We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rude people” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Riu Palace Macao

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Riu Palace Macao to your Saves list
Hotel Riu Palace Macao
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Playa Arena Gorda, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Join us & get 500 Points
Ranked #31 of 98 Hotels in Punta Cana
Certificate of Excellence
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Rude people”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

Very rude staff, mediocre food, but really clean rooms and cool facilities. Activities are dull. Resort's location is fine since there is nothing to see around anyway. Overall, it is a good resort (not excellent)

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,594 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,367
    758
    264
    116
    89
See reviews for
302
1,479
33
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (529)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Loved our vacation. My boyfriend and I stayed a week in July. We wished we had stayed longer. From the moment we arrived until the time we left we were loving the place. Our room was garden view, first floor, a mere two minute walk to the pool and just a few more minutes to the ocean. The pool is lovely, never too crowded and very clean. The beach is fabulous. Very beautiful white sand and blue water that was just the right temperature. We never experienced any issues with seating on the beach or at the pool. Drinks were very good, however the white wine, not so good. I managed to drink it anyway. I do wish that they would upgrade the wine. Food was good to very good, a few offerings were excellent. The specialty restaurants were good, especially the restaurant that sits on the beach. I great enjoyed my dinner that night along with the amazing view. The buffet always offered many choices and many of the choices far exceeded my expectations. Our room was lovely. The air conditioner worked very well and our bed was a so comfortable. Room service, not so great, not much to choose from. The staff was accomodaing at all times. Casino, nothing to get excited about. Very small. All told this resort is a solid four star. Oh, almost forgot to mention the adults only perk, very nice and peaceful. We visited the sister resorts were children are permitted and could not wait to get back to our hotel with its peace and quiet. If you are thinking about booking the Macao, do so, you Wii not be disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hagley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

We went for 2 weeks and had a very good time. Overall the hotel was fine, food in the buffet of a good standard but a little repetitive after the first week. Restaurants not always open which meant that you couldn't always get a table and a couple of nights none of them are which makes them busier on the other nights. The food in them is good but limited, two starters and 3 main courses which don't change so if you are there for 2 weeks your choices are limited. Not a 5 star as I have experienced in other countries but enjoyable. To be truly 5 star they need to open all restaurants very day and extend their menus or at least change them every other week to provide 2 week guests with more options.
Room was excellent, a couple of minor problems taken care of very quickly. Very clean and modern as was rest of hotel.
We would class this as a very good 4 star but a little more work required before it can compete with 5 star hotels in other destinations. Adult only a brilliant bonus!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

We have returned feeling that we booked a wonderful holiday and everything we were looking for. The atmosphere is relaxing with just enough to occupy you. The staff are constantly there for you. Rooms cleaned regularly, bar service always with a smile, pool and beach service excellent, reception quick to sort anything out if you have a problem, restaurant providing lovely food with lots of choice. However themed restaurants not worth a visit. Be aware of Caribbean Street it is a rip off that sells tat that Del Boy wouldn't make Rodney sell. Also note that the humidity makes your clothes damp and therefore your luggage heavier.
Definitely recommended. The adult only environment made it extra special.

Room Tip: We were on 1st floor which was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worksop
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Just returned from a fortnight of sun and relaxation. We have visited the Dominican Republic many times but it was our first visit to this hotel. It is adults only so no disturbance from children around the pool, on the beach or in the restaurants which makes it a grown up sanctuary. The staff are friendly, helpful and efficient, the reception desk, bar staff, waiters and cleaners. The animation team are among the best I have experienced, with a friendly chat for everyone and encouragement should you want to join in any of the many activities on offer. There is a wide choice of good quality food and drink with 24hour service should you need it. I would recommend a visit to the Italian restaurant as the food and service was the best of the themed restaurants. You can book these restaurants three days in advance.
We joined the Outback Safari adventure which we booked through our travel agents - this is a full day of fun and adventure where you get to see the Island at its best. If you are thinking of joining this trip don't forget some pens. pencils, crayons and any stationary (Pound shop is a good place to stock up!) for the local school children that the organisation sponsor and you get to visit.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a relaxed adult only sun holiday, I'm sure this won't be our last visit to this hotel!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

