We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Trip” 4 of 5 stars
Review of ClubHotel Riu Bambu

Save Saved
You added ClubHotel Riu Bambu to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
ClubHotel Riu Bambu
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Playa Arena Gorda, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Special Offer
Ranked #65 of 100 hotels in Punta Cana
toronto, ON
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Very Nice Trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

This is our second trip to the Riu Bambu, the first one was in 2008 then second one was last week. From when we were there last the resort has gone down a bit. Although it might seem that way because we stayed at the Palace in between.

We stayed in one of the newly renovated deluxe rooms. It was very nice. Just be aware that your bedroom, sitting room, shower and sinks are now in the same room. Toilet is still seperate. The only downfall that I found with this new arrangement is that I get up very early, while my husband and daughter prefer to sleep in. It's a little hard to get ready without waking everyone up. We stayed in room 5017, it was a little loud, but that was from the march break kids coming in, and the upstairs room did have a terrible leak, that eventually leaked after three days right into our bathroom. We had two towels in front of the toilet and they were soaked after a few hours. We did tell the lobby and they said they could try and move us, but it probably wouldn't be a deluxe room, but they would fix it the day after as soon as the people left. We chose to stay and they had it fixed as soon as they left. I could still hear running water, so just beware if they put you in that room.

Food was good, we were never hungry. We did all the specialty restaurants. Mexican and Japanese are buffets, the Italian has a buffet and you order your entree from the menu and the steak house is full service. All were good, Mexican was probably our least favourite. We did see a lot of people bringing wine in from either the duty free or where they bought it elsewhere. The wine isn't the best but wasn't the worst either.

The beach of course is amazing which is why we keep coming back to this beautiful country, this is my 7th time in Punta Cana. We never had trouble getting chairs at the pool or on the beach. If you want something under a hut you need to be down to reserve them by 7:30.

People are friendly and work extremely hard. Shows were entertaining. The trip is what you make it. Have fun!!

On a side note to the Young March Breakers, please go and have fun, it is your right to let off some steam and if you can afford to do this at your age, you must be doing something right. However, there is no need to be rude and disrespectful to other travellers or to the workers. I did see you knock over all the garbage cans on your way to your room. Why you would feel the need to knock them down when they are buried in the ground and have the garbage thrown all over the resort is beyond me.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,927 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    885
    1,009
    546
    294
    193
See reviews for
778
1052
33
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (449)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois, United States
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

6 of us went on a 5 apple square deal to punta cana and we were placed in this hotel. All of us had something in mind when it comes to vacation resorts since we have traveled many times prior to this trip. When we were dropped off at the hotel we were all shocked and disappointed. The hotel was dirty, small, the pool was extremely small and the rooms were old dirty and dark. No comment about the bathroom. The rooms are located in old purple buildings in the back of the lobby/ pool area so you have to walk far to get to the bar, beach, pool, restaurant etc.
when we went out at night and went to the hotel bar, it was full of young drunk kids. We are all married and in our twenties and we like to party but this was just disgusting and not fun at all. The drinks were terrible!!!! They all tasted like windex and there was no selection at all.
After the first night we went to the apple vacation rep and asked for a different hotel. We were transferred to riu palace punta cana (next door) and had to pay additional 300 per couple for the remaining 6 nights. Our new hotel was also 5 stars just like bambu but it was a complete opposite. Clean classy beautiful with room service and drinks were delicious. We finally felt like we were on vacation. We were able to dress up and enjoy the nightly entertainment shows and delicious meals at the restaurants.
My main point is: if you are single and want a cheap hotel just to party in your shorts with a bunch of spring breakers go to riu bambu. If you like to dress up at night and still party but with a completely different style and people, go to riu palace riu bavaro or riu macao.

Room Tip: There are no ocean front rooms. Not even garden view!!!! All the ghetto buildings are in the back ya...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Hello Everybody

I have just returned from this hotel and have to say what a lovely place. I can't understand what everyone seems to be moaning about to be honest. Whats not to like!!

Food: GOOD
Drinks: GOOD (Apart from they don't do red Aftershock)
Weather: GOOD
Service: GOOD

No matter what time of day or night you can always grab a bite to eat, or something to drink. I go on holiday to relax, and thats exactly what I did. Staff couldn't be more helpful if they tried!

I've already booked to come back, possibly bringing all my friends too. All 6 of them!!

Can I get a whoop whoop.

