We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the money.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Melia Caribe Tropical

Save Saved
You added Melia Caribe Tropical to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Melia Caribe Tropical
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Playa de Bavaro, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 101 hotels in Punta Cana
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Worth the money.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We look forward to visit you guys again. Luis, evelyn, juan, and yasmin at gabi's and the rest of the staff. You guys are where grate, on top of your game, thank you guys. Samuel the bell staff captain and the front staff thank you. Samuel you're the man keep up the good work. Thank you melia crew for making our vacation well spent.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aris_MCT, Web Community Liaison at Melia Caribe Tropical, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear deo2511;

Warmest regards from Punta Cana,

Thanks for your positives commentaries; we hope you visit again Melia Caribe Tropical to have an unforgettable and better stay than the last one.

We feel proud and grateful for your compliments on the efforts and dedication demonstrated by: Luis, Evelyn, Juan, Yasmin and Samuel; it’s thanks to employees like them that we are able to accomplish our goal, the total satisfaction of our guests. Please be sure we will share this comment with our staff.

We do hope to have the opportunity to serve you here again at your Home away from Home Melia Caribe Tropical.

Sincerely,

Helia Estrella
Web Community Liaison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9,606 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    4,740
    2,757
    1,061
    555
    493
See reviews for
3288
3236
138
145
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,081)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

My wife and I went here on our honeymoon and had a great time with some exceptions.

The food was good for the most part with our favorite restaurant being the steak and lobster on the beach(which was an extra cost). There we got treated very well unlike at most of the others restaurants on the property. For breakfast eggs were under cooked, some food hot some cold, you had to almost beg for a cup of coffee some mornings and others they were right there with coffee and asking how you were and what you had planned for the day. At lunch it is always buffets that had some hot and some cold food, but overall tasty with a large variety. Dinner was good but the staff was not as attentive as we thought they might be. Food for dinner was hit and miss but it all depends on what you like.

The drinks have no complaints coming from us they were all very good. The beer was great too. We found that the Avenue Bar was the greatest bar on the property. Julio Cesar Felix, Vito Rosario, Victor Chapelle, Fany, and Yanelis were some of the best and friendliest people on the property. They always had a smile and greeted us especially Julio who would say "hello my friend". It made us feel at home.

Our concierge Patrick was very good to us and helped make this a great honeymoon. We could go to him for anything and he would help us out.

Check in/out went very well and everyone was very polite and welcoming.

Overall the property was very nice and well kept. We would love to go back someday in the near future and would recommend this resort to friends and family.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aris_MCT, Web Community Liaison at Melia Caribe Tropical, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear GregUnitedStates;

Warmest regards from Punta Cana,

Thanks for your positives commentaries; we hope you visit again Melia Caribe Tropical to have an unforgettable and better stay than the last one.

We feel proud and grateful for your compliments on the efforts and dedication demonstrated by: Julio Cesar, Vito, Victor, Fany, Yanelis and Patrick; it’s thanks to employees like them that we are able to accomplish our goal, the total satisfaction of our guests. Please be sure we will share this comment with our staff.

Please, contact us in advance to the following e-mail address when returning to our resort: calidad.melia.tropical@meliacaribetropical.com.

We do hope to have the opportunity to serve you here again at your Home away from Home Melia Caribe Tropical.

Sincerely,

Helia Estrella
Web Community Liaison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Connecticut, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We stayed at the Melia Caribe Tropical in Punta Cana Nov. 6 - 12 in 2012. We travelled with our 3 year old daughter and 9 month old son. This was our first trip to Punta Cana but we have been to other all-inclusive resorts in Mexico - this was our first time with the kids. The hotel grounds and facilities were beautiful and very well kept, staff was very friendly and the beach was great. The hotel is very family friendly but included all the things my husband and I like to do on these trips - sit on the beach and drink margaritas! Each day from about 10-12:30 we would drop off our little ones at the Baby Rock Club which was awesome - Perla, Jennifer and their colleagues were super with the children. My 3 year old loved the play ground and making crafts. Our baby usually napped at that time in the air conditioned nursery or played with one of the staff. Mommy and Daddy got some quiet beach time - I actually read a book on this trip! The food was pretty good for an all-inclusive and there were lots of choices to suit all of us - my 9 month old found lots of finger foods to munch on and my 3 year old lived on pasta and pizza. All of us loved swimming in the gigantic pools or playing on the beach (the water was very warm and very gentle for little ones). There were always plenty of other kids to entertain them. I was really, really worried about travelling with a baby to Punta Cana but the entire trip was fabulous. Here are some thoughts:

