We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“awesome” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Iberostar Dominicana Hotel

Save Saved
You added Iberostar Dominicana Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Iberostar Dominicana Hotel
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Playa Bavaro | Higuey, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 101 hotels in Punta Cana
pine grove wva
1 review
“awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Best vacation ever for my wife and i. the staff went above and beyond to make you feel welcome. food was great.Will go back next winter for sure.beach is fantastic. not too crowded like other places we have been. entertainment was first rate.They put a lot of effort into the shows an competition games on the beach. The only negative i had was the travel from the airport. road construction everywhere.Apple vacations is the only way to travel. they take care of it all. just sit back and enjoy.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Dominicana Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear guest,
In the name of Hotel Manager, Mrs. Helena Santos, we thank you for taking the time to post a review about your stay among us and for having chosen Iberostar Dominicana for your vacations.
We are very happy to read your positive valuation about the friendliness of our staff, our international exquisite cuisine and the daily and nightly entertainment options. Our main goal in Iberostar is to ensure our valuable costumers memorable experiences.
We are looking forward to welcome you back and remain at your entire disposition for further assistance prior your next visit.
With regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,067 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,708
    940
    275
    97
    47
See reviews for
956
1193
64
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (396)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

A group of 6 adults had a memorable 10 day stay at Iberostar Dominicana! The resort is beautiful and very user friendly. The rooms were cleaned well and often. There was an issue with the AC and ceiling fan not working properly in one of the rooms with it not really being properly resolved, however as we were a group of six , with our rooms being located near one another, we grinned and bared through the problem. The staff are extremely friendly and willing to go the extra mile, we did not hesitate to show our appreciation. The food was excelent, with the buffet being surprisingly sought out. My only complaint would be the staff trying to push the photo sessions repeatadly throughout the holiday. We would return for another vacation here without a doubt

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Dominicana Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Guests,
Thank you for posting a review about your experience at Iberostar Dominicana. In the name of the hotel Manager, Mrs. Helena Santos, we also thank you for choosing our hotel for your vacations.
In Iberostar we are committed to ensure our valuable guests a memorable holiday for that reason we are on the best beaches worldwide. We are happy to acknowledge that our team could accomplish our goal with your entire group whilst visiting Iberostar Punta Cana.
We are looking forward to welcome you back again. Please do not hesitate to contact us before your arrival.
With kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadview Heights, Ohio
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Just came back from 6 great days/5 nights at the Iberostar Dominicana in Punta Cana. We were traveling as a couple (not a family), and looking to just do nothing but lay by the poolside, eat, and drink. So here goes....

Place was immaculate...there was always some staff person cleaning, painting, trimming bushes, etc. This resort was one of the few that cleaned their beach each day. All staff was very friendly from check in to check out. The staff that cleaned our room always finished it with a towel formed into a swan, heart, etc. with fresh azalea flowers. Mini bar was always well stocked. At night our covers were turned down for us. Our room was spacious and updated, with terrazo walls and counters in our bathroom. We had a nice room overlooking the junior suite villas on the backside of the Dominicana, just above a fountain. Nice and quiet.

We thought the food and drinks were plentiful and delicious. So many choices, from meats (salamis, etc) and cheeses, various salads, lots of fresh fruit to numerous side dishes - rice dishes, mashed potatoes, boiled potatoes, etc. to various entrees, including fish, pork, meats, chicken to plain food such as pizza, burgers, fries, onion rings, mac and cheese. The resort really tries to accommodate people of various countries. Desserts were a plenty, including the massive multi-layer cake that you could cut as big a piece as you wish, the varieties of ice cream (including soft serve machine), and the little pastries that would delight all. Try the gespacho soup at the beach restaurant at lunch. Yum! There also were various ala-carte restaurants. We tried the japanese, seafood and steakhouse. you need reservations for these, but making them is a breeze. We liked them all, steakhouse the best. All staff at these restaurants were friendly, yet quite professional. At lunch time, there is a large barbecue each day at the restaurant by the beach. The smell from the barbecue is even intoxicating! A staff person also served a juice from a large bowl, but get there early, because it goes fast. We had a melon juice that was incredible...a mix of cantaloupe and watermelon juice that was light and refreshing..we realized why the juice was going so fast!

