We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“service at hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Iberostar Bavaro

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Iberostar Bavaro to your Saves list
Iberostar Bavaro
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Playa Bavaro, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 100 Hotels in Punta Cana
Carol Stream, Illinois
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“service at hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Our check in was not fast, because one guy send from one to another.
Front desk do not explain enough about hotel, discounts that you might have for massage (20% discount if you buy from Apple Vacation) or if you can go to SPA. We realize when we went on coctail party at last night before we leave.
It is hard to make reservation to the restaurrant what you like, they send where you didn't like to go and nobody apologize to give you a wrong restaurant.
Rooms were clean and nice service.
Funny guys on the beach. Volleyball was good too.

Room Tip: You can receive room when you pay tips, otherwise they send you from one to another. If you want to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Bavaro, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Dear guest,
In the name of Mr. Dejan Grubanov, Hotel Manager, and his team, we thank you for choosing Iberostar Bavaro for your holidays and for writing a review about your experience.
We want to express how glad we are to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel despite the breakdown in the service provided by our Front Desk and Guest Service staff. In Iberostar we are committed to ensure to our guests a memorable holiday. We deeply apologize for the inconveniences. Our Managers and Departmental heads have taken good notes from your review to make the appropriated corrections to deliver the level of service expected by our beloved “stars” on vacation.
We will be honored to welcome you back again, please contact us before arrival to help you to enjoy your next vacations with us,
Kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,820 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,952
    1,257
    378
    160
    73
See reviews for
1,674
1,664
73
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (543)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
mashpee
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

The staff at this place are "EXCELENTE"! We had a wonderful time, dancing, pool, beach, vollyball, Banana boating and of course soaking up the warmth. The room was nice but it did have a terrible mildew smell that I did not complain about as I just assumed being almost on the water is was normal.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Iberostar

