We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not plan a wedding here.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Melia Caribe Tropical

Save Saved
You added Melia Caribe Tropical to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Melia Caribe Tropical
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Playa de Bavaro, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 100 hotels in Punta Cana
Washington, NJ
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Do not plan a wedding here.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We recently had our wedding at this resort and it went horribly wrong for us. Poor organization and coordination from the event staff. They had our guests spread all over the resort with no way of communicating with anyone. Everyone of our guests ended up changing rooms, due to distance from the main lobby where most of the entertainment took place, or broken ceiling fan, AC units or plumbing. The wedding coordinator did "NOTHING" but stand idol. Had to argue and fuss to get our wedding attire pressed for the wedding day. Instead of accommodating us, the staff chose to argue back and act as if they had no idea if this simple request could be fulfilled. None of the staff knew what the other was doing. Their lack of communication with each other should have been our first indication that they had no idea what was going on. When guests walked out of the reception hall for the restroom they were left in total darkness as they left no lights on for us. Had to find everything ourselves and most of our guests were left confused and trying to make heads or tails of things.
From a vacationing perspective it didn't get any better. You needed to make reservations for dinner. The food was OK with the menu being pretty much the same no matter which restaurant you visited. Everything else was buffet and same food throughout. Low end liquor throughout, no internet, very poor communication, long walks or (tram) to beach/pool or for those in rooms by beach/pool long walks to lobby and restaurant. Very hard to communicate with staff and staff had difficulties providing information.

Room Tip: More for a family with small kids resort. Many locals vacation at this resort. If staying here get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aris_MCT, Web Community Liaison at Melia Caribe Tropical, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Bryan S..

Regards from Meliá Caribe Tropical.

We would like to express our thankfulness for your preference in selecting our hotel to celebrate such a special occasion. We truly regret that there were several situations that tarnished your wedding celebration. Please accept our most sincere apologies for the discomfort these situations have caused you.

Our wedding department staff works on continually to coordinate a quality service based on providing unique and spectacular experiences that create long lasting memories to our visitors from start to finish. We understand that everybody lives their wedding day as a date of utmost importance, which is why we regret to know that in your case you experience some situations and as a result you felt upset after your reception party. Would like to express you our sincerest apologies for the inconveniences experienced.

We would also like to apologize for the stress or sense of careless you may have obtained, as well as for the lack of communication perceived among our different departments.

We also regret the situations encountered with your guest room assignment; our front desk staff is trained to provide to all our guests an efficient, professional and prompt registration process; we are saddened to know that this service was not as you expected.

In pursuit of excellence in our service, our rooms are submitted to daily revisions from our maintenance department. Normally our rooms are ready and satisfy the requirements of our clients, which is why we are really sorry for the uneasiness you and your group may experienced due to some maintenance issues.

We truly regret any difficulties you may have experienced when communicating with our staff. We have a compromise ahead of us concerning this issue. As a matter of fact, we provide intensive educational courses, including English classes, since we understand the importance in our continuous effort to improve the quality of our customer service. Nonetheless, I can assure you that all the departments that are directly in contact with our guests have an English-speaking staff.

We cannot express enough how sorry we are for not being able to accomplish our objective in this opportunity and that your special occasion did not meet your entire expectations. We understand that we only have one opportunity to make a first impression; nevertheless, we hope to have the honor to serve you in another occasion.

Sincerely,

Helia Estrella
Web Community Liaison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9,229 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    4,536
    2,656
    1,015
    544
    478
See reviews for
3128
3120
129
144
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,955)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Farmingdale, New York
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Upgrade to Royal Service period...
You can negotiate the price and its the best $ spent
You will not get all of this if you don't
1. Top shelf liquor
2. Access to the best restaurant Gabi. This means filet mignon and lobster every night if you want.
3. Private beach
4. Private Pool
5. Free wifi
6. Room Service
7. Butler
8. Priority reservations at the other restaurants ( but the Gabi should be your only choice)

The property is beautiful and beach is gorgeous

The only cons:
Nobody really speaks English-- but whatever easy to figure it out on your own

Tip:
Bring really comfortable shoes. Skip the high heels, the cobblestone paths are everywhere

Room Tip: If you want to be near gabi, royal service pool, casino, bar, restaurants.... Stay in 41. Even if yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aris_MCT, Web Community Liaison at Melia Caribe Tropical, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Warmest regards from Punta Cana.

