We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding in Paradise!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Melia Caribe Tropical

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Melia Caribe Tropical to your Saves list
Melia Caribe Tropical
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Playa de Bavaro, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 45% off
Ranked #33 of 100 Hotels in Punta Cana
Canastota
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wedding in Paradise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

My son and daughter in law were married at Melia Caribe Tropical in Punta Cana over Thanksgiving week 2012. The entire trip and experience was first class! I want to thank the entire staff for their excellent service. I would like to give special thanks to Pablo Martinez Garcia who began the trip as our "butler" and ended the trip as a new friend. Pablo took care of all of us, which in total was 51 people. His attention to detail and his recommendations of activies and things to do and see were spot on. We traveled with 13 children under the age of 14 and Pablo gave special attention to the smaller ones taking them for rides and showing them the resort. I would also like to thank Luis Sena, Evelyn Cuito, David Luis, Jose Flores and Johnny Onorio who were the attentive bar staff at the Gabi. I spent the week with these fine people. I enjoyed each and everyone of them. They are all hard working individuals and are excellent at what they do! They truly made my stay enjoyable. Another one of our "butlers" was Abel Nunez he took excellent care of many of the people in our party as well and we consider him a friend! He arrange a private romantic dinner for one of my daughters and her fiance on the beach at sunset and provide a horse and carrige as means of transportation to the dinner. These people are amazing. And last but certainly not least is Esterlin Martinez Sambo who was the wedding coordinator who arranged the entire wedding. The entire wedding was planned via email by my son and daughter in law through Esterlin. I have to say it was completely amazing to think that this wedding was planned via email and came off without a hitch. We arrived and were greated with a marquee with my son and daugher in laws name on it and then by tropical drinks as we waited to be express checked in. Our rooms welcomed us with a fresh fruit platter from the bride and groom. The rehersal dinner was excellent and the service 1st class. The wedding was perfect and the reception flawless. Esterlin coordinated the entire event and did not miss abeat! She is EXCELLENT at what she does and any bride and groom are in good hands with her and the entire staff at Melia. This was a memorable trip for all 51 of our family. We are blessed to have had this week together and to have had such a wonderful experience at Melia Caribe Tropical and to have meet the wonderful employees who make the Melia one of the best places I have EVER been! Thank you to all and Happy Holidays! The Rinaldo Family - New York

Room Tip: Go with the Royal Service! You will not be disappointed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aris_MCT, Web Community Liaison at Melia Caribe Tropical, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear Vicent127;

Warmest regards from Punta Cana,

Thanks for your positives commentaries; is a pleaure to us to know that your son have had an amazing wedding in our hotel, we hope you visit again Melia Caribe Tropical to have an unforgettable and better stay than the last one.

We feel proud and grateful for your compliments on the efforts and dedication demonstrated by: Pablo Martinez, Esterlin Martinez, Abel and Luis Sena, Evelyn Cueto, Johnny Onorio; it’s thanks to employees like them that we are able to accomplish our goal, the total satisfaction of our guests. Please be sure we will share this comment with our staff.

We do hope to have the opportunity to serve you here again at your Home away from Home Melia Caribe Tropical.

Sincerely,

Helia Estrella
Web Community Liaison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9,945 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,922
    2,847
    1,097
    575
    504
See reviews for
3,390
3,379
144
150
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,179)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Linden, New Jersey, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

My wife and I were invited to the wedding of a long time friend's daughter. It was truly wonderful, the overall experience overwhelmed us at first but once we settled down, it was soothing and relaxing. Whether it was the beach near by, the massive pool or just laying out in the sun. The ability to be able to grab a bite, stop by the bar, hang out in the pool and play a little 6 on 6 beach volleyball all in a matter of 2 hours was just phenomenal, a true paradise. The workers were professional and wonderful; whether it be Julian Vicente, Evelin Recepcion, Jua Mendez or Heribert Matos, they all exceeded expectations. They are what completed the perfect trip, this was definitely worth it and i will be coming back soon, I appreciate the experience, thank you!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aris_MCT, Web Community Liaison at Melia Caribe Tropical, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear abovetherest;

Warmest regards from Punta Cana,

Thanks for your positives commentaries; is a pleaure to us to know that you have had an amazing time; we hope you visit again Melia Caribe Tropical to have an unforgettable and better stay than the last one.

We feel proud and grateful for your compliments on the efforts and dedication demonstrated by: Julian Vicente, Evelin, Juan Mendez and Heribert Matos; it’s thanks to employees like them that we are able to accomplish our goal, the total satisfaction of our guests. Please be sure we will share this comment with our staff.

