We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Holiday” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Riu Palace Macao

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Riu Palace Macao to your Saves list
Hotel Riu Palace Macao
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Playa Arena Gorda, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Join us & get 1000 Points
Ranked #26 of 101 Hotels in Punta Cana
Sittingbourne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good Holiday”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013 via mobile

We holidayed at the 4* Grand Bahai 4 years ago, it was fantastic, hotel, food, airport everything good. On the basis the grand Bahai in Dom rep was so good we went the the Grand Bahai Mexico which was no where near as good.
Then we went to the 4* Riu club Negril Jamaica, this too was brilliant, so we had no hesitation booking a 5* Riu hotel back at the dom rep, you no where this is going don't you. Well your only part right.
The airport has got 10x worse in just 4 years, it's a nightmare, and organised chaos coming home queuing for over an hour with a premium flight ticket in my hand.
The hotel, 4* or 5* I think probably better than the other 3 so maybe 5* if you didn't eat or drink. Food and drink definitely 3* not as good as the other 3 we stayed at. As already mentioned in another review the spirits seemed watered down and were certainly not brands even when you asked for them, I spent 2 weeks trying everything and couldn't find a drink I was happy with.
The biggest plus side was adults only, there were no screaming during the day around the pools so it was quiet and relaxing until the brother in law woke up.
Didn't really expect top entertainment as it is a fairly small hotel but the entertainment staff were very good, and normally if you said no, respected that.
Airport, food and drink aside it was a good holiday, and having travelled 4500 miles we've come back having met and befriended some top English people, Sheila, Ray, Cathy, Bea, Martyn, Jez, Richard, Keely,
Just like to say 'Hi y'all Karen n Danielle' Yankee girls.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,096
    631
    227
    105
    78
See reviews for
268
1,152
24
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (406)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
2 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

I travelled to Punta Cana the week of November 9, 2013 and had reservations at the Macao which I made directly with the hotel website. My friend and I were staying for 5 days and another friend was joining us as well the following day. When we arrived at the Macao we were told they did not have rooms available and were sending us over to the Riu Palace Punta Cana next door. Essentially, everyone that arrived just before us and after us while we were in the lobby dealing with this mess was being moved to the Palace. My friend and I specifically booked with the Macao because of the Adults Only feature. The Palace is a family friendly resort. Not exactly a relaxing vacation for single people wanting an adults only getaway. What made matters worse was the extremely rude and unpleasant staff. Why should the staff at the RIU care about our well being, concerns, original plans? They know once we arrive we have limited last minute options after flying for several hours and taking a 35 -40 min taxi ride. Save yourselves the headache and stay somewhere else!!!!!!

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

I travelled with my boyfriend Martyn on the 1st November for 2 weeks and we booked through Thomson.

We chose this hotel as it had recently been refurbished and was also an adults only so was very appealing.

We flew in on the Dreamliner which was the first one to land there and we had a celebrity audience. Flight was great and the aircraft had more room, better air quality and very smooth through turbulence.

On arrival to airport this was an absolute nightmare-very disorganised and we queued for over an hour to get through immigration. On the way home it was horrendous-taking 2 hours to get through. We had to rush for our flight and there was no time to look around the duty free. For this reason I wouldn't return to dom rep as was such a shambles.

Moving on to the hotel. On arrival we were greeted with welcome drinks and as a group we were instructed of everything from suitcases-internet usage. Very thorough! Rooms were already allocated and this was great.

Rooms were clean, bright and spacious-double bed and a lovely bathroom with a very good shower. Hairdryer was rubbish but I've never found a good one abroad anywhere! Mini bar was all stocked with everything from water to Pepsi,presidente beer and also you had the liquor dispensers. We liked a drink in the room and we did find we had to call regularly to be refilled which was a bit of a pain. Rooms were always cleaned each day and they always offered extra clean towels so overall lovely.

In terms of the food there is a wide variety of choice. El patio does breakfast-good choice but we did miss a proper sausage and a hash brown-would have been lovely. Lunch- you had the restaurant by the pool which was fine-but there was no table service so became a bit of a rat race and food again could be cold.We did however find the Krystal restaurant which is practically next door that was lovely-very quiet as no one seemed to know you didn't have to book. Table service, hot food-excellent! Evening you had the buffet and you also had the al acarte-we only went to the steak restaurant and that was lovely. Buffet we found was wide choice but we did find food repetitive and also could be cold by the time time you got to the table.

In terms of drinks we found the quality of the alcohol was poor. I believe that drinks were watered down at the bars and premium liqueurs were not always given to you unless you asked. Even when you did ask they would sometimes try to fob you off. Service in the lobby bar we found to be quite slow-quicker to get yourself. Around the pool was excellent if you were relaxing on your subbed. However we found when going to the swim up bar that you were sometime ignored for sometime waving a tip. I don't tip to GET service- I always tip when I've HAD good service. Again in the restaurants it was still quite slow.

