sea food, freshly cooked pasta, a selection of meats which were cooked to perfection and with the range of deserts available, it really is a five star experience.

There are four speciality restaurants, the steakhouse, Japanese, Italian and Krystal. We tried all of these with the steakhouse being a personal favourite. Although the Italian food is nice, it is served in extremely small portions. The Japanese is ok as long as you like sushi. Krystal arguably has the best setting as it is next to the beach. The Steakhouse food was delightful and the steak was cooked to perfection.

The waiters at all of the restaurants are diligent and as soon as your glass is half empty, it is filled again immediately. Although it is true not all can speak fluent English, communication is not a problem and they all try extremely hard. Victor at the buffet terrace was superb and made you feel extremely welcome.

The Entertainment

A lot of the reports on here are simply not correct concerning the poor level of entertainment and really do the team a significant injustice! The entertainment team work tirelessly throughout the day and are always extremely friendly and cheerful. There is a wide range of activities available throughout the day such as stretching, aerobics, volley ball, archery and “special” games and they always try to get all willing participants involved. On a night time, the entertainment team really do get you involved and offer to dance with you to the traditional Dominican music.

The evening shows are amazing and any one visiting must visit the street carnival on a Thursday and also ensure they see the Michael Jackson and illusion show which was breathtaking. Alex, who is one of the entertainers, is a brilliant character and you must get to know him.

Put simply, we have travelled to some of the best resorts in the world and this entertainment team is one of the best we have seen.

The Service and Experience

The service and experience at the resort was simply brilliant. This is a five star resort in all senses. The beach is breathtaking, although there was quite a lot of sea weed and the two pools were super. One was a pool bar, which was quite loud, and the other was a more relaxing experience with beds submerged in the water. Both were extremely clean as was the whole resort.

The waiters around the pool and beach worked tirelessly. A special mention must go to Bermudez (who speaks excellent English) and Miguel. The cocktails served at the lobby bar were top notch and the patisserie has cakes which must be sampled. Raul at the lobby bar is a character you must meet and makes the best cocktails.

All of the resorts employees go out of there way to speak to you wishing you good morning and asking how you are – nothing is too much for them. These little touches really do make your holiday. We strongly advise to take US Dollars as everything is charged in this currency. Although you are not required to tip, the staff are extremely grateful and it does enhance your experience. The staff work from 10am – 11pm at night, 11 days a week with 3 days off – they certainly deserve any tip provided.

Overall

We really can not stress what a brilliant resort Riu Palace Macau is. It truly is a five star resort and we have no hesitation in recommending it to other people. Thank you Riu for a brilliant 11 days!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dinwiddie, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

My husband and I went to Punta Cana for the first time on our honeymoon and stayed at Riu Macao. We were in awe the whole stay about everything from the staff, food, room, entertainment, etc. Everything was exceptional. From the minute we stepped foot in the door they were there with beverages and a welcome gift. The people were nicer and more helpful than anyone we had ever met. They were always smiling and wanting to make you happy. The buffet and chefs were top notch. We had made reservations at all the restaurants but only ate at the Steakhouse and we were so much happier with the buffet we cancelled all the other reservations. I am a picky eater and my stomach hurt for days from eating so much. There was always food available. The entertainment was so much fun and they went out of their way to make sure everyone was having fun. The bartenders and waitstaff were always there before your glass was empty they would even come out to the beach to get you a drink. Although all the staff was amazing Roberto was our waiter everyday and he was awesome. Alex from entertainment was so much fun and we missed him the last two days because he was off. Things weren't the same without him there and Fransisco was always at the bar/patio and happy to see us. They were all so great but those 3 really went out of their way to make everyone happy. We can't wait to go back and hope we can save the money for another trip really soon. We hated to leave and won't stay anywhere else. Everything was perfect. This is definitely more of a relaxing hotel and not for the party crowd. There was always entertainment and drinking but it was more laid back. We are mid 30's and that seemed to be an average age there. It was exactly what we were looking for. My only suggestion would be to definitely spend the extra money for the Jacuzzi sweet if you are going as a couple it is so worth it. I didn't know it was a optional topless beach. This was a nice surprise for my husband. Thank you for making our honeymoon wonderful and a memorable experience. We will hopefully we back soon.

Room Tip: Spend extra money for jacuzzi room, take tervis cups and cute bathing suits (smaller the bottom the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

My partner and I stayed at this hotel from 01/07/14-15/07/14. We are mid twenties and this was our first 5* all inclusive holiday.

Staff-
We found the staff to be amazing! When arriving at the hotel we were given a free upgrade to a sea view room as we had previously requested this via email (so would recommended you do this). The staff work so hard and are always smiling and very welcoming. We couldn't fault their services.

The room-
We had a standard sea view room and it was very lovely! The view was beautiful and the décor was contemporary. The rooms are cleaned daily and the fridge was also filled up daily. We left the maid a dollar tip everyday she appreciated it, often making our towels into swans with roses. Our rooms was cleaned spotless daily with fresh towels so it was brilliant!

The facilities-
The hotel had everything that you would need including various pools, a patisserie and daily activities. The night time entertainment was enjoyable although I would recommend not placing three dance shows together one night after the other. However they were very talented and enjoyable to watch. Our favourite was the circus which took place in the copacabana venue.