-Plenty of bottled water available throughout the resort and in the rooms. I use formula so I had to wash bottles in the bathroom but the tap water was super, super hot. You could also boil water in the coffee maker to sterilize. Each room also has a fridge.
-I packed tons of baby food just in case but only used it in the room...there was plenty in the buffets and restaurants to feed my son - lots of fruit, oatmeal, mashed potatoes, beans and rice, peas, steamed carrots, pasta, etc.
-Bring or buy kid snacks for the rooms and beach since there isn't much to take away from the buffets. I packed granola bars, crackers as back-up.
-You can buy diapers and baby food in the hotel shop but be prepared to pay double. It serves as a good back-up in case you run out.
-You can buy inflatables and beach toys for the kids or bring your own. The pools are big and my daughter loved floating up to the swim up bar and ordering kids drinks.
-It’s a HUGE resort so be prepared to walk. With little kids, its critical to request a room close to the pool and beach areas because of all the schlepping. Breakfast and lunch choices are nearby but all the dinner options will require a golf cart ride to the front of the property (which were pretty easy to hail down). The shows are also far away but our kids could never stay up late enough to enjoy them!
-We opted not to do Royal Service – it’s far away from all the kids activities and pools. Might be worth it if you are only adults as the drinks are pretty watered down!
-No bathtub so plan for showers for kids. Also, the rooms are all tile floors so not very friendly for crawlers!

Room Tip: if you have small kids, request a room near the baby rock club. The pool is huge and near a restaura...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aris_MCT, Web Community Liaison at Melia Caribe Tropical, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Peggymal;

Warmest regards from Punta Cana,

Thanks for your positives commentaries; we hope you visit again Melia Caribe Tropical to have an unforgettable and better stay than the last one.

We feel proud and grateful for your compliments on the efforts and dedication demonstrated by: Perla and Yennifer; it’s thanks to employees like them that we are able to accomplish our goal, the total satisfaction of our guests. Please be sure we will share this comment with our staff.

Contact us in advance to the following e-mail address when returning to our resort: calidad.melia.tropical@meliacaribetropical.com.

We do hope to have the opportunity to serve you here again at your Home away from Home Melia Caribe Tropical.

Sincerely,

Helia Estrella
Web Community Liaison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wright City, Missouri
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

The resort was outstanding. Customer service was top notch. I would like to recognize a few of the employees that made my family's trip a memorable one. Jose Diaz, Rafael Rondon, Juan Santana, and Maria Polance The only thing needing improvement was the buffet food. I recommend making reservations at the a la cartes for dinner. Thank you again to the resort staff for making my family's vacation a lifetime memory.

Room Tip: I would suggest upgrading to the romance suite for nicer room. Or upgrade to royal service for the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aris_MCT, Web Community Liaison at Melia Caribe Tropical, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Jennifer R;

Warmest regards from Punta Cana,

Thanks for your positives commentaries; we hope you visit again Melia Caribe Tropical to have an unforgettable and better stay than the last one.

We feel proud and grateful for your compliments on the efforts and dedication demonstrated by: Jose Diaz, Rafael Rondon, Juan Santana and Maria Polanco; it’s thanks to employees like them that we are able to accomplish our goal, the total satisfaction of our guests. Please be sure we will share this comment with our staff.

Contact us in advance to the following e-mail address when returning to our resort: calidad.melia.tropical@meliacaribetropical.com.

We do hope to have the opportunity to serve you here again at your Home away from Home Melia Caribe Tropical.

Sincerely,

Helia Estrella
Web Community Liaison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We selected this hotel because we thought it would be a good place to travel with a small child.

