We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“vacation 2013” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Melia Caribe Tropical

Save Saved
You added Melia Caribe Tropical to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Melia Caribe Tropical
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Playa de Bavaro, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 101 hotels in Punta Cana
Long Island, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“vacation 2013”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

This is our 8th year and we still love it here and planning on coming back next year.Spend a week with grandchildren and 1 week with 4 of our friends. Can't get any better than that. The staff is always friendly and helpful. Just to mention a few, Herbert Matos and Johnny Yemesi, Yipolito Cedano,Washington Martinez, Anny Gonzalez,Gladis of housekeeping (we love Gladis), Jiovel Leboff, Toribo Rivera, Ubardo, Matera, Ysrael, Santana, Welington Martinez.
A couple request. More chairs by the pool and beach please. And a beach bar would be great. Free computer excess in the room would be wonderful. I could bring my laptop to check on things like when our flight got canceled due to the snow storm. That would have helped greatly. The staff at the vacation club where great and help us find a flight home.
The food at the market place was very good. Better than that the beach buffet. I have to say we never went hungry, but the food should be just as good there as at the market place. The other restaurants where good. The drink service was a little slow, so we picked up our drinks on the way to the restaurant. Maybe you should have a bar where waitstaff could get drinks for restaurants only. Just a thought. Room service also would be nice. The fridge in the room is great and a couple of beers in it would be even greater. Sitting on the patio in the evening sipping a beer would be very relaxing. Forget the wine we tried it so many times and its not good. Non of us liked it. Its a waste of money. A bottle of champagne would be better.
Well I think thats all. Looking forward to my 2 weeks stay next year.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aris_MCT, Web Community Liaison at Melia Caribe Tropical, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Dear oma3t;

Warmest regards from Punta Cana,

Thank you very much for your review. It is a pleasure to know that you really enjoy your stay with us. It was our goal to make sure that your stay was graded as excellent. We really appreciate your comment.

We feel proud and grateful for your compliments on the efforts and dedication demonstrated by: Heribert Matos, Johnny Yemesi, Hipolito Cedano, Washington Martinez, Anny Gonzalez, Gladis, Jiovel Leboff, Toribio Rivera, Ubaldo Natera, Ysrael Santana and Wellington Martinez; it’s thanks to employees like them that we are able to accomplish our goal, the total satisfaction of our guests. Please be sure we will share this comment with our staff.

We do hope to have the opportunity to serve you here again at your Home away from Home Melia Caribe Tropical.

Sincerely,

Helia Estrella
Web Community Liaison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9,603 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    4,738
    2,756
    1,061
    555
    493
See reviews for
3286
3235
138
145
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,081)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

my wife and i stayed at the melia tropical in mid-january. loved it. fourth year in he dominican, this was the third different resort that we stayed, all were 5 gold apples...this was the best.we enjoy the big resorts where it takes a few days to get the lay of the land. the ground were kept up great! we stayed in building #25...20 feet from the pool and pool bar.the lobbys and resteurants were a short train ride(might have to wait 5 minutes to catch). the food was great...better than our previous trips. never a problem getting a reservation. lots to do in the lobby area in the evening. plenty of bars(fonnie was grat in the avenue bar).we liked the diversity of people...met great people from russia, canada and germany. the rooms were clean and updated(no beer in the fridge though). it was quiet in the evenings. "papa" the entertainment director was awesome...9:00 in the morning till 11:00 at night. check-in and check-out went smooth. the staff is very freindly, alwas willing to answer questions. if your used to mexico...their english isn't nearly as good. never a problem getting chairs at the pool or the beach. there are vendors 150 yards away...they can be exausting...just hold your ground.
bottom line is , if you can't or don't want to walk, this isn't the place for you. great food, great atmosphere, beautifull complex.

greg in st. louis

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aris_MCT, Web Community Liaison at Melia Caribe Tropical, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Dear gmstl2013;

Warmest regards from Punta Cana,

Thank you very much for your review. It is a pleasure to know that you really enjoy your stay with us. It was our goal to make sure that your stay was graded as excellent. We really appreciate your comment.

We feel proud and grateful for your compliments on the efforts and dedication demonstrated by: Jan Luis, from the activities team; it’s thanks to employees like him that we are able to accomplish our goal, the total satisfaction of our guests. Please be sure we will share this comment with our staff.

We do hope to have the opportunity to serve you here again at your Home away from Home Melia Caribe Tropical.

