We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Riu Palace Macao

Save Saved
You added Hotel Riu Palace Macao to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Riu Palace Macao
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Playa de Arena Gorda, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to $2000 Resort Credit
Ranked #27 of 100 hotels in Punta Cana
Warrington, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Amazing hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Had the most amazing two week holiday.
Hotel is lovely and in a lovely location. The only blip in the holiday was some guests had their rooms broken into. We were located on the ground floor opposite Carribean St, which is renound for rooms being targeted. Thankfully our room was not touched, but five others were. This seems to be an ongoing issue that really needs to be dealt with. We came back to the room twice to find the maid had left the patio unlocked.
This said we still had an amazing time and met some lovely people and can't praise the hotel staff enough. I can honestly say I have never met more well mannered and pleasant staff, they were all amazing.
I would say don't shop on Carribean Street as the prices are ridiculous and you are harrassed to buy.
Also the prices in the hotel shop are ridiculous. If you need to buy anything there are free buses from the hotel taking you to supermarkets and shopping centres.

Room Tip: Avoid ground floor rooms opposite Carribean St (have been robberies) on this floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,941 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    975
    580
    210
    104
    72
See reviews for
257
1019
20
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (341)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

When myself and my wife arrived on our honeymoon we were delighted with this place, the setting was idyllic, the room, luxurious and immaculate and the staff could not do enough for us. Every member of staff that we dealt with we're exceptionally well mannered and extremely friendly. I witnessed none of this so called letching by staff members, in fact the staff were probably the nicest people in he hotel. The reason I say about the Americans is that they almost ruined this holiday for me. Loud, brash and downright rude they left me disgusted with how they spoke to the staff. Because one guy wouldn't wait his turn to be served he said that he'd get the gentleman that was serving fired. The Americans were as a whole way too noisy and unfriendly but if you can live with them then you'll be in for a fantastic stay with delightful service

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Starting this review with the Airport ......
The biggest down Fall was the Airport ,
Paid $10 Given with passport then another
Que & then they asked for another $5 told them No
Gave us two more forms started to fill them in then just took them off us not
Fully done , they then chucked them on the floor , Some people did pay that went in there
Pockets . Way out was also not straight forward even Cabin Crew say there not the Best ......

The Hotel ....
Reception was large & checking in was very easy ,
We where given forms for check in on the Coach so on arrival handed them in waited for everyone to hand there's in & they explaind about wifi towel cards & told which way to your rooms .
It's a small hotel so it was very easy for us to find .

Rooms.
The rooms are very Clean .
Didn't receive maid service every day but it was ok .
There was a turn down service so clean Towels where left if needed . This also wasn't every night .
Bathroom was large his & hers Sinks large walkin Shower & the Loo .A very old hair drier but it did work ..
The Bed was very Comfortable extra pillows on request . Coffee machine TV & a Fridge this was well stocked with water Pepsi soda tonic water. There was also Brandy Gin Vodka & Whisky. An Iron & a very well worn ironing board included . Plenty of Coat Hangers & lots of draw space . Safe in wardrobe just need your own PIN number . There weren't any slippers or bathrobes only if you go for The more expensive rooms do you get them .

Bars
There is only one Main Bar with Lots of Tables & Chairs inside & outside
There is a nice little Coffee bar open till 11pm.

Entertainment ....

This is not very good . The entertainment team do try but the Shows at night are really Bad . But we still had a good Time .

Food
The Main Restaurant was very Good lots of Diffrent things to try .
A la carte Restaurants not very good The Steak House & Fussion were about the best two .

But it is worth just trying the others Carn't please everyone . Booking very easy every morning from 7-10 am . At the Japenesse restaurant at the side of the Main restaurant . No show cooking which was a shame .

Casino
This is separate from the Hotel Drinks are free if you play
Disco
Is just outside of the Hotel Drinks not included .
Shops
There is a small row of shops running down the side of the Hotel not over Expensive .

There are other Hotels that can be used but not for Evening Meals .


Would we go back ...... No had a lot better but you make a Holiday how you want it .......

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Our stay was perfect. The beach was beautiful and the staff took care of our every need. My only complaint would be the speciality restaurants that required a reservation. The food was mediocre at best. The only one that had decent food was the Japanese restaurant. Stick with the buffet.

Stayed May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The hotel is fantastic, the food out of this world, the staff so friendly. The rooms are big, plenty of space. The rooms are cleaned everyday. The hotel is on the beach. The entertainment is well worth watching. Will be going back very soon. The beach is lovely goes on for miles. This was our 4th time there.

Room Tip: All rooms are good to stay in
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We went here for our honeymoon,staff,food,hotel and Thompson reps were flawless.Staff ,starting with the welcome from reception to the bar ,restaurant,entertainment were all so accommodating and nothing was a problem from the start.Hotel was spotless,plenty of clean towels etc.Food was plentiful and spoilt for choice,something for all even the Fussiest of eaters.The entertainment team knew their jobs and included everyone that was will to participate.The beach was so clean,every morning workers were busy making this so. Will definitely visit again in the future :) .

Room Tip: Pool view and upgrade if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I stayed at the Macao at the end of May beginning of June 2014 - I personally cannot fault the place and the staff are lovely and very attentive - nothing was too much trouble.

My only gripe is the wine/cava! - Being a wine lover it is the same label for White Red and Rose - some label Englaise - it is cheap rubbish and you cannot even buy a decent bottle there for a treat.

The Cava (or their champagne) is the same sparkling water with no taste! I am sorry if this feedback offends the hotel/management but you really need to invest in some decent wine to attract your guests back again.

One occasion the rose ran out and they used a different brand and it was very nice, so stop using the Englaise cheap brand and give the guests some decent wine.

Room Tip: The hotel is lovely so any room would I presume be nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Macao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Macao

Address: Playa de Arena Gorda, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#19 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#20 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#23 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#24 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#27 Business Hotel in Punta Cana
#36 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace Macao 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Arena Gorda Beach in Punta Cana. Complimentary sun loungers on the beach. Within the Riu Resort, along with the Riu Palace Punta Cana, Riu Taino, Riu Naiboa hotels and the ClubHotel Riu Bambu. 3-storey building. Colonial style architecture. Surrounded by 30,000 m2 / 36,000 sq. yards of palm groves alongside the beach. 50 km / 31 miles from Higey. 200 m / 660 ft. from Caribbean Street. 30 km / 19 miles from Punta Cana Int'l. Airport. Credit cards accepted: Visa, MasterCard, Amex. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, Venere, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Travelocity, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Macao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Palace Macao Hotel Punta Cana
Riu Palace Macao Punta Cana
Riu Palace Punta Cana
Rui Palace Punta Cana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Riu Palace Macao, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.