We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value for Money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Iberostar Dominicana Hotel

Save Saved
You added Iberostar Dominicana Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Iberostar Dominicana Hotel
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Playa Bavaro | Higuey, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 100 hotels in Punta Cana
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good Value for Money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

My wife and I just spent 4 days and 3 nights at the Iberostar Dominicana. The hotel is very clean, well taken care of with spacious rooms. Location is great with a clean beach and just enough bars to keep your thirst quenched. Only downside for the resort was the food and drinks were average. The drinks were served from a machine and not made with a blender as they were at the last Iberostar we stayed at (Iberostar Veradero which seemed to be a notch up from the Domincana). The food was also not up to the same standard. Food was rather plain.

Overall though it was a good location and a good resort that is priced accordingly.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Dominicana Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear guest,
On behalf of Mrs. Helena Santos, Hotel Manager, we thank you for your loyalty towards Iberostar Hotels and Resorts as your holiday’s destination and for posting a review about your experience at Iberostar Dominicana.
We appreciate your positive valuation about the beauty of our premises, the cleaning service and our value for money. In Iberostar one of our guiding principles is to upkeep our premises.
Allow me to clarify that although Iberostar Dominicana and Iberostar varadero are part of Iberostar Hotels and Resorts, they are different within Iberostar hotel categories. In all of our categories we aim to offer an excellent culinary experience, the best value for money and to provide the best service so our guests “enjoy being a Star”. Iberostar Dominicana is a Premium hotel and Iberostar Varadero is a Premium Gold hotel; Premium hotels are more affordable than Premium Gold hotels and the family atmosphere might be less luxurious and more relaxed as well as some amenities and services offered in Varadero are not available in Dominicana.
We hope to welcome you back in any of our 100 worldwide hotels. We remain at your entire disposition for further assistance.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,945 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,660
    892
    256
    93
    44
See reviews for
893
1154
63
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (382)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

The hotel was very good, the food is ok and you can choose from many specialties.
The French and the Asian restaurants are delicious. Book your dinner!
The staff is friendly in general except for the staff in the beach bar who make the task of getting something to drink a hassle.
The room was great (we were in 4) and the room maid would always leave a towel scuplture for the kids... lovely!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Dominicana Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear guest
Thank you for choosing Iberostar Dominican for your family holidays. In the name of the Mrs. Helena Santos, Hotel Manager, we also thank you for having taken time to post a review about your experience.
We are very happy to know that you and your children have experienced an excellent holidays due to our family friendly premises. In Iberostar we aim to ensure the most memorable holiday to our beloved guests.
We are looking forward to see you again, we stay at your entire disposition for any request you may have before your next visit,
Kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Just came back from 10 days at Iberostar Dominicana from 31st Oct till 10 Nov.
My daughter and I had the best time.
We had room 4036, facing the small strip mall.3 doors down from the beach, pool, and beach buffet. The food was very good. Staff at the hotel were all so very friendly. The amimation team were great. You could join in the activities or not. If they saw you reading a book, they left you alone. We did join in some of the games and had a great time. The nightly shows were above average, usually we go to one, But we went to about 5 and had a great time.
There is also a casino and I believe a nightclub but we did not go to those. We went on a couple of side trips from Apple, Outback tour,, and Sunny Day snorkell trip both were very good. Highly recommend both. OUr Apple Rep, Cesar remembered us from a privious trip. We have been to Punta Cana 4 times, and cant wait to go back. Will be back at Iberostar Dominican hopefully next May.
Have to mention was very impressed with the service at the buffet. Food was good, and the staff were very quick and attentive. I would say staff has very good training and management. Was so impressed. Thank You

.