Sincerely,

Helia Estrella
Web Community Liaison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Stayed here the first week in February 2013. Resort is really big -- but once you walk around a few times you get your bearings. They have a train cart that will take you around the resort - the train comes pretty often, and you will even get picked up by other staff driving golf carts if you're standing and waiting. the staff was really good at taking you where you wanted to go. We started out in building 7, with 2 double beds. The next day we got a call from the front desk asking if everything was ok, and we told them we wanted a King bed, like we booked, and within a half hour they phoned us back and had a King room for us. the housekeeping staff came and delivered our bags to our new room in building 8. Anything in building 6-7-8 are very close to the buffet by the beach - short walk from room. My sister had a small issue with her room -- the air wasn't working, and they came and fixed within a half hour, then phoned the room to make sure it got done. Our room the safe wasn't working, so the maintenance guy came within 10 minutes to fix, and then we got a phone call right away asking if it was all done. They were very attentive to any problems.

There are 2 smaller buffets by the beach, which are ok, but the BIG buffet is up by the lobby. This "marketplace" buffet has way more selection of food, so make the trip up there, even for lunch. Overall the buffets were ok. The main buffet only had "good" fish a couple of times. Thought there would have been more selection. One night there was deep fried shrimp and scallops, and grilled salmon. the rest of the time, it was one fish selection that looked "questionable". The vegetables at the buffet were in short supply too. I shouldn't complain, overall the food was good, never went hungry. The desserts were all the same every day. If you want ice cream at lunch, make sure you get there early, cuz it runs out. Went to 3 a'la'carte restaurants, they were all good. Also, they have a "steak and lobster" restaurant -- which was advertised at $49, but dropped down to $39, so we ate there too. If you like lobster, you have to eat here. We didn't know, but they gave us 2 lobsters EACH! Plus a filet steak, potatoe, vegetable. My husband and I would have shared a meal had we known there was that much food. The lobster was great -- some of our group couldn't even eat it all, and hadn't even touched their steak. One person in our group didn't eat lobster, so she just had the filet and potatoe, etc., and they didn't charge her for her meal (we knew this ahead of time).

Went on the Segway Eco-tour --- this was great! Very professional, safe, they made you wear a helmet, and you couldn't take pictures while riding on the Segway for safety reasons (but, of course I took pictures and they threatened to take my camera away!) Very scenic.

Went on the Scuba-Doo trip. This is where you have that bubble helmet on your head that you can breathe through, and you sit on a machine that you ride in the water -- kind of snorkelling with bubble helmet with air pocket. Only half the ppl on this trip could actually do it -- and they loved it. The other half -- myself included -- got under the water sitting on this machine, head in the helmet with air, able to breath, but it felt weird, dizzy from the motion, so i just got off -- others felt the same.

The staff all meant well, and most were very friendly and helpful. If I have any complaint, it's that a lot of the staff do NOT speak English very well. That's minor, but at times, it was very frustrating. The staff smile and nod at your request, but in the end you realize they don't have a clue what you're saying and your request is never fulfilled. We asked some staff if it was safe to walk on the beach at night to go down to the "Jellyfish" restaurant. They just looked at us and said it is dark, and not safe. They wouldn't say why, and they didn't have to explain, we didn't go at night. In the end we never made it to the Jellyfish, since the Scuba-Doo excursion was late. We wanted to hire a driver to drive us around the town, show us the sights, but we were told it is not safe to do that in Punta Cana. Don't have to tell me twice! There is a big shopping centre just outside the resort lobby. You just walk down the road and it's there. High end stores, and a few restaurants, including the Hard rock Cafe. Had a slice of pizza at the pizza place there one day and it was an adventure. The waitresses could hardly understand us - they couldn't speak English.

One more thing about the Scuba-Doo trip.................14 ppl crammed in a small van made for 10...........14 ppl crammed in a dinky boat made for 8 to get to the glass bottom boat. No life jackets. Fans not working, very hot inside the glass bottom boat -- ppl almost throwing up. NOT worth the money.

Normil Jean at the scuba shack was great! He came and visited every day -- not pushy. Daniel from the sunny-d excursion was very trustworthy -- and even met us in the lobby to make sure we got on the bus for the segway tour.
You might want to pick a spot on the beach by the buffet -- to go and get your drinks at. There is no waiter service at the beach, and you can understand why, the beach goes forever in both directions. Ppl complain about the drinks being watered down, but we didn't really find that. A lot of the guys were ordering DOUBLE's, and you sure got a stiff drink with that. And why do you need to drink the top shelf stuff when you're on holidays? Drink the local stuff -- it's just as good!

