We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty good stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Iberostar Dominicana Hotel

Save Saved
You added Iberostar Dominicana Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Iberostar Dominicana Hotel
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Playa Bavaro | Higuey, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 101 hotels in Punta Cana
Upper Coverdale, New Brunswick
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Pretty good stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Stayed at the Iberostar Dominicana with my mother and my mother in-law. They put us in a junior suite that was in a villa area off to the side of the resort, since it had a bit more room for the cot for the 3rd person, but it was more of a single bed than a cot and all the beds were very comfortable. The room itself was kind or dark and dingy and there was a layer of dust on the brochures that were on the desk in the room like it hadn't been used in awhile. Bathroom was more up to date than the room itself. We had a issue with the patio door and the airconditioning but they fixed it right up. The room would get a backed up sewer kind of smell a few times a day throughout our stay. Not sure where it was coming from but didn't seem to smell in the bathroom, just in the room itself. You have to pay $2 a day to use the safe. The maids filled our fridge with beer, pop and water every day.
Beach at the resort was perfect. Lots of lounge chairs with thatched roof huts overtop if you want shade. They rake away the seaweed so it was a pretty clean beach. Very large with room for volleyball and soccer. There are about 4 Iberostar resorts all beside each other. Walked up and down the beaches and the Iberostar beaches are nicest. I would bring bug spray and afterbite. I got a ton of bites on my legs and feet but never saw or felt anything bite me. My other 2 travel companions didn't get any bites so I must have reacted to it differently.
Pool is very large and there is another small shallow pool for kids. Lots of lounge chairs and shade around the pools as well. if you need a book to read, they have a small library of books at the towel hut.
Lots of games and entertainment at the pool and beach every day and a show everynight.
Food was okay at the buffet and restaurants but kind of bland. Don't seem to use much spices or herbs or garlic but they seem to cater more to Europeans so maybe it is prepared in a European way? Not sure. Soft Serve ice cream station was always a busy spot at buffet near the beach. The frozen drinks at the beach bar were never very good. Too warm out there or they don't keep the machines cold enough. They use a premix in slushy type mixers for pina colada, banana mama, etc...seemed better at the other bars. They have a drink menu but I found it very hard to decipher. Sometimes they would have spanish and english and some drinks just spanish so not sure what it said and it pretty much just lists the brands of alcohol they have instead of giving you a list of cocktails you can order. One drink menu I looked at on the first day had an additional page in it with more cocktails listed but I never saw it again. All the menus at the bar and restaurants seem to be coming apart and are missing pages, so sometimes you have to look around before you find one with an English page in it. The beer on tap was Presidente which was ok and always cold. They had a couple others too that I didn't try. One of them was Brahma. They also have Becks which is a .5% non alchol beer.
Wifi is not free. I paid $40 for a 5 day wifi pass and then another $7 for 1 hour on the last day. It worked in our room, lobby area, pool area.
Casino was a good size but smoky. The bar is also a very smoky area. You can't smoke inside the buffet restaurants though but they do have tables around the outer edges that you can smoke at.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Dominicana Hotel, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear Guest,
We thank you for posting a review in Tripadvisor about your experience in Iberostar Dominicana. In the name of the Hotel Manager, Mrs. Helena Santos, we also thank you for choosing our premises for your vacation.
We want to express you how glad we are to hear that you had enjoyed a relaxing holiday among us despite the incidences regarding the room. We appreciate your motivating comments about our beautiful premises and facilities and the service provided by our friendly staff. In Iberostar we want our beloved guests to “enjoy being a Star”.
We welcome your feedback regarding our bar menus and the flavor of our varied gastronomy. They have been sent to the corresponding departments.
We are looking forward to welcome you back again. Please contact us before your arrival.
With kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,067 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,708
    940
    275
    97
    47
See reviews for
956
1193
64
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (396)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

we had a ecxellent time. It was our first time here and we would come back.
from the moment we were checked in by Goofy to Carmen at the bar and Andres at every meal
the employees could not do enough nice things for use. we were impressed by all.the buffet meals were wonderful, lots of variety and plenty of it,there where even chefs on hand to cook
to order. Our rooms where bright, clean and very comfortable.The entire resort was kept very clean. I can not say it enough hqw friendly and helpful the entire staff was from the gardeners
to the wait staff to the maids to the entertainment to everyone there Thank you for such a grand time

