We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent resort until we were stranded by blizzard” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Iberostar Dominicana Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Iberostar Dominicana Hotel to your Saves list
Iberostar Dominicana Hotel
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Playa Bavaro | Higuey, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 100 Hotels in Punta Cana
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent resort until we were stranded by blizzard”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

My boyfriend and I booked a vacation to Punta Cana thru Cheap Caribbean. We stayed at the Iberostar Dominicana for a week February 3-9 2013. The check in process went very smooth and the room they gave us was very nice. It was a supposed upgrade to a junior suite. There is a lot of walking at this resort from your room to the pool to the restaurants to the beach. But after all the eating that you do it works out pretty good. All the staff are great and make you feel special. We spent most of our time on the fantastic beach opposed to the pool. We went to a couple of the shows which were entertaining. The biggest problem was that because of the blizzard on the east coast. I called Cheap Caribbean to find out what we should do because there were no flights in or out. We managed to get on a flight by calling USAirways but it wasn't until Feb 12th. Cheap Caribbean told us to go to he front desk as they would be better to assist us. Olympus Tours is Cheap Caribbean's tour operator in Punta Cana so we got in touch with them as well. They told us we were all set with staying in our room for another 3 nights at a distressed rate. They told us to now go back to the front desk which we did. The front desk had no idea what we were talking about. We dealt with all of this for about 4 hours. We kept getting the run around from the hotel and Olympus Tours. We waited until 6 pm that night until they found us a room. It was not at Iberostar. We had to move the next day to The Tropical Princess. We were grateful to get a room at this point. But going from a five star Iberostar to about a 3 star Tropical Princess was a huge disappointment. It pretty much ruined the last days of our vacation. Even though the Tropical Princess was nice and we had an Ocean view room, it did not compare to Iberostar,especially the beach area. The beach was full of cigarette butts. I highly recommend the Iberostar resorts, just hopefully you don't need to stay extra nights!

Room Tip: The bungalows closest to the beach is where we stayed and loved it but it is a good walk to the buff...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Dominicana Hotel, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear Guest,
First of all we thank you for posting a review about your experience at the Iberostar Dominicana. In the name of the Hotel Manager, Mrs. Helena Santos, we also thank you for choosing our hotel for your holidays.
We are very happy to read that you and your boyfriend have enjoyed a memorable holiday despite the issues related to the snow storm Nemo. In Iberostar our guiding principles are to offer a unique gastronomy, to provide the best service and to upkeep our facilities. We appreciate you positive valuation in these areas.
It would be a great pleasure to meet you in Iberostar once again. Please, do not hesitate to contact us for further assistance prior your arrival.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,784
    989
    285
    96
    48
See reviews for
998
1,248
68
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (407)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

My girlfriend and I had an all-around great trip to Punta Cana. One nearly life-changing incident, however, made us really aware of just how dangerous the country is!

We loved staying at the Iberostar Dominicana. We found the staff to be really nice and the beach was just amazing, as detailed in most of the reviews here. Our only issue was that some of the buffet food was not that great (pizza, hamburgers, hot dogs tasted weird); def not up to the standards of the last cruise which we went on.

We went on two excursions: (1) a catamaran to Saona Island, which I would highly recommend; and (2) a 1-hr horseback ride with Rancho Cabanero.

To make a long story short, two natives tried to rob us while we were on the horseback ride. We reserved the horseback ride from an Iberostar Dominicana rep near the pool and scheduled it for Sunday afternoon. We started at the horse farm and rode through a few rural roads and ended up on the beach. After riding a couple miles on the beach, we turned away from the water to a narrow 4-ft wide path, which was covered by trees. After about a quarter mile on the path, we arrived at a small sandy area that overlooked where a small river connected to the ocean. We stopped for a few minutes while our tour guide took pictures of each of us on our horses. We began riding back through the path on our way back to the beach. I was first, my gf second, and the tour guide third. About halfway through the path, a guy with a huge 4-ft long log, which was sharpened like a pencil, stepped out onto the path. I was pretty startled, but immediately knew this wasn’t good. My horse pulled back as the guy stepped directly in front of me. He stepped to my left side, swung the log, and hit me as hard as he could across my back, as to try and knock me off the horse. I looked to my right immediately after he swung and remember seeing another guy hiding in the brush with a huge knife! When I saw this guy, I realized that we were in pretty big trouble. The next second, though, I realized that our tour guide had already jumped off of his horse and had wrestled the log away from the guy who hit me. He chased that guy away and luckily, the guy with the knife followed his partner.

