We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Punta Cana - No habla ingles” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Melia Caribe Tropical

Save Saved
You added Melia Caribe Tropical to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Melia Caribe Tropical
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Playa de Bavaro, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 100 hotels in Punta Cana
San Jose, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Punta Cana - No habla ingles”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We stayed in Punta Cana from Nov. 16-24. 4 nights at Melia & 4 nights at Barcelo Bavaro Beach.

Melia – Check-in took a long time! We got there at 3:30pm and didn't get into a room until almost 7pm. We paid an extra 60/night to upgrade to Royal Service. It was worth the extra $$ because the Gabi had really good food and you don’t need to make any reservations. The hotel is massive. It’s a long walk to get from one place to another. You always had to take a trolly if you wanted to go somewhere. The hotel has beautiful landscape but hardly anyone speak English! It was really frustrating to communicate with anyone. I’ve been all over Mexico and Jamaica and I feel that customer service at those places are allot better than here. Although I would still recommend this hotel, I myself, will not go back again. Also….during the time we were there, the hotel was dead!! Only had about 10 people in their Disco.

Barcelo Bavaro Beach – This hotel was not as big as the Melia so it was easier to get around. Also, during the time we were there, the hotel was almost at capacity, so there were allot of people. The casino was always dead but the Disco was always full of people.

The Dominican Republic was very beautiful and food was pretty good but they really need to work on customer service. I still would recommend going at least once but I, myself will not go back again. I would rather go back to Jamaica or Mexico where it’s just as nice but customer service is much better and hotel employees speak “some” English.

Room Tip: If you like to be at the beach. Try to get a room real close. Otherwise, the walk is far. When I was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aris_MCT, Web Community Liaison at Melia Caribe Tropical, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Dear the408kat;

Warmest regards from Punta Cana;

Thanks for your commentaries; I am Helia Estrella, Web community liaison. Beforehand I want to apologise for the incommodities you had during your vacations in Melia Caribe Tropical. For us it is great value to receive our guest’s observations for it helps us maintain and improve the quality service that we provide on current and future stays.

I cannot tell you enough how deeply I regret the uncommon circumstances that you explained concerning your arrival, due the longer time that you spent waiting for your room to be ready after the check in. We would like to offer our most sincerely apologies on behalf our Reception, I can assure you that this is not a common occurrence in our hotel.

Concerning to the language barrier from our collaborator, we regret any difficulties you may have experienced when communicating with our staff. We have a great task ahead of us concerning this issue. As a matter of fact, we provide intensive educational courses, including English classes, since we understand their importance in our continuous effort to improve the quality of customer service. Nonetheless, I can assure you that all the departments that are directly in contact with our guests have an English-speaking staff.

We are really concerned to know the inconvenience that you had during your vacation in the hotel. Please accept our apologies for the experience during your visit and any inconveniences that this may have caused. Thank you so much for bringing these comments to our attention so that we can continually improve our service. If you wish to contact us on a private matter you may reach us at calidad.melia.tropical@meliacaribetropical.com.

Sincerely,

Helia Estrella
Web Community Liaison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9,248 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    4,546
    2,662
    1,018
    544
    478
See reviews for
3137
3127
129
144
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,959)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Melia Caribe Tropical is one of the best resorts I've stayed at...We came to this resort for a wedding and were upgraded to the Royal Service room which was absolutely worth it. We had the pleasure of spending our days and nights at Gabi bar and restaurant where Luis and David , the bartenders were exceptional. The royal service also has their own section of the beach where cocktail servers will bring you drinks right to your beach chair. Abel and Pablo, the private butlers were so helpful and gave us incredible service. They made us a beautiful bubble bath for when we got home from dinner one night, complete with flowers in and around the tub. Also special thanks to Evelyn at the Gabi bar, she was a great cocktail waitress and helped make our vacation a carefree relaxing experience. Everybody here is so friendly and makes sure that you don't have to worry about anything while you are on vacation.

Room Tip: Upgrade to Royal Service rooms- Definitely worth the extra money
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aris_MCT, Web Community Liaison at Melia Caribe Tropical, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear NYtravelere5678;

Warmest regards from Punta Cana,

Thanks for your positives commentaries; we hope you visit again Melia Caribe Tropical to have an unforgettable and better stay than the last one.

We feel proud and grateful for your compliments on the efforts and dedication demonstrated by: Luis Sena, David Reyes, Abel, Pablo Martinez and Evelyn; it’s thanks to employees like him that we are able to accomplish our goal, the total satisfaction of our guests. Please be sure we will share this comment with our staff.