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Dominicana Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear Guest,
In the name of the Hotel Manager, Mrs. Helena Santos, we want to thank you for posting your comment in Tripadvisor about your experience at Iberostar Dominicana and for choosing our hotel for your holidays.
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed a memorable holiday due to the excellent service provided by our friendly staff. In Iberostar we are all committed to ensure our guests to “enjoy being a Star”. Thank you for naming those employees who made a difference during your visit: Goofy at the Front Desk, Carmen at the bar and Andres in the buffet; we have communicated them you nice lines about their work.
We are looking forward to welcome you back, please contact us before your arrival.
With kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Traveled to Punta Cana as a family earlier this November (parents, my 23 year old sister and I). It was our first time in Dominican Republic and was quite unsure about the which All Inclusive resort to book as there are lots with varying price range. Initially we planned on staying at one of the cheaper resorts but decided against it as most of them were rated to be "average" by TripAdvisor users.
Paid a little extra and booked 7 days/6 nights with Iberostar Dominicana and was not at all disappointed! Not only were the grounds in immaculate condition, the staff was simply superb; they were unbelievably friendly and helpful. Had I been in charge of our tipping money, we would've run out long before our vacation ended. Great entertainment staff! Very entertaining and such a great variety of nightly shows. Even during the day, they have lots of activities (sister was recruited for Ms. Bikini 2012).
The beach is beautiful and only a few kilometers away from the beach market. No rocks or reefs to think about, it's all sandy bottom. Lots of washed up seaweed especially after raining overnight but staff is there to rake them away as best they could. The waves were a little bit on the rough side when we were there so it limited our swimming as we are not strong swimmers. Their large pools were more than enough to satisfy our need to dog paddle every now and then (must have been salt water pools as I didn't smell the chlorine on me after swimming. I'm not 100% sure though... I didn't try to taste the water hahaha).
The food was pretty good. I felt the selection to be a tad salty but that's just me. Great selection, and I especially enjoyed their steak a la carte.
The rooms were always impeccably clean and our fridge was stocked every day. Initially there was a moldy smell to the room but we just let the fan go and opened the sliding door to air it out. After that, no more issues.

I personally believe it is the staff that makes this establishment great. It is very easy to see and appreciate all the hard work that they put in to it just to make all the guests feel like stars. It was great service and I would not hesitate going back a 2nd time or to recommend the resort to a friend.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Dominicana Hotel, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear Guest,
We thank for writing a comment on Tripadvisor about your experience at Iberostar Dominicana. In the name of Mrs. Helena Santos, Hotel Manager, we also thank you for choosing our hotel for your first vacation in the Dominican Republic.
It is a pleasure for us to hear that you highlighted out the kindness of our hotel staff and its excellent service. In Iberostar Hotels and Resorts we want our beloved guests to “enjoy being a star” during their vacations through a high qualified team, a varied gastronomy and to be on the best beaches worldwide.
We are looking forward to welcome you back again. Please contact us before arrival to help you to enjoy your next vacations with us,
Kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pittsburgh
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

This was our 1st time at the Dominicana having stayed at the IB Bavaro previously. Everything at this resort ran smoothly. From check-in with Milton everything was great.
ROOM We had a room on the 1st floor facing the pool and very close to the beach. The room was clean and taken care of every single day. No issues with towels, wash cloths, or even what was in our refrigerator.
BEACH The beach is always the same at Iberostar resorts. If there is rough water, there is seaweed on the beach. They start cleaning the beach at 7 am everyday. If the sea is calm they only need wheelbarrows, if rough they bring a backhoe to carry away the seaweed.
FOOD One of my favorites. I never understand what people have to complain about unless their parents are gourmet cooks. I find the food great. If you can't find something you like then you aren't looking. And that's just the buffet. We used our 3 reservations for La Cana, the steaks were great, La Marimba which was just as great, and La Sabila which was our favorite. The presentation here was super.
SERVICE This is why we always come to Iberostars. Their service is second to none. We went to the buffet our 1st 3 days followed by our 3 restaurants. When we finally went back on Sunday nite, our waiter ( Hamley ) remembered us and immediately got us a table under a fan. He remembered we liked that. The others were friendly, quick and happy to help you.
OVERALL I would recommend this resort without any hesitance. If this resort fits your budget, you can't go wrong. I would come back here.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Dominicana Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear guest,
First at all we would like to thank you for having chosen Iberostar Hotels and Resorts once again as the destination for your vacations and also for taking the time to post your comments about your experience at Iberostar Dominicana.
In the name of the Hotel Manager, Ms. Helena Santos and her team; we would like to express how glad we are to read that you enjoyed another unforgettable experience in an Iberostar hotel. As you are getting used to, in Iberostar we are committed to provide the best service to our beloved “stars” on vacation. We will congratulate Milton and Hamlet for being part of your especial holidays.
We kindly ask you to write us before your next visit; it will be a pleasure for us to welcome you back at Iberostar Punta Cana.
With regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, MI
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We recently returned from a nice week at the Iberostar Dominicana booked with a travel agent through Apple. We were looking for a relaxing time with lots of sea and sand. We were very happy with everything at the price we paid.

There were some issues checking in, but Alexander at reception made up for it by putting us in a bungalow with a great view. Thank you, Alexander - you really made our vacation great!

Overall, service was good, and some of the staff members were especially kind. Staying so pleasant with the long days and weeks of dealing with tourists (of varying temperaments) cannot be easy! We brought our easy-going vacation attitude, a little Spanish and a stack of ones for tips, which made the week more enjoyable for us and hopefully for the staff.

The food was good, nice selections of seafood, meats, salads and fruit. The pastry chef really got creative with the desserts on Halloween! Expresso machines are at the buffets and bars, and drip coffee makers with bottled water in the rooms. We usually ate breakfast at the beach buffet after coffee on our patio and a walk on the beach. The seafood al a Carte restaurant had the best food preparation. The buffets are not air-conditioned.