Drinks were plentiful. Servers roamed the pool area filling our requests for drinks. Alcohol was plentiful..there were no watered down drinks here. Try the mojito...yum!

Entertainment was available all day long. There is a schedule by the entrance to the beach. Bingo, archery, exercise, and group games were available to all. Also, there were companies on the grounds that would offer excursions off site. (Stay with those..don't go with the ones offered to you from hawkers on the beach that will approach you while you are walking). The activity staff was very engaging, but not overbearing. Never laughed so much. Of the shows we watched at night, one was a show that interacted with members of the audience...I was laughing so hard I was crying. One "tribute" show was amazing..it was the music of a famous american singer. Some of the dancing brought thunderous applause from the audience--the dancing ability was stunning. (I won't say more..it will ruin your surprise). Although I have to admit, these shows are geared a bit more towards the younger crowd (55 and under).

Of the clientele, this resort had a mix of couples, young adults, and families. It appeared there was something to do for everyone, at whatever level of activity they committed to.

In retrospect, we really enjoyed our stay here at the Dominicana. Truly a top notch vacation at a moderate price. Well worth the money!

Room Tip: If you would like a quiet room for children sleeping during the day, select either the backside of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Dominicana Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Guests,
We would like to thank you for writing some comments about your stay at Iberostar Dominicana. In the name of Mrs. Helena Santos, Hotel Manager, and her team, we also thank you for choosing our hotel as your holiday’s destination.
In Iberostar our guiding principles are to provide the best service and an exquisite gastronomical experience to our valuable costumers, to be on the best beaches around the world and to upkeep our premises. We are satisfied to read that you valued positively those aspects of our Iberostar Dominicana hotel and that they made your holidays especial.
We will be happy to welcome you back again. Please feel free to contact us before your arrival.
With kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan City, Indiana
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Booked this 3 night trip on whim and selected this resort because the price was right. I was a bit disappointed when I arrived.....the resort definitely lacks the wow factor in its appearance. The orange colored exterior seemed garish and there are several water features that house green stagnant water lacking fish or fountain.

What it lacks in appearance it makes up for in customer service. To sum it up in one word ... AMAZING! I have stayed at many resorts and this one had the best customer service of them all (including RIU and Bahia Principe). The staff went out of their way to accommodate our needs and interacted with us in such a way that even getting a towel was an "experience". In the end, the customer service was so good that I would definitely recommend staying here.

The food was good. Make reservations early. We were only allotted one sit-down dinner with our stay. When we reserved I asked if I could pay for an extra one and she gave it to us for free (so we actually got 2). Also, they will tell you that only certain ones are available. Book whatever you can then go to the restaurant of your choice. On day 2 we could only get into the seafood restaurant at 9:30pm. We showed up at the gourmet restaurant at 6:30 (with the ticket for the other restaurant) and asked if they would seat us. Initially they told us that they were full. We insisted that we wanted to eat there and they very graciously accommodated us. They have no-shows all the time so don't feel like you have to go where the openings are. The Oriental restaurant was good, buffets were good, and the gourmet restaurant was excellent. We had lobster twice while there (once cooked on a grill by the pool).

There are good brands of alcohol available....but not in every bar and you have to ask for them. They do have Smirnoff, Stoli, Jim Beam, and Bombay and they are very generous with the alcohol in the drinks. Specialty drinks (like mudslides) are also only made at certain bars. If you know what you want and the pool or beach bar don't have it, then go to the lobby bar. Bring your own insulated cup as this will cut down on trips to the bar.

