We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4th Visit...Still A Great Family Resort” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Club Med Punta Cana

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Club Med Punta Cana to your Saves list
Club Med Punta Cana
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Apartado Postal | 106 Higuey Provincia La Altagracia, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #43 of 99 Hotels in Punta Cana
Chappaqua, New York
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
“4th Visit...Still A Great Family Resort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

My wife and two children went to Club Med PC over Thanksgiving Break for three consecutive years ('05-'07), and just returned with our now teenagers in April '13. It was like riding a bike...everything was familiar and comfortable.

First, what changed:
1. Snack bar on the beach was enlarged, now offers shaded area to snack and drink the day away with a fantastic view
2. New cottages and private pool built at the far end of the property
3. Main restaurant got a facelift
4. MANY G.O.s (Club Med Staff from around the world) have been replaced with much lower cost local Haitian employees. It changed the feel and level of customer service for the worse.
5. Can't get a pool chair from 8am-5pm because people "save" them and never sit in them

What's the same:
1. Weather was perfect
2. View of the beach and sea is incredible...equivalent to Turks & Cacios
3. Food and drinks are plentiful and good quality
4. Kids/teens camp...push them in on Day 1 and then you have to fight to get them out...the kids had a blast
5. Safe...we always felt safe and comfortable even with our teenagers running around the resort with new-found friends.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clubmedofficial, Guest Relations Manager at Club Med Punta Cana, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Colin S,
Thanks for the kind words about our Punta Cana resort. We strive to make sure each guest has an amazing experience, and we're ecstatic to hear this was your fourth visit! We appreciate your feedback and love that you feel comfortable while vacationing at our resort. Thank you again for sharing, and we hope you visit again soon!
Kind Regards,
Your Club Med Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,808 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,891
    1,180
    439
    207
    91
See reviews for
2,338
533
137
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (371)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Antwerp, Belgium
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

we went to punta cana end of march for 9 days ,flew in from paris, upon arrival very nice welcome in club med style,village is very well laid out, the kids club is near one of the 2 restaurants so very easy to drop the kids off after breakfast, there where app 200 GO's for 1800 guests, and even though so manny guests where there we didint feel it, beach is very nice,pool huge and big enough for everyone, only point of critisism, there is no bridge to cross the pool to get to the beach so we had to circle the pool, but that is realy looking for something neg to write, breakfast,lunch and dinner, huge selection of food,the quality of the food was very high,the go's where very friendly and the village chief (eduardo) was seen every day walking through the village and greating the GM's, bravo !, we recommend this club for families with kids and we def. will be back.......

Room Tip: try to get a room near the hispaniola restaurant ,not the lobby,less noise and better for acces to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clubmedofficial, Guest Relations Manager at Club Med Punta Cana, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear sleef,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review about our Club Med Punta Cana resort. We're thrilled you had a terrific stay and that our beach, pool, dining options and staff surpassed your every expectation. We're especially glad to know both you and your kids had a blast participating in all the activities. We look forward to seeing you again!
Kind Regards,
Your Club Med Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

it is a beautiful resort for a family vacation. It is my second time in Punta Cana. The food was amazing 10 years ago.. it was a little disappointing this time. Cancun had much better food.
I still loved my vacation. We were two adults and 2 teenage girls. Go's were nice, I loved Aqua Gym at the beach and the pool with Andre... Zumba with Lilian...The beach is amazing.

Evening parties very nice. GO's very nice, theatre shows were not as good as cancun and Sand piper this year. But in part it is due to GO's leaving and new ones coming at this time.

Our room Deluxe family suite in the Ovaldo building was very nice. I heard from a family in club rooms that they had many maintenance problems...

Room Tip: Deluxe family suites in Ovaldo building accross the mini club were very nice. It was quiet, close en...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This was our second year in a row at Punta Cana ! It has only gotten better ! Last years Chief of the Village was great and this year's Chief ,Eduardo, was fabulous ! During one of the evening parties he said he loved his job which was very clear if you spoke to him that was true.The teen club was fantastic ! Kervin and Jimmy did an awesome job.. Felicia kept our room beautiful every day! Adyee and Hewin at Hispanol were amazing ! We loved the food, it was delicious ! So here is what needs improvement . Rooms need maintenance . Doors and drawers all needed to be fixed because they got stuck every time you opened them. Toilet needed to be tightened and the awning under the terraces was very ,very dirty. This can and should be easily fixed. We did have stomach issues and I suspect the water. I would appreciate more access to bottled water during the day and at meals, although it is in the room for the night. I understand it can be more expensive but should be available upon request. Everything else was great ! We will be back !

