We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

““perfect getaway!”” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Iberostar Bavaro

Save Saved
You added Iberostar Bavaro to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Iberostar Bavaro
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Playa Bavaro, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 101 hotels in Punta Cana
Santo Domingo, Distrito Nacional, Dominican Republic
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
““perfect getaway!””
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

A fabulous beach, white sand, turquoise Caribbean, great food (really good!), average rooms (a little old but not a big deal), nice service! The only problem was the local tourists who arrived to the hotel for the weekend. You do not want to see people around with their white briefs( some with their boxers)and tank tops on in the pool. I suggest you to choose weekdays to go there.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Bavaro, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear guest,
Thank you for choosing Iberostar Bavaro for your holidays and for taking the time to post a review about your experience with us.
In the name of the Hotel Manager, Mr. Dejan Grubanov, we are very pleased to read that you had a wonderful holiday due to our excellent gastronomy and the beauty of our Bavaro Beach. In Iberostar we are on the best beaches worldwide.
We will be happy to welcome you back. Feel free to contact us before your next visit.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,705 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2,878
    1,227
    369
    158
    73
See reviews for
1619
1625
70
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (534)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

We travelled in October in a group of 14 people. Some of our group had been several times before, so we knew it would be good, although it was our first visit. The hotel is very nice, the beach fabulous, but what makes it so special is the staff. They work really hard and are always cheerful. Eduardo and his animation team are fantastic, and create a really friendly atmosphere. We also met some great fellow guests from around the world. The AI does include everything, even sunbeds and drinks on the beach and the nightclub. Food choice was extensive, and there was always something for everyone, though we did have trouble getting slots in the specialist restaurants. We had a brilliant trip to Saona Island with the hotel Dive school. Tony the guide really looked after us, the food was great, and you can buy a video of the trip if you choose to. This was a fantastic holiday and we will definitely return.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Bavaro, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear guest,
We would like to thank you for choosing Iberostar Bavaro as your holiday’s destination. In the name of Mr. Dejan Grubanov, hotel Manager, we also thank you for taking time to write some comments about your experience.
We would like to express our satisfaction to hear that our hotel quality and services met your expectations based on your friends’ previous stays. As you experienced from a first hand, in Iberostar we aim to ensure memorable stays to our beloved “stars” on vacation. We will congratulate Eduardo and the Star Friends team for being part of your happy stay.
Please feel free to contact us before your next visit, we will be happy to welcome you back,
Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas, USA
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

I'll start with the cons.

Cons:

Food: While the buffet was very very GREAT, the hotel has a few other restaurants here which you have to get reservations for, including: Gourmet, Steakhouse, Japanese, Mediterranean. These restaurants were average to below average. You have limited choices at these restaurants in terms of what you can order and the food at these places was just "ok" and in some instances, The Mediterranean, the food was just bad.

Rooms: The rooms aren't that great. Don't expect a lavish 5 star quality room. First off there is no thermostat in the room, so if you enjoy sleeping in a comfortably chilly room like I do, you don't really get that. The beds are pretty stiff & cheap and they don't change the sheets every day. Yes you heard me right. Also because it's a tropical environment, it's hard to keep the humidity out of the room, so your room feels almost as muggy as it does outside. The television in the room had limited options, no on-demand movie options at all, the tv reception was poor (there was a lot of static) and the channel selection was poor.

Room Service: The room service is from 11am-11pm from an extremely limited menu of about 8 or so items, none of which are very appetizing, except maybe the hamburger? Either way, chances are if you're ordering from the room service menu, you're desperately hungry.

Pros: Beautiful location, obviously. The food here (at the buffet) was shockingly good. My expectations were very low since it's an all inclusive but the buffet here was OUTSTANDING. Every single day they have a different theme for the food including: Italian, Dominican, Spanish, etc. Excursions? Lots of options! Sailing, scuba diving, snorkeling, zip-lining, swimming with dolphins, fishing, 4-wheeler driving, you name it! I highly recommend you do some of these because they will really enhance your trip!

It's a great place to get away and despite the cons, I'd definitely come back.

I would stay at the Iberostar Grand instead of the Bavaro next time though. I took a tour of that place and WOW it's nice! For an extra $180 a night what you get is dramatically different.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Iberostar

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Bavaro, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
Dear guests,
On behalf of the Hotel Manager, Mr. Dejan Grubanov, we thank you for taking the time to post a review about your stay at the Iberostar Bavaro and for choosing our hotel for your holidays.
We are very to read that you enjoyed a memorable holidays thanks to the beauty of premises, the variety of our gastronomy and the friendliness of our staff members. Those are part of our philosophy in Iberostar Hotels and Resorts.
On the other hand, we have shared your suggestion with our housekeeping Manager.
Our team in Iberostar Grand Hotel Bavaro will be more than happy to assist you. We stay at your entire disposition for any request you may have before your next visit,
Kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkwood, Missouri
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

My husband and I spent a week here - Nov 11 to 11/18. Loved the junior suite as it had a nice sitting area which was appreciated! Our maid, Margarita was fabulous and really took care of us. We were close to the beach and pool areas except it was a walk to the ala carte restaurants from our room but the hotel furnishes rides to and from which was great for us older folks. We were always able to get a palapa which is our favorite place to spend the day.

