We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Riu Palace Macao

Save Saved
You added Hotel Riu Palace Macao to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotel Riu Palace Macao
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Playa de Arena Gorda, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 101 hotels in Punta Cana
Dundee, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Very Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

We stayed in the Riu Punta Cana in June and both agree it was one of the best holidays we've ever had. The rooms were exactly as described, very comfortable and the hotel itself was lovely.

We only ate once in one of the restaurants as we were always happy with the different food available on the buffet. The breakfast buffet was a highlight every morning - there was nothing you could want for as the selection was huge and the staff were always around to cater for your every need.

The staff all work very very hard to ensure that the guests stay is as relaxed as possible, a special mention has to go to Gil who brought drinks to the beach - a real asset to the hotel. Always around when you needed a drink and always with a smile on his face.

There were very few negatives - the alcohol on offer wasn't great , especially having only the local lager to drink which was pretty poor. The spirits seemed to be local stuff in branded bottles - Stoli in the room for example was clearly not Stoli.

Another slight negative was how often the staff would be up and down the corridors in the morning and at the door throughout the day for different housekeeping work. Going back to the room for an afternoon nap was disturbed by constant trundling of trolleys up and down the corridors.

I'd definitely return however as it was one of the best and most relaxed holidays I've ever had.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,792 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    883
    540
    199
    100
    70
See reviews for
244
911
19
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (290)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the riu Macau from the 31st of August until the 11th of September ! Simply one of the best holidays we have had , all the staff were awesome couldn't do enough to make our stay relaxing and enjoyable , the rooms were very clean and spacious the food was fantastic always something I liked and I am a really fussy eater the bar staff made any cocktail I wanted even if not on there menu ! I loved the fact the staff treated everyone the same regardless of tipping (I'm not saying don't tip because I feel they deserved every tip we gave) we didn't watch any shows as it's not our thing so I couldn't comment on the entertainment ! The optics in the room was a really good touch and never ran dry :) all in all we had a very relaxing holiday without any stress ! We will defenatly be returning to this resort we loved it !!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent, Ohio, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

The good: very well kept, clean. Staff was awesome and very helpful. Swim up bar and regular bar was very nice and the bartenders wonderful, although overworked, (needed more tenders some days.) The bad: food was mediocre. Buffet repititous. Many fried foods. I realize im in a different country so im not necessarily complaining but more of a selection would have been ideal, more american, italian, chinese, etc. We did try the Italian resturant, the shrimp linguni was fantastic but we needed to remove the tails ourselves which was already mixed in our food.. We also did the japenese resturaunt, which was good. It would have been nice to have a buffet open 24hrs but they are open only certain hours as are the restruants which require reservations. Many times we were hungry after a day of drinks in the sun only to find out there is nothing open !!! The cappuchino cafe for snacks is a JOKE. The beds are very firm!! Not exactly my liking. Entertainment was disappointing. The shows were cheesy, like something our kids would put on. We did funbuggy excursion, very fun, also dolphin explorer which was awesome!!! We lucked out being the only two people to do the excellence pkg and had the dolphins all to ourselves for 45min :) All in all, we had a good time but we expected to be better entertained and fed better. We were with a group of 12 all women ages 38-68. OH..casino? Forget about it!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croydon, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

This hotel is very clean and the beach is also cleaned too!
The staff are attentive and even the manageress is there each evening greeting guests into the main restaurant and the food in that restaurant throughout the day was great.
With regards to the themed restaurants as nice looking as they are and again you cannot fault the staff the food was not fantastic. A real shame.
Again the standard rooms are large and clean but could do with more soundproofing especially as this is an adults all inclusive hotel and can be quite lively at times.
Your fridge is stocked daily with water beer and soft drinks and there is even a selection of spirit optics on the wall too!
the beach and views are stunning and made even better by the amount of sunbeds, shade of the palm trees and the bar staff bringing you drinks to cool down from the sun.
All in all this has to be one of the best resorts that I have ever stayed at and would return again.