Room Tip: Pick a room near your favorite activity or restaurant . Big place !
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clubmedofficial, Guest Relations Manager at Club Med Punta Cana, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear LeslieMom,
Thank you for posting a review about our Punta Cana resort. We love when our guests have a wonderful stay and we're so glad you enjoyed all our resort has to offer like Teen Club, entertainment, and dining options. We're always looking for ways to improve and truly appreciate your feedback. We're thrilled you had an amazing time, and we can't wait for you to return!
Kind Regards,
Your Club Med Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

The young crew was amazing, the yoga , Zumba, palates activates was amazing and nite dances was non stoppable, the food is good and after the activity and food did not gain weight!! The rooms where clean. The village felt very safe and the staff very helpfull.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clubmedofficial, Guest Relations Manager at Club Med Punta Cana, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Arajber,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review about our Punta Cana resort. We're so ecstatic you enjoyed all our resort has to offer like yoga, zumba, and pilates! It also makes us so glad to know you found our dining options, facilities and staff to be exceptional. We're thrilled you had such a lovely experience, and we can't wait for your next visit!
Kind Regards,
Your Club Med Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoboken, New Jersey
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Club Med here is beautiful. However, there is a little truck that drives all around on the sidewalks around 6 pm on Saturday evening when every single child is walking home from the pool on the way to dinner. If you search for "club med spraying pesticide" you will see a picture of the Punta Cana truck that someone posted (not me). I just passed this truck with my kid on the way home. It is spraying a fog of pesticide directly onto everyone. Yes, incredible as this sounds, I watched this little truck charging up and down and around the lanes and sidewalks where me and my family, and everyone else and their family, are walking, and discharging its load of poison into the lovely warm afternoon air. Why? Why in the world would they do that right now?

I really don't care what kind of pesticide this is. I don't want it. I don't care about any other issue we had here either, nothing is worth the worry of this. Lawsuit anyone?

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clubmedofficial, Guest Relations Manager at Club Med Punta Cana, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear LynnD46515,
Thank you for sharing about your experience at our Punta Cana resort. We are so sorry for the concern you have mentioned as we assure you this is not the norm for Club Med. Please know we are currently addressing the situation and thank you for bringing this to our attention.
Kind Regards,
Your Club Med Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South U.K.
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Sometimes when you revisit a resort after a couple of years, it is never as you remember it. Not so here! It felt even better and impressed as before. Nothing seemed too much trouble for the staff.Lots of little drinks gatherings most evenings on the waterfront hosted by the ever present Giles. Low season (quiet) and god weather helped Will return.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clubmedofficial, Guest Relations Manager at Club Med Punta Cana, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Phuqnose,
Thank you for posting a review about our Punta Cana resort. We're so glad you had another phenomenal vacation with us! From the staff to the activities, we are so happy you found it all to be wonderful. Thank you again for taking the time to share, and we can't wait to see you again!
Kind Regards,
Your Club Med Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Club Med Punta Cana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Med Punta Cana

Address: Apartado Postal | 106 Higuey Provincia La Altagracia, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#34 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#36 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#37 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#41 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Club Med Punta Cana 4*
Number of rooms: 553
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the Dominican Republic in this all-inclusive family resort, designed over a long white-sand beach, considered to be the finest in the world. Travel to Club Med Punta Cana with your family and enjoy a carefree all-inclusive vacation in this resort which flourishes beside a lagoon surrounded by magnificent grove of coconut palms. Fun moments filled with memories await your kids at Club Med world-famous children's clubs with dedicated activities and sports for children and teenagers from morning to evening, for each age group, and all coordinated by qualified and enthusiastic professionals. This newly redesigned resort has something for everyone, with amenities such as: Baby Club Med™*, a new Spa* with private pool access, exclusive private Oceanfront Family Suites, new dedicated programs for Mini Club Med™ including Le Petit Tennis(R), circus school and Baby Gym(R), Passworld for teens, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Club Med Punta Cana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Med Punta Cana Hotel Punta Cana
Punta Cana Club Med
Club Med Dominican Republic

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Club Med Punta Cana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.