Thanks.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PIQUA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Sorry but stayed at other Riu and this one is poor the food is barely edible and the same food day after day the entertainment was cheesy do not go to the club 6 dollar drinks and no one there but a few employees. Had to call the desk several times just to get waters and soda in fridge. The price was good but would spend a little more and go somewhere else ! But would like to add all the employees work extra hard and are very very nice!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
detroit
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Came with 8 other young men to enjoy our spring break. \

The food: poor at best. DO NOT EAT THE COLD HAMBURGERS OR HOT DOGS at the sports bar. I took a bite and threw up. No es bueno. Reservations you have to be in line at 7 to get anything good. We made it to the steak house last night and it was average. We did leave and venture to Kekua and had one of the freshest seafood meals we have ever tasted right down the beach. Kind of pricey but very worth it.

We were also in the 5000 block and the rooms were very nice and clean. Mini bar was only restocked once the entire trip despite me calling the front desk literally 7 times.

The bartenders here are awesome. Rossie and Acosto and Walesca and George loved us and took shots with us every time we took one. Very friendly(although we tipped them a lot over the week). An older gentleman paid for one of the cocounut drinks for me and a friend and they are terrible. But Walesca filled the coconut up with mama juana so we drank out of that. (thanks againand good luck with the baby Lorie if you see this!)

Some of the guests did not really appreciate us although we had many people tell us we were well behaved for being so intoxicated. If you take your family to the 50$ a night all inclusive during spring break and dont expect college kids then you are just not intelligent. There was no need to take pictures of us we are not zoo animals. For the future: If you want us to turn our music down, just politely knock. Theres no need to request we be removed from the hotel. If you want no college kids pay the 20$ extra a night and stay at one of the three palaces if you can afford it. If you cant than save up one more month and go to the palace when we are not here.

The lady who said we treated the workers like slaves is just flat out wrong. They would not have taken pictures with us or hugged us when we left if they were treated poorly.

But ya not a very good hotel if you can afford literally anywhere else.

Room Tip: Stay at the palace
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poundtown, New Maryland
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

If you want to go to Hell/Purgatory, just stop at the RIu Bambu. The college kids were the only good part of this trip. The food is dog meat. If I wasn't so drunk constantly then I think I would have shot myself. Dont come here. Because you'll most likely die.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint John, Canada
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Interesting to see comments from guests that were there the same time we were to compare notes. We stayed there Feb 25-Mar 4 Hello to you Sylvie! We too stayed at the 5000 block, beautiful room but what's up with not getting face cloths, we had to keep asking every day! And the noise from the maids every morning...not everyone is up and gone at 7am! Only 1 room key, $10 for a second one. No washroom or place to get a drink near the beach. Also there is no benches any where to sit. The grounds are quite big so not sure why that is. Biggest complaint was the cigarette smoke! There was no getting away from it, especially trying to sit and enjoy the evening performers, we moved several times and would usually give up and leave.
Food: pretty much the same every day, buffet beverages were not good. Alot of time there was no diet pepsi in the dispenser and the juices were sugary
Service: staff were great, friendly
Entertainment: very talented bunch of kids but is it necessary for the girls to wear thongs for every performance! And the girls were really showing them off, honestly the elderly and kids did not need to see them waving their butts at them! Distasteful.
Cleanliness: grounds were very clean, always staff around cleaning up
By saturday the college kids started arriving(march break) very loud and obnoxious. Our building was very noisey at night from them. Well this is just our experience, my husband and I won't be back but hopefully our imput will benefit others who base their chose on these reviews. :)
Oh and we both got travellers diarhea from this trip, a first!

Room Tip: unless you like to walk, request a room close to ammenities!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to ClubHotel Riu Bambu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ClubHotel Riu Bambu

Address: Playa Arena Gorda, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#54 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#57 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#65 Business Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — ClubHotel Riu Bambu 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located in Punta Cana * Situated on Arena Gorda Beach * Complimentary sun loungers on the beach * Within the Riu Resort, along with the Riu Palace Punta Cana, Riu Palace Macao, Riu Taino and Riu Naiboa hotels * Main building and 1-story bungalow complex * Surrounded by 46,000 m2 / 50,300 sq. yards of palm groves, adjacent to the beach * 50 km / 31 miles from Higley * 600 m / 1,980 ft. from Caribbean Street * 30 km / 19 miles from Punta Cana Int€™l. Airport * Credit cards accepted: Visa, MasterCard, Amex, Diners ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Amex, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Tingo and Priceline so you can book your ClubHotel Riu Bambu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Bambu Punta Cana
Riu Bambu Dominican Republic

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ClubHotel Riu Bambu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.