We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Vacation I have had!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Melia Caribe Tropical

Save Saved
You added Melia Caribe Tropical to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Expedia.com
and 8 more sites!
Melia Caribe Tropical
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Playa de Bavaro, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 101 hotels in Punta Cana
Hoffman Estates, Illinois, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best Vacation I have had!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

This was an amazing resort. The hospitality was AMAZING! We made a lot of friends which made it hard to leave. Rogelio Martinez and Johnathan Montero from activities took our hearts away. They were so kind hearted and people friendly. I hope to make another vacation to the same resort soon and hopefully they will still be there! I'd like to thank all the employees from the resort for keeping it clean and making our trip so memorable. We are vegetarian and we thought there weren't that many choices for us on thE menu but that was the least of our concern. The activities that the hotel has for all ages was amazing. I will for sure recommend this resort to family and friends. Thanks a lot and more so to Johnathan and Rogelio for making this the best vacation of my life.

Room Tip: It can be quite a commute to the beach if you stay in the villas that are closer to the lobby. We st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aris_MCT, Web Community Liasion at Melia Caribe Tropical, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Suchi G,

Receive our warmest regards from Punta Cana,

On behalf of Meliá Caribe Tropical, We would like to express you our gratitude for your preference to our property for the enjoyment of your vacation. We really appreciate your comments and it is a pleasure to know that you had the best vacation with us.

We are very glad to know that Rogelio and Jonathan from the Activities Team surpass your expectation and went out of their ways to make sure you were pleased and satisfied during your vacation stay. It is only through them that we can be a successful Company.

We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again here in “your home away from home” Melia Caribe Tropical

Sincerely,

Helia Estrella
Web community Liaison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8,276 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3,968
    2,413
    922
    520
    453
See reviews for
2826
2739
105
112
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,682)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, NJ
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We recently had our wedding at this resort and it went horribly wrong for us. Poor organization and coordination from the event staff. They had our guests spread all over the resort with no way of communicating with anyone. Everyone of our guests ended up changing rooms, due to distance from the main lobby where most of the entertainment took place, or broken ceiling fan, AC units or plumbing. The wedding coordinator did "NOTHING" but stand idol. Had to argue and fuss to get our wedding attire pressed for the wedding day. Instead of accommodating us, the staff chose to argue back and act as if they had no idea if this simple request could be fulfilled. None of the staff knew what the other was doing. Their lack of communication with each other should have been our first indication that they had no idea what was going on. When guests walked out of the reception hall for the restroom they were left in total darkness as they left no lights on for us. Had to find everything ourselves and most of our guests were left confused and trying to make heads or tails of things.
From a vacationing perspective it didn't get any better. You needed to make reservations for dinner. The food was OK with the menu being pretty much the same no matter which restaurant you visited. Everything else was buffet and same food throughout. Low end liquor throughout, no internet, very poor communication, long walks or (tram) to beach/pool or for those in rooms by beach/pool long walks to lobby and restaurant. Very hard to communicate with staff and staff had difficulties providing information.

Room Tip: More for a family with small kids resort. Many locals vacation at this resort. If staying here get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aris_MCT, Web Community Liaison at Melia Caribe Tropical, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Bryan S..

Regards from Meliá Caribe Tropical.

We would like to express our thankfulness for your preference in selecting our hotel to celebrate such a special occasion. We truly regret that there were several situations that tarnished your wedding celebration. Please accept our most sincere apologies for the discomfort these situations have caused you.

Our wedding department staff works on continually to coordinate a quality service based on providing unique and spectacular experiences that create long lasting memories to our visitors from start to finish. We understand that everybody lives their wedding day as a date of utmost importance, which is why we regret to know that in your case you experience some situations and as a result you felt upset after your reception party. Would like to express you our sincerest apologies for the inconveniences experienced.

We would also like to apologize for the stress or sense of careless you may have obtained, as well as for the lack of communication perceived among our different departments.

