We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing But Fun and Relaxation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Iberostar Dominicana Hotel

Save Saved
You added Iberostar Dominicana Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Iberostar Dominicana Hotel
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Playa Bavaro | Higuey, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 101 Hotels in Punta Cana
Gilbert, AZ USA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nothing But Fun and Relaxation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Traveled with girlfriends to spend a week at the Iberostar Dominicana and we had a great time! There is always games and entertainment going on with the resorts 'Stars and Friends' so we did aerobics by the beach, played Olympic games, played beach volleyball, and watched quirky shows put on by the staff in the afternoon. It was nice to get to know some of the staff and see familiar, friendly faces around the resort.

We enjoyed the all-you-can-eat buffets and bars. The food is not exquisite by any culinary means, but if you remember that they are cooking for hundreds of people to eat at any given time, then it makes sense. I am a pretty picky eater, and I was always able to find food that I enjoyed. We were particular to the make-your-own omelets at breakfast and make-your-own pasta at dinner in the buffet area. We tried the steak house and seafood restaurant and were only disappointed since we didn't have a plethora of choices!?

We spent the majority of our time at the beach and there was nothing to complain about there. You are only allowed one beach towel at a time, so if you are going to want more, I recommend packing one or two of your own. I never went into the pool simply because it didn't have the breeze that the beach had.

In the evening, there are two shows going on between the two resorts. There is the main stage that has a different variety show each evening and a smaller stage that has live music and dancing. It didn't seem that most people knew about the live music stage, because there were never many people around. The staff gets you up and dancing, and it is a nice way to unwind in the evening. There is also the discotecha, which opens at 11pm. While we were there, it was spring break, so there were quite a few high school kids at the resort. They flocked to the discotecha!? The DJ played actual disco music, salsa music, and hip-hop. We did check it out and hang around a couple of evenings, but we never planned on that as our evening activity.

Bottom line: Staying at the Iberostar was an easy vacation. We arrived at the resort and didn't have to worry about too much thereafter. We really enjoyed ourselves!

Room Tip: We had a room on the third floor facing the pool - it was quiet and we had a great view of the pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Dominicana Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for choosing Iberostar Dominicana for your vacations and for sharing your experience with us on Tripadvisor.
In the name of the Hotel Manager, Mrs. Helena Santos, we would like to express our satisfaction to hear that you had a memorable stay among us. We appreciate your positive valuation about our daily activities for entertainment and nightly shows, our well stock bars, our nightly themed buffet and a la carte restaurants, the beauty of our premises and the excellent service provided by our friendly staff. In Iberostar we want to ensure to our beloved guests a memorable holiday with those aspects of our guiding principles.
We are looking forward to welcome you back again, please feel free to contact us prior your arrival.
With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,733
    964
    280
    96
    47
See reviews for
974
1214
64
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (401)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We were a group of 8 that spent the first week of April at this resort. My wife and I are in our early 60's and I will speak of our time at the resort. We have been traveling to the Caribbean for 10 years. Five of those trips have been to the Punta Cana area the rest have been Cuba and Mexico. We have never stayed at the same resort twice. We are looking for the perfect resort and we know we will never find it because every resort has it flaws based on who you are and what your expectations may be. Having said that this resort is one of the best we have stayed at on the Bavaro Beach Strip for the money. I have read some reviews and wonder where these people stayed and what where their expectations. This is a very good 4 star resort and keep in mind the 4 star rating is based on other resorts in the area and not a hotel and restaurant in downtown Toronto ,Paris or New York. So here are a few of our thoughts about the place.

Rooms
This is an older resort thus the 4 star rating but it has been newly renovated. We had a standard room on the 3rd floor .The main building has 4 floors (elevators) and the newly renovated rooms are somewhat plain but we had no complaints . The shower and sink had plenty of hot water and drained well , the toilet flushed and refilled properly ,the safe worked, the patio door locked and the A/C worked great. This for first time travelers are what you should check for in a room before you unpack. Our other six companions all had ground floor rooms and all 3 rooms were just as good as ours with none of the musty smells and critters some folks talk about. The standard rooms are in one large building with a centre courtyard and depending on where your room is it is at most a 5 minute walk to either the beach or buffet/lobby. We had a one minute walk to the beach and five to the lobby.