We went for my 60th birthday with a couple of friends. The rooms we were given were beautiful,clean,spacious overlooking the garden area with a slight view of the sea.The bathroom area with the shower was awesome,we couldn't fault anything.The food was lovely in the restaurant buffet,always plenty of choice and well presented , however didn't care too much for the a la carte restaurants. The coffee shop was excellent with lovely coffee and cakes.
All the staff were friendly and worked extremely hard and all deserved tips.
Our only criticism is towards our travel company which was Thomsons. Our flight was delayed by 24hours due to a tropical storm.We had to go to the airport like a few others and were told accomodation would be provided and paid for by the customer care team.However on returning to England and submitting our receipts (£140) for a party of 4 were informed we can't have a re inbursement!!!! DON'T RELY ON THOMSONS they make promises they don't keep. We will never use them again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
92 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

From the second the four of us arrived at RIU Macao we were in paradise!!

Check-in: An absolute breeze! Handed over confirmation papers we had and they handed us a drink with an envelope which had a map of the resort plus a map of all RIU properties, our key, spa vouchers, casino vouchers and golf vouchers.

Rooms: We had two rooms (which we requested to be by each other). Spotless bathroom, room and balcony. There is nothing wrong I can say about the room. Fully stocked fridge (pepsi, water, sparkling water, sprit, beer) as well as 4 different bottles of spirits.

Restaurants & Buffets: 4 different restaurants the Italian (which we did not go to), Japanese (which was ok...not special), the steakhouse (fairly good), and the fusion (beautiful location and decor as well as good food). The buffets were really good (in our opinions). BREAKFAST had a variety of breads, cheeses, spreads, eggs, bacon, Dominican foods...pretty much anything you can think of. LUNCH great location in open air. Had everything from soup, salads, pizza, seafoods, pastas, desserts, ice cream...again a very large variety. DINNER is served in the same location as breakfast. Every night there is a little difference in the food but some things remain the same. We really enjoyed the food. ROOM SERVICE very quick and the food was fairly good.

DRINKS: Pretty good...I had a hard time finding a drink that wasn't too sweet (as most tropical frozen drinks are too sweet for my taste). Don't expect top shelf. Only Presidente beer is offered (but the casino does have different beers for purchase). If you are looking for Grey Goose or any vodka like that then go to the casino (for purchase).

ENTERTAINMENT: The shows weren't very good (in our opinion). Same kinda thing every night. The vegas show was the best. The club is really fun but drinks are for purchase only.

OPPORTUNITIES FOR IMPROVEMENT: Some foods weren't labeled so that made it a challenge at times. Brush up on your Spanish on the flight there...a lot of employees don't speak English.

OVERALL: I highly recommend this resort. Very nice not having kids running around everywhere. Good food & drinks. The service was AMAZING some of the nicest people I've ever met in my entire life.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Punta Cana
Hotel Riu Palace Punta Cana
#57 of 98 in Punta Cana
4.0 of 5 stars 3,486 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Bavaro
Hotel Riu Palace Bavaro
#49 of 98 in Punta Cana
4.0 of 5 stars 2,096 reviews
0.2 mi away
ClubHotel Riu Bambu
ClubHotel Riu Bambu
#68 of 98 in Punta Cana
3.5 of 5 stars 3,932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection
1.2 mi away
Punta Cana Princess All Suites Resort & Spa
0.4 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Macao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Macao

Address: Playa Arena Gorda, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#15 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#19 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#26 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#30 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#35 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace Macao 4*
Number of rooms: 364
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Arena Gorda Beach in Punta Cana. Complimentary sun loungers on the beach. Within the Riu Resort, along with the Riu Palace Punta Cana, Riu Taino, Riu Naiboa hotels and the ClubHotel Riu Bambu. 3-storey building. Colonial style architecture. Surrounded by 30,000 m2 / 36,000 sq. yards of palm groves alongside the beach. 50 km / 31 miles from Higey. 200 m / 660 ft. from Caribbean Street. 30 km / 19 miles from Punta Cana Int'l. Airport. Credit cards accepted: Visa, MasterCard, Amex. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Macao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Palace Macao Hotel Punta Cana
Riu Palace Macao Punta Cana
Riu Palace Punta Cana
Rui Palace Punta Cana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Riu Palace Macao, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.