We would like to thank you for having taken the time to share and public your comments regarding your recent stay in our property.

We are pleased to know that you have a wonderful experience in our Royal Service area and that you found our services above your expectations.

Thank you for your comments in reference to the beauty of our beach and hotel facilities; we constantly make our best efforts to conserve the surroundings as well as the natural resources. Our goal is to be the scenery in which take place spectacular experiences that create long lasting memories to our visitors.

We do hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you in another occasion.

Kind regards,

Helia Estrella
Web Community Liaison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

We traveled in early June and the resort and grounds we what you would expect to fine. I have stayed in the Dominican several times before and the resort was very nice. The food was fine and the service was to be expected.
I only have two complaints, one is the size of the resort. This place is very big, My guess was that the restaurant's were about a mile from our room. Yes the have a train, but its full most of the time and takes longer than walking.
The other is service, most of the staff was fine, but we did not spent the extra money for the Royal service and there is big difference.

All things being equal I would not return to this resort.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aris_MCT, Web Community Liaison at Melia Caribe Tropical, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Rick B,

Warmest regards from Punta Cana.

We would like to thank you for having preferred our property as your holiday destination for the enjoyment of your recent vacation. Our hotel is passionate about customer satisfaction. Our goal is to build strong customer relationships as well as providing spectacular experiences that create long lasting memories to our visitors. We are glad to know that in your case we were able to achieve our target.

As a service-oriented company, our objective is not only to fulfill, but also surpass our guests' expectations therefore we are very concerned about knowing that some of our services did not meet your expectations.

Our staff members are the most important asset we have, therefore we are concerned about the impression you may have taken from some of our co-workers and as well as difference in the service provided to all our guest. We trained our staff to bring the same level of service to each guest without exception or discrimination. We would like to extend you our most sincere apologies for the bad feelings this may have left you.


Thank you once again for making us aware of these circumstances; we sincerely hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again in the near future, here in “your home away from home.”

Kind regards,

Helia Estrella
Web Community Liaison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Leandro, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

We have 5 families (19) to stay 5 nights in Bldg 1 between 6/24 - 6/29. First check in was a nighmare, they used different name that we used to book the room with Costco. Hotel didn't offer for Royal Service upgrade and we didnt' even want to ask more question because we just want to get our key and get to our room. When we tried to get on the first train, we saw an empty yellow train passed by two times but not pick up anyone. Turns out we were told that's for Royal Services only. On the last night before our departure, 3 of the rooms key not working lucky we saw one of the security guard so he immediately took our cards by bike to lobby and fix the issue.

We have 5 rooms on the ground floor in Bldg 1 and all of us have mosquito bites, even after we asked the room service to spray the rooms. We found out later the doors were widely open when maid clean up the rooms so spray not much help. Also, the sewer from the bathroom caused the unpleasant smell. The room we stayed #0107, the bathroom was finished like motel, the grout like paste everywhere, it feels like a motel when I used it. The fridge wasnt' cold at all, compared to other 2 rooms next to us. I complainted to the maid but she said it's the way it is. The fridge only stock with 2 bottles of soda and 2 bottles of water, 1 small bag of snack. My families who stayed at Barcelo and Paradius, they said they stock more drinks included beer and more snack.

Specialiies Restaurant can only book a day in advance, you can opt to pay $5 for 48/96 hrs in advance. I tried French, Italian and American grill, to me the food are all taste the same and nothing special. We like the International Buffet in the lobby building instead.

The beach is nice and the pools are alright. It's free to use Kayake and windsurf but you need to book in advance.

Security guards can be seen everywhere, at night they have one guard in every 2 buildings, also in the beach to avoid the solicitors.

It's my first Punta Cana Trip and I dont think I will go back to this resort again.

Room Tip: Check with Front Desk to get 2 twin or 1 King. The front desk didn't tell/ask us at all and we j...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aris_MCT, Web Community Liaison at Melia Caribe Tropical, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Receive our warmest regards from Punta Cana.

