We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent honeymoon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Riu Palace Macao

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Riu Palace Macao to your Saves list
Hotel Riu Palace Macao
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Playa Arena Gorda, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Join us & get 500 Points
Ranked #31 of 98 Hotels in Punta Cana
Certificate of Excellence
Southampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent honeymoon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

We had our honeymmon here and to be honest I can not find any real fault. The service was second to none and from the moment we arrived we were treated like kings and queens. The staff were professional and curtius. My glass was never empty.
The food was out of this world, lots of different meats and fish to chose from and a wide range of salads and vegtables to chose from.
The deserts were also outstanding.
The rooms were cleanned on a daily basis and clean towles were also daily changed.
I would highly recomend this hotel to anyone. Great honeymoon. thanks you

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,540 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,341
    737
    258
    116
    88
See reviews for
296
1,444
30
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (519)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

Just got back from a 10 night stay with my husband . First time I've done all inclusive. Think I've just been spoilt!!!! Suitable for all ages although we do have kids it was nice to be in a hotel adults only. The hotel is very clean and all the staff are very polite and do not make you feel unwelcome which I have experienced in Spain. The buffet restaurant is exceptional although we only tried the Japanese it was ok but put us off the others the buffet was enough. We went with thomson who where helpful and always on hand. We took the trip to Samoa Island which was well worth it however the food was poor. The entertainment is about the same as butlins However that aside the hotel on a whole is very much worth a visit

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Luzerne, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

I got married to the man of my dreams on 5/31/14. Our friends had gone to the Riu last year and suggested that we all go together on a group trip for our honeymoon. We traveled as a group of 12 people. My husband and I had high hopes because of all the good things our friends had told us. The Riu has exceeded all our expectations. The food, service and staff were excellent. Room service was included and was quick. The hotel was very clean and had many activities that were free, such as sailing and kayaking. Every day in the pool, the employees would start the day with aerobics and would include the guests in activities. Because of this, our group met and became friends with many of the other guests. The shows at the Riu were better than the shows I have seen in Vegas. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to eat, drink and play for one all inclusive price.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

I've just returned from an amazing 10 night Thomson honeymoon in this beautiful paradise! It was brilliant from start to finish! On arrival at the hotel, we were greeted by friendly staff who spoke excellent English, with a fruit punch for everyone. All the required information including a hotel map (which really came in handy) was handed to us and while we were inspecting our gorgeously decorated honeymoon room, our bags were delivered. The bed had been made beautifully with petals, Such a lovely touch...although we do wish we would have booked a suite room as the view wasn't very good, we overlooked some trees in room 3318. The room had a fully stocked fridge with Pepsi (Thankfully, I prefer this!), mini bar, toiletries and coffee machine. We ate in some of the Al La Carte restaurants, our favourite being The Steak House. The steak was so yummy! Although we preferred to eat at the main buffet restaurant, it had excellent choice and had themed nights. The desserts were sometimes the same, but that was fine. Breakfast was the best, we ate pancakes and croissants, plus you can request the chef to make omelettes, so much choice. We always sat on the first two seats in the restaurant and our waiter was lovely. He travelled 8 hours to work and always had a massive smile on his face. The hotel overall is the cleanest hotel I have ever stayed in and the maids were friendly and attentive. We tried every single mouthwatering cocktail and most days were drinking strawberry daiquiri's by 10am! We loved the local Mamajuana, such a distinct taste and totally addictive! The pools were always very clean and there were plenty of sun loungers. We did a Thomson excursion to Saona because they advertised white linen sands but I preferred our hotel beach, it was outstanding! Our only issue was with some very loud Americans on our last night, but even this did not taint the holiday at all. I think that they honestly don't know how loud they are sometimes, so as long as you pack some ear plugs just in case, this would be the perfect 5 star paradise honeymoon destination!

Room Tip: we stayed on the 3rd floor in room 3318 and it was a lovely room although not the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

My husband and myself had a great stay here between 28/5 and 7/6 from the moment we arrived we were greeted by friendly polite staff who made us feel very welcome , our room was of a good standard with a comfortable bed the room was cleaned every day , at meal times we used the buffet service which gave plenty of choice and all cooked to a good standard ,it was my birthday while we were there and the staff trimmed our room up with balloons and made displays with towels and flower petals it was lovely . over all we could not fault this holiday the staff work hard making sure you get good service be it in the restaurant , bar, round the pool or room service .