When we got there, we were greeted by a person at the reception who was not helpful at all. He checked us in and gave us our room key, but didn't tell us where our room was or how to get there. He didn't give us any other information about the hotel such as places to eat or information on entertainment. Information about the hotel is a courtesy, but one that I would expect from a resort such as Melia.

We asked about possibly upgrading our room and the guy said the only way to upgrade would be to select royal service for $50/person per night. We told him that we had called the resort a couple days prior and there was a promotion that they were offering, but he said that no such promotion had existed. We decided to stay in our original suite (family junior suite)

We chose the family junior suite when booking thinking this would be a good fit for us. The cost was roughly $60 a night more than the junior suite. It turned out, when we got there, that the family suite was the exact same size as the junior suite (I think they actually say this on the website), but none of the family suites have been renovated. My in-laws came with us and got the basic junior suite and it was actually much nicer than our "upgraded" room. The family suite was cramped and the bathroom was disgusting.

We again called about an upgrade and were put back in touch with the guy who checked us in. Again he pushed the royal service room and suggested there were no other rooms that we could upgrade to. We decided to go back to reception and talked to someone else. We met someone who offered us a suite that was basically two suites with a door connecting the two. It would be $40/night more than what we were currently paying for the family junior suite. After we saw the suite and decided we would upgrade, we were sent back to reception where it took 1 hour to process the room change. After that, it took another hour for them to move our bags to the new room. Through the whole thing, we had to constantly fight with the staff to help us.

There were other instances regarding the poor customer service and they mostly revolved around the staff at reception. The staff in the restaurants and bars were quite nice though.

Aside from the service, we found the resort to be much too big. Due to the heat, we had to take the "train" to get around the resort. Often times, the train would be quite full and you may have to wait for the next train. The resort was beautifully landscaped and the beach was very nice.

The food at the resort was disappointing. The best restaurant was actually the market place buffet. The a-la-carte restaurants were hard to book and the food was not very good.

Our initial experience with the staff definitely put a damper on the vacation and our image of the place improved somewhat over the week we spent there.

Given that this is a 4+ star resort, we didn't think we got the value that we expected. We do not plan to return to this resort.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aris_MCT, Web Community Liaison at Melia Caribe Tropical, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear actsci99;

Warmest regards from Punta Cana,

I would like to thank you for your preference in selecting our Melia Caribe Tropical for your vacations, as well as for letting us know about your recent visit; I am Helia Estrella, Web community liaison. In our effort to continuously improve the quality of our services and facilities, we put our greatest interest and value in our guest's opinion. Please accept our apologies for the experience during your visit and any inconveniences that this may have caused.

I truly regret and apologize for the impression you may have received due to the services on the reception and the lack of information, that definitely is not the image we wish to project and I can assure this is not a common situation in our resort taken in consideration that Melia Caribe Tropical is a service-oriented company. Even though I can assure you that we continuously work for improve the quality of our services.

Regarding the cleaning in your first room, in the bathroom; I can assure you that this situation is not common. However these faults are recognized and are immediately dealt with to ensure the guests satisfaction.

As far as your indications about quality of the food offered, I must say that the level of satisfaction obtained concerning the variety and quality of breakfast, lunch and dinner services has always been very elevated according to the opinions reflected in our quality questionnaires. Nevertheless, we are sorry that our food quality did not meet your expectations and your comments will be taken into consideration.

Please accept our apologies for the experience during your visit and any inconveniences that this may have caused. Thank you so much for bringing these comments to our attention so that we can continually improve our service. If you wish to contact us on a private matter you may reach us at calidad.melia.tropical@meliacaribetropical.com.

Sincerely,

Helia Estrella
Web Community Liaison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

At the lobby bar our waitresses were Raydesther Soto and Glenis Valdez. They were amazing, for the entire week that we were there they remembered our names and constantly had smiles on their faces. They seemed really happy being there and attending to all the guests which is rare now a days considering that they must of been helping hundreds of intoxicated people a day. It was an absolute pleasure being served by them, they were able to feed of us so when we were sarcastic they were sarcastic right back but made us always feel welcomed.

Their service was great, can't really recommend the service of the telephone staff.