Food
This is where everyone gets picky...don.t. At this resort if I had to guess a quarter of the people spoke english and the rest spoke heavens knows what but there were many different languages spoken thus many different cultures. No resort could possibly keep everyone 100% food happy but of the 10 resorts we have been to the Iberostar has done it the best. The buffet always had something good to eat. Take your time look around and have an open mind there has to be something there you will like to eat. We are not a big fan of open air buffets but this one stayed pretty cool and there were not too many birds flying around. I found the al la cartes good as well. My only real complaint here was our meal times all 9pm or later but then there were 8 of us
The beach buffet had several choices as well so no one should go hungry. The only problem here is the amount of people who want to eat between noon and 2pm. This is a 1000 room hotel complex so good luck getting a seat during those hours. Before 12 or after 2 is fine.The sister resort next door has a smaller beach buffet which seemed easier to get a seat at during those busy hours but was not as cool as the main beach buffet.

Beach/Pool
The beach is one of the better ones in the Caribbean and everyone raves about it but most people complain about the towel game played here as well as every other resort we have been to. There is no getting the tooth paste back in the tube when it comes to this aspect of resort life. There is little or no natural shade on this resort . All the shade comes from the papulas at the pool or on the beach so the towel game is somewhat more intense. I suspect there is a lot of saving here at both the pool and the beach by the same people. We saved our papulas at 6am on the beach .Two papulas for the 8 of us and we were no where close to being first. Didn't bother with the pools as they are small and most of the little kids are there. But be rest assured if you want shade be at the pool or the beach before 7am to save your spot.This is a very busy resort with lots of people and loud music playing all the time but out on the beach it is not so loud so we didn't mind. I might add a tip here for peoples travel time. We normally leave Halifax on the 6am flights but this year we took an evening flight which for this resort was the right way to go since we arrived at the resort at 10pm. If you arrive at 10am you don't have a hope to get a beach/pool chair let alone something in the shade. So you will spend your first day sitting in the beach buffet papulas by the pool. We didn't leave the resort till 5pm on our last day so we were able to save our spots check out at noon put our luggage in the storage and change/shower area in the lobby and head back to the beach to take advantage of most of the day. We brought our own towels as most resort towels are very thin as was the case here and our towels are easy to spot.. We saw several papulas at this resort go unused till 1pm or later at both the pool and beach.


Service/Grounds

The service here is more than great. We tipped sometimes and sometimes we didn't just to see if it mattered and it didn't. Some people complain about sour employees and I can see their point. I am retired now but in the 40 years that I worked I never had a bad day.. not once . Give me a break. We've all had bad days even bad weeks ...are these folks any different. 11 or 12 day shifts 14 or 15 hours a day and 99.9% of these folks go overboard to make sure you have a good time. I couldn't do it. Every once in a while tip one of the gardeners and make a new friend. They keep the resort immaculate.We tip the maids 5 dollars a day. Put 5 bucks in the bar fridge and see what happens. We tipped the waitresses 1 buck a trip as well.
The entertainment on this resort was pretty good too. A couple of nights we thought they had brought people in it was that good.Best we have seen.

We did not pick this resort our travel partners did. We prefer adults only resorts with air conditioned buffets and pools with swim-up bars and beaches and pools with natural shade so we need not play the towel game
Our first resort was a 3 star in Cuba and we loved it because we had no expectations. Now after 10 years we have a few. I would highly recommend this resort especially for first timers and family's with young kids. This resort is an excellent deal for the money at around 3000 dollars Canadian.This resort is one of 4 in the complex the last being the Iberostar Grand Bavaro which we may give a look see next year.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Dominicana Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear guest,
In the name of Mrs. Helena Santos, Hotel Manager, we want to thank you for choosing our hotel premises for your holidays, and also for taking the time to post some comments about your experience.
For the whole team it is a pleasure to hear that your holiday was pleasant and your expectations were met by our friendly staff, beautiful premises and varied gastronomy. Those are part of our guiding principles in Iberostar Hotels and Resorts to ensure memorable holidays to our valuable costumers.
We will be happy to welcome you back again, please feel free to contact us before you next visit.
With regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Pros: Beach is decent and so is the pool..People that say that the beach is great , have obliviously never been to some of the nicer beaches of the world..no drink service and people reserve chairs as early as 530 in the morning which is not allowed according to policy..not enforced at all..same goes for the pool..Grounds are kept very nice in my opinion

Cons: Rooms outdated and air conditioner on max the whole trip was not enough to cool the room down..we went to bed sweating every night..

Food is not good at all, even the gourmet rooms were poor...and bad service to boot..oh and no room service either...i did like the coffee espresso and pineapple..