The food-
We heard many different opinions about the food and we can now see how people have different opinions. The buffet has a wide range of food and there was always something to eat, even for the more fussier people. However on several occasions my partner and I were ill and a few people that we met out there were also ill. I am unsure of what exactly caused it but it happened a few times. I think that on holiday the food is different to what were used to back home so getting ill is probably going to happen at some point. I would suggesting that you maybe stick to the foods which you are familiar with if you have a tender stomach. For the more adventurous, eat away! It was very nice food. As for the specialised restaurants, our favourite was the Krystal. It served a delicious steak. However the steak house served a tough steak that I didn't find enjoyable. We paid £150.00 to eat on the beach on our last night. Although the setting was beautiful, the food was very average and this was disappointing as we had paid for it. I was also ill so I feel that it would have been more enjoyable if I wasn't! So I would say give it a go if you want to.

The drinks-
We loved the cocktails but just be sure not to have too many as they contain their own coconut milk ( the reps will warn you of this! haha). The wine was enjoyable and I particularly liked the rose. In the day we had lemonade and sprite so we were pleased with the drinks.

The beach-
Breathtaking! The most lovely and exotic beach I have been on. However the sunbeds on the beach are uncomfortable to lay on if you want to tan your back. We took some from the pool to the beach.

Excursions-
We went on the dolphin trip and the Caribbean cruising trip. I would recommended both of them highly! The dolphin excursion was on a lovely beach and set out in the sea (fenced off of course!). It was such an amazing experience. The Caribbean cruising trip was fantastic. I get sea sick and took some travel sickness tablets and these done the job! We stopped and held starfish and swam in a beautiful blue sea with a white sand beach. I would recommended both of these trips highly!

Top tips-
Take dollars, everything is in dollars and its easier to tip with dollars

Email them before and request a room of your choice

We purchased tourist card before we got there as it was suggest on trip advisor. However we had to wait in the same queue as everybody else and we found it rather pointless so if your unsure I wouldn't bother.

Room Tip: Request a room via email and you may even get a free upgrade!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The facilities are nice and specialty restaurants ok. Our luggage was late coming in so we didn't arrive to the hotel with a group. We received no information at check in about the hotel other than the room number, key and wifi. We didn't event get an arm band until the next day when we asked what the arm bands were for! Every time we called the front desk or went for help it was not a good experience. You would think that the front desk staff would speak good English but that isn't the case. When you check in its too late to make a reservation for the restaurants so you eat at the buffet which wasn't bad at all. We had great service at the steak house, horrible service at the Italian restaurant and good service at the fusion restaurant.

The entertainment staff was great, very friendly and fun.

This resort is a decent value for the price but if you don't speak Spanish and are looking for the level of service similar to what you get in the US or Europe don't stay here and go somewhere a little more expensive. You have to ask for top shelf liquor at the bars and in the casino, if not they will give you some cheap off brand. The resort has lots of smokers so beware if you don't smoke.

Room Tip: If you want a room with a view of the ocean there will be more noise since you will also over look t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Accrington, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

was a bit worried with all negative reviews but after a long flight on the dreamliner punta cana airport very hot and slow check in but nice bus ride to hotel arrived greeted with a cold glass of juice quick check in keys to room on 3rd floor nice room full stocked fridge 4 optics on wall rafelle on reception very helpfull pool swim up bar very loud and busy we chose to stay in other most of our 2 weeks 14th june till 28th food in buffett very good italian wasnt italian but had very good beef didnt try japanse or steakhouse fusion out of this world breakfast very good ahaman makes the best ommellets marrybella waited on us nearly everyday which was really nice joha and danie who work in coffee shop and lobby bar went out there way raul in lobbybar out of his way remembered all drinks janet jackson from the amination team tried to get us to jion in every day but we didnt but she got her own back on our last night as she grabbed my husband up for a smooch they dont do malibu there which is my fav drink the tompson rep monica went to town and bought me a bottle made some nice friends there 2 weeks of chill out no children which is a bonus there is a smell of mould we went to reception and they upgraded us to a beautifull suite for 5 days maids very nice rooms and towels cleaned and changed daily tipping isnt a must but a little goes a long way .......... we have already booked to back next june Thankyou Riu Palace Macao

Julie n Mike Accrington lancs UK

Room Tip: corner suites are very large and comfy
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This was a lovely hotel, but it has Pacha Nightclub situated right out the front of hotel. So early hours of the morning you get loads of drunken people shouting and banging around.
The rooms got damp, if you turned off air con. This caused clothes to feel wet, and they smelt.
Wouldn't rate it 5 *, maybe a 4*.
Pool area could do with being scrubbed down daily, when drinks got spilt ants appeared. They just threw water over the pool area at night tine. This never washed away the stickiness.
Food was amazing and so the service. I would recommend this hotel if like clubbing to early hours of the morning, or had a room not near nightclub.
Nothing to do around this area.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Macao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Macao

Address: Playa de Arena Gorda, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#19 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#20 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#23 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#24 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#36 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace Macao 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Arena Gorda Beach in Punta Cana. Complimentary sun loungers on the beach. Within the Riu Resort, along with the Riu Palace Punta Cana, Riu Taino, Riu Naiboa hotels and the ClubHotel Riu Bambu. 3-storey building. Colonial style architecture. Surrounded by 30,000 m2 / 36,000 sq. yards of palm groves alongside the beach. 50 km / 31 miles from Higey. 200 m / 660 ft. from Caribbean Street. 30 km / 19 miles from Punta Cana Int'l. Airport. Credit cards accepted: Visa, MasterCard, Amex. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., getaroom.com, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Macao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Palace Macao Hotel Punta Cana
Riu Palace Macao Punta Cana
Riu Palace Punta Cana
Rui Palace Punta Cana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Riu Palace Macao, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.