When we got back to hotel, we told the front desk and they seemed to take it pretty seriously. We ended up speaking with 4 or 5 managers in all. The one thing that really bothered us was that they told us the horse farm tried to explain the attack away by saying the attackers had a problem with our tour guide. I’m pretty sure this is incorrect, given that we asked the guide right after the attack if he knew them and he said he didn’t. He also said that those kinds of attacks occurred every once in a while. I think the horse farm company was just saying that b/c it wouldn’t be great business for them if people were trying to attack their tourists.

In any case, I’d def think twice about going off of the resort property! I’m about 5-10, 200lbs and in pretty good shape and can’t imagine what would’ve happened if (1) I were any smaller or (2) the attacker had hit my girlfriend instead.

Room Tip: We had a view of the garden and that was just fine, given that we were not in the hotel room that of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Dominicana Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear guest,
We would like to thank you for choosing Iberostar Hotels and Resorts for your holidays and for posting a review about your stay at Iberostar Dominicana.
On the behalf of Mrs. Helena Santos, Hotel Manager, and her team, we would like to express you our satisfaction to acknowledge your positive valuation about our premises, gastronomy and services. In Iberostar we are committed to ensure our guests to “enjoy being a Star”.
On the other hand, we regret to hear the incidences regarding your excursions. Our Management Team was very worried from the first moment they received the information and has been in contact with the Companies involved so we prevent situations of this nature for our valuable costumers.
We kindly invite you to welcome you back again. Please feel free to contact us for further assistance,
With kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 2 weeks, Jan 23 to Feb 6 and enjoyed our trip very much. We had stayed on the Iberostar Punta Cana side about 8 years ago so we kind of knew the resort layout and beach. We were not disappointed as the resort was just as good as we had remembered. Great food, fantastic beach (can walk for miles in either direction) and great entertainment. The adjoining golf course was a big change from our last visit there. I didn't play a round but it looked in great shape.

Did some snorkeling off the beach just to the right of the dive shop and it was ok as there is a small reef there. I went on the snorkeling trip to swim with the Sharks and Stingrays and that trip was great. The dive shop offers a day long snorkeling excursion to the south side of the island for $100 which I think would have been a nice trip for a day as well.

The one thing I wasn't crazy about was having to get up a little early to reserve a chair with shade at the beach. There are a lot of palapas and lots of chairs but unless you reserve one by 8:00 am you will likely be sitting in the sun all day. The pool doesn't get booked as fast as the beach chairs

That is my only small complaint, otherwise I would recommend this resort very highly.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Dominicana Hotel, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Dear guest,
We would like to thank you for having chosen Iberostar Dominicana once again for holidays. In the name of Mrs. Helena Santos, hotel Manager, we also thank you for taking the time to post your comments about your second stay among us.
We would like to express how pleased we are to hear that you had enjoyed another unforgettable experience among us after so many years from your first visit. In Iberostar we are committed to provide the best service and to offer a varied gastronomy. We are happy to read your valuation of both aspects of our services. We kindly ask you to write us before your next visit; it will be a pleasure for us to welcome you back.
With regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

The hotel is situated on very well maintained grounds--just wish there were more tropical flowers. The food was much better than I expected---especially the speciality restaurants. The room--a jr. suite-- was pleasant, if not a little dated. I'm not a "drinker"- but if you wish, you could imbibe all you would like. The staff was 100% respectful and wonderful--from the check in to the wait staff to the maid service.