I

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Dominicana Hotel, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear iona7,
On behalf of Mrs. Helena Santos, Hotel Manager, we thank you for choosing Iberostar Dominicana for your family vacation and for posting a review in Tripadvisor about your experience.
We would like to express how glad we are to read that you and your daughter enjoyed “the best time”, as you stated in the review, due to the kindness and excellent service of our team, among other reasons. In Iberostar we want our guests to “enjoy being a Star”.
We are looking forward to welcome you back, please contact us before your arrival,
Yours Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, Pennsylvania
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

The Iberostar Dominica in Punta Cana was a terrific place. The Star Friends was very entertaining. The food was fantastic.Very clean place to stay. Weather was great. I enjoyed myself and will be going back again. Can't wait. The Beach was great. The best of all that I have been to. The staff was fantastic all around. I taught myself some spanish and it helped alot, but there is alot of the workers there that do speak English enough to get by. Great trip!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Dominicana Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Guest,
In the name of Mrs. Helena Santos, Hotel Manager, we want thank you for posting a review about your stay at the Iberostar Dominicana and for choosing our hotel for your holidays.
We are very glad to acknowledge that you had a memorable holiday among us. We appreciate your motivating words about our varied gastronomy, the entertainment options, the friendliness of our staff members and the beauty of our premises, especially the Bavaro beach. In Iberostar we are on the best beaches worldwide.
We kindly invite you to give us a new visit; please contact us before your arrival.
Yours Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nebraska
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

First off let me say the Date is not correct because it would not go back to December of 2010. Trip Advisor needs to correct this.This was our first trip to Punta Cana in December of 2010.We have stayed at other Iberostars in Play del Carmen so we guessed it would be nice. We were told that some of it was still under renovation but should be done by our arrival. The casino and a couple of the shops were still under renovation, on the Bavaro side however that was not important to us. Rooms were very nice and clean.The grounds were beautiful and the beaches are beautiful there. You can walk for miles without seaweed all over the beach and they are natural beaches not man made like in the Mayan Riviera in Mexico. The food as with any all inclusive is good but gets a little repetitive after a few days.( we stayed for 7 days) and the drinks are ok.
It rained several days off and on which they told us was unusual for that time of year,just our luck). One afternoon just before the dinner hour there was a torrential rain like we had never experienced before. It rained so hard it flooded some of the ground level rooms and the main dining area. I can't say enough good about the staff and the excellent job they did in moving the dinner items out to the main lobby and trying to get everyone served. They did the best they could considering the situation.
The nightly shows were fun and we enjoyed ourselves. Our only complaint was that some of the male staff. Two in particular, who were also in the shows(and we know it's their job to be friendly and courteous to make you feel comfortable) were a little too hands on touchy feely friendly with the female guests and noticed they were actually propositioning some at their tables. We felt this was not professional and offensive.
Other than that is was a great time. We did have trouble getting in contact with our Funjet rep for setting up our snorkle trip and one of the other reps was very good to help us contact them.

I would recommend if you are going to eat in the onsite restaurants that you book your reservations as soon as you get your rooms and get situated.

We did have trouble with the lock on our door and found it did not stay locked. We informed the front desk and they immediately sent somone to fix it.

I think we would like to make the trip back again sometime.