Keep up the great service ladies!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aris_MCT, Web Community Liaison at Melia Caribe Tropical, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear Chris L;

Warmest regards from Punta Cana,

Thanks for your positives commentaries; we hope you visit again Melia Caribe Tropical to have an unforgettable and better stay than the last one.

We feel proud and grateful for your compliments on the efforts and dedication demonstrated by: Raydesther Soto, Glenis Valdez; it’s thanks to employees like her that we are able to accomplish our goal, the total satisfaction of our guests. Please be sure we will share this comment with our staff.

Please, contact us in advance to the following e-mail address when returning to our resort: calidad.melia.tropical@meliacaribetropical.com.

We do hope to have the opportunity to serve you here again at your Home away from Home Melia Caribe Tropical.

Sincerely,

Helia Estrella
Web Community Liaison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We traveled to Punta Cana 11/02-08/12. The weather is beautiful and the Hotel grounds are beautiful. Other than that, know that this is a time share resort and the staff is relentless in their pursuit of getting you to sign up. We finally had to unplug our phone in our room so they would not call us. Their is no such thing as a non-smoking room...all rooms have ash trays and smoking is permitted everywhere. For a non smoker, this hotel was for me. We did do an excursion to swim with the sharks and stingrays and to snorke. That was actually very nice. The beach was pretty, they do allow topless sun bathing which didn't really bother us, but if you have small kids you may want to think about that. The food was not good. The only good meal we had was the Italian and steak and lobster. Nothing tastes fresh, not even the fruit. I didn't have any complaints on drinks. I would consider other properties/islands next time.

Room Tip: We were in building 27, closer to the pool. They originally had us in the exclusive section(Royal S...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aris_MCT, Web Community Liaison at Melia Caribe Tropical, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear jcausey;

Warmest regards from Punta Cana;

As a service-oriented company, we highly appreciate our guests' opinion and therefore we recognize the value of taking your time to let us know about your experience. Our commitment is to achieve our guests’ total satisfaction, therefore we feel very regretful that some of our services did not meet your expectations. We have taken a good note of your observations and discussed it with our management team in order to take the appropriate measures wherever possible.

Like most of the other top hotel chains in the world, Melia Hotels International has become involved in the Club Melia concept because we have come to the realization that it is the future of the hotel industry.

The concept of the Vacation Concierge, which we have applied here at Meliá Caribe Tropical, was created to introduce our Vacation Club to guests. The main job is to provide service to our guests, such as orientation and maps of our property, making reservations for dinner, and providing information about local excursions and attractions, to help make our guests aware that our Vacation Club does exist and that we welcome any and all to visit and gain more knowledge about the concept, to present the different kind of offers and informations for becoming a happy member of our club. This is an invitation which should not create any negative feelings of obligation on the part of our guests, we apologize for the impression you may have received, as this is definitely not our intention.
I’m sending a copy of your comment to the Club Melia Vacation Manager for trying our best to be better.

In relation with the food offered at our hotel we are rather surprised with you comments, I must say that the level of satisfaction obtained concerning the variety and quality of breakfast, lunch and dinner services has always been very elevated according to the opinions reflected in our quality questionnaires. Nevertheless, we are sorry that our food variety did not meet your expectations and your comments will be taken into consideration.

Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience that you get through. Thank you so much for bringing these things to our attention so that we can continually improve our service. Please contact us on a private matter you may reach us at calidad.melia.tropical@meliacaribetropical.com.

Sincerely,

Helia Estrella
Web Community Liaison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Melia Caribe Tropical? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Caribe Tropical

Address: Playa de Bavaro, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#23 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#24 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#26 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#27 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#27 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#29 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Melia Caribe Tropical 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Melia, Tingo, Agoda, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Melia Caribe Tropical reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Punta Cana Melia Caribe Tropical
Sol Melia Punta Cana
Melia Caribe Punta Cana
Melia Punta Cana
Melia Caribe Tropical Punta Cana
Melia Tropical Punta Cana
Melia Hotel Punta Cana
Melia Caribe Tropical Resort
Punta Cana Melia Caribe Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melia Caribe Tropical, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.