The only problem we had with our experience here was the quality of food even in the ala carte restaurants. Several months prior to this I was at an AI in Ixtapa and guess I got spoiled by the fantastic food choices we had there. There was always plenty to eat but very average. We did have some great ceviche several one night. As expected there was a nice variety of fish each night. Of course, my husband loved the dessert assortment each meal.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Bavaro, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear guest,
We thank for writing a comment on Tripadvisor about your experience at Iberostar Bavaro. In the name of Mr. Dejan Grubanov, Hotel Manager, and his team, we also thank you for choosing our hotel for your holidays.
We are very satisfied to know that your experience at our hotel was nice although our varied gastronomy could not meet all your gastronomical expectations. Your nice comments about the excellent service of our staff members motivate us, and especially to Margarita, to keep doing our best to ensure memorable holidays to our beloved guests, as we aim in Iberostar Hotels and Resorts.
We are looking forward to welcome you back again, please contact us before your next visit in June,
Kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Our entire week here was extremely fun. The beach is beautiful with plenty of palapas to go around. The food was very good, and plentiful! Every day the lunch buffet was so good and fresh. The dinner buffet is good, the Chinese restaurant could be skipped in my opinion. The beach side massage was totally worth it. We went scuba diving to the wreck just off the beach, it was fine for us because we didn't want to spend all day but the diving at that spot wasn't spectacular. I would definitely go back

Room Tip: It was worth it to get an upstairs room closer to the beach to get the most out of the balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Bavaro, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear Jan M,
On behalf of the Hotel Manager, Mr. Dejan Grubanov, we thank you for choosing Iberostar Bavaro as your holiday’s destination and for taking the time to post a review about your stay among us.
We are very glad to read that you had a memorable and relaxing stay among us due to our varied gastronomy and the beauty of Bavaro beach. In Iberostar we are on the best beaches worldwide.
We will be honored to welcome you back again, please contact us before your next visit,
With kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St-Jean sur Richelieu
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

We travel 2 to 3 times per year to different places in America and the Caribbean. We have stayed in many resorts and we very much appreciate Iberostar for the quality of the resorts and the nice attitude of their people.
We stayed at Iberostar Bavaro for 2 weeks, October 27 to November 10 and had a very nice vacation! I turned 50 years old on November 8th. My wife informed the hotel management about this special event and believe me, my birthday dinner was memorable!
Management and other administrative staff were simply the best! Many thanks’ to: Mr Dejan Grubavov and Rosario Rosario as well as Juan Luis and Rosie. Special greetings to Tanya at reception desk! Even the people from Iberostate (zero pressure) were so friendly and trying to help you anytime they could.
Our room was nice and clean and our maid did a great job: Nice clean smell and floor washed every day. Night service was also very much appreciated: A maid would come every early evening to prepare our bed for the night, leave little chocolates and provide us with more fresh washed towels.
Mini-Bar service was also number one. We got all we needed and never ran out of bottles of fresh water. Do not hesitate to leave a note in your frig or on your pillow to your maid if you need anything. You won’t be sorry. The service is impeccable.
We tried all the À La Carte Restaurants and were not disappointed at all! The service was very professional and friendly, and the food was also very good. Fresh vegetables, well cooked meat and nice presentation of the plates, plus good cappuccino! We also met a sommelier, the friendly Luis, who gave us good advice on wines. Also, we will never forget the maître d’hôtel, Belony. What a beautiful smile and great professionalism. Buffet was also very good. Excellent breakfast with Magali cooking the best omelettes! Also, we had so much fun and laughter with all the waiters at the bars and restaurants. The tiny Yelitza at buffet and beach lunch restaurant, Sylvester at aqua-bar, Jeysel at pool bar… Just to name a few because we can’t recall all the names but they all deserve to be mentioned!
There was a large choice of food all the time: breakfast, lunch and dinner. All day long, you can see Alexandra, ‘Ambassador de la comida’, going from table to table, asking guests if they are enjoying their meal, if they notice things to be improved, etc. So, about people having negative comments, why don’t you speak with the staff on the spot? There is always an intendant around. They are happy to receive your comments so they can correct the situation right away. Remember that they are committed to your happiness and that the most important thing for them is to see you happy. One thing to remember: Wherever you travel, food will be different from at home. You can’t expect it to be like moms. So have a taste of different plates and eat what you like best and leave the rest aside.
The grounds are so clean and well kept! Plants and trees are healthy. Thanks’ to the gardeners who work very hard with a smiling face and a Hola! Que tal? all the time. The beach is also very nice and clean. Don’t forget to say a little thank you to the people who work all day to keep the beach beautiful for tourists: removing the sea weed, emptying ash trays and trash cans and picking up the waste that some people leave behind in the sand. We also noticed workers washing the beach chairs with big brushes and disinfectant cleaners regularly.
The pools are also very nice. On our 2nd week, the aqua-bar part was closed for repairs but all the other sections of the pool remained open and the water was very clean and clear. The pool bar and resto-bar were open. We also enjoyed the nice beach terraces at both Bavaro and Punta Cana sides.
Overall, we had a very pleasant stay and we enjoyed the place and the people so very much! We will return soon!
Jack et Denise xxx