We do hope to have the opportunity to serve you here again at your Home away from Home Melia Caribe Tropical.

Sincerely,

Helia Estrella
Web Community Liaison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toulouse, France
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

I just came back from a week (24 Nov-1st Dec) spent at the Melia Caribe Tropical with my sister. We really had a great time there, awesome vacations!
The hotel is really nice, the park is huge and beautiful with lots of vegetation, lakes etc. The room was nice too, lots of space, very clean and the good point is that it is not big buildings with lots of rooms but rather houses made of a few rooms. Regarding the food, the buffets are very good, with lots of different choices and there are also 10 restaurants. We tried 5 of them and all of them were very good. The reservation for the restaurant is really easy and we always got the restaurant we wanted. There are also two spas, we need to make a reservation before going but it is always available too. The two pools are huge, very nice, each of them have a bar too. The animations are "super", different activities during the day, live music at night and the daily show at the theater at 9.45, always excellent shows! Finally, the staff is really nice, friendly and efficient! I would like to give special thanks to Rafael Mendez and Jhonatan Montero for the differents activities (Aquagym, aerobic, dance and the different shows at night) and for the moments shared together :) They are amazing people, making this week even more memorable, their happiness was contagious! I would also like to thank Juan Jimenez from the buffet, very kind too and very professional! We also had a very relaxing body treatment at the spa, given by Rosa and Leoncia, very friendly too and good at what they are doing. There was also Johnny from the Capri restaurant who was a very nice person and also very efficient: as per our request, he made it possible to have our dinner in 30 minutes as we had to leave. The dancers also really did a great job! To conclude, everything was perfect, we highly recommend this hotel to everybody who wants to spend relaxing holidays. Whenever we go back to the Dominican Republic, we will definitely come back to this resort!

Room Tip: We were in the block 5 (Room 0501) which was really good as located very close to the pool Tropical...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aris_MCT, Web Community Liaison at Melia Caribe Tropical, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Dear Caroline B;

Warmest regards from Punta Cana,

Thanks for your positives commentaries; we hope you visit again Melia Caribe Tropical to have an unforgettable and better stay than the last one.

We feel proud and grateful for your compliments on the efforts and dedication demonstrated by Rafael Mendez, Jonathan Montero, Juan Jimenez, Rosa, Leoncia and Johnny; it’s thanks to employees like them that we are able to accomplish our goal, the total satisfaction of our guests. Please be sure we will share this comment with our staff.

We do hope to have the opportunity to serve you here again at your Home away from Home Melia Caribe Tropical.

Sincerely,

Helia Estrella
Web Community Liaison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

My fiance and I traveled to the Melia on November 21, 2012, along with 50 of our closest friends and family. We were amazed on how beautiful the resort was and friendly all of the staff was. Esterlin planned our wedding and it was above and beyond our expectations!!! Pablo, Abel, and Luis made our stay outstanding....they were extremely accomodating and made us feel at home. We are planning our anniversary....already....along with all of the guests at our wedding. We had an amazing expereince with amazing memories and can't wait to return!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aris_MCT, Web Community Liaison at Melia Caribe Tropical, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Dear Ac1992;

Warmest regards from Punta Cana,

Thanks for your positives commentaries; we hope you visit again Melia Caribe Tropical to have an unforgettable and better stay than the last one.

We feel proud and grateful for your compliments on the efforts and dedication demonstrated by: Esterlin, Pablo, Abel and Luis; it’s thanks to employees like them that we are able to accomplish our goal, the total satisfaction of our guests. Please be sure we will share this comment with our staff.

We do hope to have the opportunity to serve you here again at your Home away from Home Melia Caribe Tropical.

Sincerely,

Helia Estrella
Web Community Liaison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas, USA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

We stayed at this resort November 15-20, 2012 we did upgrade to the Royal Service and was worth the extra money. We loved the room with the jacuzzi tub, we also liked the private beach, private pool and the Gabi restaurant that came with the upgrade. We ate all our meals at the Gabi but one, we tried the American Steakhouse which was good but the Gabi was just as good and didn't have to make reservations which is a plus. The Gabi has great lobster, steaks, and salmon for dinner. The snack bar by the pool had great quick lunches. We really enjoyed this resort and don't have any complaints. I have to mention one name that made our vacation memorable and that was Pablo our butler, he was so nice and helpful always went out of his way to make sure we were enjoying our stay. Thanks Pablo for being so nice to us and always with a smile.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aris_MCT, Web Community Liaison at Melia Caribe Tropical, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Warmest regards from Punta Cana,

Thanks for your positives commentaries; we hope you visit again Melia Caribe Tropical to have an unforgettable and better stay than the last one.

