We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a thing wrong with the IB Dominicana” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Iberostar Dominicana Hotel

Save Saved
You added Iberostar Dominicana Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Iberostar Dominicana Hotel
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Playa Bavaro | Higuey, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 101 hotels in Punta Cana
pittsburgh
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Not a thing wrong with the IB Dominicana”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

This was our 1st time at the Dominicana having stayed at the IB Bavaro previously. Everything at this resort ran smoothly. From check-in with Milton everything was great.
ROOM We had a room on the 1st floor facing the pool and very close to the beach. The room was clean and taken care of every single day. No issues with towels, wash cloths, or even what was in our refrigerator.
BEACH The beach is always the same at Iberostar resorts. If there is rough water, there is seaweed on the beach. They start cleaning the beach at 7 am everyday. If the sea is calm they only need wheelbarrows, if rough they bring a backhoe to carry away the seaweed.
FOOD One of my favorites. I never understand what people have to complain about unless their parents are gourmet cooks. I find the food great. If you can't find something you like then you aren't looking. And that's just the buffet. We used our 3 reservations for La Cana, the steaks were great, La Marimba which was just as great, and La Sabila which was our favorite. The presentation here was super.
SERVICE This is why we always come to Iberostars. Their service is second to none. We went to the buffet our 1st 3 days followed by our 3 restaurants. When we finally went back on Sunday nite, our waiter ( Hamley ) remembered us and immediately got us a table under a fan. He remembered we liked that. The others were friendly, quick and happy to help you.
OVERALL I would recommend this resort without any hesitance. If this resort fits your budget, you can't go wrong. I would come back here.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Dominicana Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear guest,
First at all we would like to thank you for having chosen Iberostar Hotels and Resorts once again as the destination for your vacations and also for taking the time to post your comments about your experience at Iberostar Dominicana.
In the name of the Hotel Manager, Ms. Helena Santos and her team; we would like to express how glad we are to read that you enjoyed another unforgettable experience in an Iberostar hotel. As you are getting used to, in Iberostar we are committed to provide the best service to our beloved “stars” on vacation. We will congratulate Milton and Hamlet for being part of your especial holidays.
We kindly ask you to write us before your next visit; it will be a pleasure for us to welcome you back at Iberostar Punta Cana.
With regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,068 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,708
    942
    275
    96
    47
See reviews for
957
1193
64
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (396)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, MI
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We recently returned from a nice week at the Iberostar Dominicana booked with a travel agent through Apple. We were looking for a relaxing time with lots of sea and sand. We were very happy with everything at the price we paid.

There were some issues checking in, but Alexander at reception made up for it by putting us in a bungalow with a great view. Thank you, Alexander - you really made our vacation great!

Overall, service was good, and some of the staff members were especially kind. Staying so pleasant with the long days and weeks of dealing with tourists (of varying temperaments) cannot be easy! We brought our easy-going vacation attitude, a little Spanish and a stack of ones for tips, which made the week more enjoyable for us and hopefully for the staff.

The food was good, nice selections of seafood, meats, salads and fruit. The pastry chef really got creative with the desserts on Halloween! Expresso machines are at the buffets and bars, and drip coffee makers with bottled water in the rooms. We usually ate breakfast at the beach buffet after coffee on our patio and a walk on the beach. The seafood al a Carte restaurant had the best food preparation. The buffets are not air-conditioned.

I would have liked less sugary or more natural juices (like the great selection freshly made for breakfast) for the mixed drinks, but there were plenty of other standard mixers. The house champagne is better than the house wines, and if you want top shelf liquor you need to ask. The bar in the lobby seemed to have a better selection of liquors and was a nice place to hang out before dinner.

Beach and pool had plenty of shade areas. The music at the pool wasn’t too loud, and you couldn’t hear it from many places on the beach. The Riu next door had little shade and a lot of loud music. Beach and swimming areas are very sandy (no shells or rocks). At about 30-40 feet out, it is over an adult’s head. The Punta Cana pool (and entire hotel) has just been refinished, but the Dominicana pool has more trees. Also, the steam room and sauna at the spa were usually not very busy.

