We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We're coming back !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Iberostar Bavaro

Save Saved
You added Iberostar Bavaro to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Iberostar Bavaro
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Playa Bavaro, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 100 hotels in Punta Cana
Manasquan, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“We're coming back !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Simple review.... Food, good, but the Gourmet resturants are EXCELLENT! Rooms are clean and beautiful. The grounds are spotless. The service is First Class. The employees are Happy People! This is a family resort with children, not a problem. Thirty minutes from the airport. Beautiful beach. We travel alot and like to try different places. However this is one of the few resorts we would like to return to just for the great people. Thanks to Deivy for exceptional attention. We will be coming back in the fall with our grown children. Thanks again !

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Bavaro, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for choosing Iberostar Bavaro as the destination for your vacations and also for taking the time to post a review about your stay among us on Tripadvisor.
In the name of Hotel Manager, Mr. Dejan Grubanov, we would like to express how satisfied we are to read your positive valuation about our exquisite gastronomy, the beauty of our hotel premises and the kindness of our staff. All of them are part of our strengths and we work hard in Iberostar to keep ensuring memorable experiences to our beloved guests as Deivi did at the buffet.
We kindly invite to welcome you back again, please contact us to assist you for your next visit.
With kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,620 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2,844
    1,190
    357
    156
    73
See reviews for
1551
1597
69
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (515)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ekeren, Antwerpen, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Been at the hotel for 9 times already, can't wait to go back on April 24th! This has really become our "home away from home"!! Everything is amazing, the grounds, the beach, the colours, the music etc. All, but really all of the employees are brilliant, from chambermaid up to executive staff!!

Would recommend it to everyone, single, couple or family!

RamonaHildegard

Room Tip: Higher floors have less A/C unti noise, but all rooms have great standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Bavaro, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear Guest,
On behalf of Mr. Dejan Grubanov, hotel Manager, we want to thank you for your loyalty when choosing Iberostar Bavaro as “home away home” and for taking time to post some comments about your multiple experiences at our hotel.
We want to express you how honored we are to read your motivating lines referring our hotel grounds, our varied gastronomy and the excellent service of our friendly staff. In Iberostar, as you are used to after nine visits, we want our guests to “enjoy being a Star”.
We are waiting for your next visit and remain at your disposition for any further assistance.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We travelled to Punta Cana for the first time to celebrate our birthdays. We actually reserved and paid for the Iberostar Punta Cana which was recommended by a relative but when we arrived we were told the hotel was full and we were being upgraded to the Bavaro. I didn't quite understand since we paid in full but just went along with it since I didn't want to make a fuss. After we waited for about 15 minutes, we were taken over to the Bavaro in a golf cart. The check-in did not go smoothly. I explained that we had been moved to this hotel and it took a while for the front desk person to find our paperwork. At this point I'm so annoyed that I just wanted to get to our room. We were given a map and a brief explanation about the resort and restaurants but I think it fell short. It's our first visit, so I expected a bit more of a welcome. We get to our room and I'm so disappointed. The room had a musty smell and it had 2 double beds. I expected a king size bed which is what I thought I was getting at the Punta Cana. The room had an overall feeling of just constant wear. Was this an upgrade? I now wonder if the Punta Cana accommodations would have been worse. I wanted to complain to the front desk instantly but at the same time I didn't want to waste my time as this was just a short vacation and wanted to make the best of it. I filled out the comment card instead.

The resort is truly beautiful and I definitely felt like we were in a tropical paradise. The staff at the buffet restaurant was really great and friendly. The food was good but not much caribbean food on the menu (at least not at the buffet). The entertainment staff worked really hard and put on some great shows every night. We enjoyed them very much. My favorite was the "Fantastico" show. The beach was really pretty and the weather was perfect. The upside of the so called upgrade was that we could use the Punta Cana and Dominicana facilities. We found ourselves at the pool at these other resorts everyday since we could never find a spot by the pool at Bavaro. We had a nice time overall and would be lying if I said we didn't. That's why I gave it a "very good" rating.