Kids Club doesnt open for the times posted..at night it was but during the day we waited from 3 to 4 pm for them to open and never did...we contacted the front desk and they radioed it in all three times we were there and no one ever showed up...it is posted right on the door that they are open 3 to 4 pm...Nobody seemed to care..

Star rock cafe has no hostess and the place is only open from 630 to 9...people walk in and will cut right in front of you and steal your seat,,total mayhem...how cheap can upper management be to not put a hostess on duty for 2 and a half hours..what a joke...this simple thing could fix a big problem...to me they run this place like a nickel and dime place...food stinks there too..

We did have a few people at the hotel that were really nice but there were so few...Francoise at the main buffet, maria at the beach buffet. luis at the main lobby bar and griselda the housekeeper...The rest seemed annoyed that we even dared to show up at their place of work..Even after tipping what we feel is pretty well it didnt even make the slightest difference..a dollar per drink at every bar was standard for us and ten dollars for dinner at the gourmet rooms,,,Also at the buffets was a dollar per person every time we ate...So why did we even tip you must be thinking right? We work for tips and just felt that we do the right thing and let GOD handle the rest,,,These people are overworked and it shows,,,in a way we felt bad for them but nevertheless it killed our experience..I blame the upper management of Iberostar for not seeing this ..

Ex: I called and asked for more towels for the room and the person on the other end asked how many people were in the room..I said 3 and we have 3 towels but would like more please..his response was why did you need more very rudely

EX; Servers will clear food off the table even before you are done eating sometimes..its like they want you to hurry and get up...

In conclusion i highly recommend that you do not take the 10 out 0f 99 rating from trip advisor serious..they have normally been spot on in the past with other properties we have been too, but this place is just living off the Iberostar name..( I would never go back to any Iberostar property again.) there are so many better places with better beaches and much better service than punta cana..secrets maroma, live aqua cancun, st maarten to just name a few...By the way this is the first review i have ever written and apologize to all the places that i didnt give great reviews in the past when i had an awesome time.. I will write them after i am finished with this...I'm done...LOL...

P.S. don't make the same mistake that we made...you will be beyond disappointed..Beware..You have been warned..

Room Tip: just dont go..you will be beyond disappointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Dominicana Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear guest,
On behalf of Hotel Manager, Mrs. Helena Santos, we want to thank you for taking time to post a review about your stay with us and for choosing Iberostar Dominicana for you holidays.
We want to express how deeply sorry we are to read that your holidays at our hotel was not pleasant. In Iberostar one of our basic principles is to provide the best to our beloved guests to offer the best gastronomy, the best quality of drinks and beverages. They are the key of our success with more than one hundred hotels worldwide and we truly regret to hear that you left our premises with an opposite idea in mind.
In case you decide to visit us again, please write us a mail in advance to help you to enjoy your next visit.
Yours Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our trip to the Dominican Republic. Traveling into the country and transportation to the resort was the best we've experienced. We used Apple Tours. We are not super picky people but we would probably try a different resort when we return--which we will! The buffets were "iffy" but that may have been a cultural difference. I enjoyed the fresh fruit, veggies, and juices and the cook to order eggs and stir fry. Outside of that, there was really no seafood other than fish. The a la carte restaurants supplied good service and quality food but we could only eat there 3 nights of 7 with our package. You do have to get up early to get a palapa and/or chairs at the pool. We gladly did it to experience the fantastic sunrises and then went back to the room or slept under the palapa. There is no beach or pool service other than employees who pick up empty glasses. No big deal but not what I expected. The bartenders and employees were 50/50. We had some genuinely happy and service oriented interactions but also some that were unexpectedly poor: no smiles, general feeling that we were bothering them--especially at the pool bar. The other strange thing and again maybe cultural was there limitation and allotment of one beach towel. I would expect to get one extra towel but could not. The room was so-so and needs upgrading. The bathroom was recently renovated but ventilation was poor leaving a smell like Grandma's mildewy basement. The beach was fabulous. That alone would bring me back to Punta Cana. The property was well maintained and the gardens were beautiful. I am glad we tried the property but will stay somewhere else next time.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Dominicana Hotel, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank for writing a comment on Tripadvisor about your experience at Iberostar Dominicana. In the name of Mrs. Helena Santos, Hotel Manager, we would like to thank you for choosing Iberostar Punta Cana for your holidays.
One the one hand, we appreciate your positive valuation about the cleanness and beauty of our hotel premises. In Iberostar one of our guiding principles is to upkeep our premises.
On the other hand, we apologize for all and any inconveniences you might have encountered during your stay. We have taken good notes from your feedback to evaluate our performance and deliver the level of service according our Iberostar standards.
We kindly invite you to visit us once again so we can show you the way we make feel our guests as “Star” during their holidays. Please feel free to contact us before arrival to help you to enjoy your next vacations with us,
Kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