Room Tip: If you can afford too upgrade to a deluxe room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Just returned from a 10 night stay at the Riu Palace Macao and had a amazing holiday. The hotel which has had a recent refurbishment is spotless through out and from the moment of checking in the staff were great.
The hotel is set in a complex of several other Riu hotels this one catered for adults only which was the reason for choosing it. It is set in really picturesque grounds and backs on to a great beach although you do have a choice of a very good pool area for some very lazy days soaking up the sun. The only down side to the location was that it was a little remote and unless you hired a cab or went on excursion there was no chance to see local life in the Dominican
The room we had was on the third (top) floor with a garden view or sea view with a stretch of the neck. Everything you would expect was there even an optics mini bar which was free to abuse on the all inclusive package we were on. Kept clean everyday by the excellent house keeping staff who even did a turn down service each evening.
The food in the buffet restaurant was good very well presented and good selection but it did seem to repeat every other day. You do have the option of the a la carte restaurants to go to and we tried the Kabuki Japanese restaurant and the Crystal fusion restaurant and both disappointed us in the quality of the food average at best.
What really makes this hotel though are the staff all of them from the drinks waiters around the pool and beach to the housekeeping , to the management everyone of them we came into contact with just wanted us to have a great time.
Thanks to all the staff at the Riu we had a great holiday

Room Tip: Rooms on the third floor allow you to burn off the calories taken on in the bar and restaurants as l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantic City, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

The resort was very nice.The staff awesome this is my 4th stay at a Riu and I never get disappointed.The whole setting when you enter the pool area is nice.The main pool is in front of you the restaurants are on the left and the pool bar on your right.Over looking all of this is the beautiful beach and see thru water.One disappointment there is no jet skiing.Your also surrounded by 4 other Riu's which you can enter for lunch and activities you can't go there for dinner.About 15 mins away is the Hard Rock Cafe that was really cool.

Room Tip: I always stay in a jacuzzi suite with a ocean view the room is huge
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Just returned last night, we were there from Friday 9/6 till Friday 9/13. The only ONE bad thing that happened here, was when we had to leave ! Honestly I read people's reviews & really all we could do is laugh about the bad & negative reviews while we were there, if you could not have fun & enjoy yourself here then you are just a completely negative person who can't be happy by anything!!
First when we arrived, everything was ready for us & went very smoothly, they even greet you with a tropical drink. We went straight to our rooms & our luggage was just behind us.
We had no problem getting reservations at the specialty restaurants we ate at all 4 , the Steak House was our favorite, we all had Surf & Turf cooked to perfection, our next favorite was The Krystal, then the Japanese , we had the Italian & that was just o.k. The Buffett was to die for, the breakfast was always delicious. If you got board with the food here or could not find something you liked, you have major issues !
The pool was wonderful & we never had a problem getting chairs, the ocean & beach are beyond words to be able to describe !!! GORGEOUS !! never had a problem getting chairs there either.
The entertainment was good, they all try ver hard to keep you happy, getting you involved if you want & leaving you be if you want. One entertainment guy named Wilkins went above & beyond our friend could not find a crucifix (she collects them) he had one made for her & presented to her the last day, ask for him he is great & alot of fun. Another one u want to point out is Raul, he was the server on the patio for the lobby bar, he was Wonderful, always making sure our table on the patio was available, he even made sure he had canned beer on hand for my cousin at all times since draft made him ill. We tipped extra our last night just for being so great.
The Pisces is spotless, our fridge was restocked all the time & if you wanted something more just let the front desk know & they will have it sent up to you ASAP !
Our bed, was the most comfortable that we have stayed in & we travel a lot. The room was beautiful & clean. We had a great view we paid a little extra & got a superior room with an ocean view our room was 3362.
Again, I have NOTHING negative to report, we have already started to decide when in October of next year we will go back !! We Loved it Here, the place , the food, the location & the People here are Awesome wish. Could give it hire than a 5 ! Adults only, is the Only way we will go from now on !

Room Tip: Pay the little extra for the superior rooms over looking the pool, floor 3 is the best !
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Macao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Macao

Also Known As:
Riu Palace Macao Hotel Punta Cana
Riu Palace Macao
Riu Palace Macao Hotel
Riu Palace Macao Punta Cana
Riu Macao
Riu Palace Punta Cana
Rui Palace Punta Cana
Address: Playa de Arena Gorda, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#25 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#26 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#29 Business Hotel in Punta Cana
#36 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#46 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace Macao 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Arena Gorda Beach in Punta Cana. Complimentary sun loungers on the beach. Within the Riu Resort, along with the Riu Palace Punta Cana, Riu Taino, Riu Naiboa hotels and the ClubHotel Riu Bambu. 3-storey building. Colonial style architecture. Surrounded by 30,000 m2 / 36,000 sq. yards of palm groves alongside the beach. 50 km / 31 miles from Higey. 200 m / 660 ft. from Caribbean Street. 30 km / 19 miles from Punta Cana Int'l. Airport. Credit cards accepted: Visa, MasterCard, Amex. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Agoda and Otel so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Macao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Riu Palace Macao, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.