I would have liked less sugary or more natural juices (like the great selection freshly made for breakfast) for the mixed drinks, but there were plenty of other standard mixers. The house champagne is better than the house wines, and if you want top shelf liquor you need to ask. The bar in the lobby seemed to have a better selection of liquors and was a nice place to hang out before dinner.

Beach and pool had plenty of shade areas. The music at the pool wasn’t too loud, and you couldn’t hear it from many places on the beach. The Riu next door had little shade and a lot of loud music. Beach and swimming areas are very sandy (no shells or rocks). At about 30-40 feet out, it is over an adult’s head. The Punta Cana pool (and entire hotel) has just been refinished, but the Dominicana pool has more trees. Also, the steam room and sauna at the spa were usually not very busy.

Other:
No swim-up bar -i.e. cleaner pool water
Bring insect repellant for the evening.
There was a good mix of people both in nationalities and ages at the resort. It seemed very family friendly – without feeling kid-centric or chaotic.
We liked the bungalows better than the hotel rooms
Older resort with nice mature landscaping, but kept very clean

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Dominicana Hotel, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear guest,
We thank you for choosing Iberostar Dominicana for your holidays. In the name of Mrs. Helena Santos, Hotel Manager, we thank you for taking time to post some comments about your experience.
We are very pleased to read that our hotel premises, facilities, gastronomy, services and quality could ensure you a pleasant, relaxing and unforgettable holiday. In Iberostar those are part of our guiding principles so we can ensure a memorable stay to our beloved guests. Our cleaning and maintenance team are happy to have left you such as good impression of their work.
We will be happy to welcome you back. Please feel free to contact us to help you in your next visit.
Yours Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holtwood,PA
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We have stayed at the Iberostar Domincana ten times and each time we visit it gets better. It has become our home away from home. The staff is wonderful and can't do enough for us. They definitely make us feel like family. Rolando, the bell captain, is always there to greet us when we arrive. Rueben and Fausto at the front desk make any problem a "no problem." The food is delicious and always a great variety to choose from thanks to Chef Marcellino. A special thanks to Antonio who cooked our eggs to perfection every morning. Oscalita and Enrique are wonderful hosts at the restaurants and made it a special birthday celebration for our daughter during this last visit. Housekeeping does a great job keeping the rooms clean and we would look forward to coming back to the room to find their creative towel arrangements. The management staff working with Helena made our stay the best ever and we look forward to returning soon.

Room Tip: We enjoy the rooms on the top floor facing the gardens. They seem to be quieter and the view is gre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Dominicana Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear guests,
In the name of Mrs. Helena Santos, Hotel Manager, we thank you for your loyalty when choosing Iberostar Dominicana as your “home away from home” and for sharing your recent experience among us with the Tripadvisor community.
We are very satisfied and much honored to acknowledge that the friendliness of our staff have ensured you memorable holidays during your ten visits to our hotel premises and facilities. As you are used to, in Iberostar we aim to ensure memorable stays to our valuable guests through our high qualified team. Rolando, the bell captain, Rubén and Fausto, Front Desk, Marcelino and Antonio, in our cuisine, Oscalita and Enr2ique, at the restaurants are glad to hear your nice lines about their work.
We will be glad to welcome you back again, please contact us before your next visit so we can assure you a relaxing stay.
Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taylor, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We stayed at Iberostar Dominicana nov 2nd to nov 9th 2012. The room itself was very nice and the grounds were beautiful. The food was average. The tropical drinks were horrible. The bartenders at the pool bar were not friendly at all. Maria the server at the pool area was outstanding. Johnny the bartender at Lobby bar was excellent. Very disappointed with this resort. I would not recommend staying at his resort nor would I ever go back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Dominicana Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear guests,
Thank you for having chosen Iberostar Dominicana for your vacations and for taking time to write some comments about your stay among us.
We regret to acknowledge that our gastronomy (our nightly themed buffet, our snack bars, five a la carte restaurants) could not meet your palate’s expectations and could not ensure you a pleasant holiday. A part of Iberostar philosophy is to offer the best quality of products in exquisite gastronomy. We regret that this was not your impression when you visited our hotel premises.
On the other hand, we appreciate your positive valuation about the service provided by our friendly staff and about the beauty and cleanness of our premises. We will congratulate Maria and Johnny for providing you an excellent service.
We remain at your disposition for further assistance, in case you decide to visit us again.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Iberostar Dominicana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Dominicana Hotel

Address: Playa Bavaro | Higuey, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#15 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#19 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Iberostar Dominicana Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly on the beautiful, sandy beach of Bavaro (Punta Cana). Colourful Caribbean flair. Water sports galore. All inclusive (generous, varied buffets for all meals). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Tingo, VISIT US, INC. , Travelocity, BookIt.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Iberostar Dominicana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Punta Cana Iberostar
Iberostar Dominicana Punta Cana
Iberostar Punta Cana
Dominicana Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iberostar Dominicana Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.