Again I wasn't wowed by the grounds or the room, but staff worked hard to keep everything neat and clean. I especially appreciated that there were bathrooms very near the beach and pool. It seemed like we were never too far away from them.

The spa wasn't very good. I would skip that and get a massage back home. The hot tub and saunas are by reservation only. Again not spectacular in appearance and not open at night. If you want to get in the hot tub, book early. In general though probably not worth your time...your local YMCA or gym probably has nicer facilities as far as this goes.

The shows at night were the usual all-inclusive fare. We found the Michael Jackson show to be exceptional. It seems like every resort we visit now has a MJ show.....this one was by far the best of them all.

Again, I cannot say enough nice things about the staff. I didn't like the appeal of the resort but would return because the staff were great and the food and drinks were above average.

Room Tip: Most of the rooms have only showers. If you are a bath tub type of person make sure that you request...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Dominicana Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Guest,
In the name of Mrs. Helena Santos, Hotel Manager, we would like to thank you for choosing Iberostar Dominicana for your holidays and also for writing some comments about your experience at our hotel.
We are satisfied to read that although the first impression with our premises was not of your liking, the friendliness of our staff and our international gastronomy ensured you a pleasant stay and made you feel as a “Star” as we aim in Iberostar Hotels and Resorts. We are also happy to hear your nice words about the friendliness of our staff members despite the language barrier; I assure that in Iberostar we are all about you, our beloved guests.
We will be happy to welcome you back again. Please feel free to contact us before your arrival.
With kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We just returned from a week at Iberostar Dominicana with our three boys, 18,17, and 15. Let's start with the positives. First, the beach is absolutely spectacular. All of the Iberostar hotels in Punta Cana share the same beach and what a spot! Other hotels along this beach either have no shade (The Riu) or are way more crowded (Bahia Principale). Second, the service is outstanding. The front desk staff were incredibly friendly and eager to please. We are quite particular about our room choice (see neutral below) and changed twice within 36 hours before finding an excellent room. When we apologized for our 'pickiness', Alejandro at the front desk stated, "We are here to make you happy" with an ear to ear smile on his face, and he was sincere. Dining room staff, cleaning staff, and animators (the latter at times a bit annoying) were always friendly and extremely helpful. Third, the size of the resort is very manageable. There is no room that is far from either the beach or the main lobby. Anyone complaining about distance should be at Disney World in an electric scooter inhaling one of those huge turkey legs that you only see at Disney World. Fourth, this resort is constantly being upgraded. In the week that we were there they repainted exterior walls and when one of the poolside beach shelters was damaged, it was torn down and replaced in the late evening hours. There are 3 features of this resort that i would rate as neutral-slightly above average. First are the rooms. As always in tropical destinations, try to avoid rooms on the ground floor, as they are often musty and humid. I thought that we had put in a request for an upper floor room when we booked, but we were given ground floor accomadations. We were then switched to the second floor (what they call the first floor) on the side facing the shops and with a small roadway. This was quite noisy and although our teenage boys did not care, my wife, who enjoys sitting quietly on the balcony sipping on her coffee, found it excessively loud so...Room Tip: Get a room on the poolside on any floor but the ground floor and you should be very happy. Second neutral is the food. The buffet is ok but definitely becomes tiresome. Some variation would be a welcome change for lunches and supper. Breakfasts were as repetitive but very good. The orange juice at the Iberostar Punta Cana restaurant is significantly better. The espresso coffee is excellent. We ate at three specialty restaurants and the Oriental and Gourmet restaurants were quite good. The steak house restaurant was well managed but had excessive portions. Offering a half-portion would be a reasonable option. Third, the entertainment was OK at best. On night 3 we found the Star Band stage beside the lobby of the Iberostar Punta Cana which had much more relaxing live music without all the upbeat (and at times annoying) shows. Lastly the negative, and I still find this extremely surprising, is a charge for the in-room-safe! Two rooms x 1 week each = $28 USDollars! I travel extensively and have not been charged for a room safe in the last 20 years!
Overall, this resort is very nice and we had an excellent week. Certainly compare Iberostar Dominicana vs Iberostar Punta Cana for prices because they are basically the same hotel. The Iberostars are best overall in my mind for the Punta Cana area. Also compare Iberostar Paraiso Lindo Playa del Carmen as we had been there approx 18 months ago and found it, other than the beach, to be a notch above. Try to get rooms poolside and off of the ground floor. If the food could be varied a bit at the buffets, tighten up the shows a bit, and eliminate the charge for the room safe then this hotel would deserve its 5-star rating.

