We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bavaro Princess All Suites Resort, Spa & Casino

Save Saved
You added Bavaro Princess All Suites Resort, Spa & Casino to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bavaro Princess All Suites Resort, Spa & Casino
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Av. Italia, Playas de Bavaro, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #40 of 100 hotels in Punta Cana
canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

I will start that this is the second time to this resort. We stayed from Jan. 29 to Feb 5th.
I'm pleased to say that this resort really has great service and the people are wonderful!!!
Our room was beautiful close to beach and pool and only a 7 minute walk from the lobby.
Everyday our room was cleaned with beautiful towel art and flowers that is such a nice added touch. Our experience with the staff was great we had left our camera on the tram and it was returned to lost and found. i wasn't worried about the camera it had all to do with the pictures of our trip.
Whenever we were at the pool or beach we also had great service someone always around to ask if you would like a drink. Koodo's to Claudio (not sure if the spelling is right) did a great job at looking after us.
we had Al a carte open no reservations required which was really nice. the food overall was very good the buffet food could have been a little hotter. Whenever we visited the Lobby we were looked after within minutes. if it wasn't a waitress/waiter the managers would be wandering around and make sure you had what you needed. The entertainment worked very hard and it was enjoyable. they had lots of activities within the resort no need to venture anywhere unless you wanted.
the day we were leaving we called for a pick up and within 5 minutes he arrived and loaded our luggage sadly as we did not want to leave.
if you have any question let me know and i will try my best to answer.
Highly recommend this resort.
Monica

Room Tip: corner suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,754 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2,164
    1,432
    555
    331
    272
See reviews for
1151
1894
78
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (747)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kaukauna, Wisconsin
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

I really can't think of anything bad to say about this hotel or the staff. Happy Face from the animation team was so much fun, she made our vacation special! We had a group of 8 and the first night we were there she asked all of our names and remembered each one of us the whole week! The rooms were great, even without the Platinum upgrade. The ocean was so warm and a beatiful aqua blue. My advice would be ignore the bad reviews book your trip and have a great time! Oh and try a Bavaro Princess..yummy!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

On the first day we arrived, and we booked the standard suite. Automatically, they gave us a platinum suite, right by the beach, with 3 beds, perfect for our family of four. We ate at the seafood restaurant-good selection and good service, as well as view of the beach. What I really enjoyed about this is the fact that you do not have to make a reservation at the restaurants. We wet to the lobby bar, and enjoyed a couple of drinks, and the tenders there were really kind and they knew what they were doing, even the kids! The second day, we woke up, took a stroll on the beach, had breakfast by the beach-(there are two buffets-the main and one is across from the McPrincess snack bar. Average food for breakfast-nice variety of fruit and whatnot. We went for a swim, the for lunch at the main buffet, and then to the pool. There is an ecological forest trail at the resort that leads to or goes from the lobby, into the platinum suite villas.There we saw iguanas everyday, geckos, anoles, weird birds, parrots, rabbits, herrings, black widow spiders, frogs, toads and a variety of fish and turtles-I really recommend this trail! Lunch had a decent variety, burgers steak, potatoes, etc,etc.
We ate at all of the restaurants and buffets, and our favorite dinnertime restaurant was Chopin buffet-the first time we went there. The second time, we got food poisoning, as we ate the breaded grouper fish and it was old and soggy, If it is not crispy, don't eat it!
The beach was great and everyone at the water sports center. I recommend parasailing, surfing at Macao beach, and the one most important one is the snorkeling (strictly snorkeling) excursions in the reef. There is no reef on this beach!!! The beach itself though is amazing. It is raked and clean everyday, crystal blue water, but always high and powerful waves, making the water murky with sandy and seaweed. Watch where you step though, I got pinched by a crab!
Overall, a worth-it investment.

Room Tip: Platinum All the way
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We are a family of 4 with teenagers. We truly enjoyed our time at this resort (January 2013). It has one of the best beaches in the Bavaro area. If you are looking to relax on the beach, this is the place to be!

Having been to the Majestic Colonial a few years ago, I started our trip comparing the two resorts. They are quite different, but both are beautiful resorts. If you are looking for a smaller resort with a huge pool, then I would definitely lean towards the Majestic. The beach at Bavaro Princess, however, is the best around.