We do hope to have the opportunity to serve you here again at your Home away from Home Melia Caribe Tropical.

Sincerely,

Helia Estrella
Web Community Liaison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Below is our experience and we hope if you go, you enjoy the Melia as much as we have. To wake up in the morning surrounded by blue skies, pretty beaches, huge pools, great food and to add the best staff you could imagine - what more could you ask for? We keep returning because it's consistent. We know that every time we travel to the Melia in Punta Cana we are going to get the best service and feel like we have been in paradise. The Melia is well kept. The resort is very clean. The food is great and they have lots of variety. If you arrive in the morning or in the evening, the service is still great. We appreciate that the Melia is always tryng to improve their appearance and updating their property. There are lots of places to visit, but I know when we go to the Melia we are going to come home happy. What a pretty place to visit. Thank you to the Management and the staff for always making us feel like they really care about us. We wish we knew how to speak more Spanish so that we could always let them know how much we appreciate everything they do for us when we come to the resort. Mucho Gracias. The Groves

Room Tip: We prefer the Tropical side because their seem to be less children. Treat yourself to Royal Service...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aris_MCT, Web Community Liaison at Melia Caribe Tropical, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Dear bluevelve88;

Warmest regards from Punta Cana,

Thanks for your positives commentaries; we hope you visit again Melia Caribe Tropical to have an unforgettable and better stay than the last one, is a pleasure to us knows that you have had a really amazing time.

Please, contact us in advance to the following e-mail address when returning to our resort: calidad.melia.tropical@meliacaribetropical.com.

We do hope to have the opportunity to serve you here again at your Home away from Home Melia Caribe Tropical.

Sincerely,

Helia Estrella
Web Community Liaison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey Park, Ca
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

This is our 2nd visit to Punta Cana. We decided to try Melia Caribe Tropical because they offered 2 rounds of free golf for 1 week stay. I was blown away by the beautiful grounds when we first got there. There were so many different species of birds, plants, flowers and trees. They so professionally arranged. We upgraded to the Romance Suites, with in-room jacuzzi. This really made the stay really pleasant. In additional to the free golf rounds, the resort offerred many other free beach related activities such as swimming, wind surfing, snorkeling, kajaking, Hobie Cat sailing, volley ball, zumba, latin dance, Mamajuna making, curling, or just relaxing with a beach chair and several others that I didn't know. Some paid activities such as para-sailing, scuba diving, off-shore fishing and various kinds of power boating. It also has one the most elaborate set of pools I've seen, with a swim-up bar. Anyway, one never seem to run out things to do. My only complain would probably be the average quality of food. The food at the 2 buffet restaurants were acceptable. We tried 4 of the specialty restaurants that were covered by the hotel package. The services at all the restaurants were excellent. Except for the Capri, the food quality are OK. Since there is no fractional rating, I had to give the full 5-cirlce "Excellent" rating. I will cover the golf in another review.

Room Tip: Instead of the full Royal Service package, we choose the Romance Suite, which offer the same rooms w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aris_MCT, Web Community Liaison at Melia Caribe Tropical, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Dear Francis P;

Warmest regards from Punta Cana,

Thanks for your positives commentaries; we hope you visit again Melia Caribe Tropical to have an unforgettable and better stay than the last one, is a pleasure to us knows that you have had a really amazing time.

Please, contact us in advance to the following e-mail address when returning to our resort: calidad.melia.tropical@meliacaribetropical.com.

We do hope to have the opportunity to serve you here again at your Home away from Home Melia Caribe Tropical.

Sincerely,

Helia Estrella
Web Community Liaison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

My travel group the Crazy8s went ot Punta Cana this year. We stayed at the Melia Caribe Tropical. The resort was very environmentally friendly. The grounds were picture perfect. There were Peacocks, Swans, Flamingos and other birds on the grounds. The rooms were very nice with modern features. The resort is so large that you take a Tram (runs constantly) to get around the property. It is great if you lke to walk to get your exercse. The buffet was typical just average food. The specialty restaurants were excellent. We only paid for one of the four that we ate at. The rest were included, you just needed a reservaton.

We went to the Casino and entertainment every night. The entertainment was fun lots of audience participaton.

The language barrier got to be a problem at tmes but we made it through. I would probably go back in a few years.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aris_MCT, Web Community Liaison at Melia Caribe Tropical, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Dear Chiefie112;

Warmest regards from Punta Cana,

Thanks for your positives commentaries; we hope you visit again Melia Caribe Tropical to have an unforgettable and better stay than the last one, is a pleasure to us knows that you have had a really amazing time.

Please, contact us in advance to the following e-mail address when returning to our resort: calidad.melia.tropical@meliacaribetropical.com.

