We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A typical Punta Cana resort” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bavaro Princess All Suites Resort, Spa & Casino

Save Saved
You added Bavaro Princess All Suites Resort, Spa & Casino to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bavaro Princess All Suites Resort, Spa & Casino
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Av. Italia, Playas de Bavaro, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 101 hotels in Punta Cana
Conception Bay South, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A typical Punta Cana resort”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

You can read another related review about the Caribe Club Prince Resort from where we transferred on day 5. That's not to tally taint that resort as it has preferences for us. But mainly we wanted a 5 star bedroom facility and feel we got that in Bldg 70 of the Bungalow Suites. It is perfectly situated not far from the beach and a little closer to 3 of the main restaurants. Make sure you know where your building is located before staying there. Loved the ambience of the bedroom, Jacuzzi and the shower was fab. I think we saw all the CSI, Criminal Minds and NCIS episodes there were to see in the late evenings and early mornings while lying in a nice large king bed which was clean and comfortable. This is usually our priority and this room and resort wins a 5 for this area at least. Last mention for our room was Marcia our maid for the week. Marcia knows what she did for us and we can only say check back when we get the picture posted in about a couple of weeks. Marcia you are the most gracious and humble attendant we have ever encountered. Take good care of your 3 beautiful children.

Now for the rest. Dominican resorts are all beginning to look and feel much the same when it comes to the beaches, the bars and buffets. Regulars will know what I am talking about. Not a great deal of difference so don't worry as long as you pick a minimum 4 star and you'll get average to good bars, buffets and services and a great beach. The Bavaro Princess though was a disappointment as to our expectation as a 4.5-5 star resort. Status Quo with most things and less than adequate with restaurant selection (BEWARE what's actually open and get there early!) Stay away from the pool and buffets and trolleys on weekends. Read other reviews and you'll understand. The trolley service in particular was a major disappointment. Good luck finding a seat. Choices of where to eat during the day, well good luck with that too. That's where the Caribe Club excels over the Bavaro. Far more choices and more convenient. We won't be back not only to this or the Caribe Club very soon, but the Dominican in general unfortunately. If you're going to spend $4,000-$6,000 as we do from St. John's NL in Canada then we feel the better bang for your vacation dollar is in Mexico or Jamaica for an all inclusive Carribean trip. That's our view for you Caribbean travellers to the major islands.

Room Tip: Centallly located bungalow suite definitely
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management-BavaroP, Community Manager at Bavaro Princess All Suites Resort, Spa & Casino, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time to share your comments following your stay with us here at the Bavaro Princess All Suites Resort & Spa.

We realize how important your feedback is to our continued improvement and success.

We are pleased you had a delightful stay in our Bungalow Suite and the service given by our maid Marcia was up to your satisfaction.


Kind regards,

Community Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,844 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2,213
    1,456
    564
    333
    278
See reviews for
1184
1925
81
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (768)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We stayed at the Bavaro Princes the week of 6/29/2013 - 07/06/2013. We have been multiple times at the Caribbean either in cruise ships or TRUE 5 starts resorts. The quality of the food and service is 2-3 stars tops. Staff and servers are nice and funny but they are not very attentive or efficient, except for the bartenders. They are very attentive and professional. However, the quality of the spirits and beverages are poor. Mojitos and Mamajuana are the only two drinks worth drinking.

Food is poor to average and the 7 restaurants they have in the resort are a gimmick. They only serve 10 patrons per hour and try to discourage you by having a long waiting list. They always have excuses on why they don't have an organized booking system.
Pools are NOT clean as you can see debris floating around. I wouldn't recommend to take a swim on it.

On the upside, the room was always clean (after 4PM) and the beach is beautiful and rock free. Fast check-in and fast check-out. Facilities are neat and well-maintained but not 5 star.
It has a lot of potential but staff and servers have to be trained and the quality of the food and drinks have to improve.

In summary, it's not worth the money we paid for staying in this hotel.

Room Tip: Choose rooms in the 300's section. They are close to the beach. Go to PR department and ask for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management-BavaroP, Community Manager at Bavaro Princess All Suites Resort, Spa & Casino, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write to us and for sharing your kind feedback following your recent visit to Bavaro Princess. Please accept our apologies regarding the food service that did not meet you expectations. Our Food and Beverage Manager is taking actions to assure the quality of this service.

Thank you very much for your remarks and very kind words regarding our associates, they help us improve.

We hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Bavaro Princess soon!

Kind Regards

Community Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We stayed at the Bavaro Princess hotel just for several days in the beginning of May. The room was very good –big and clean. No issues with air condition or water. The grounds were really great with plenty of jungle, lots of peacocks and other birds. The sea is always fantastic) The hotel even has some water sports facilities.
Yes, there were some issues with restaurants which were supposed to be open according to their timetable but you should be ready for surprises ) However for me it’s not a big problem considering the fact that there are lots of them.
Special thanks to Ala (Alla) the Russian receptionist (or may be a manager) for her help and hospitality!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management-BavaroP, Community Manager at Bavaro Princess All Suites Resort, Spa & Casino, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your nice review. It was a pleasure to host you and it is a great satisfaction to know that you were fully satisfied.