GROUNDS: The resort is quite large, but not too large to walk from the main lobby to the beach. They do have transportation throughout the resort if you aren't interested in walking. The grounds are beautiful and well maintained. The grounds crew worked daily making sure the grounds were immaculate (no power tools, everything was trimmed by hand). We were fortunate to meet one of the grounds crew near our bungalow, Carvajal. He would pick coconuts for us daily so that we could drink the coconut water.

RESTAURANTS: The food was good, but not exceptional. The main buffet (Hispaniola) is in the lobby near the entrance of the resort. They had a nice selection. The buffet is quite large and can be quite noisy when full. None of the a la carte restaurants required reservations. We went to dinner fairly early and never had to wait to be seated. We went to the Japanese restaurant,Tanuki (near the center of the resort), I thought the food there was good and quite plentiful. The steakhouse, El Gaucho, was near the beach. The food was good, but the meat not cooked as ordered. Medium/rare was well done and medium was medium/rare (I think there was a language gap with these descriptions). It was tasty, none the less. For breakfast and lunch, El Gaucho was a buffet with choices for everyone’s taste. The seafood restaurant, El Pescador, was in another section of the same building near the beach. The sea bass was excellent. No shrimp on the menu and Lobster was $25 extra. The Italian restaurant, Bella Pasta, was the most disappointing. It was located next to the seafood restaurant near the beach/pool. The snapper and the pasta dishes were very good, but don’t order chicken parm and expect it to be what you would find in the northeastern US. They had a trio of musicians that would perform in each a la carte restaurant every night. It was a nice touch, but they would try to sell you their music CD when they came over to your table. During the day, we had burgers at “McPrincess” on the beach. The burgers were great! The chef working the grill did an excellent job and worked very hard! We did not try the Oriental (Sakura) or Chopin (buffet) both located in the same building as the Japanese restaurant.

ROOMS: We were fortunate to have a bungalow by the beach (building 5) as I had requested prior to our arrival. We were steps away from the pool and the beach. The rooms were very clean and spacious. The fridge was refilled with soda, water, and beer every day. We received diet soda and extra water upon request without a problem. The beds were surprisingly comfortable. The layout of the room and the balcony was very nice. The only problem we experienced in the room was a drippy air conditioning condenser. The air conditioning was located over the tub, so the water dripped right into the tub.

STAFF: All of the staff that we encountered at the resort had been absolutely wonderful. Everyone greeted you with a smile. They worked very hard day and night to accommodate their guests. I was impressed that the staff did whatever they could to communicate with the guests in many different languages. The staff was superb! Most notable were Danicia at the front desk and Carvajal with the grounds crew. The animation team did a great job engaging the guests that wanted to be entertained, but left the rest of us to relax on the beach if we weren't interested in joining the activities.

SPA: I enjoyed the Chocolate spa package with my daughter (Sauna, Jacuzzi, full exfoliation, full chocolate wrap, and aromatherapy…I substituted a scalp massage for the aromatherapy). It was probably more suited for a romantic couple, but we enjoyed it. The services were professionally done and they spent a lot of time with us for an unforgettable experience.

Things we loved:
- The beautiful, clean, spacious beach…with enough shade or sun for everyone. No need to play the towel game here.
- Well maintained grounds.
- Friendly staff!
- Clean, spacious bungalows!
- Beverages were tasty and made to our liking!

Things we would change:
- Too many vehicles traveled on the same path as the pedestrians.
- The natural mangrove area in the middle of the resort occasionally smelled “swampy”. I would be disappointed if we were placed in a room closest to that area.
- Vendors on the beach could be annoying at times, but would leave you alone if you told them that you were not interested.

I would definitely go back! If you have any questions about our experience, don’t hesitate to reach out to me.

Room Tip: Ask for a room closer to the beach and the main pool (or by the main lobby and small pool if you pre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Bay, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

