We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for retired couple” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Riu Palace Macao

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Riu Palace Macao to your Saves list
Hotel Riu Palace Macao
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Playa de Arena Gorda, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Exclusive Reward!
Ranked #27 of 100 Hotels in Punta Cana
Riverside, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great for retired couple”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

We were a large group. my parents (in their 80's, my siblings and spouses and our adult kids).Had 6 rooms which were clean- 2 of the rooms were suites, with 2 balconies each- great! 4 standard rooms- clean but worst moldy-smell. You could feel the spores all over the room in one of them! We tried leaving the doors of the hallways and balcony open, to have crossed air and try to get rid of the moldy smell, but no success. After we checked out 8 out of 12 were sick with respiratory problems. In our group we had 4 young adults ages 23-30- they found the hotel crowd too old. 80% of the guests are over 65. I know is an adult only and that is why we choose it- so its great if you don't have younger adults. Food was good, and the fact you don't pay a penny for alcohol made it a great surprise. Hotel pools are great, and you are right in the beach, which makes it a better property than the other 3 Riu Hotels nearby. Night club is also included in the price. Word of cautious- carry medical insurance- my daughter fell and slipped on the shower after it flooded, the hotel is able to call a doctor only if you pay, they don't even have access to a ice bag. The hotel Manager Dasha Kovasikova was great trying to do what she could with the means given to her by the Riu chain. Very expensive- more than fees paid in the US for a house call.The reception staff is very attentive, the entertainment staff is amazingly warn and helpful- I don't think they ever sleep- they put 4-5 times a day show and activities- aerobics, archery, bingo, dancing for you and with you, and much more. The dining room staff is also wonderful. I can truly say that the complete staff- manager, reception, cleaning, waiters, maintenance, chefs, room service, ect is the most respectful, helpful, attentive, fun and hard working that I have met in all my travels. The hotel does not offer a pick up service at the airport, but when you get to the airport is easy to get transportation. when leaving the hotel (which is about 30 minutes from hotel) to go back to your country, allow 2-2 1/2 hours in the airport, it can be a long process. New Years party was great (better than the one last year at the Sheraton in Argentina) Food was excellent, show was nice- everyone is so attentive and helpful!

Room Tip: Get a suite, ask for a room with pool/ocean view. Its a large long property, so if you need to be cl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,065 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,055
    610
    218
    104
    78
See reviews for
264
1,102
23
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (380)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

My husband and I spent Xmas and New year at this fantastic hotel. We were welcomed upon arrival with a welcome drink, and our cases taken to the room by the bell boy. The room was amazing, immaculately clean, with a lovely bathroom with huge shower. The rooms were kept so clean, and the cleaners visited twice daily. Once in a morning then again at night when clean towels were brought, and your sheets turned down.
The buffet restaurant had an abundance of choice, all of a very high standard, and the Xmas Eve banquet and New Years Eve banquet were exceptional. The sweets were mainly individual handmade, and the wine was really nice served at your table nightly. We tried all the four speciality restaurants being Steak house, Japanese, Italian and Krystle. They were all really good the Krystle being my favourite.
The entertainment team work exceptionally hard, doing activities during the day and night. Special thanks to Alex and Wilkins who we got to know really well.
You can walk along the long stretch of beach which is beautiful. Nothing was a trouble to the very helpful staff, waiters, reception and entertainment.
There is a small coffee house, where you can have coffee/tea with sandwiches and cakes at any time, and there are sandwiches and fruit left in the fridges here in case you need something during the night.
Thomson rep was on hand daily if needed, not that we needed to contact them, as had no problems at all.
Transfers to and from the airport were only 40 minutes, and went very smoothly.
This is a fantastic place to chill out, and deserves its five star rating. Would not hesitate to return.