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Bavaro, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear Guests,
First we thank you for choosing Iberostar Bavaro as your holiday’s destination and for publishing your review on Tripadvisor.
On behalf of the Hotel Manager, Mr. Dejan Grubanov, we would like to express our satisfaction to read that you had “a wonderful time”, as you wrote it in the review, due to the service provided by our friendly staff and for our wide options for daily and nightly entertainment. In Iberostar we want our customers to feel like "stars" during their stay.
We hope to welcome you again and feel free to contact us before your next trip.
Yours Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killeen, Texas, United States
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Just returned yesterday from this awesome resort. Stayed from Nov. 21 - 28. What a great experience. Started with fast check in. Tania at the front desk explained the resort with a warm welcoming smile. We were welcomed in the lobby with drinks. Everyone with smiles and so welcoming. Room was nice and roomy. Room nice and air-conditioned. Beautiful swan made out of hotel towels with beautiful red flowers.
Traveled with our 4 year old daughter. Lucy's mini club awesome. Rosa, King, Margarita, and Lauren so good with the children. Keeping them engaged and entertained the entire day. Mini club for children every evening was not only entertaining for the children however for the adults as well.
Did not have the opportunity to eat at the A La Carte restaurants easier with my child to eat at the Buffet. So impressed with the Buffet by Lobby. Staff and service excellent. Hanoy took the time to make my child feel comfortable. Franklin awesome service he knew exactly what we wanted everyday. Recommend you sit at same table everyday. Different variety of food, different theme every night.
Entertainment was great. The animation literally work all day and night to make sure the guests are entertained. Activities for the adults all day. What is nice is that they are inviting however never to pushy.
Housekeeping provides daily cleaning of room, clean dry towels, mini bar stocked at all times.
The employees at this resort are hardworking, respectful, always happy they are the ones that make the resort what it is. LOVE LOVE LOVE the people.
Had such a great family vacation. Cant wait to return, Cant wait to tell everyone about it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Bavaro, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Dear guest MarleneP,
On behalf of Mr. Dejan Grubanov, Hotel Manager, and his team, we would like to thank you for posting a review about your experience among us and for choosing Iberostar Bavaro for your family holidays.
We are honored to hear that our services, facilities and staff members’ service ensured you and your entire family such as memorable family holidays. Our goal as an Iberostar Hotel is to ensure our beloved guests to “enjoy being a Star”. We are pleased to know that Tania, at the Front Desk, Hanoi and Franklin at the restaurants, and Rosa, King, Margarita, and Lauren, at the Lucy’s Club among many others, provided you and your children the best service so we could aim our goal whilst you were at our premises.
We are looking forward to welcome you back again. Please contact us before your arrival.
With kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Stayed here from the 15th - 29th October, been back in the UK for over a month and I still have the holiday blues, as do most of the 14 of us who travelled. The place is nothing short of fantastic. I honestly think some of the negative reviews must have confused The Bavaro with somewhere else. The only minor gripe I had was when we arrived we had to sit and wait along with several other groups while the reception staff sorted our wristbands and keys etc. It took a little while and I was getting a bit miffed after a while. Beyond that I had literally no complaints for the rest of our 2 week stay. The rooms are spotless, I didn't see so much as a blemish anywhere. Bed and bath linens were changed every day without fail. If the maid arrived too early we asked her to come back later on and she always did. The mini-bar was re-stocked almost every day as well, and again if we found ourselves running short of anything we could call reception who would always restock for us.
The buffet selection was enormous. Was enough to suit just about anyone's taste. The gourmet restaurants were lovely with the exception of the steak house, which while it was nice it wasn't up to the standard of others. The Couples restaurant stands out as being by far the best of the gourmets. The only downside was the reservation system for the gourmet restaurants needs a bit of an overhaul. On occasions my mother was going to the reservation desk and being told there was no spaces at any of the gourmets for the next few days, then another one of our group went to the desk at a different time and was able to reserve a table for the following night. Needless to say the old dear was a bit hacked off to say the least.
The pool was more than big enough, and there was plenty of sunbeds to go around. The only complaint I had about the pool was a thin layer of scum that would accumulate near the edges towards the end of the day. Again nothing major but something the staff might want to pay some attention to.
Not really much of a beach person so didn't spend much time there to comment. Did take a few walks up and down and it looked fine.
The staff were the highlight of the holiday though. Literally everyone has a smile on their face, and all of them from the maids to the Star Friends were always saying hello and having a chat with you if their English was good enough. I noticed an earlier review noted that service was poor because the staff could not speak English. I'd like to suggest that reviewer tries to remove their head from their a*se to be quite frank - it is a Spanish speaking country! That said the majority of the staff can speak more than enough English anyway. The job the staff do is nothing short of fantastic and I almost feel sorry for anyone who thinks otherwise.
There is plenty going on every day. The Star Friends will always politely ask if you want to partake in any of their activities, if you decline then they are never pushy. The entertainment in the evening is of a good quality. The Star Rock Cafe and DC10 disco are also both great fun for those who like to continue their evening into the early hours. Karaoke was on offer EVERY night in the Star Rock, which for me was heaven. The DC10 was open until 3am every night, and was usually filled with people of all ages from the Dominicana, the Bavaro and the Grand.
Overall you can't ask for much more from a hotel in my opinion. I will be returning, hopefully sooner rather than later.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Bavaro, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear guest,
Thank you for choosing Iberostar Bavaro for your holidays, also for taking the time to post a review about your stay with us.
In the name of Mr. Dejan Grubanov, Hotel Manager, we appreciate that you highlighted out the personal service and friendliness of our staff, especially our Star Friends, our varied gastronomy as well as the beauty and cleanness of our grounds. In Iberostar those aspects are part of our guiding principle to ensure pleasant stays to our beloved “stars”.
On the other hand, we take good note from your suggestions and concerns regarding our pool cleaning at the end of the day and our a la carte restaurants reservation system. we have shared them with the corresponding departmental heads to deliver the level of service expected by our beloved guests.
We hope to welcome you back again. We remain at your disposition for further assistance.
Kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leipsic, oh
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We stayed here at the Bavaro from Oct. 20 to Oct 27. You get there and right away get help with your bags. Took maybe 10 mins to check in. During that time we had a drink brought to me and my wife. Anything we needed helped with or had questions with the front desk was there to help at all times and all were very pleasant people. I've stayed at the Iberostar Punta Cana next door so I had a idea of what to expect from this resort. The food is delicious and so are the drinks. What really makes your stay special is the workers. They are all so kind and willing to help you. We got to know Hector well as we would see him at the pool bar and the lobby bar at night. He was great to see everyday and always would make sure we were taken care of along with all of the other bartenders. The rooms were cozy. We stayed in room 2403 which is by the beach and by the food by the bar so it was a great location because we were by the beach, pool, and buffet. It was my third time( 1st for my wife who loved it) at a Iberostar and I havent been disapointed yet! Will definally return to this Iberostar and visit more.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Bavaro, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Dear Guests,
In the name of the Hotel Manager, Mr. Dejan Grubanov, we would like to thank you for choosing Iberostar Bavaro to enjoy your honeymoon and for posting a comment about your experience on Tripadvisor. Once again congratulation for your wedding and we wish you a successful marriage!
We are very pleased to read acknowledge you and your wife had enjoyed an unforgettable experience in such as especial occasion due to the friendliness of our staff. In Iberostar we aim to ensure memorable holidays to our beloved “stars”. Hector at the poll bar and the whole Front Desk team will be motivated by your nice lines referring their work.
We are looking forward to welcome you back again and celebrate your first anniversary. Please contact us before your arrival.
With kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Purmerend, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Are you searching for white beaches, palm trees, long romantic walks and a real and affordable caribbean island the Punta Cana is the best choice. There a lot of hotel chains to choose from in Punta Cana. For the first time traveller search no further because Ibero Star Bavaro is the one! This place make me happy. The colours of the resort, the always smiling staff, the bachata music, the birds everything feels good. Sometimes the food is not star quality and the drinks are not from famous brands but hey you are all-inclusive basis in the Carribean. You can eat and drink to whole day! The whole resort is beautifully maintained and very romantic. Not to busy with people but just good. Try the a la Carte restaurants and you will be surprised! One thing... Just go!