My wife and I stayed for 4 nights just to get away and I am so glad it was only 4 nights because this was the least enjoyable vacation we have ever had. We typically travel internationally once or twice a year and never go to the same country twice, so we know the do's and don'ts. Furthermore, we never stay at high end places, so we can travel more. This place was not horrible or disgusting but I would not recommend this resort to anyone. Take your chances somewhere else.

CONS: 1) Both of us got extremely sick different nights after eating. I am not picky about food but as other people noted it was really bad.
2) Our first suite was right near a loud bar, so we requested to move. The staff was more than happy to move us to another suite. Both rooms smelled musty and for a suite were not nice. I have to agree with other people that say the rooms do not get cleaned unless you tip.
3) You have to reserve a chair on the beach before 8:00 or you are not getting one (even though you are not allowed to reserve). I even noticed people that leave a shirt on a chair overnight to reserve the seat.

PROS: 1) The beach and the resort grounds were very manicured very nicely

2) The staff was very friendly and nice even if you did not tip but as other people said...money talks. So if you want great service, have an extra couple bucks in your pocket.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Dominicana Hotel, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear guest,
We want to thank you for posting a review on Tripadvisor about your experience at the Iberostar Dominicana and for choosing Iberostar Hotels and Resorts for your holidays.
On behalf of Mrs. Helena Santos, Hotel Manager, we want to express how sorry we are to read that our beautiful grounds, our well valued international exquisite cuisine and the excellent service from our could not meet your expectations.
We would like to clarify that In Iberostar Hotels and Resorts we take Hygiene seriously. We follow strict sanitary procedures and recommendations based not only on the Dominican Republic’s Regulations, but also by Saniconsult, a Spanish Company, which is our external consulter. We have one special department which check and ensure that all regulations and recommendations are followed in all areas of our hotel premises and facilities which constantly visits all areas to enforce that all regulations and recommendations as long as HACCP (Hazard analysis and critical control points) procedures are strictly followed by all staff members to reduce and eliminate potential risks. According to our records, we do not have more than 4 incidences per week concerning stomach issues, being the fact that more than 2000 guests and 1000 employees each daily from the same food prepared by our kitchen. We assure you that we are aware of the importance of listening to the voice of our customers. Our Management team has been informed about you concerns; we doubled our effort to minimize any food risks.
In case you decide to give us a chance to show you our improvements, please contact us in advance,
Sincerely yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We just returned from a week long stay at Iberostar Punta Cana. It was a great time for all! My husband and I traveled with another couple and our two 18-year olds and our four 16-year olds. Everyone had a wonderful time! Great food, grounds,and staff. Hector was fabulous at making sure we got just the right rooms to meet our needs. Delvin/Dabey was our favorite waiter at the breakfast buffet and french restaurant. Evelyn was our favorite bartender at the pool bar and waitress at the buffet! all of the staff was so friendly and helpful! The activities were so much fun from the aqua aerobics to the beach volleyball. Loved the Easter bunnies!
A wonderful vacation from start to finish!
The Lamanna Family- Wexford, PA

Room Tip: There is a difference between the Punta Cana and Dominica. Better amenities and a bit more upscale...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Dominicana Hotel, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear guest,
In the name of Mrs. Helena Santos, we would like to thank you for choosing Iberostar Dominicana for your family vacation and for taking the time to post your comments about your stay among us.
We would like to express how glad we are to read that you and your entire family enjoyed a “great vacation” at our hotel premises as the title of your review shows. In Iberostar two of our guiding principles are to upkeep our premises, to offer an exquisite gastronomy and the best service to our valuable costumers. We have congratulated Héctor, David, Delvin, and Evelyn whose service made you feel as a “Star”.
We are looking forward to welcome you back and remain at your disposition for further assistance prior your next visit.
With regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