Weather was HOT, a 10 minute rain shower a couple days, that's it. Great weather.

Room Tip: The "royal" service is not worth it. The rooms are older, and really FAR from the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aris_MCT, Web Community Liaison at Melia Caribe Tropical, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear whattheheck13;

Warmest regards from Punta Cana,

Thank you very much for your review. It is a pleasure to know that you really enjoy your stay with us. It was our goal to make sure that your stay was graded as excellent. We really appreciate your comment.

We do hope to have the opportunity to serve you here again at your Home away from Home Melia Caribe Tropical.

Sincerely,

Helia Estrella
Web Community Liaison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtice
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

We stayed at this resort Feb 5 to Feb 12, 2013. Loved the resort, helpful @ courteous staff. Food was great, lots of choices. Our room was adequate @ clean. We felt safe while we where there. Our safe in our room didnt work when we arrived @ they came @ fixed it right away. The resort is large but we need to walk after eating so much good. Loved the buffet at the beach @ pool area. I would recommend this resort.

Room Tip: we stayed on the bottom so we didnt have to climb stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aris_MCT, Web Community Liaison at Melia Caribe Tropical, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear scugog08;

Warmest regards from Punta Cana,

Thank you very much for your review. It is a pleasure to know that you really enjoy your stay with us. It was our goal to make sure that your stay was graded as excellent. We really appreciate your comment.

We do hope to have the opportunity to serve you here again at your Home away from Home Melia Caribe Tropical.

Sincerely,

Helia Estrella
Web Community Liaison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

I want to provide some positive feedback:

Animator Melvin Santana made our stay and activities a lot of fun. He was punctual, polite and very friendly during activities on the beach including yoga stretching class, beach olympics, etc.

Definitely an asset to Melia. Also very pleasant was Yan Luis.

Both of them made our leisure time Melia experience very enjoyable.


Roy in Montreal

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aris_MCT, Web Community Liaison at Melia Caribe Tropical, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Roy A;

Warmest regards from Punta Cana,

Thanks for your positives commentaries; is a pleasure to us to know that you have had a really good time in our hotel; we hope you visit again Melia Caribe Tropical to have an unforgettable and better stay than the last one.

We feel proud and grateful for your compliments on the efforts and dedication demonstrated by: Melvin Santana and Yan Luis; it’s thanks to employees like them that we are able to accomplish our goal, the total satisfaction of our guests. Please be sure we will share this comment with our staff.

We do hope to have the opportunity to serve you here again at your Home away from Home Melia Caribe Tropical.

Sincerely,

Helia Estrella
Web Community Liaison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dowagiac
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

We stayed at the Melia Caribe Topical from January 28-February 4, 2013, along with four other couples. After 12 years of all inclusives, this is not what we expected of a "five golden apple" resort. While the pool, grounds and staff were wonderful we found it lacking in many respects.
First, personal items were taken from our room. While they were not expensive, it leads you to distrust the staff and your security level fall into question. Although managment said they would "make it right" we never heard from them again.
The food was very average and repetitive. For a resort with this rating, you should not be served flank steak when they advertise tenderloin. We tried five of the speciality resturants. The American Grill was the best by far. The others were "okay."
There is no beach bar or beach service unless you upgrate to "Gabi" when in fact the Gabi services were what should be expected for the entire resort when rated as a "five golden apple."
Upon checking in we, along with the four couples we were traveling with, were offered to upgrade to Gabi. However, we were quoted anywhere from $250 to $600 per couple for the same upgrade... beware of the upgrade and make sure you get the best price possible.
We would not stay at the Melia again when there are so many other resorts that offer superior services.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aris_MCT, Web Community Liaison at Melia Caribe Tropical, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear PreciousPookie;

Warmest regards from Punta Cana,

I would like to thank you for your preference in selecting our Melia Caribe Tropical for your vacation, as well as for letting us some details about your recent visit; I am Helia Estrella, Web community liaison. In our effort to continuously improve the quality of our services and facilities, we put our greatest interest and value in our guest's opinion. Please accept our apologies for the situations you experienced during your visit and any inconveniences that this may have caused.

I want to extend my sincerest apologies for the loss of some objects in our hotel; I can assure you this is not common in our hotel and that your comments regarding this incident will be taken in consideration in order to handle this type of incidents in a more effciente and satisfactory way will be taken in consideration. Please accept our apologies.