We hope to see you again very soon.

Kind regards,

Community Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, mb
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

A group of 10 of us stayed at the Bavaro Princess from April 17-24. Check in was fairly fast once we got to the resort. As we were there for my husband and my wedding all our guests that came with us got upgraded to platinum rooms, not with the anytime though. My mother-in-law came with my husbands aunt and grandma 3 days before us and were not upgraded. The aunt booked a platinum room so it was no worry but after some talk they agreed to move my mother-in-law. We got to our rooms on the trolley a fair bit before they brought our luggage to the rooms. We were in the 790 building and it was very nice it was a coincidence to be by the aunt that came 3 days before.
The rooms were very clean, the staff were friendly if you were friendly to them.
The wedding was amazing, francelia was amazing had everything perfect. Mix up with the flowers but they brought us the right ones a few minutes later. The path up to the gazebo they blocked off with a palm tree fence to block people riding the trolley from looking.
The restaurants
The buffet was always good, never had a complaint about that. Loved the crepes in the morning with guava jelly and banana. The seafood was ok not much of choices and you had to pay extra for lobster. The Japanese was really good they put on a good show. Really hard to get into it, but with a platinum wristband it managed us a reservation. Licey the restaurant you pay for was very disappointing, the option was fillet minion and fish. When my mother in law went a few days earlier they had lobster and my husband was looking forward to it. Chopin we had our wedding dinner there it was very disappointing, a lot of the mini lobsters were under cooked. Beach bar produced multiple undercooked burgers for many of our family members.
But overall good vacation

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management-BavaroP, Community Manager at Bavaro Princess All Suites Resort, Spa & Casino, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback about your stay. We are pleased that you had a good experience at Bavaro Princess and that our staff provided an excellent service, specially Francelia.

We look forward to your next stay with us and extend a warm welcome back when you next visit Punta Cana.

Warmest regards,

Community Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas, USA
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We Stayed in a Jr. Bungalow Suite

We did splurge for the Platinum services but do not feel as though we lacked any service or amenities.

Pros:
Grounds were very pretty and clean

Food: big variety but not great. Actually as good as any food that I get when I'm out of the US. (I think that I have a very 'domestic pallet'). The burgers and fries down at McPrincess are good. If you book snorkeling excursion you can get bread from the restaurants to feed the fish with. - That was really cool.

Room: Clean, modern (had I-phone docking station and flat screen TV. We enjoyed the Jacuzzi tub

Vacation Guide - VIP was our vacation guide company. Our Rep was informative and did not push us to book any excursions.

Cons:
Bed: Hard! I like a firm mattress but wow! We stayed in room 812 and our mattress was possibly made of concrete. Our friends in 842 had the same complaint.

Mini Bar: It comes with 2 water, 4 soda and 2 beer limit per day. I could have used more beer.

Excursion sales: staff roam the lobby area and beach: Some excursion sales people and
nightly vendors set up in the courtyard and are really pushy - reminds you of vendors on the streets in many 3rd world towns.

The Market: There is a market in the common area/lobby area. Do not forget dental floss!! They have a strange pricing strategy. Some things like a t-shirt are reasonably priced to expensive. Other things like dental floss are grossly overpriced. They were asking $9 for a small roll.

Side Notes:
My wife wanted me to suggest the Bavaro Princess. It is a house drink there that she fell in love with.

Dining: We were here 6/27-7/3 and this is the slow season. That being said, on any given night 2 or 3 of the 5 restauraunts will be open and you will probably have to wait for a table. Know this going in because I heard several patrons complaining about having to wait. The buffet up front is open every night.

The grounds are absolutely huge. Its not hard to get a lay of the land and there is a trolley service. If you are an early riser though you may find yourself walking to breakfast and for me staying in building 81 its about an 8 minute walk. Just know that if you aren't a fan of footin' it.

I hope this helps..

Room Tip: I focus on hanging at the beach so this would help me. The following buildings are close to the bea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management-BavaroP, Community Manager at Bavaro Princess All Suites Resort, Spa & Casino, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for having taken the time to post your review on TripAdvisor, after your stay in our Hotel Bavaro Princess.

Your observations and opinions are appreciated, as they enable us to assess the standard of our facilities and services and monitor our success in meeting guests needs and expectations.

Feedback is always important as it is a vital way of reviewing the level of service and facilities we provide our guests so as to make improvements.