I recently stayed at this resort and this was my first trip to the Punta Cana. I choose to stay here based on the price and other reviews. The one thing this resort does have going for it is the beach. The beach is amazing, the grounds crew cleans up the seaweed every morning, there are also umbrella's for shade. I walked the coast line two miles in both directions and found only one other beach that was this nice, which was on the Majestic Property. A lot of the other beaches did not have any umbrellas for shade, which is a must because the first day there, I was not able to get a chair under an umbrella and I got burnt bad. There were a few issues with the beach however concerning the chairs. First the chairs and umbrellas are supposedly not reservable, however everyone does reserve them and this is not enforced at all. If your not on the beach by 6:30 or 7:00 A.M. you wont get a chair with an umbrella and if your not on the beach by 9:00 A.M. good luck getting a chair at all. Also I mentioned that the grounds crew was good about cleaning up the seaweed on the beach but not so much about cleaning up after the slobs that sit in the chairs all day and leave there napkins and cigarette butts in the sand, that was a turn off. The pool was nice as well but same thing with the chairs if your not out there by 9:00 A.M. forget about getting a place to sit, as they will be reserved. I even walked around late at night and found chairs reserved at midnight already for the next day, its pretty ridiculous, they really need to come up with a better system. Overall the staff was very nice and the grounds around the hotel were well kept and clean. The food was mediocre at best, we ate at the oriental and seafood restaurants and the buffets. The restaurants were nothing special and personally I think the food on the buffet was better. The breakfast was probably the best with lots of options including made to order eggs and omelets. For lunch we always ate at the poolside buffet which wasn't the greatest, they have a large grill next to the beach as well where they make a different dish each day which is usually pretty good. The drinks were so so, very inconsistent from one bartender to another. You could get 4 of the same drinks from 4 different people and they would all be a little different. The lobby bar was the the best out of all of them. The frozen drinks were not frozen at all maybe because it was so hot I don't know, but a pina colada was basically a mix with some ice they put in it. They do have the icee machines for the frozen drinks but its basically water, all the ice is melted. Being from the U.S. I would compare the room we had to a room at the Motel 6. The room was nothing special. Upon arrival and after traveling for 18 hours due to delays and what not, we were taken to our room in which the A/C didn't work. It was hot and humid and all we wanted to do was sleep but it was just unbearable. Also the drinks in the mini bar were opened and half drank, apparently they are not checked after the prior guests check out. Also the mini bar consists of 4 bottles of soda and water and two beers not what I would expect for a mini bar, two beers really. We were then moved into a different room in the front of the hotel by the entertainment stage. The A/C wasn't much better and there was a large centipede crawling around but at this point we were tired and just dealt with it. It was also really musty in both rooms and I had to take a zyrtec just to be able to clear my sinuses and sleep and I don't usually have very many problems with allergies. But we just ended up staying in this room the rest of the trip and dealing with it. Just a tip when booking a room if your on this side of hotel, the front side, don't plan on sleeping before Midnight because the noise form the nightly shows is so loud you can hear it plain as day, as if you were sitting outside watching the show. They really need to address this as we didn't get much sleep at all the entire trip, with not being able to sleep before midnight and having to be up at 6:00 A.M. everyday to get a beach chair, it wasn't very relaxing. Also the views from the rooms on the front side of the hotel are not the greatest. Anyway that was my first experience at the resort. Like I said the beach is amazing but If I ever went back I think I would choose a different resort.

Room Tip: Get a room off the first floor on the backside of the hotel. We requested this ahead of time and our...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Dominicana Hotel, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor about your stay among us. In the name of Mrs. Helena Santos, hotel Manager, we also thank you for choosing our hotel for your holidays.
We will forward the aforementioned comments to all relevant department heads as to ensure that service is up to Iberostar standards. We would like to extend apologies for any and all inconveniences that you experiences during your vacation here at the Iberostar Dominicana. It is through communications of this nature that we are given an opportunity to assess and evaluate our performance, as well as to ensure that we maintain and deliver the level of service expected from our Hotel. We will certainly take an objective approach to ascertain how best we can rectify the breakdown on the service. Once this is done, we will do our best not to have a reoccurrence of the situations mentioned.
We will be honored to welcome you back and show you our improvements. We remain at your entire disposition for further assistance.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Iberostar Dominicana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Dominicana Hotel

Address: Playa Bavaro | Higuey, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#15 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#19 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Iberostar Dominicana Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly on the beautiful, sandy beach of Bavaro (Punta Cana). Colourful Caribbean flair. Water sports galore. All inclusive (generous, varied buffets for all meals). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Tingo, VISIT US, INC. , Travelocity, BookIt.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Iberostar Dominicana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Punta Cana Iberostar
Iberostar Dominicana Punta Cana
Iberostar Punta Cana
Dominicana Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iberostar Dominicana Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.