Room Tip: Our room was 3089 which did not have a sea view, but overlooked the gardens, and was nice and peacef...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Beautiful hotel, very charming and friendly hotel people, except for the folks at the front desk. More on them later. The hotel is pristine, and the employees are constantly reworking it (painting and raking the beach of seaweed as well as more general overall cleaning) to keep it that way. Everybody says 'hola' and 'bueno dia' to you with a sweet smile. We never went to one of the 'specialized' restaurants, but went to the general buffet for each meal. Their selections varied from day to day, and we never tired of the 'same' food as others have put it. They had dishes that we had never seen or heard of, much less eaten, so each meal was a new discovery. One of the waiters, Eusubio (not sure of the spelling--sorry!) was just great. He made the visit very special (always a huge smile, a high five and a 'how was your day' and a 'have another perfect day tomorrow!') and was one of the best parts of the hotel. The room was just like it had been pictured online (huge, spotless, beautiful), and that does not happen very often. Maids came by twice a day to change your towels if needed, and when I called for more bottled water and diet soda (I drink a lot of both), it was delivered in five minutes or less. The beach was always swept free of seaweed, the many, many chaise lounges were set up facing the ocean, and a waiter came by a lot to see if you wanted a drink, and always remembered who wanted what. Overall, the place was amazing. The only thing that wasn't that great, oddly enough, was the hotel reps at the front desk and the man making reservations for the 'specialty' restaurants, and most of the tour package reps at the front of the hotel lobby. The only time any of the hotel people smiled was when they were talking with a co-employee. When talking to a hotel guest, no smile. None. They were quick and competent, but not friendly. The Cheap Caribbean lady was pleasant, but one of the other reps was, honestly, very rude. We didn't have to deal with any of these people but three times, happily, and were glad to ignore them. I don't want to end this review on a sour note, because the entire visit was really excellent. This is a wonderful hotel in a wonderful area, and we were very sad to leave. I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

We stayed for a week at the RIU Palace Macao and were not disappointed. We were welcomed and informed that we'd been upgraded to a Superior room. We had one of the rooms on the top floor with the vaulted ceiling. Pretty cool. The shower is separated by the bedroom by translucent glass blocks, so if you're uncomfortable with someone seeing your silhouette in the shower, you should know about this. The bed was very comfortable. Probably the most comfortable I've slept in at a hotel. The A/C was strong and worked well. There's also a ceiling fan, but we didn't turn it on much as the A/C was sufficient.

The food was great. We didn't care for the Japanese a la carte, but did enjoy the others. The buffet was always good and full of selection. Diomedes, you run a GREAT dining room and you are to be commended. I watched how you treated your staff and you seem to really care for them. The drink selection was my one complaint. I like Grand Marnier, but they didn't have that. The wine selection was also limited. Just okay. Not my favourite but bearable. Otherwise, it was great.

The animation staff were amazing. They really take the time to get to know you by name. Don't waste your time being shy and not participating. Jump in with both feet (if you want) and get involved in the daily activities. It really does make it fun. Jinette, Wilkins, Brenda, Neomi (good luck with the baby), Alex, Malvin, Jeferi and Aneury (Spaguetti).... what can I say. You guys made the trip fun. Your energy and enthusiasm was infectious. The night time shows were good. What you would expect for an all inclusive. Not Broadway or Las Vegas calibre by any means, but entertaining just the same. They make a really great effort with what they've got.

The main pool was good. Never overcrowded and a nice refreshing temperature. Cooler at first touch but warm once you're in. You can easily do laps, and people did. People did go down in the morning to put their towels on chairs to reserve them and the chairs were almost always all taken by late morning, but then with a little walk around the deck, we usually found one or two that we were able to use. We never went out early to try to reserve a chair and always found some within a few minutes. Luck? Maybe, but we did this every day and didn't go without. The swim up bar pool was smaller and fine. Didn't go in that one much. It seemed to be a bit warmer. Maybe because it was a bit smaller and more crowded.

The beach is phenomenal. We walked for hours. It's fun to walk past the other hotels with a crowded beach overrun by children and then come back to our oasis. Plenty of chairs at all times. No umbrellas, but lots of palm trees that you can position your chairs under for shade. We did see some vendors from time to time, but they didn't seem to be bothering anyone. Certainly not overwhelming like I've seen before. The waves were big sometimes and small other times. Comfortable for different levels of swimmers.

A very mixed clientele. TONS of Germans and British, which is fine. A few Russians too. It was fun to see the animation staff calling the bingo numbers in 3 different languages. Everyone got along very well from what I could see. We were a same sex Canadian couple in our 30's, early 40's and were embraced by the staff and guests alike. There may have been other gay couples, but we didn't really notice. We felt extremely comfortable just the same. Most of the people we got to know at the beginning were much older than us and amazingly friendly, but as the week went along, younger people started to appear, both around our age and slightly younger. I didn't see any annoying late teens or 20 somethings.. Everyone seemed to really appreciate the maturity of the guests.