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LTNJET
Level Contributor
46 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

Just returned from a very good weeks stay at the Riu Palace Macao. Check in was handled quite quickly considering the large number of us doing so, we were almost last to get our keys and set off in the direction of our room. I had emailed in advance to ask for a high floor room on the front of the hotel so was a little surprised when we found ourselves on the ground floor at the back of the hotel and facing the kitchens/dustbins. A swift return to Reception followed and were asked to be moved as the room allocated had little natural light and the view was not acceptable. We were told that nothing could be done for that night but we would be moved the next day for definite, this accepted we resolved to stay in room 3099 that night. As soon as we returned to the room I received a call advising a sea view room had been found and would we move straight away to it ? This we did and the difference was amazing, a high floor and an ocean view!Our grateful thanks to Widy who handled our problem.
Apart from our initial problem we could not have been more pleased with the hotel. The location, beach, food and the amazing staff made this a memorable holiday. The 'Steakhouse' restaurant is a very good alternative to the main buffet restaurant, but even here you will be spoilt for choice of food on offer.
The pool area gets quite busy but there are always plenty of sun beds available here and on the beach. It is a shame that the 'habit of reserving sunbeds' has found its way to this Caribbean island.
All in all an excellent property with good facilities for all, young and older.

Room Tip: Do not accept room 3099 !
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Having just returned from this beautiful country and this equally beautiful hotel our holiday was amazing! We travelled for 10 nights with Thomson (the Caribbean Cruise is most definitely a recommendable excursion whilst out there!!)

The staff literally made our holiday, they were soo helpful and always so welcoming considering how much they truly work hard, me and my boyfriend most definitely take our hats off to them!
The food was absolutely lush, my boyfriend is a very picky eater but always managed to bring back a plate full to our table. DEFINITELY book into the steakhouse and also for the younger couples, make sure the male has a pair of LONG TROUSERS packed, you will not be allowed to eat in the specialised restaurants without them (main buffet smart shorts are fine.)
The staff do not beg for tips as we was worried after reading other reviews before coming. Although out of kindness and appreciation we did leave the serving staff a tip at the very end of our holiday.

Incredible free WIFI everywhere on the resort and yes that does include the beach!

Our room was gorgeous and so spacious, the bed amazingly comfy and we used the safe all the time (not that we didn't trust the staff, just peace of mind knowing your valuables were safe.)

We never once had a problem getting our sun beds (whether shade/sun) although the comfy beds were saved on a morning so be an early bird if you want one of those! The beach was our place to soak up the sun as you always have the sea breeze as we found it was more bearable for us to sit there and tan. Plenty of beds and plenty of palm trees for the shade.

All in all, we will definitely return in a few more years as this hotel really made us have an unforgettable time in the Dominican Republic. Also a definite recommend for our family and friends, only couples though! *****

Room Tip: I believe our room was 2087, lovely view, quiet and no stairs (still had a balcony)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Macao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Macao

Address: Playa Arena Gorda, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#17 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#19 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#25 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#30 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#35 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace Macao 4*
Number of rooms: 364
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Arena Gorda Beach in Punta Cana. Complimentary sun loungers on the beach. Within the Riu Resort, along with the Riu Palace Punta Cana, Riu Taino, Riu Naiboa hotels and the ClubHotel Riu Bambu. 3-storey building. Colonial style architecture. Surrounded by 30,000 m2 / 36,000 sq. yards of palm groves alongside the beach. 50 km / 31 miles from Higey. 200 m / 660 ft. from Caribbean Street. 30 km / 19 miles from Punta Cana Int'l. Airport. Credit cards accepted: Visa, MasterCard, Amex. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Macao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Palace Macao Hotel Punta Cana
Riu Palace Macao Punta Cana
Riu Palace Punta Cana
Rui Palace Punta Cana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Riu Palace Macao, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.