Other:
No swim-up bar -i.e. cleaner pool water
Bring insect repellant for the evening.
There was a good mix of people both in nationalities and ages at the resort. It seemed very family friendly – without feeling kid-centric or chaotic.
We liked the bungalows better than the hotel rooms
Older resort with nice mature landscaping, but kept very clean

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Dominicana Hotel, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear guest,
We thank you for choosing Iberostar Dominicana for your holidays. In the name of Mrs. Helena Santos, Hotel Manager, we thank you for taking time to post some comments about your experience.
We are very pleased to read that our hotel premises, facilities, gastronomy, services and quality could ensure you a pleasant, relaxing and unforgettable holiday. In Iberostar those are part of our guiding principles so we can ensure a memorable stay to our beloved guests. Our cleaning and maintenance team are happy to have left you such as good impression of their work.
We will be happy to welcome you back. Please feel free to contact us to help you in your next visit.
Yours Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holtwood,PA
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We have stayed at the Iberostar Domincana ten times and each time we visit it gets better. It has become our home away from home. The staff is wonderful and can't do enough for us. They definitely make us feel like family. Rolando, the bell captain, is always there to greet us when we arrive. Rueben and Fausto at the front desk make any problem a "no problem." The food is delicious and always a great variety to choose from thanks to Chef Marcellino. A special thanks to Antonio who cooked our eggs to perfection every morning. Oscalita and Enrique are wonderful hosts at the restaurants and made it a special birthday celebration for our daughter during this last visit. Housekeeping does a great job keeping the rooms clean and we would look forward to coming back to the room to find their creative towel arrangements. The management staff working with Helena made our stay the best ever and we look forward to returning soon.

Room Tip: We enjoy the rooms on the top floor facing the gardens. They seem to be quieter and the view is gre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Dominicana Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear guests,
In the name of Mrs. Helena Santos, Hotel Manager, we thank you for your loyalty when choosing Iberostar Dominicana as your “home away from home” and for sharing your recent experience among us with the Tripadvisor community.
We are very satisfied and much honored to acknowledge that the friendliness of our staff have ensured you memorable holidays during your ten visits to our hotel premises and facilities. As you are used to, in Iberostar we aim to ensure memorable stays to our valuable guests through our high qualified team. Rolando, the bell captain, Rubén and Fausto, Front Desk, Marcelino and Antonio, in our cuisine, Oscalita and Enr2ique, at the restaurants are glad to hear your nice lines about their work.
We will be glad to welcome you back again, please contact us before your next visit so we can assure you a relaxing stay.
Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taylor, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We stayed at Iberostar Dominicana nov 2nd to nov 9th 2012. The room itself was very nice and the grounds were beautiful. The food was average. The tropical drinks were horrible. The bartenders at the pool bar were not friendly at all. Maria the server at the pool area was outstanding. Johnny the bartender at Lobby bar was excellent. Very disappointed with this resort. I would not recommend staying at his resort nor would I ever go back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Dominicana Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear guests,
Thank you for having chosen Iberostar Dominicana for your vacations and for taking time to write some comments about your stay among us.
We regret to acknowledge that our gastronomy (our nightly themed buffet, our snack bars, five a la carte restaurants) could not meet your palate’s expectations and could not ensure you a pleasant holiday. A part of Iberostar philosophy is to offer the best quality of products in exquisite gastronomy. We regret that this was not your impression when you visited our hotel premises.
On the other hand, we appreciate your positive valuation about the service provided by our friendly staff and about the beauty and cleanness of our premises. We will congratulate Maria and Johnny for providing you an excellent service.
We remain at your disposition for further assistance, in case you decide to visit us again.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We went to the iberostar dominicana for our first wedding anniversary. Overall it was a good trip. The hotel was nice and the staff friendly. The beach is lovely and the pool is quite relaxing. We were there during some construction, but it was handled well and wasn't something we particularly noticed.

The biggest downside is the food. None of the al a carte restaurants serve nice food, and although they have tried to make them different themed, none of them are authentic and the food was very average. It was particularly difficult as a vegetarian as none of the restaurants have a standard vege offering on their menus, so you have to ask for something special. In the French restaurant I got 3 potatoes and a few pieces of broccoli served under a silver platter. Very underwhelming. The Asian restaurant did a simple veg stirfry, and the only other option, the steak restaurant shockingly didn't cater for my tastes. The buffet restaurants did have a nice selection, but the food was left out for long periods of time.