My Wife and I and My brother and Sister-in-Law stayed at the Bavaro Princess Feb 7th to 15th. We had the platinum package which was definitely worth the extra costs. We have stayed at other 5-star resorts and this one really needs an update. We had some bad luck with the room (safe, tv, phone, and 2 major plumbing leaks). We understand that “stuff” happens but these buildings need to be completely renovated. I bet they were really beautiful when newer. At no time did we receive an apology for these inconveniences.
The traffic around the resort is unbelievable. There is a trolley for transporting guests around the resort but then there are many service vehicles running on the same trails/walkways. They don’t go slow either. They should consider a service road around the perimeter and invest in electric engines to reduce noise and fumes (this traffic goes on into the night).
On the good side: Platinum Lounge – always good service and convenient. Platinum beach area – such comfort. Beach – I think this resort has the best beach in the area. Food – McPrincess has the best fries I have ever had. Don’t miss out on this! Japanese restaurant was a lot of fun and delicious. Lecey was excellent for 2 of 4 of us (seafood lovers and haters). Chinese was good; Pasta was ok; Steak was ok. Staff – the staff at this place are exceptional; so friendly and hard working. I would say the staff are the best of any resort we have been to.
Closing: Make sure you bring your beach towels to the check out. 2 of us left them at the beach exchange hut and didn’t get more because they were leaving early the next day. That turned out bad for their 7am checkout. We ended up giving them ours and getting new ones (only because the guy at the beach remembered taking their towels the day before). They were going to get charged $20 per towel. Wow some final impression. Very petty we thought.
If you rate the resort on beach, food and staff this is definitely a winner. If you consider the room it falls short very quickly. We have also seen better grounds and the traffic is a big negative.
So some good and some bad but I don’t think we would go back because the resort is kinda run down.

Room Tip: The platinum rooms are very close to everything except the lobby which is a short trolley ride away
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, TX
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

We found the resort to be very nice.. The rooms were great and the staff very friendly and helpful.
The food was good.... we found the main resturant as good as any of the speciality resturants....
The only thing we found not so nice was the fact that you couldn't flush toilet paper down the toilet...But not abnormal for a third world country.. The vacationers were from many countries so had a very international feel. The grounds were lovely...

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
columbia, pa
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

As soon as we arrived the apple reps made us feel welcome. Check in was a breeze, and we met Carlos, the apple rep for the hotel. I will never forget this guy; he checked everyday to make sure all was good and if it wasn't he fixed it, even to the point of helping me find good medicine for a sinus problem. THANK YOU Carlos. I,ll start with the beach, what awesome beauty; blue water, white sand. True, there is a little seaweed, but isn,t that a natural thing? Our room was large and comfortable, my husband thought it was a little warm, but upon request it was made cooler right away. One vent cools the bed area so our room maid brought a blanket for me without me even having to ask! Thats service. We love to walk so getting around for us was a breeze. Islands are all flat you know so none of the walking was hard. We got to greet a lot of people and see the beautiful grounds. The caretakers of this resort work hard every day to keep this place spotless. I even saw them clean and offer a coconut to some older guests. The pool near the beach was great. You hang with the party crowd or find a nice quiet spot. The animators kept everyone entertained all day everyday!!! The food was good and a little repiticious but they offer just about everything you can think of so all you had to do was pick what you were hungry for that day. They also set up special buffets each day, like wine and cheese, stir-fry, clams, etc. Right outside the main buffet, at the pool, ans the lounge are bulletin boards explaining tomorrows fare. Some people complained about the smell at the mangroves, this is nature also. It would be really nice if people wouldn,t throw trash in there because I am sure it is very hard to retrieve without upsetting the eco-system. The hotel over all is a beautiful place to spend your vacation, I had a wonderful time. Its all in what your looking for-for the price.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms may have less cigarette smoke blowing in the wind.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bavaro Princess All Suites Resort, Spa & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bavaro Princess All Suites Resort, Spa & Casino

Address: Av. Italia, Playas de Bavaro, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#27 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#30 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#34 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#34 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#34 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#36 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bavaro Princess All Suites Resort, Spa & Casino 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Bavaro Princess, situated in the Dominican Republic in an area renowned for its incomparable beauty, the quality of the sand and the clarity of the water on the famous Bavaro Beach. Accommodation at this prestigious resort more than meets the expectations of the most demanding of customers.136 splendid Platinum Suites, 16 Honeymoon Spa Suites, 82 functional Junior Suites, or the 572 spacious and fully equipped Bungalow Suites, provide the ideal added value to enjoy an unforgettable holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Venere, Priceline, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Agoda and Tingo so you can book your Bavaro Princess All Suites Resort, Spa & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bavaro Princess Punta Cana
Bavaro Princess Resort Punta Cana
Bavaro Princess Hotel Punta Cana
Hotel Bavaro Princess
Punta Cana Bavaro Princess Hotel Resort
Princess Bavaro
Bavaro Princess Dominican Republic
Bavaro Princess Hotel Dominican Republic
Bavaro Princess All Suites Resort Spa & Casino
Princess Hotel Punta Cana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bavaro Princess All Suites Resort, Spa & Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.