We feel proud and grateful for your compliments on the efforts and dedication demonstrated by: Pablo Martinez; it’s thanks to employees like him that we are able to accomplish our goal, the total satisfaction of our guests. Please be sure we will share this comment with our staff.

We do hope to have the opportunity to serve you here again at your Home away from Home Melia Caribe Tropical.

Sincerely,

Helia Estrella
Web Community Liaison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, Florida
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

My friend and I spent a week at Melia Caribe Tropical in Punta Cana. It was one of my best vacations. The resort is incredible; the sights; the beach; it is sooooo relaxing. The attention was excellent. We had a problem with our room, the telephone wasn't working and there was a leak in the bathroom.Luis Daniel went out of his way to make sure we had the issue resolved. Since the telephone line was out, we were upgraded to a honeymoon suite. Everything went perfect. The service was very friendly and the food was exquisite. I would recommend this resort to anyone that is looking for a relaxing vacation. I certainly came back home feeling peaceful and happier. I am planning on going back.

Room Tip: Get a room near the beach, if possibly. These are also near the pool and the buffet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aris_MCT, Web Community Liaison at Melia Caribe Tropical, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear Viajera0404;

Warmest regards from Punta Cana,

Thanks for your positives commentaries; we hope you visit again Melia Caribe Tropical to have an unforgettable and better stay than the last one.

We feel proud and grateful for your compliments on the efforts and dedication demonstrated by: Luis Daniel Vargas; it’s thanks to employees like him that we are able to accomplish our goal, the total satisfaction of our guests. Please be sure we will share this comment with our staff.

We do hope to have the opportunity to serve you here again at your Home away from Home Melia Caribe Tropical.

Sincerely,

Helia Estrella
Web Community Liaison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decatur, Georgia, United States
2 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Going on this 5 day trip was the best thing I ever did for myself. I traveled alone for a wedding where I only knew the bride, but had THE best time. The food was incredible, the service was warm and accomodating, the grounds are truly beautiful and lush, and I'm already planning on returning. Esmarlin at the VIP lounge spoke great english and made my stay beyond great.

*Go in the off season and you MUST upgrade to Royal Service. Amazing rooms, VIP pool, VIP restaurant, "butler" who will drive you wherever you want to go in a golf cart (the grounds are HUGE), and you get a pretty bracelet instead of tacky wrist band so the bartenders know to pour only top shelf into your drink :) You also get free room service all day, which makes a great start to every day!
*Buy your booze from the gift shop, NOT the duty free store at the airport. It was half the price at the resort (even cheaper than in the US)
*Bring a plastic tumbler with lid and straw. The bartender doesn't mind and you don't have to make so many trips to the bar
*Don't bring a towel/shampoo/hair blow dryer (all are provided)
*Do bring sunscreen/bug spray/hair conditioner/comfy sandals
*Do speak as much spanish as you know, it goes far and the staff appreciates it
*Do tip for your drinks/food/cleaning staff--you will get THE best service for a small price (Dominicans make a very small wage, yet prices are inflated all over the island to tourist prices, so don't be stingy!)
*Do not order the free house wine, it's terrible, but the house champagne is lovely
*Skip the 'American' and 'Dominican' restaurant, but def try the 'Italian' and 'Japanese'. Also, if you upgrade, the Gabi was by far the best food at the resort. Skip dessert, nothing was worth the calories, but surprisingly, the bread was fantastic everywhere.

Room Tip: Upgrade to the Royal Service *once you arrive* when it is cheaper. Rooms are more beautiful, came wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aris_MCT, Web Community Liaison at Melia Caribe Tropical, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear Rachael H;

Warmest regards from Punta Cana,

I would like to thank you for choosing our Melia Caribe Tropical as your recent vacations destination.

Thanks for your positives commentaries; we hope you visit again Melia Caribe Tropical to have an unforgettable and better stay than the last one.

Sincerely,

Helia Estrella
Web Community Liaison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Melia Caribe Tropical? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Caribe Tropical

Address: Playa de Bavaro, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#23 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#24 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#26 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#27 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#27 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#29 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia Caribe Tropical 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Melia, Venere, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Melia Caribe Tropical reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Punta Cana Melia Caribe Tropical
Sol Melia Punta Cana
Melia Caribe Punta Cana
Melia Punta Cana
Melia Caribe Tropical Punta Cana
Melia Tropical Punta Cana
Melia Hotel Punta Cana
Melia Caribe Tropical Resort
Punta Cana Melia Caribe Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melia Caribe Tropical, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.