Room Tip: Poolside above the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Dominicana Hotel, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear Guest,
First at all we would like to thank you for choosing Iberostar Dominicana for your holidays and also for taking the time to post your comments about your stay among us.
On behalf of the Hotel Manager, Mrs. Helena Santos; we would like to express how glad we are to read that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel premises. We appreciate your positive valuation about our beautiful premises, including the beach, and the excellent service provided by our friendly staff. As you well know after visiting Iberostar in Mexico, both aspects are part of our guiding principles to ensure memorable stays to our beloved costumers. Likewise we have forward your suggestions to the corresponding departmental heads so we can work together to deliver the level of service expected by our Iberostar customers.
We kindly ask you to write us before your next visit; it will be a pleasure for us to welcome you back.
With regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

Iberostar Dominicana is an absolutely amazing place to stay. I would recommend this place to anyone and everyone! Every category that I can think of, I would rate a 5 star. It was so relaxing during the day and super fun at night. Great place for all ages. Extremely beautiful with wonderful service! The staff is so cheerful and helpful 100% of the time. David Lopez has got to be the sweetest manager, not to mention extremely handsome. WE LOVED THIS PLACE and you will too!! :))

-Eliana

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Dominicana Hotel, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear Guest,
We thank you for taking time to write a review about your stay at the Iberostar Dominica. In the name of Hotel Manager, Mrs. Helena Santos, we also thank you for choosing our hotel for your holidays.
Thank you for highlighting out the excellent service provided by our friendly staff. In Iberostar we are committed to provide the best service to our “stars” on vacation as Mr. David Lopez, our Manager Assistant, did during your stay.
We are looking forward to welcome you back again. Please feel free to contact us before your arrival.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

The Iberostar Dominicana has become my vacation destination of choice - four super great vacations and looking forward to returning in December 2013 and again in January 2014. It is wonderful to be welcomed back so very warmly - wonderful to have staff remember you - from the front desk staff, to the wait staff, cleaning staff and bar staff - all are very friendly -

Room Tip: If you are a family you may find the Junior Suites more comfortable as they are a little larger - my...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Dominicana Hotel, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear guest,
On behalf of the Hotel Manager, Mrs. Helena Santos, we want to thank you for taking time to post a review about your stays with us and for your loyalty towards Iberostar Dominicana as your holiday’s destination.
We want to express how satisfied we are to read that you had enjoyed four memorable holidays at our hotel premises and that we fulfilled again all your expectations regarding our services. In Iberostar we want to ensure our valuable costumers unforgettable stays.
We are looking forward to welcome you back, please write us a mail in advance to help you to enjoy your fourth visit.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Iberostar Dominicana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Dominicana Hotel

Address: Playa Bavaro | Higuey, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#15 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#19 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Iberostar Dominicana Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly on the beautiful, sandy beach of Bavaro (Punta Cana). Colourful Caribbean flair. Water sports galore. All inclusive (generous, varied buffets for all meals). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Tingo, VISIT US, INC. , Travelocity, BookIt.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Otel and Venere so you can book your Iberostar Dominicana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Punta Cana Iberostar
Iberostar Dominicana Punta Cana
Iberostar Punta Cana
Dominicana Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iberostar Dominicana Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.