So all in all a great trip. This is a great resort and I would definitely return.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterhead, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
355 helpful votes 355 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

Overall this is an excellent hotel. There is however a couple of things which would make us reconsider a second visit.
It is a relatively short trip from the airport to the hotel on probably the best road I've seen in the country.
There were quite a few people for checking in at the hotel and although their methods were strange it worked well and none of us waited for too long.
We had a first floor room at the front of the hotel above the dining room and overlooking the pool and beach. The room was pretty standard and modern. However it had no bath and this isn't what my partner likes.
The television had lots of American channels in English and the fridge was full of beer and soft drinks. The drinks dispenser contained Brugal rum, a Spanish brandy, Russian vodka and Gordon's gin. The drinks were replaced every second day and I had no problem asking for more.
I particularly liked the food on offer in the main buffet. I always felt there was something there I liked and the quality was excellent. We only visited the Italian restaurant and really enjoyed it. Friends who were there visited them all and were impressed with each one.
The service from the waiting staff was as good as we have seen anywhere. We really liked the small Cappuchino snack bar which was very popular in the afternoon with the pre packed sandwiches and fruit. Lots of guests took these to their rooms. My partner loved the iced coffee there.
The two biggest drawbacks for us was there were too few sunbeds around the pool. If you weren't up before 8am there were no beds left! Many guests left towels on beds all morning while they went to the beach and returned mid afternoon. There was no management of the beds by staff in any way. This was disappointing for us who spend most of our day beside the pool.
The other negative was that we enjoyed sitting in the open air bar near reception but this was the smoking area and it seemed like most of the guests smoked!
There are five RIU hotels together in this complex and you can visit each one. We did walk around them but think the Macao was the best. We really enjoyed walking along the path at the front of the hotels parallel to the beach.
If you smoke and like the beach instead of the pool this is the place for you.
I have a copy of the hotel all inclusive details for anyone who wants to email me.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

We had our honeymoon here 10th - 18th December and had beforehand read many reviews of this holiday destination - some we laughed at and some - well - we just wanted to wait to get there to compare.
We could not fault the RIU - we had more upsets and disappointment with our holiday rep!
The hotel - extremely clean - the staff - could not do enough - we did not see one single miserable staff member or unhelpful person the entire time.
We got upgraded with our room - without asking. Our room was so well kept - it was like walking into a new room each time.
The alcohol -definitely NOT watered down!
Don’t worry about constant tipping – a couple of dollars here and there to perhaps the same staff who will then look after you – goes a long way.
The food – how anyone could say they struggled to find anything to eat – what planet were you on? Every possible palate was catered for. I did however struggle with the themed restaurants – steak house could not cook a blue steak – but the chef in the main buffet did!
Were there faults – hell yes –But it’s the other guests - who blatantly ignored the polite requests of staff and notices NOT to reserve sun beds – there were plenty to go around and we never worried about such silly behaviour.
The pool maintenance – carries on till 0800 but idiots diving into the pool pre 0800 whilst staff still trying to get the pool area ready for guests!
The entertainment team were brilliant! Worked long hours but always there to fill the day with a variety of activities IF you wanted to join in.
All in all – we got exactly what we wanted – 7 days total rest and relaxation with no worries.
And no, the waitress’s skirts were not too short!!!!!!
The star rating – please remember it’s a rating to the location and not a world rating……..

Would we go back - Hell yes!

Room Tip: we had 3253 - over looking the pool - ask for 2nd floor and above - pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013 via mobile

Well what can we say the hotel was very clean the weather was great the food was very good .The Krystal restaurant was feb . But just a couple of things the rooms have coffee in them and on the second week they ran out of the white and red packs and put brown premium packs it is not nice also the ran out of seven up As this is a 5 Star hotel they should not run out of thing .Also the rep in the hotel will tell you all about the trip but not about the free us to shop male provided by the shop ask about times . If you want to do trip do the safari it is Great . The hotel manager also say this 5* is not like a 5* Europe so making this only a 4* hotel .But if you have book this you will enjoy you holiday

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Macao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Macao

Address: Playa de Arena Gorda, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#19 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#20 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#22 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#22 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#36 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace Macao 4*
Number of rooms: 364
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Arena Gorda Beach in Punta Cana. Complimentary sun loungers on the beach. Within the Riu Resort, along with the Riu Palace Punta Cana, Riu Taino, Riu Naiboa hotels and the ClubHotel Riu Bambu. 3-storey building. Colonial style architecture. Surrounded by 30,000 m2 / 36,000 sq. yards of palm groves alongside the beach. 50 km / 31 miles from Higey. 200 m / 660 ft. from Caribbean Street. 30 km / 19 miles from Punta Cana Int'l. Airport. Credit cards accepted: Visa, MasterCard, Amex. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Macao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Palace Macao Hotel Punta Cana
Riu Palace Macao Punta Cana
Riu Palace Punta Cana
Rui Palace Punta Cana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Riu Palace Macao, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.