We are saddened to know that there were some situations that distracted your attention from the enjoyment of your vacation. Our goal is to provide spectacular experiences that create long lasting memories to our visitors; therefore we regret that your expectations were not fulfilled.

We are truly concerned about your comments regarding your registration process; our front desk staff is trained to provide efficient and professional services to all our guests, giving them information about our facilities and room categories in order to accommodate our clients in rooms with better facilities according to their preferences should they decided to upgrade their booking, as well as assigning them correct rooms. We apologize is this was not your case.

Concerning the insects you may have encountered in your rooms, we can assure that fumigation programs are continuously carried out; however, due to the location of our property, the tropical climate and lush vegetation surrounding our villas; it may be possible that an insect can be found in a room. We apologize for the inconveniences this may have cause you. Please note the well being of our clients is certainly a priority for us.

Our rooms are subjected to daily revisions from our maintenance and housekeeping departments; however, there might be situations that can arise during our guests stay. We deeply regret that your room was affected by some maintenance and housekeeping issues and as a result you may have obtained a negative impression of our services. You can rest assure the departments involved were duly informed in order to avoid these situations from reoccurring.

We sincerely appreciate the time you have taken to send us your feedback and valuable recommendations towards the improvement of our services. It is only through our client´s comments that we are able to identify the areas where we need to improve and provide the necessary measures as to avoid them from reoccurring.

We would like to extend our most sincere apologies for any inconveniences these situations may have caused you and sincerely hope that these do not deprive us of having the pleasure of welcoming you again in order to be able to change the bad feelings this stay may have left you.

Sincerely,

Helia Estrella
Web Community Liaison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queens, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

We had an awesome time at Melia Caribe Tropical! Our vacation was for 5 days and it was definitely worthwhile. Since the time we arrived at the Punta Cana Airport, the service was nothing less than very good. Finding a cab to take us to the resort was easy and quick. The cab driver, Ezequiel, charged us a reasonable $ 30. Once we arrived at Melia we were nicely greeted by the host in front of the hotel and we checked in quickly, our luggage was transported by one of the drivers. Melia was a huge resort! We needed to grab a small train which is within the resort to take us to different places within the resort. Some things to keep in mind: bring at least $50 in singles to tip the employees, especially the bartenders because they do a wonderful job with the drinks, do your dinner reservations early in the morning because they fill up quickly, bring comfortable clothes, sneakers and flip flops for walking within Melia premises, bring bug body spray. Overall, the customer service was excellent, the food was great, the drinks were fantastic, and the resort was clean! I need to give a shout out to Ramon, Felipe, and Walquidia for everything they did for us!! we will definitely return next year.

Room Tip: There are a couple of different sections within the hotel. We were in suites # 31 which was 5 minute...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aris_MCT, Web Community Liaison at Melia Caribe Tropical, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Dear Cristina C,

Warmest regards from Punta Cana,

We sincerely appreciate your preference to our Meliá Caribe Tropical for the enjoyment of your recent vacation.

We are pleased to know that you have experience an awesome vacation in our property thanks to the services and attention provided by our co workers. We feel proud and grateful for your compliments on the efforts and dedication demonstrated by our staff and services; it is thanks to our Employees that we are able to accomplish our goal – the total satisfaction of our guests. Please be sure we will share this comment with our staff.

We would like to have the pleasure of welcoming you in another occasion here in “your home away from home”.

Kind regards,


Helia Estrella
Web Community Liaison.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is rude ... They do not help their clients despite royal VIP service ... There was a spider in my room large like a Tarantula and it took over 50 min for service to come and handle the situation. Management asked me to help .. Let me understand that after paying extra for these amenities why would you think I am going to help. I helped by not suing you when I get but by the spider. I finally had to demand they spray and clean the room as there were no comparable rooms to move me.. This is not acceptable.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aris_MCT, Web Community Liaison at Melia Caribe Tropical, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Warmest regards from Punta Cana.

We would like to thank you for having taken the time to shared and public your comments regarding your recent stay in our property.

Our hotel is passionate about customer satisfaction; our goal is to build strong and trusted customer relationships and therefore we truly regret that your visit to our property was not as satisfactory as we would have wished.