We also regret the situations encountered with your guest room assignment; our front desk staff is trained to provide to all our guests an efficient, professional and prompt registration process; we are saddened to know that this service was not as you expected.

In pursuit of excellence in our service, our rooms are submitted to daily revisions from our maintenance department. Normally our rooms are ready and satisfy the requirements of our clients, which is why we are really sorry for the uneasiness you and your group may experienced due to some maintenance issues.

We truly regret any difficulties you may have experienced when communicating with our staff. We have a compromise ahead of us concerning this issue. As a matter of fact, we provide intensive educational courses, including English classes, since we understand the importance in our continuous effort to improve the quality of our customer service. Nonetheless, I can assure you that all the departments that are directly in contact with our guests have an English-speaking staff.

We cannot express enough how sorry we are for not being able to accomplish our objective in this opportunity and that your special occasion did not meet your entire expectations. We understand that we only have one opportunity to make a first impression; nevertheless, we hope to have the honor to serve you in another occasion.

Sincerely,

Helia Estrella
Web Community Liaison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmingdale, New York
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Upgrade to Royal Service period...
You can negotiate the price and its the best $ spent
You will not get all of this if you don't
1. Top shelf liquor
2. Access to the best restaurant Gabi. This means filet mignon and lobster every night if you want.
3. Private beach
4. Private Pool
5. Free wifi
6. Room Service
7. Butler
8. Priority reservations at the other restaurants ( but the Gabi should be your only choice)

The property is beautiful and beach is gorgeous

The only cons:
Nobody really speaks English-- but whatever easy to figure it out on your own

Tip:
Bring really comfortable shoes. Skip the high heels, the cobblestone paths are everywhere

Room Tip: If you want to be near gabi, royal service pool, casino, bar, restaurants.... Stay in 41. Even if yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aris_MCT, Web Community Liaison at Melia Caribe Tropical, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Warmest regards from Punta Cana.

We would like to thank you for having taken the time to share and public your comments regarding your recent stay in our property.

We are pleased to know that you have a wonderful experience in our Royal Service area and that you found our services above your expectations.

Thank you for your comments in reference to the beauty of our beach and hotel facilities; we constantly make our best efforts to conserve the surroundings as well as the natural resources. Our goal is to be the scenery in which take place spectacular experiences that create long lasting memories to our visitors.

We do hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you in another occasion.

Kind regards,

Helia Estrella
Web Community Liaison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

We traveled in early June and the resort and grounds we what you would expect to fine. I have stayed in the Dominican several times before and the resort was very nice. The food was fine and the service was to be expected.
I only have two complaints, one is the size of the resort. This place is very big, My guess was that the restaurant's were about a mile from our room. Yes the have a train, but its full most of the time and takes longer than walking.
The other is service, most of the staff was fine, but we did not spent the extra money for the Royal service and there is big difference.

All things being equal I would not return to this resort.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aris_MCT, Web Community Liaison at Melia Caribe Tropical, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Rick B,

Warmest regards from Punta Cana.

We would like to thank you for having preferred our property as your holiday destination for the enjoyment of your recent vacation. Our hotel is passionate about customer satisfaction. Our goal is to build strong customer relationships as well as providing spectacular experiences that create long lasting memories to our visitors. We are glad to know that in your case we were able to achieve our target.

As a service-oriented company, our objective is not only to fulfill, but also surpass our guests' expectations therefore we are very concerned about knowing that some of our services did not meet your expectations.

Our staff members are the most important asset we have, therefore we are concerned about the impression you may have taken from some of our co-workers and as well as difference in the service provided to all our guest. We trained our staff to bring the same level of service to each guest without exception or discrimination. We would like to extend you our most sincere apologies for the bad feelings this may have left you.


Thank you once again for making us aware of these circumstances; we sincerely hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again in the near future, here in “your home away from home.”