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Bavaro, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
Dear guests,
We thank you for your loyalty towards Iberostar Hotels and Resorts as your holiday’s destination and for posting a review in Tripadvisor about your stay at the Iberostar Bavaro.
In the name of Dejan Grubanov, Hotel Manager, we would like to express you how honored we are to hear that you had enjoyed an excellent experience among us due to the quality of our hotel and our friendly staff as you pointed out in the review. Thank you for mentioning the staff who made a different during your visit: our Management team: Dejan, Rosario and Juan Luis, and the whole staff among them Rosie, Tanya, Luis, Belony, Magali, Alexandra, Silvestre, and Yelitza. They are glad to read your nice lines about their excellent work. In Iberostar we are all committed to ensure memorable holidays to our beloved “stars” on vacation.
We are waiting for your next visit, please contact us by e mail to ensure you another memorable holiday.
With kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012 via mobile

Stayed from 31st October till 14th November as a couple. Our accommodation was perfectly located a stones throw from the beach and pool area. We had absolutely no complaints with our room, and as a bonus on arrival we had a fruit platter, bottle of rum, and 2 iberostar "I'm back" tshirts waiting for us with a beautiful towel swan too! Also was a letter from the manager welcoming us back (as I had visited 8yeara ago and sent an email to guest services before we left the uk). Was such a lovely surprise and just an example of how much they value your custom.

We ate at the following ala carte reataraunts: Japanese, gourmet, Mexican, jambalaya Cajun and the steak! The gourmet was completely faultless we highly recommend you eat here it was easily the best food we ate the entire holiday! Go to guest services and Catalina will book you in for as many reataraunts as you wish she was a great help and got us another visit to the gourmet last minute on our final night! Top job Catalina!!! The main restaraunt is great never a lack of choice fresh fish and seafood daily with themes at night! Service is amazing!!! Staff are alwayssss smiling dancing and singing!!! They never expect a tip and are so appreciative when u do! We tipped out maid every other day and wrote her a letter of what drinks we prefer in our fridge diet coke&water yes-coca light and augua si with a smiley face and beer, fanta no-cerveza no with a sad face. Everyday this was stocked she was great! We also received a turn down service so after dinner we would come back to chocolates on our pillows and rose petals on our folded down bed sheets! Nice touch ;)

For excursions see my other reviews we did quite a few. Also around the pool area there is a guy named Richard who tries to sell u professional photos, I was reluctant at first but do it! We did and the value for money and professionalism is great! We paid 120 dollas us for 15 digital pics, all taken on the beach, great experience and fantastic souvinere, our photographer was a tall French man with a beard I can't remember his name but he was great!

We used the gym which is small but well equipped we went in evening and morning but would advise first thing when it opens to avoid the business! Was amazing being on a treadmill with a view of the Sea! Saw the Michael Jackson show which was soo good! A must see! And visited the nightclub too which starts off busy but quietness down.

I honestly can say our 2weeks at this resort flew by, the staff are faultless and bend over backwards to make your stay the best! We will most certinally be back! This visit was better than my last to this hotel 8years ago, don't pay attention to negative reviews it truly is Paradise with the best beach and facilities in Punta Cana!!! Any questions get in touch il be happy to help :) thank you iberostar!!!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Bavaro, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear Guest,
First at all, we would like to thank you for having chosen Iberostar Bavaro once again as your holiday’s destination. In the name of the Hotel Manager, Mr. Dejan Grubanov, and his team, we want to thank you for taking time to write some comments about your recent stay with us.
We are very satisfied to know that you enjoyed another memorable holiday after eight years due to the friendliness of our staff, our varied gastronomy and the beauty of our premises. In Iberostar it is one of our basic principles to ensure our beloved guests to “enjoy being a Star” in holidays. We are very proud to read that we could accomplish our goal with you one more time.
We are looking forward to see you in our facilities again, please feel free to contact us before your arrival so we can assist you and your friends.
With kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Iberostar Bavaro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Bavaro

Address: Playa Bavaro, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#11 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#14 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#17 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#17 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Iberostar Bavaro 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly on the beautiful, kilometre-long beach of Bavaro. Tropical gardens. Elegant Caribbean flair. Top 5-star luxury. 11 restaurants. First–Class international shows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, VISIT US, INC. , Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Hotels.com, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Iberostar Bavaro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Punta Cana
Iberostar Bavaro Punta Cana
Bavaro Punta Cana
Dominican Republic Bavaro
Bavaro Cana Punta
Iberostar Bavaro Suites
Iberostar Bavaro Dominican Republic
Punta Cana Bavaro
Iberostar Hotel Punta Cana
Iberostar Dominican Republic

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iberostar Bavaro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.