We truly regret to know that there were some situations that prevented you for the total enjoyment of your vacation. we can assure that fumigation programs are continuously carried out; however, due to the location of our property, the tropical climate and lush vegetation surrounding our villas; it may be possible that some insects or animals intrinsic to the natural setting can be found in our areas. We would like to extend our sincere apologies if any inconveniences were caused by this situation.

Our staff members are the most important asset we have, therefore we are concerned about the impression you may have taken from some of our co-workers, as we are always more than willing to assist all our clients with any situation they may have as well as giving a proper follow up to the situations that might arise. We would like to apologize for any sense of careless you may have obtained.

Once again we would like to reiterate our apologies for the difficulties you may have experienced deriving from this incident. We are aware that there is always room for improvement and that is why we make consistent efforts in order to recognize the areas that need special attention.

We will like to have the pleasure to welcome you again in a future occasion and have the opportunity to change the bad memories this stay may have left you.


Kind regards,


Helia Estrella
Web Community Liaison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Before writing this review, I re-read the previous reviews as a basis for comparison. Here are my findings:

Pros: The resort is absolutely beautiful, landscaping is impeccable, grounds are very clean and lovely. The beach is amazing and stretches for miles. I vacationed with nine family members and we never had a problem finding beach chairs with plenty of space to spread out. I will admit there was more seaweed than I would have expected, but I found it along the beaches of neighboring resorts as well as we walked the beautiful beach, so it wasn't exclusive to Melia. We were housed near Flintstone Land and, in addition to a couple of smaller pools for children, the large pool was great. It wasn't easy getting chairs together for our group at the pool because guests got up early in order to save seats by leaving their towels on them, but we did just fine and had no complaints. The one complaint I do have regarding this pool has to do with what another reviewer mentioned and that is the cluster of large rocks near the hot tub that kids were jumping and diving off. The reviewer was concerned about the safety aspect of this practice because the water is not terribly deep in this area. According to Helia Estrella, spokesperson for Melia, "these concerns have been sent to the Departments involved". The date of that review was April 2. We were there just last week (June 23) and we had the exact same concerns so apparently nothing has been enacted yet to prevent this practice. One of the days was rainy and since it was just a light shower we did not leave the pool. We were shocked to see children climbing and diving off the rocks which were slick with rain. This was definitely an accident waiting to happen. We were even more shocked that none of their parents came to stop them. Perhaps they were at the nearby pool bar and did not notice that their children were at risk.

We have read a lot of negative remarks about the food, but we all thought the food was quite good, with the exception of the Thai restaurant. Besides the food being terrible, so was the service. Without going into detail, the staff and food left a lot to be desired and we ended up going to the Marketplace Buffet which was always a treat. We had no problem getting reservations to the specialty restaurants for the five days we were there, except one of the reservations was for a restaurant that we did not originally select, but it turned out to be a nice evening anyway. This was all accomplished with the help of our travel agency, so kudos to Liberty Travel!

Cons: As long as we were outside of our rooms, we had an awesome vacation. The problems hit closer to home and were more of a personal nature. The language barrier is a huge problem. Unless you speak Spanish, you may encounter problems. We had no problem with check-in, however, we were frustrated by not being able to get a straight answer from the staff for the entire duration of our trip. I was even told "I don't know" on a couple of occasions without even trying to find someone to help. I saw staff members speak to each other in Spanish and then laugh between themselves when asked a question by a guest. Very disrespectful and a complete lack of caring for the guest's comfort. Our maid did not understand English, but luckily I was able to leave her little notes in my limited Spanish whenever we needed anything. I agree with other reviewers who say it appeared they rationed the toilet paper. We had two adults and two children in our room, so I felt more comfortable having a couple of rolls at a time. We had to call the front desk every single day for wash cloths.

Rooms were just OK, nothing special. We spent the majority of the day outside so it did not bother us that they were a bit tattered. Might be wise to ask for a room on the second floor. We had three rooms between us and the two parties who had ground floor rooms had to be moved due to bug infestation. One of the couples were moved to the other side of the resort so that was a disappointment, but we were still together outside and at most meals.