Room Tip: Pay a little extra for a sea view room. It is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Bavaro, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Dear guests,
First of all we would like to thank you for choosing Iberostar Bavaro for your holydays and for the time you took to post a review about your experience among us.
In the name of Mr. Dejan Grubanov, Hotel Manager, we would like to express our satisfaction to read your motivating lines about our varied gastronomy, our beautiful premises; and the friendliness and excellent service from our staff members. Those aspects are part of our commitments in Iberostar Hotels and Resorts. We are very pleased to know that you valued them positively
We will be glad to welcome you back again. Please free to contact us before your next visit.
Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santo Domingo, Distrito Nacional, Dominican Republic
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

A fabulous beach, white sand, turquoise Caribbean, great food (really good!), average rooms (a little old but not a big deal), nice service! The only problem was the local tourists who arrived to the hotel for the weekend. You do not want to see people around with their white briefs( some with their boxers)and tank tops on in the pool. I suggest you to choose weekdays to go there.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Bavaro, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear guest,
Thank you for choosing Iberostar Bavaro for your holidays and for taking the time to post a review about your experience with us.
In the name of the Hotel Manager, Mr. Dejan Grubanov, we are very pleased to read that you had a wonderful holiday due to our excellent gastronomy and the beauty of our Bavaro Beach. In Iberostar we are on the best beaches worldwide.
We will be happy to welcome you back. Feel free to contact us before your next visit.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Iberostar Bavaro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Bavaro

Address: Playa Bavaro, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#11 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#14 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#16 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#16 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Iberostar Bavaro 4*
Number of rooms: 592
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly on the beautiful, kilometre-long beach of Bavaro. Tropical gardens. Elegant Caribbean flair. Top 5-star luxury. 11 restaurants. First–Class international shows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Venere, VISIT US, INC. , Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Iberostar Bavaro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Punta Cana
Iberostar Bavaro Punta Cana
Bavaro Punta Cana
Dominican Republic Bavaro
Bavaro Cana Punta
Iberostar Bavaro Suites
Iberostar Bavaro Dominican Republic
Punta Cana Bavaro
Iberostar Hotel Punta Cana
Iberostar Dominican Republic

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iberostar Bavaro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.