Kind regards,

Helia Estrella
Web Community Liaison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Leandro, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

We have 5 families (19) to stay 5 nights in Bldg 1 between 6/24 - 6/29. First check in was a nighmare, they used different name that we used to book the room with Costco. Hotel didn't offer for Royal Service upgrade and we didnt' even want to ask more question because we just want to get our key and get to our room. When we tried to get on the first train, we saw an empty yellow train passed by two times but not pick up anyone. Turns out we were told that's for Royal Services only. On the last night before our departure, 3 of the rooms key not working lucky we saw one of the security guard so he immediately took our cards by bike to lobby and fix the issue.

We have 5 rooms on the ground floor in Bldg 1 and all of us have mosquito bites, even after we asked the room service to spray the rooms. We found out later the doors were widely open when maid clean up the rooms so spray not much help. Also, the sewer from the bathroom caused the unpleasant smell. The room we stayed #0107, the bathroom was finished like motel, the grout like paste everywhere, it feels like a motel when I used it. The fridge wasnt' cold at all, compared to other 2 rooms next to us. I complainted to the maid but she said it's the way it is. The fridge only stock with 2 bottles of soda and 2 bottles of water, 1 small bag of snack. My families who stayed at Barcelo and Paradius, they said they stock more drinks included beer and more snack.

Specialiies Restaurant can only book a day in advance, you can opt to pay $5 for 48/96 hrs in advance. I tried French, Italian and American grill, to me the food are all taste the same and nothing special. We like the International Buffet in the lobby building instead.

The beach is nice and the pools are alright. It's free to use Kayake and windsurf but you need to book in advance.

Security guards can be seen everywhere, at night they have one guard in every 2 buildings, also in the beach to avoid the solicitors.

It's my first Punta Cana Trip and I dont think I will go back to this resort again.

Room Tip: Check with Front Desk to get 2 twin or 1 King. The front desk didn't tell/ask us at all and we j...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aris_MCT, Web Community Liaison at Melia Caribe Tropical, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Receive our warmest regards from Punta Cana.

We are saddened to know that there were some situations that distracted your attention from the enjoyment of your vacation. Our goal is to provide spectacular experiences that create long lasting memories to our visitors; therefore we regret that your expectations were not fulfilled.

We are truly concerned about your comments regarding your registration process; our front desk staff is trained to provide efficient and professional services to all our guests, giving them information about our facilities and room categories in order to accommodate our clients in rooms with better facilities according to their preferences should they decided to upgrade their booking, as well as assigning them correct rooms. We apologize is this was not your case.

Concerning the insects you may have encountered in your rooms, we can assure that fumigation programs are continuously carried out; however, due to the location of our property, the tropical climate and lush vegetation surrounding our villas; it may be possible that an insect can be found in a room. We apologize for the inconveniences this may have cause you. Please note the well being of our clients is certainly a priority for us.

Our rooms are subjected to daily revisions from our maintenance and housekeeping departments; however, there might be situations that can arise during our guests stay. We deeply regret that your room was affected by some maintenance and housekeeping issues and as a result you may have obtained a negative impression of our services. You can rest assure the departments involved were duly informed in order to avoid these situations from reoccurring.

We sincerely appreciate the time you have taken to send us your feedback and valuable recommendations towards the improvement of our services. It is only through our client´s comments that we are able to identify the areas where we need to improve and provide the necessary measures as to avoid them from reoccurring.

We would like to extend our most sincere apologies for any inconveniences these situations may have caused you and sincerely hope that these do not deprive us of having the pleasure of welcoming you again in order to be able to change the bad feelings this stay may have left you.