In relation with the variety and quality of the food offered in our restaurants we are rather surprised because carefully selected products compose our gastronomical supply, taking into consideration the diversity of clients who visit our hotel. Nevertheless, we are sorry that our food did not meet your expectations.

Once again, please accept our apologies for the inconveniences that you get through. Let this not be a motive for you not to stay with us in the future. I guarantee you that your comments has been forwarded to the departments involved in order to find and apply ways of improvement and be able to prevent future matters, if you wish to contact us on a private matter you may reach us at calidad.melia.tropical@meliacaribetropical.com.

Sincerely,

Helia Estrella
Web Community Liaison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
360 helpful votes 360 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Ups, Downs and horrible….bottom line is would not return to this particular resort maybe the upgraded side.



I was here Jan 28 to Feb 4 for a conference. I am an avid user of Trip Advisor and rely on the reviews and posts. I was a little concerned when I read most of the average to poor reviews for the Melia but must admit now that most of them are right on the mark.

I have been to a few All Inclusive in Mexico (Dreams, Rui’s, Iberostars, Marival) and must say that even the 3 star Marival had much better food and service then this Melia.

I am sure that their Web Community Liaison will come in and say something to the effect that the problems I listed will be looked into and fixed but really? After all of the reviews I read and all the replies he/she gave saying that it would be looked after Nothing was done to improve the conditions or service of this very low 3 star resort because many of the problems those average or bad reviewers had, we experienced as well.


Let me start with the down and the ups but finish with the horribles.

Downs

Service:
This ranged from ok to indifferent to rude. Examples…..Lobby bar….no service hardly at all…yes there were servers walking by talking to each other but they would only come to take a drink order if you flagged them down. Tipping them did improve service but not by much. In Mexico the servers were there ready to take a drink order before you could even look at the menu.
Market Place buffet…..this ranged from ok (the servers poured coffee in the first 5 mins of you sitting down) ordered a Mimosa and it arrived just as we were finishing breakfast, to indifferent (servers at night would not come and ask if we needed a drink or poured water until we asked for it, Often the water or drink was brought just as dinner was over. This happened quite often throughout the group.

The bad: Servers would not pour coffee at all and in fact I walked over to the stand where the coffee jugs were to serve myself then they came running.

No beach bar or pool service…..I have never stayed at a resort that did not offer this you actually had to walk to the pool bar to get a drink from the beach this was quite the hike

Room Service this had a charge for it! OMG really? Even the lower starred Marival had room service for free…..this is an ALL INCLUSIVE and no room service! Nor were you allowed to take food from the buffet to the beach or your room.
In room Mini Bar….three bottles of water 2 bottles of Coke 2 bottles of Sprite. No beer, no juice that was all they had….first bottle of water I pulled out had its seal broken already…ewe.
Lots of cockroaches everywhere even in our shower and room.
Lots of sand fleas and fleas in resort
I was standing on the carpet in the main ball room adjacent the lobby and actually saw fleas crawling on my ankles…I was bit so many times I lost count. My ankles are covered in flea bites that are taking forever to heal.
Lots of mosquitos as well….sadly I have so many bites two weeks later they are just healing.
Often the room keys would not work and we would have to hike back to the lobby to get them re programed this happened to a lot of us.

Food:

This was really a downer in my books and the deal breaker for never returning. Lots of restaurants, some you had to pay for, good luck booking the others cause it was very hard to and the one reservation I had? When we showed up my group name was not on the list and they directed us to the buffet, I almost had a meltdown as we were buffeted out.

The main buffet was fine, except it was mostly the same food day in and day out. the one down at the beach I nickname the Buffet of Horrors.
Buffet of Horrors…… same food day in and day out ….only type of lettuce was brown edged ice burg lettuce, some of the deli meats were greenish in color, it was truly not a great selection nor was the food that good. More detail in the horrible section.

Alcohol……No name brands here at all unless you pay for them…. $8 USD for a shot of Absolut vodka? No thanks, that said, the rum was not bad through everything else was very low grade, the red and white wine I named Bad and Badder. Please Melia trouble shooter don’t reply that the food and alcohol was carefully chosen for the varied clientele…price was the only choice here….you chose to purchase and serve low grade food and alcohol.