It would be nice if they made some upmarket restaurants available but with additional cost. So you have the option of feeling like you are going out for a meal, and not just receiving mediocre or worst food than the buffet.

I would still recommend the resort, but probably won't be returning myself.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Dominicana Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear Hotel Guest,
On behalf of the Hotel Manager, Mrs. Helena Santos, we thank you for choosing Iberostar Dominicana as your holiday’s destination and for the time spent on writing your feedback about your experience at our premises.
We appreciate your positive valuation about the wide gastronomical variety that we serve in our nightly themed buffet and snack bars, the service provided by our staff and the beauty and cleanness of our premises. In Iberostar one of our guiding principles is to offer a unique cuisine and we aim that our guests “enjoy being a Star” through a high qualified team.
On the other hand, we regret to read that the quality and variety of our a la carte restaurants could not meet your expectations as vegetarian. We have taken notes about your suggestions and we have shared it with our Executive Chef. As an Iberostar hotel, we aim to cater our gastronomy to our international clientele.
We hope to welcome you back in any of our more than 100 hotel worldwide. In case you decide to visit us again, please feel free to contact us.
With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

My wife and I just spent 4 days and 3 nights at the Iberostar Dominicana. The hotel is very clean, well taken care of with spacious rooms. Location is great with a clean beach and just enough bars to keep your thirst quenched. Only downside for the resort was the food and drinks were average. The drinks were served from a machine and not made with a blender as they were at the last Iberostar we stayed at (Iberostar Veradero which seemed to be a notch up from the Domincana). The food was also not up to the same standard. Food was rather plain.

Overall though it was a good location and a good resort that is priced accordingly.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Dominicana Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear guest,
On behalf of Mrs. Helena Santos, Hotel Manager, we thank you for your loyalty towards Iberostar Hotels and Resorts as your holiday’s destination and for posting a review about your experience at Iberostar Dominicana.
We appreciate your positive valuation about the beauty of our premises, the cleaning service and our value for money. In Iberostar one of our guiding principles is to upkeep our premises.
Allow me to clarify that although Iberostar Dominicana and Iberostar varadero are part of Iberostar Hotels and Resorts, they are different within Iberostar hotel categories. In all of our categories we aim to offer an excellent culinary experience, the best value for money and to provide the best service so our guests “enjoy being a Star”. Iberostar Dominicana is a Premium hotel and Iberostar Varadero is a Premium Gold hotel; Premium hotels are more affordable than Premium Gold hotels and the family atmosphere might be less luxurious and more relaxed as well as some amenities and services offered in Varadero are not available in Dominicana.
We hope to welcome you back in any of our 100 worldwide hotels. We remain at your entire disposition for further assistance.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

The hotel was very good, the food is ok and you can choose from many specialties.
The French and the Asian restaurants are delicious. Book your dinner!
The staff is friendly in general except for the staff in the beach bar who make the task of getting something to drink a hassle.
The room was great (we were in 4) and the room maid would always leave a towel scuplture for the kids... lovely!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Dominicana Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear guest
Thank you for choosing Iberostar Dominican for your family holidays. In the name of the Mrs. Helena Santos, Hotel Manager, we also thank you for having taken time to post a review about your experience.
We are very happy to know that you and your children have experienced an excellent holidays due to our family friendly premises. In Iberostar we aim to ensure the most memorable holiday to our beloved guests.
We are looking forward to see you again, we stay at your entire disposition for any request you may have before your next visit,
Kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Iberostar Dominicana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Dominicana Hotel

Address: Playa Bavaro | Higuey, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#15 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#19 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Iberostar Dominicana Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly on the beautiful, sandy beach of Bavaro (Punta Cana). Colourful Caribbean flair. Water sports galore. All inclusive (generous, varied buffets for all meals). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Tingo, VISIT US, INC. , Travelocity, BookIt.com and Otel so you can book your Iberostar Dominicana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Punta Cana Iberostar
Iberostar Dominicana Punta Cana
Iberostar Punta Cana
Dominicana Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iberostar Dominicana Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.