We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“one of the best holidays ever” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Riu Palace Macao

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Riu Palace Macao to your Saves list
Hotel Riu Palace Macao
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Playa Arena Gorda, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 102 Hotels in Punta Cana
lanc's
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“one of the best holidays ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

we just got back from 3 weeks at the Riu Macao and let me start by saying the riu macao is one of the best 5* rated hotels in the Caribbean,
the food was what we expected from a riu in the carribbean although it was better than some other 5* hotels we have stayed in.
No one we talked to in the 3 weeks we where there had any tummy complaints and my wife would be the first to get sick if there was any thing wrong with the food.
change your money before you go as the hotel rates are a lot lower than the banks (hotel 52 to the pound bank 64 to the pound)
I would take dollars if I new what I know now as every thing is priced in us dollars,
the animation team work very hard to keep you entertained with games like French bowls and archery etc can't do enough for you.
the waiter's are there when you have finished your drinks and don't hold there hands out for tips like at some hotels we have stayed in.
if you like a drink of tea I would take your own tea bags as the ones in the hotel or a bit week.
the coffee shop is a nice touch with lot of choice of coffee /cakes and sandwiches all day.
we did go to all alacate restaurants but found the buffet to be the best with lots of choice .
if you are celebrating a special occasion and let the hotel no they make your room up which they did for my wife's 40th birthday and let the restaurant no to and they will also make your table up to
pools were nice plenty of sun loungers and double loungers in the pool and beach was lovely with a nice breeze no need to get up at daft a clock as there are plenty.
rooms are large and clean with super kingsize bed and this was not an upgrade with a big walk in shower (no bath) take shampoo has there is only conditioner and shower gel.
mick and donna if you read this review please get in touch has we lost your email. 733145.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,118
    645
    230
    106
    79
See reviews for
271
1,180
25
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (417)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Highlands, New Jersey, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

This all inclusive resort was the best! Beautiful, clean, super friendly staff, large food selection. Loved every second of my trip! Pool and swim up bar was great, and so was the beach. Excellent entertainment each night. Would definitely go back again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockingham, Vermont
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

My husband and I went for our 30th Anniversary. It was awesome! The food was plentiful, it was nice to go to a place all inclusive and not have to go anywhere.

The staff for the most part were great, a few not so outgoing, but very hard working. The wait staff work from 8am - 4pm with a couple hours off and need to be back for evening 8pm until 2am. We were told tipping wasn't expected but much appreciated, and it was. But I found the staff just as friendly to those who didn't tip. The exchange rate at the time of our visit was 46 pesos to the dollar so even a dollar was appreciated.

Adult resort so no children, that was a plus. The room was excellent however even with a "Do not disturb" they did come in. It's my understanding The Riu was recently renovated in 2012 and nicely done. The pool isn't overly large, but with the warm ocean there was plenty of room to take a dip. With the hot temperatures I was surprised there wasn't some way to offer shade on the beach.

The entertainment team was very friendly and got people involved. You could always count on a happy greeting from them. The food staff in the main eating area were awesome and always friendly. Bermudez serving in the lounge and at the pool, always had a smile and a greeting for everyone. I hated to go home and would definitely go again!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013 via mobile

It was our honeymoon, and our first stay in the Dominican and first stay at a Rui hotel.

We overall enjoyed the holiday, but I think I few things need to be brought to the attention of the management and perspective holiday makers like yourselves.

If you have stayed at a 5* resort before than you will immediately be left underwhelmed. the bed sheets in the room are changed every 2-3 days, not everyday.
theres is a lovely huge showers and double sink, but no bath tub.
the pool area is small but works nicely, although if smoking bothers you this is not the place for you. even throughout meals and in the lobby bar area you cant avoid the smell of cigarette and cigar smoke.

Beach is beautiful and couldn't fault it, and the staff where very helpful and attentive. there seemed to be a slight difference in how American guests were treated, to how europeans were which we felt a little bit like we were second rate citizens.

The drinks were all "local" brands which did the job, but no malibu or local alternative which was weird. beer was ok but after 4/5 was hard to drink.

lasr year we stayed at the thomson sensatori resort in Mexico, which was outstanding. no comparison really, sensotori wins hands down.

this is still a good resort and we had a good time, just wasn't the standard we expected, definitely 3/4 not 5*

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

I picked this "resort" for an extended family vacation. I can't imagine a more disappointing destination ever. What a mistake. The food was awful. And you're stuck with it. The restaurants are not to the standards of US travelers. There were items missing from my room. The staff simply did not care. In fact when I went to report this the staff listened for a moment and then resumed conversing with other workers....As I stood there. Overall the staff seemed insincere. The room smelled. I walked in while my room was being cleaned and watched as the linens were being smoothed down by the same person whom I had just watched clean the bathroom...without hand washing!!! The beach was crowded. Rock hard mattresses. I could go on and on suffice to say "Pick another place if you don't want to waste your hard earned money on a truly awful experience".....I am from the New England USA...I like to think we are a hardy bunch....but I felt like I disappointed my whole family. As I read all these "excellent" reviews, some of which I based my choice on, I question their authenticity.

Room Tip: I can't imagine there are any good rooms. If cleanliness and safety are important to you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottish Borders
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

Spent 2 weeks at the Riu Palace end of September, very hard to fault.
Probably the best AI buffet we have been to and we have had a few!
Beach is amazing and the pool although smallish is fine and no worries about getting beds, only drawback with the beach is a lack of shade, no umbrella,s etc.
Staff very attentive and rooms nice and clean, reception very efficient nothing was to much trouble for them.
Would definitely recommend to anyone

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

We had an amazing time people are so nice and warm the entertainment group was wonderful we love u guys especially melvin.... the chef and all the management were professional and welcoming.... just stay away from the casino

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Macao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Macao

Address: Playa Arena Gorda, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#19 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#22 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#22 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#23 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#36 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace Macao 4*
Number of rooms: 364
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Arena Gorda Beach in Punta Cana. Complimentary sun loungers on the beach. Within the Riu Resort, along with the Riu Palace Punta Cana, Riu Taino, Riu Naiboa hotels and the ClubHotel Riu Bambu. 3-storey building. Colonial style architecture. Surrounded by 30,000 m2 / 36,000 sq. yards of palm groves alongside the beach. 50 km / 31 miles from Higey. 200 m / 660 ft. from Caribbean Street. 30 km / 19 miles from Punta Cana Int'l. Airport. Credit cards accepted: Visa, MasterCard, Amex. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Macao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Palace Macao Hotel Punta Cana
Riu Palace Macao Punta Cana
Riu Palace Punta Cana
Rui Palace Punta Cana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Riu Palace Macao, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.