Room Tip: I was in a 2 story jr. suite (2nd floor)--far enough from any evening noise--but a short walk to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Dominicana Hotel, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for writing a comment on Tripadvisor about your experience at Iberostar Dominicana. In the name of Mrs. Helena Santos, hotel Manager, we also thank you for choosing our hotel for your vacations.
It is a pleasure for us to hear that you appreciated the friendliness of our staff members, and the beauty of our premises. In Iberostar we are committed to provide the best service of our “Stars” on vacation.
We are looking forward to welcome you back again; please feel free to contact us before your arrival.
Kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

I'm returning to this resort in two weeks......this will be my third time. Bringing the parents again (who absolutely loved it). Beach is the best in the Caribbean, hotel is great, food and drinks are fabulous, entertainment is great - what more can you ask for????? Can't Wait.....
Anna W.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Dominicana Hotel, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Dear guest,
We thank you for your loyalty when choosing Iberostar Dominicana as the destination for your vacations and for taking the time to post a review about your previous experiences.
In the name of the hotel Manager, Mrs. Helena Santos and her team; we would like to express how glad we are to read that you have lived two memorable experiences at our hotel premises which is our goal in Iberostar.
We hope to meet your expectations this time and remain at your disposition for further assistance.
With regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Very pleased with there well coming and very satisfied with the hotel room, and resort would defenitly go again and again, we have been guest to the Iberostars for 13 years.

Thank You Very Much For Everything
Colette & Rick

Room Tip: We were in a suite so not sure what to say
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Dominicana Hotel, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Dear Guest,
In the name of Mrs. Helena Santos, hotel Manager, we thank you for your loyalty when choosing Iberostar Hotels and Resorts as your holiday’s destination and for taking time to write a review on Tripadvisor about your recent stay among us.
We would like to express how honored we are to read that once again you had a memorable experience at Iberostar Dominicana due to the friendliness of our staff. In Iberostar, as you have experienced several times, we aim to ensure unforgettable stays to our beloved “Stars”.
We will be happy to welcome you back; please feel free to contact us before your next visit.
With regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ava
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Our vacation to the Iberostar Dominicana was awesome. The front desk could have been more pleasant and the rooms were clean but a little outdated. The beach was beautiful and we spent every day there. The pools were nice but no swim up bar. The food was the best we have every experienced at a resort! The entertainment team (especially Emillio) were very friendly and had a good program. The nightly entertainment was also good. The bar tenders were great! The resort was very pretty and clean, but there are some pools of water that were green--maybe supposed to be natural but we didn't think they were pleasant to look at. We would visit this resort again.

Room Tip: Our room was on the bottom floor and close to the beach..we really liked that!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Dominicana Hotel, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear Guest CocoT,
On behalf of Mrs. Helena Santos, we thank you for having chosen Iberostar Dominicana your holiday’s destination and for taking the time to post a review about your stay among us.
We would like to express how pleased we are to read that you had an “awesome” stay, as you stated in the review, due to the friendliness of our team, especial our Star Friend Emilio and our staff from the bars. In Iberostar we are committed to provide the best service to our guests and made them feel as “star” on vacations.
We are willing to welcome you back again, please do not hesitate to contact us for further assistance,
With regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Iberostar Dominicana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Dominicana Hotel

Address: Playa Bavaro | Higuey, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#15 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#19 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Iberostar Dominicana Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 590
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly on the beautiful, sandy beach of Bavaro (Punta Cana). Colourful Caribbean flair. Water sports galore. All inclusive (generous, varied buffets for all meals). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with VISIT US, INC. , BookIt.com, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Iberostar Dominicana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Punta Cana Iberostar
Iberostar Dominicana Punta Cana
Iberostar Punta Cana
Dominicana Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iberostar Dominicana Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.