Room Tip: If you are there in the rainy season I would not recommend the ground level rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Dominicana Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear guests,
We would like to thank you for writing a review in Tripadvisor about your stay at Iberostar Dominicana on December 2010. In the name of the Hotel Manager, Mrs. Helena Santos and her team, we want to thank you for choosing our hotel for your holidays.
We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed an unforgettable vacation at our hotel premises and facilities, taking into account that your stay took place two years ago. In Iberostar our main goal is turning your vacations into a memorable holiday. The kindness of our staff is one of our strengths and we work daily to remain so.
On the other hand, we would have loved to have heard from your suggestion about our Star Friends when you were among us. We have shared your lines about them with our star Friend Manager for his consideration.
We hope to welcome you back soon; we are waiting for your next visit.
With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We, four couples stayed at Iberostar Dominicana in the week of 28th October, 2012 for 7 days. We are English speaking people any had no knowledge about Spanish but we found some staff members who spoke English. The Star Friends team spoke Spanish, English, French, German and Portuguese fluently. The Star Friends team is really entertaining and very friendly. We found that the staff of this resort is very friendly and cooperative. We are vegetarians and one day we couldn’t find any vegetarian food at the Buffet Restaurant, we just talked to the Manager and the Chief Chef Marcelo cooked special Vegetarian Food for us according to our test. Marcelo took care of our food every single day till we were there. We don’t agree with anybody complaining about the staff of Iberostar Dominicana. The hotel rooms were clean and they are like 3 star hotel rooms according to American standard. The vegetation, the pool and the beach are fabulous. This was our second visit to Punta Cana but first time in Iberostar Dominicana.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Dominicana Hotel, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Dear guest,
We would like to thank you for taking time to a review about you stay at Iberostar Dominicana and also for choosing Iberostar Hotels and Resorts for your holidays.
In the name of Mrs. Helena Santos, Hotel Manager, and the whole team, we are very satisfied to read that you enjoyed an unforgettable wonderful holiday due to the friendliness of our staff and its excellent service. In Iberostar we are committed to ensure our beloved guests to “enjoy being a Star”, as certainly you felt with the personalized service from our chef Marcelino.
We will be happy to welcome you back. Please feel free to contact us before your next visit.
Yours Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

My partner and I loved the beach. As far as the food...you could always find something to eat. The fresh fruit every meal was great, but I will warn you will gain weight. You cannot bring food to your room...which we did not like. There is no room service and there are no snacks...little snacks like cashews/nuts/chips n dip...small stuff..you always had to go to restaurant to get food.
The excursions are great. We did the Buggie rides and we had a blast. The staff is amazing...I should say those that are activity staff are well trained in other languages (amazing) and very kind. The restaurant staff (waiter/waitress/chefs) very kind. The not-so-good side of this resort is: no "real" mini bar in room and you are limited to the beers you get in your room. You get to replenish your fridge every other day. You had no alcohol in your room but this lame beer called Brahma...kind of lower than Bud light....actually I call it water..hahaha. Great tip: leave $2. in fridge and leave a note of what you want...maid will leave leave it for you. For someone like me who enjoys Harpoon IPA...I was dying :)!
Internet....you have to pay for it. Great tip: go to Blue Travel table from Expedia around the corner from the lamo Casino and get a wireless router for $40. No swim up bar...and tons of kids. If you like a good Casino...forget it...it is smaller than an average living room in Boston. This place is not for couples or single people. No night club on premises. Spend a little more and get what is important to you. After all it is YOUR vacation.
Things I would like to see here: Bigger casino/Free wifi/swim up bars/dance club on the property.

Room Tip: Second floor facing the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Dominicana Hotel, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear guest,
Thank you for choosing Iberostar Dominicana for your holidays, also for taking the time to post a review about your experience among us.
In the name of Mrs. Helena Santos, Hotel Manager, we appreciate that you highlighted out the personal service and friendliness of our staff as well as the beauty and cleanness of our grounds. In Iberostar we are committed to provide the best service and upkeep our premises.
On the other hand, we apologize for any misconception of our hotel amenities and services as we try to clearly post what we offer when advertising so that guests’ have a clear understanding of what to expect (e.g. pool side bar instead of swim-up bar, the minibar and its frequency of reposition). We are always available for any doubt about what our all inclusive policy really includes.
We hope to welcome you back again. We remain at your disposition for further assistance.
Kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Iberostar Dominicana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Dominicana Hotel

Address: Playa Bavaro | Higuey, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Punta Cana
#10 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#15 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#18 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Iberostar Dominicana Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly on the beautiful, sandy beach of Bavaro (Punta Cana). Colourful Caribbean flair. Water sports galore. All inclusive (generous, varied buffets for all meals). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Venere, Tingo, VISIT US, INC. , Travelocity, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Expedia, Despegar.com and Otel so you can book your Iberostar Dominicana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Punta Cana Iberostar
Iberostar Dominicana Punta Cana
Iberostar Punta Cana
Dominicana Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iberostar Dominicana Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.