Sincerely,

Helia Estrella
Web Community Liaison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queens, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

We had an awesome time at Melia Caribe Tropical! Our vacation was for 5 days and it was definitely worthwhile. Since the time we arrived at the Punta Cana Airport, the service was nothing less than very good. Finding a cab to take us to the resort was easy and quick. The cab driver, Ezequiel, charged us a reasonable $ 30. Once we arrived at Melia we were nicely greeted by the host in front of the hotel and we checked in quickly, our luggage was transported by one of the drivers. Melia was a huge resort! We needed to grab a small train which is within the resort to take us to different places within the resort. Some things to keep in mind: bring at least $50 in singles to tip the employees, especially the bartenders because they do a wonderful job with the drinks, do your dinner reservations early in the morning because they fill up quickly, bring comfortable clothes, sneakers and flip flops for walking within Melia premises, bring bug body spray. Overall, the customer service was excellent, the food was great, the drinks were fantastic, and the resort was clean! I need to give a shout out to Ramon, Felipe, and Walquidia for everything they did for us!! we will definitely return next year.

Room Tip: There are a couple of different sections within the hotel. We were in suites # 31 which was 5 minute...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aris_MCT, Web Community Liaison at Melia Caribe Tropical, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Dear Cristina C,

Warmest regards from Punta Cana,

We sincerely appreciate your preference to our Meliá Caribe Tropical for the enjoyment of your recent vacation.

We are pleased to know that you have experience an awesome vacation in our property thanks to the services and attention provided by our co workers. We feel proud and grateful for your compliments on the efforts and dedication demonstrated by our staff and services; it is thanks to our Employees that we are able to accomplish our goal – the total satisfaction of our guests. Please be sure we will share this comment with our staff.

We would like to have the pleasure of welcoming you in another occasion here in “your home away from home”.

Kind regards,


Helia Estrella
Web Community Liaison.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is rude ... They do not help their clients despite royal VIP service ... There was a spider in my room large like a Tarantula and it took over 50 min for service to come and handle the situation. Management asked me to help .. Let me understand that after paying extra for these amenities why would you think I am going to help. I helped by not suing you when I get but by the spider. I finally had to demand they spray and clean the room as there were no comparable rooms to move me.. This is not acceptable.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aris_MCT, Web Community Liaison at Melia Caribe Tropical, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Warmest regards from Punta Cana.

We would like to thank you for having taken the time to shared and public your comments regarding your recent stay in our property.

Our hotel is passionate about customer satisfaction; our goal is to build strong and trusted customer relationships and therefore we truly regret that your visit to our property was not as satisfactory as we would have wished.

We truly regret to know that there were some situations that prevented you for the total enjoyment of your vacation. we can assure that fumigation programs are continuously carried out; however, due to the location of our property, the tropical climate and lush vegetation surrounding our villas; it may be possible that some insects or animals intrinsic to the natural setting can be found in our areas. We would like to extend our sincere apologies if any inconveniences were caused by this situation.

Our staff members are the most important asset we have, therefore we are concerned about the impression you may have taken from some of our co-workers, as we are always more than willing to assist all our clients with any situation they may have as well as giving a proper follow up to the situations that might arise. We would like to apologize for any sense of careless you may have obtained.

Once again we would like to reiterate our apologies for the difficulties you may have experienced deriving from this incident. We are aware that there is always room for improvement and that is why we make consistent efforts in order to recognize the areas that need special attention.

We will like to have the pleasure to welcome you again in a future occasion and have the opportunity to change the bad memories this stay may have left you.


Kind regards,


Helia Estrella
Web Community Liaison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Melia Caribe Tropical? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Caribe Tropical

Also Known As:
Melia Caribe
Punta Cana Melia Caribe Tropical
Sol Melia Punta Cana
Melia Caribe Punta Cana
Melia Punta Cana
Melia Caribe Tropical Punta Cana
Melia Tropical
Melia Tropical Punta Cana
Melia Hotel Punta Cana
Address: Playa de Bavaro, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#15 Business Hotel in Punta Cana
#23 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#24 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#26 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#28 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#28 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia Caribe Tropical 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Melia, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., BookIt.com, Tingo, Agoda, Venere, Orbitz and Otel so you can book your Melia Caribe Tropical reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melia Caribe Tropical, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.