Best regards,

Community Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Week of June 29th to July 6
We booked this hotel based on many of the reviews we read on this website, as it stated a 5 star resort. This was my second time in Punta Cana, and I've been to the Caribbean at least 3 times before (Mexico, Jamaica, Punta Cana). Average is literally the best word I can use to describe our vacation. As soon as we arrived, check-in was quite fast. The room looked really nice and modern at first, but once we slept at night, the bed was really not comfortable. Not a real king size bed, as it's two single beds stuck together with an annoying space in between. We also got bitten on our first night at least 4 times by a mosquito. The rooms however were cleaned well. Second, from all of the resorts I've been to in the south, I have never EVER witnessed locals being present in a touristic resort. But the good thing is, they only show up on Friday afternoons and leave Sunday afternoons. FYI, the mini bus that you can take to avoid the long walks in the resort will be filled with locals therefore no room for you! They literally push you away and throw their kids in and you're stuck waiting another 10 minutes for the bus to show up. Also, the entertainment at night becomes only Spanish, with very very little English and/or French. Once the locals leave, everything get translated into English. The beach was really nice and the sand was rock-free so it's very comfortable to walk on. The main pool was way too hot, and when the locals are there, it gets filled up to the point where you can't swim comfortably. Lots of screaming kids so if you want some peace, I suggest staying on the beach. The food was really average as well. Not much choice during lunch and most of the food wasn’t as good as other restos I’ve been to. It’s not amazing, and not horrible. Just average. Also, the 7 restos they claim to have is a gimmick. There's only 2-3 open every night, not seven. Plus, 4 people from our group got sick with severe diarrhea when eating at the Italian resto (BELLA PASTA). Coincidence? I think not. The Japanese resto (TANUKI) wasn’t very good, and you didn’t get lots of food, so I wouldn’t suggest it. Also, there’s no reservation possible at the restaurants so if you plan on dinning at one of them, you gotta get there at 6pm. We arrived at one of them at around 7:30 and there was a huge line-up so we just decided to leave. The waiting time is about 1 hour or more. The service was good, but some of the staff seemed more obsessed with getting tipped than anything else. So try to find genuine servers to tip and stay away from the fake! The nightlife is pretty dull, as I’ve seen better entertainment in other resorts so there’s not much you can do. The casino is worth visiting as it’s nice and you might win some big money… ;) There’s plently of mosquitos so make sure to bring some OFF with you and spray spray spray! When staying on the beach during the day, you can expect a lot of sellers of excursions to bother you so if you’re not interested, just say it and ignore. If you want to buy some souvenirs, don’t bother visiting the mini stores located in the resort as they are very very expensive. Some night, you’ll find little kiosques located in the main lobby with sellers that stick to you and throw their merchandise onto you! The best place to buy and negotiate a good price would be just outside of the resort (orange mini outdoor mall). The workers are really funny and make sure to negotiate till you drop! Finally, I can’t say it was a horrible experience, but it wasn’t a resort I’d go back to. Had I known this information, I might have chosen a different location.

Room Tip: Rooms located in the 300's are perfect location. Not lots of noise, but a close distance to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management-BavaroP, Community Manager at Bavaro Princess All Suites Resort, Spa & Casino, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are deeply sadden to hear about the experience you had and we wish to extend our sincere apologies for the inconveniences. Our responsible managers have been informed about it.

Kind regards,

Community Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We travelled there as a couple from june29-july6 and we really enjoyed our trip at this hotel. At first, we had a junior suite, but as soon as we got there we upgraded it to a bungalow suite, which was totally worth it. We were in building 34, and it was perfect. Really close to the beach. I celebrated my birthday that week, so the maid decorated the room with balloons, and flowers... a really nice and sweet attention from her. Nice and good food, good service and staff. Shows at night were great too, and fun. If you want a spot under an umbrella, make sure to go to the beach early in the morning (8h30 am), to save yourself a spot with your towels. I would definitely go back there.

Room Tip: Do not forget your ''OFF'', (insect repellent).. i had some bug bites the last 3 day...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management-BavaroP, Community Manager at Bavaro Princess All Suites Resort, Spa & Casino, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your recent stay at Bavaro Princess All Suites Resort, Spa & Casino and would like to thank you for taking the time to write about your experience here on Tripadvisor.

Guest satisfaction is our main goal at Bavaro Princess, and it is rewarding to learn that it has been achieved on this occasion.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

With Kindest Regards,

Community Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bavaro Princess All Suites Resort, Spa & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bavaro Princess All Suites Resort, Spa & Casino

Address: Av. Italia, Playas de Bavaro, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#27 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#29 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#32 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#33 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#33 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#36 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bavaro Princess All Suites Resort, Spa & Casino 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Bavaro Princess, situated in the Dominican Republic in an area renowned for its incomparable beauty, the quality of the sand and the clarity of the water on the famous Bavaro Beach. Accommodation at this prestigious resort more than meets the expectations of the most demanding of customers.136 splendid Platinum Suites, 16 Honeymoon Spa Suites, 82 functional Junior Suites, or the 572 spacious and fully equipped Bungalow Suites, provide the ideal added value to enjoy an unforgettable holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Priceline, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Venere, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Bavaro Princess All Suites Resort, Spa & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bavaro Princess Punta Cana
Bavaro Princess Resort Punta Cana
Bavaro Princess Hotel Punta Cana
Hotel Bavaro Princess
Punta Cana Bavaro Princess Hotel Resort
Princess Bavaro
Bavaro Princess Dominican Republic
Bavaro Princess Hotel Dominican Republic
Bavaro Princess All Suites Resort Spa & Casino
Princess Hotel Punta Cana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bavaro Princess All Suites Resort, Spa & Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.