This is a huge resort and I suggest you make the decision on where you want to room before checking in. We were in Bldg. 3 which is very close to the pool, beach and a breakfast/lunch buffet. Considering we had three children with us, it worked out wonderfully during the day. Our problem was the dinner hour and getting to the specialty restaurants in a timely manner. Unless you walk, you have to rely on the trains (motorized open-air transports with benches). I'd have to say that I found these trains to be extremely annoying. Because we were in Bldg. 3, we were at the extreme end of the resort so by the time the trains arrived at our stop, they were usually full. If it was raining, the top of the trains were covered with a thick plastic sheet that enveloped the carts. I realize this is to keep guests dry, however, it is the equivalent of being covered in Saran wrap and it was a very uncomfortable ride. If you happened to be seated in front, in addition to trying to breathe in the hot cart, you also had to deal with fumes from the truck which was pulling the train. On our last day, we had 7pm dinner reservations. We could not get on the first train due to overcrowding, the second train had four seats so we sent the children and one adult ahead. The rest of us (five adults) did not arrive at the restaurant until 8:10pm because we had to wait until the third train arrived. The trains run every 15 minutes, but I would suggest Melia increase the trips between 6-9pm to accommodate guests who have dinner reservations. Give yourself extra time for transport, the trains are very slow.

To sum it up, we had a wonderful vacation because we were together and Melia is a beautiful property. Would I return? No, because we had problems five out of seven days and that is unacceptable at any resort. Staffers definitely need to learn to communicate better and even more importantly they need to act like they actually care that their guests are well-taken care of. I have no complaint about tipping because I always take plenty of $1, $5 and $10 bills for this purpose. Some of the reviews I have read stated they tipped and still got bad service. This says a lot about the resort.

Room Tip: If you prefer to be at pool/beach most of the day, the area of Bldg 1-3 is very convenient, especial...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aris_MCT, Web Community Liaison at Melia Caribe Tropical, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Dear Julia988,

Warms regards from Punta Cana.

First of all we would like to express you our gratitude for having selecting us as your destination for your family-group vacation. We also thank you for taking the time to public your impressions, it is only through our guest comments that we are able to continue in the pursuit of excellence.

We are pleased to know that you find our landscaping and grounds absolutely beautiful, we made consisting efforts to care and maintained our beautiful vegetation for the amusement of our guest.

We would like to point out that our pools areas have the mandatory signals and regulations according to international standards; this said there is always room for improvement which is why we will reinforce signals within the mentioned premise and platform in order to prevent incidents. We would like you to know that our Guests safety is a top priority for us, especially children´s safety.

In reference to the remarks about insects found in rooms, we can assure that fumigation programs are continuously carried out; however, due to the location of our property, the tropical climate and lush vegetation surrounding our villas; we apologize for the inconveniences some of your friends experienced.

Concerning the transportation issue, we are saddened to know about the difficulties you may have experienced when trying to go from one place to another. Please note that we are continuously working to update our transportation system in order to speed up this service around our property, as well as we are already looking for other alternatives that give us better results in an eco friendly manner.

As a service-oriented company, our objective is not only to fulfill, but also surpass our guests' expectations therefore we are very concerned about knowing that some of our services did not meet your expectations. We truly regret to know that you perceived deficiencies in our customer service employees’ skills to communicate in English. Even though it is challenging to find team members with different language skills our goal is to constantly provide development skill within the property so that our team is constantly learning.

Thank you once again for your comments that will help us to improve our services by identifying the areas that need a special attention in order for us to take them in consideration. You can be assured that we have shared with the departments involved all your observations.

One more time, we apologize for the negative impression you may obtained, we sincerely hope to have he opportunity to welcome you again and change the bad memories this stay may have left you.

Sincerely,

Helia Estrella
Web Community Liaison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Melia Caribe Tropical? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Caribe Tropical

Address: Playa de Bavaro, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#23 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#23 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#26 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#27 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#27 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#29 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia Caribe Tropical 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Venere, Melia, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Melia Caribe Tropical reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Punta Cana Melia Caribe Tropical
Sol Melia Punta Cana
Melia Caribe Punta Cana
Melia Punta Cana
Melia Caribe Tropical Punta Cana
Melia Tropical Punta Cana
Melia Hotel Punta Cana
Melia Caribe Tropical Resort
Punta Cana Melia Caribe Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melia Caribe Tropical, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.