Ups

Resort was very very clean….immaculate workers were cleaning 24/7

Our room 1719 was also kept spotless and our maid was a delight. Please tip the maids they do such a great job.
Room 1719 was very old and dated but very clean….bathtub was a very small plastic container mounted in tiles…just large enough for an adult to stand in...it was just weird. Beds were very small two twins beds but very comfortable, loved my little bed . We liked our rustic room very much. Safe worked fine and we were not charged a daily fee for using it. Also our Wi-Fi was free which is good because the Wi-Fi in the room was almost non existantent. You had to go out to the balcony to get any sort of real connection and even then it was very spotty.

Beach and Ocean…..loved the beach loved the clear blue ocean….this was the best part of the entire stay. While I hated the Buffet of beach horrors I actually liked the bar there and one of the bartenders made me a Coco Loco….Very good and it became my drink of choice that week.

Sparkling wine was also not bad and it is what I would drink if I wanted a glass of wine with dinner.
Pasta Bar at the Market Buffet (the main buffet) was very very good….I actually lived on Spaghetti Bolognese the entire time I was there.
Fruit was also quite good as well…..loved the bacon wrapped bananas they offered for breakfast one day. Sounds weird but oh so good. Chocolate croissants were awesome as well.

Horrible

This was simply disgusting and the reason why I am sick now…..
Second day there we are eating at the Buffet of Horrors on the beach…..My coworker and I choose a chicken breast and some fruit. Nothing else appealed to us at all. It was fine until we left and saw THE COOK USING THE SAME TONGS TO HANDLE RAW CHICKEN AND THEN TRANSFERRED THE COOKED CHICKEN TO THE SERVING TRAY. I almost threw up then and there.

I actually saw this happen a lot throughout the resort. Food Safety policies do not exist in this resort at all IMHO. I saw many buffet cooks using the same tongs to handle both the raw and cooked meats. One breakfast I saw the cook take the serving tongs to scoop frozen sausage into the grill then put the serving tongs back onto the serving tray. When he saw me staring at him he just shrugged. I tried to bring it to their attention but the language barrier got in the way.

I have been home for 2 weeks now and there is still some stomach issues happening for sure. That said the drop in dress size and weight has been fine. Would never bring my family here.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aris_MCT, Web Community Liaison at Melia Caribe Tropical, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Dear quincytoo;

Warmest regards from Punta Cana,

I would like to thank you for your preference in selecting our Melia Caribe Tropical for your vacation, as well as for letting us some details about your recent visit; I am Helia Estrella, Web community liaison. In our effort to continuously improve the quality of our services and facilities, we put our greatest interest and value in our guest's opinion. Please accept our apologies for the situations you experienced during your visit and any inconveniences that this may have caused.

We want to apologise for the impression that you received about the Service in our bars and restaurants and for any inconveniences that you have had during your visit, as a service-oriented company we recognize the value of taking your time to let us know about your experience. Our commitment is to achieve our guests’ total satisfaction, therefore we regretful that some of our services did not meet your expectations.

In reference to the presence of insects in the rooms, I can assure you that we have strict programs of fumigation, which are carried out continuously. We fumigate the premises on regular basis; however, due to the hotel’s structure, characterized by wide open spaces, and taking into consideration the Tropical Climate of the country, the presence of such species may not be avoidable at all times, please accept our apologies for the bad moment that these have caused.

We do really apologize for the health inconvenience that you have had during your stay, the health and well being of our guests is one of our top priorities; In order to assure this our Hotel participates in Crystal, a world-renowned British hygiene assurance program with very high standards. Any products or ingredients that are being used are subject to strict sanitary controls. These companies check to ensure the correct food handling procedures. Please accept our apologies for the bad experience that you had during your vacation.

Once again, please accept our apologies for the inconveniences that you get through. Let this not be a motive for you not to stay with us in the future. I guarantee you that your comments has been forwarded to the departments involved in order to find and apply ways of improvement and be able to prevent future matters, if you wish to contact us on a private matter you may reach us at calidad.melia.tropical@meliacaribetropical.com.

Sincerely,

Helia Estrella
Web Community Liaison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Melia Caribe Tropical? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Caribe Tropical

Address: Playa de Bavaro, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#23 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#24 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#26 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#27 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#27 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#29 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Melia Caribe Tropical 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Melia, Tingo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Melia Caribe Tropical reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Punta Cana Melia Caribe Tropical
Sol Melia Punta Cana
Melia Caribe Punta Cana
Melia Punta Cana
Melia Caribe Tropical Punta Cana
Melia Tropical Punta Cana
Melia Hotel Punta Cana
Melia Caribe Tropical Resort
Punta Cana Melia Caribe Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melia Caribe Tropical, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;