We do hope to have the opportunity to serve you here again at your Home away from Home Melia Caribe Tropical.

Sincerely,

Helia Estrella
Web Community Liaison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, AR
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

My husband and I are just returning from Melia Caribe Tropical and had a great experience! We were looking to relax and feel pampered and that is exactly what we got! We had Royal Service and think it really made a difference! Our butler, Vincente De Jesus was very accommodating and gave us wonderful service. He even drew a bath for us with bubbles, rose petals, and champagne one night! All of the ladies in the Royal Service lounge were very helpful too, especially Leeandra. The resort is large, but we were able to get a ride around the resort whenever we needed it. The Royal Service pool was amazing! We enjoyed most of the food that we had. We really liked the Italian, American, and Mediterranean restaurants as well as the Gabi, which is the Royal Service only restaurant. The grounds were absolutely breathtaking. The Royal Service beach area was perfect, too!

Room Tip: Royal Service upgrade is well worth it!
See more room tips
Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aris_MCT, Web Community Liaison at Melia Caribe Tropical, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Dear Caroline M;

Warmest regards from Punta Cana,

Thanks for your positives commentaries; we hope you visit again Melia Caribe Tropical to have an unforgettable and better stay than the last one.

We feel proud and grateful for your compliments on the efforts and dedication demonstrated by: Vicente de Jesús and Leandra; it’s thanks to employees like them that we are able to accomplish our goal, the total satisfaction of our guests. Please be sure we will share this comment with our staff.

We do hope to have the opportunity to serve you here again at your Home away from Home Melia Caribe Tropical.

Sincerely,

Helia Estrella
Web Community Liaison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsborough NJ
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

I spent Thanksgiving week with friends and family. This is my 8th year going to Punta Cana and the second time visiting this hotel. The facilities are beautiful, and well kept however I found the food to be extremely poor this time. There was a lack of diversity, and the food tasted the same in every restaurant. Had dinner at the American Grill, the French and Italian restaurants and it's all the same food as the regular buffet. It's almost insulting and ridiculous that they make you make reservations as if these were 5 star restaurants. All the pomp and circumstance does not make up for the tastelessness of the food, the cheap cuts of meat and the lack of knowledg about that particular food style.I understand they have to serve an enormous amount of people but don't slap barbecue sauce on my plate and tell me it's French food. As bad as the food, is also the poor quality of the liquor served. Other than beer if you want to have a decent drink you have to pay for it and they are not cheap.
The service overall was lackluster, except for a waiter at the Beach Buffet named, Algenis Lamauth. This young man was GENUINELY accomodating and a breath of fresh air in comparison with the jaded, inattentive service elsewhere. Thank you Algenis, it was a pleasure being served by you everyday.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aris_MCT, Web Community Liaison at Melia Caribe Tropical, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Dear Mrs. CarmenHillsboro;

Warmest regards from Punta Cana,

I would like to thank you for your preference in selecting our Melia Caribe Tropical for your vacations, as well as for letting us know about your recent visit; I am Helia Estrella, Web community liaison. In our effort to continuously improve the quality of our services and facilities, we put our greatest interest and value in our guest's opinion. Please accept our apologies for the experience during your visit and any inconveniences that this may have caused.

In relation with the quality of the food and beverages offered in our restaurants and bars, we carefully selected products compose our gastronomical supply, taking into consideration the diversity of clients who visit our hotel, we are sorry that our food and drinks did not meet your expectations.

I apologize for the impression you may have received due to the attitude and the service of some of our staff. That definitely is not the image we wish to project and I can assure this is not a common situation in our resort, please accept our apologies.

Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience that you get through. Let this not be a motive for you not to stay with us in the future. I guarantee you that your comment has been forwarded to the departments involved in order to find and apply ways of improvement and be able to prevent future matters, if you wish to contact us on a private matter you may reach us at calidad.melia.tropical@meliacaribetropical.com.

Sincerely,

Helia Estrella
Web Community Liaison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Melia Caribe Tropical? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Caribe Tropical

Address: Playa de Bavaro, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#23 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#24 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#26 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#27 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#27 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#29 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Melia Caribe Tropical 4.5*
Number of rooms: 1138
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Melia, BookIt.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Melia Caribe Tropical reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Punta Cana Melia Caribe Tropical
Sol Melia Punta Cana
Melia Caribe Punta Cana
Melia Punta Cana
Melia Caribe Tropical Punta Cana
Melia Tropical Punta Cana
Melia Hotel Punta Cana
Melia Caribe Tropical Resort
Punta Cana Melia Caribe Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melia Caribe Tropical, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.