We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“September 2013” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Riu Palace Macao

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Riu Palace Macao to your Saves list
Hotel Riu Palace Macao
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Playa Arena Gorda, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 102 Hotels in Punta Cana
Toronto
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“September 2013”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Positives: The hotel was very clean and the service was excellent. The pools were lovely. Choice of a deep swimming pool or the shallow pool which has sunbeds, seats and a bar. There are free shuttle buses to the shopping malls. A good selection of wine was sold in the grocery store. Yellow Tail was $14.00 US for a bottle. The hotel offers a huge variety of cocktails. A little sweet for my liking but many people enjoyed them.

Negatives: Staff work long hours and get paid very poorly. They generally work 10 hours per day for 11 days and get 3 days off. The waiters earn about $400.00, tips included, per month. Tipping is very important although they do not pester for a tip. The life jackets were in very poor repair. Most had missing buckles. Good life jackets are a must if you are sailing or kayaking. The wine was like vinegar, that is why we needed to stock up from the grocery store. The food was very bland. A good variety of dishes but a bit boring after a few days.

Overall, for us, it was a great time. We met some great people. I would consider going back even though I have mentioned the negatives. The cleanliness and freindly staff was the most important thing for me.

Room Tip: We stayed on the top floor facing the ocean. The entertainment can be heard at night as they perform...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,121
    645
    230
    106
    79
See reviews for
271
1,182
25
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (418)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Grove, New York, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We just came back from our honeymoon here and overall our trip was great. The pools and the beach at the hotel are wonderful and the fact that it is couples only was really a benefit as there were no children splashing at us. The main bartender Dionis at the swim up bar was awesome. And we had an incredible server at the buffet for most of our meals named Noel. He really made our meals excellent. However, the service aside from this left a bit to be desired- if we did not have Noel as our server we were lucky to get water more than half way through our meal. The food was ok overall- the steakhouse was great but they make it super difficult to make reservations for them as there are only two seatings available and only on certain nights. The restaurants should each be open every night and there should be three seatings offered. The room was nice but slightly musty smelling and we lost power several times. Room service was great though. The night entertainment was a lot less cheesy than other all inclusives I have stayed in so that was great- however, they have this terribly mildewy smelling indoor room they do the shows in- which is so silly because they also have an outdoor stadium that they only used for one show during our nine day stay but that would be wonderful to have all of their nightly shows in. Lastly, the casino had a "promotion" for newcomers but it was a shady scam that costs people a lot of money so if you go to the casino don't play the "promotional" game. Also, top shelf drinks were not included here- nor were any drinks inlcuded in thed "discotheque" which is very crazy to me. Other than that it was a great trip and we did overall like this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cannington, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Returned from Riu Macao September 9, 2013. The service here was excellent. The rooms were very clean and towels plentiful. The beds were the most comfortable at any resort I have stayed. The entire place was beautiful. There were lots of chairs at the beach and around the pool. There was a free bus from the lobby to a couple of malls and a flee market down the beach for those who want to shop.

The gala night at the buffet was excellent. I enjoyed the buffet more than the ala carts. Breakfast was good as were the mimosa's.

Adult only was great.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dixon Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Stayed for a week from Sept 14th to the 21st. First surprise was paying $10pp to enter the country, the next was all the speed bumps. I think that's what they are buying with the money. LOL. The resort is very nice so I will start with the good things about this property. The grounds and the beach are very nice and very close. The food in the buffet was excellent and really much better than the sit down restaurants. The drinks were good, but I wish Kahlua was offered as well as the other name brands they had. The Bahama mamas, kept me happy instead, and get them to blend them more, they are better that way.
Now for the bad, September is very humid, but the pool kept us cool, however our room had a mildew odor, not bad but not nice either. Perhaps this is because of the time of year.
The front desk was manned with language challenged individuals, as were many of the staff. The beds at the pool were more comfortable than the beds in the rooms. There are only showers in the rooms, no tubs. Apple is giving this resort a 5 red plus rating and I would not agree.
I would also get rid of the casino, as I heard many guests talking of some game scam that can leave you with a large debt to pay after playing. Stay away! If this was my hotel, they would be gone. They also told us we could drink for free, if you play and when my drink came, I was asked to pay, as the premium bottles you SEE are not FREE.
Do not make any calls from your room unless you want to pay, as I learned when I called the Apple rep to make return transportation plans. The 800 numbers do not work in the hotel. Not a nice surprise at check out! I thought we got a good deal, but now feel I paid a little too much for what was received.

Room Tip: Rooms on the west end had less odor problems.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Wonderful resort! The accommodations are very nice but what seals the deal for us is the friendliness of the staff! They treat us like family! We are going back in mid October and this will be about our 8th trip staying with RIU Palace Macao! Juan Pablo, Joe Black, Senor Santiago, and a host of other staff make each trip wonderful and outstanding! Might not be for everyone but we love it! You have to treat yourselves to a massage while you are there! The beach is nice but the spa is heaven!

Room Tip: All of the rooms are nice! Consider the amount of time you may be spending in your room to help you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Our sixth visit to this hotel which once again didn't disappoint. Beautiful location, wonderful staff who worked tirelessly to please from the cleaning staff the waiters and the bar staff they are all wonderful. Beautiful beach with plenty of shade from the palms and always plenty of sunbeds. Being a couples hotel now is an added bonus, although I like to see small children enjoying themselves we did not miss the invasion of local families at the weekends as they can no longer use this hotel. Only one small negative was the animation team were a bit in your face on the terrace in the evenings. Previously they done their thing n the bar or the theatre leaving the terrace for people wanting a quiet relaxing drink and chat. A couple of nights the theatre was closed so they had the bingo session on the terrace, a bit loud and drawn out not exactly what you expect from e 5star adults only hotel, nowhere to escape it, I realise this is just a matter of personal preference and other people probably enjoyed it , but would like to see e quiet area available when required. Once again a wonderful holiday in this beautiful hotel.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms over the terrace/bar, a bit noisy if you fancy an early night. Rooms on the side or gard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

Just returned from 10 nights in the Riu Palace Macao.

As previous guests have said and implied, this is a quality hotel in a beautiful location.

Food, staff, surroundings, beach etc etc etc all as you would expect.

Stay here for a relaxing get away with everyone up for a good time but not too rowdy.

You won't be disappointed.

Didn't do any trips and didn't try any restaurants - buffet treated us well! By the way, the Grouper fish is one of the best things!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Macao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Macao

Address: Playa Arena Gorda, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#19 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#22 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#22 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#23 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#36 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace Macao 4*
Number of rooms: 364
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Arena Gorda Beach in Punta Cana. Complimentary sun loungers on the beach. Within the Riu Resort, along with the Riu Palace Punta Cana, Riu Taino, Riu Naiboa hotels and the ClubHotel Riu Bambu. 3-storey building. Colonial style architecture. Surrounded by 30,000 m2 / 36,000 sq. yards of palm groves alongside the beach. 50 km / 31 miles from Higey. 200 m / 660 ft. from Caribbean Street. 30 km / 19 miles from Punta Cana Int'l. Airport. Credit cards accepted: Visa, MasterCard, Amex. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Expedia, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Macao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Palace Macao Hotel Punta Cana
Riu Palace Macao Punta Cana
Riu Palace Punta Cana
Rui Palace Punta Cana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Riu Palace Macao, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.