We are not uppity folks and usually just a nice and clean room will do but there is much needed improvement in this category (at least our room does). I have mixed feelings about staying here again but would return to Punta Cana in the future.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Bavaro, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear Guest,
In the name of the Hotel Manager, Mr. Dejan Grubanov, we would like to thank you for choosing Iberostar for your first visit to Punta Cana and also for taking the time to post a review about your experience with us.
We would like to express how pleased we are to read that your holidays and birthday celebration were memorable due to the beauty of our hotel premises, the variety of our gastronomy and the excellent service provided by our friendly team. In Iberostar our guiding principles are to serve an exquisite gastronomy, to provide an excellent service through a high qualified team and to be on the best beaches around the world. Likewise, we have shared your feedback about our check in process with our Front Desk Manager and the whole team.
We are looking forward to welcome you back. Please feel free to contact us prior your next visit.
With regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Iberostar Bavaro February 25th to March 3rd 2013. We booked with ITRAVEL2000,great service. We Flew with CANJET,recieved a meal,glass of champagne and pop. TRANSAT HLIDAY was our tour operator,also great service,shuttles to and from the airport and to and from the resort were on time. I don't know if it was because we were flying back to Ottawa Canada on a Sunday or the time of the year, but the line ups at Punta Cana AIrport (10;30 am on....) were ridiculous, we waited a half hour just to check our luggage,then waited a full hour just to get thru security! Perhaps the airport was understaffed? NOW,Regarding the Iberostar Bavaro! We love this resort , it was our third trip to Punta Cana, we been to LARGE resorts and hated the fact that you had to take a trolly around, here, you can walk and be were you need to go in a matter of minutes. We stayed in room 3882, close to the beach. It was perfect,Rooms are clean,bed and pillows are comfortable, are conditioner coulds have been cooler , but we had a ceiling fan in the room and kept the curtains clossed during the day. Shower pressure is good, there is a hairdyryer in the room and plug in are the same as in Canada.We had buffet breakfast by the beach,and also breakfast at the lobby buffet.Both were excellent! I loved the crepes and sausages. For lunch we sat around the pool area, again the food was amazing! barbeque chicken,hot dogs, fries,steak,hamburgs,sandwiches,salads,pastries,Ice Cream and more! I highly reccommmend the Blue Hawaii alcoholic drink! The staff are so HARDWORKING AND FRIENDLY!I Please Iberostar management , acknowledge EDUARDO (he is a waiter at the pool area,beside the swim up area) He is so hardworking,funny and his smile is so lovely)a great addition to your resort!The grounds are so beautiful, love the boardwalks, ponds and wildlife. We love this resort, I can see why people keep coming back!I cried when we were leaving,I LOVE this resort.We thought the circus on the beach was a great added feature! Thank you Iberostar Staff from management,waiters, barstaff, gift shop staff, bell boys, star friend's, maid's, ground workers.... I hope to return!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Bavaro, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear guests,
We would like to thank for sharing your experience at the Iberostar Bavaro hotel with the online community and for choosing Iberostar Bavaro for your holidays.
In the name of Mr. Dejan Grubanov, Hotel Manager, we want to express how satisfied we are to acknowledge that your holidays were memorable. In Iberostar our guiding principles are to provide the best service through a highly qualified team, to offer a unique gastronomic experience in order to ensure a memorable holiday to our beloved guests. We have congratulated Eduardo for making your stay especial.
We remain at your entire disposition for any assistance prior your next visit. We will be happy to accommodate you and welcome you back.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This is the 2nd time in 3 years we have gone to this resort. The resort itself is beautiful, the beach is fantastic and the ocean is great. The food is excellent and the accommodations are good. The only complaint we had is the poor WIFI service and TV we experienced. The WifI should be wireless and available in all rooms. They do offer a modem to plug into in your room but it does not work and when we called to have somebody look at it, he said sorry nothing he can do and left. Also our TV remote only worked when it wanted to.....But that is minor. The best part of the resort is the Star Friends entertainment team led by Alex. They made our trip!!!!! They make you wanna come back to the resort and we miss them and cannot wait to go back again to say hello. In saying that, all staff are very friendly and everyone from the maid to the ground keepers are friendly, say hello and have a smile on there faces. Cannot wait to go back......Just get better WIFI!!!!

Room Tip: Always get the top floor and stay out of the rooms in the back of the resort.....a brutal walk to th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Bavaro, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear guest,
On behalf of Mr. Dejan Grubanov, Hotel Manager, we would like to thank you for your loyalty when choosing Iberostar Bavaro as your holiday’s destination and for taking time to post a review about your recent experience at our hotel.
We are very pleased to read that our friendly team and international exquisite cuisine, as well as our entertainment options have ensured you another memorable experience as we aim in Iberostar Hotels and Resorts. We have communicated Alex that his service made your holidays especial. Likewise, we have taken good notes about your suggestion referring internet service.
We are looking forward to welcome you back, please feel free to contact us prior for your next visit.
With regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

wonderful vacation at a beautiful place food was excellent and all the people were very friendly a special thankyou to Alexandra Severino for making our vacation just that much better. Bavaro golf club is excellent with very friendly staff! WE WILL GO BACK 100% FOR SURE!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Bavaro, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear guest,
In the name of the Hotel Manager, Mr. Dejan Grubanov, we thank you for taking time to write a review about your stay with us and for choosing Iberostar Bavaro as your holiday’s destination.
For the whole team and especially for Severino it is motivating to acknowledge how much you enjoyed your vacation at our hotel premsies. In Iberostar we want our guests to enjoy “being a star during holidays”. .
We will be happy to welcome you back, please feel free to contact us before your arrival.
Yours Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aldridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Having been to the Caribbean on many occasions and always staying at Iberostar hotels, this was our fifth vacation at the Bavaro and is undoubtably still our favourite. The amenities, beach, food, accommodation and staff are all excellent and cannot be faulted. My wife and I and a couple of friends stayed for 2 weeks during February and we would like to thank Dejan and Rosario and everyone for making our vacation so enjoyable. We are looking forward to returning in May for a further 2 weeks of pure indulgence and fun.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Bavaro, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear guest,
On behalf of Mr. Dejan Grubanov, Hotel Manager, we thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit to Iberostar Bavaro and for your loyalty towards Iberostar Hotels and Resorts as your holiday’s destination.
We would like to express you how honored we are to read that the varied gastronomy of Iberostar, our beautiful premises and excellent service have ensured you several memorable holidays in our destination around the Caribbean and five unforgettable vacations at Iberostar Bavaro. As you well know, in Iberostar we want our guests to “enjoy being a Star”.
We will be happy to welcome you back again and remain at your entire disposition for further assistance.
With kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Iberostar Bavaro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Bavaro

Address: Playa Bavaro, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#11 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#13 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#16 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#17 Business Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Iberostar Bavaro 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly on the beautiful, kilometre-long beach of Bavaro. Tropical gardens. Elegant Caribbean flair. Top 5-star luxury. 11 restaurants. First–Class international shows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, VISIT US, INC. , Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Iberostar Bavaro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Punta Cana
Iberostar Bavaro Punta Cana
Bavaro Punta Cana
Dominican Republic Bavaro
Bavaro Cana Punta
Iberostar Bavaro Suites
Iberostar Bavaro Dominican Republic
Punta Cana Bavaro
Iberostar Hotel Punta Cana
Iberostar Dominican Republic

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iberostar Bavaro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.