Entertainment of evening was poor. Saw a few evenings and was very amateur. Mainly dancers. Illusion show was rubbish and Michael Jackson awful. However I would like to add that the animation team were brilliant. They all work so hard and were always trying to involve you in all the activities as well as a dance at night. Malvin, jinette, Alex, Jefferi, wilkins were brilliant. I loved their little dance that they do at 10am & 3pm and Malvin's dancing was always entertaining. They made our holiday!!

We did do a couple of trips booked through Thomson. Saona island was a lovely day out-plenty of drink, ok food although would recommend mosquito repellant! Outback safari was shocking- waste of money unless you like sweating on an open bus in the heat, being thrown about as you travel over unmade roads. Food ok but really was a excuse to take you in the outback and sell crap like cigars, statues, lotions & potions etc. beach stop was only for 30mins and the only animals we saw were a couple of iguanas, caged crocodile and a bunch of kids.

Location wise riu was a big complex- could do with a sports bar and a beach bar and you can't really go outside the complex unless on a trip.

I would say the hotel is a solid 4* but has a way to go to become a 5*. What made it brilliant was the people we met there. Judith, Ian, Richard, keeli, Karen, Richard, Theresa, graham etc. otherwise brilliant weather, company and a tan to go with it.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deesidewales
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

We stayed at the Riu Palace Macao from the 16th October to the 30th. If anything it was even better than before. On arrival you are told as a group about facilities and meal times, this saves time all round. Rooms great as usual. Main restaurant very good with plenty of choice. This year
We just went to the Steak House again really good. The animation team were great will give them all a mention and if I miss anyone I apologise Aneurys Spaguettys, Brenda, Alex, Joaquim, Jinette,Malven, Manuel, Jefferi, Wilkins and Naomi. Hope to see you all again. We met friends there that we had seen for the last 3 visits. Rachel & Bob, Chris & Peter that we met last year, and others. We also made some new friends like Renate and Herman from Canada. We joined in the games and you meet a lot more people doing that. The last day we were there we had a big thunder and lightening storm it even brought tree down at the front of the hotel. Even with that going on animation team still keeping everyone occupied with different games. The concert room has been refurbished, out with the old carpet now its tiled, and much better.Can,t praise the hotel enough, great holiday great food and great company, and all the staff really friendly and looking forward to next year to go back.

Room Tip: All rooms good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuttle, Oklahoma
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

We traveled to the Dominican Republic and stayed at the Hotel Riu Palace Macao. It was a wonderful vacation. The facility was newly remodeled and a fantastic job they did. The staff was very helpful, friendly and just all around great. The beach is beautiful and there are lots of palm trees if you want to have shade while in the sand. This was our best vacation ever.

Room Tip: I can't imagine a bad room, but of course the beach view is fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlestown, New Hampshire
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

We planned our trip through CheapCarribean.com - 7 of us traveling together - reserved 4 rooms - celebrating our friend's 50th birthday. All our paperwork from travel agent showed notes that we were all traveling together and wanted rooms together. When we arrived at Macao, the front desk clerk advised us that they had 2 rooms booked for us at Macao and 2 rooms booked at the sister resort next door (Punta Cana)! When we questioned and said that wasn't correct, he was rude and not helpful and said "no room here for you all". We had to push him to get him to fix it and they ended up moving us all next door to the Riu Punta Cana (not great location--separate review being done on their site but at least their front desk staff was not as rude and unhelpful as this one at Macao). At first we thought it was a mistake made by travel agent, but over the next couple of days, we heard several similar stories from people staying at the Riu Punta Cana about being "bumped" from Macao and moved to Punta Cana and they had used several different travel agents -- one even booked directly with Macao and got bumped. Very frustrating and disappointing but worst of all, the way they handled the situation was inexcusable.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013 via mobile

Had a week with my wife keeli,a very nice relaxing week.
Food is all very good in all its restaurants,and the staff can't do enough to help you.
Rooms very good /entire hotel is spotless and cleaned constantly .
Pool side entertainment is good fun entertainment staff are great !
Shame I didn't have an extra week myself and new friends martyn chris and ian were the best boule partners
Good do with more evening shows .
All in all a very good holiday .
Would recommend highly .

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Macao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Macao

Address: Playa Arena Gorda, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#19 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#20 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#22 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#23 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#36 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace Macao 4*
Number of rooms: 364
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Arena Gorda Beach in Punta Cana. Complimentary sun loungers on the beach. Within the Riu Resort, along with the Riu Palace Punta Cana, Riu Taino, Riu Naiboa hotels and the ClubHotel Riu Bambu. 3-storey building. Colonial style architecture. Surrounded by 30,000 m2 / 36,000 sq. yards of palm groves alongside the beach. 50 km / 31 miles from Higey. 200 m / 660 ft. from Caribbean Street. 30 km / 19 miles from Punta Cana Int'l. Airport. Credit cards accepted: Visa, MasterCard, Amex. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Macao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Palace Macao Hotel Punta Cana
Riu Palace Macao Punta Cana
Riu Palace Punta Cana
Rui Palace Punta Cana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Riu Palace Macao, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.