We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Setting makes the resort” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Paradisus Punta Cana

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Paradisus Punta Cana to your Saves list
Paradisus Punta Cana
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Playas de Bavaro, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 15% discount
Ranked #19 of 99 Hotels in Punta Cana
Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Setting makes the resort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Overall, a very luxurious feel and exquisite grounds; beach is stunning. Personnel generally quite accommodating, reasonable English language proficiency for most. Cuisine options are abundant and buffets hearty but not luxurious - roasted lamb and pork, not tenderloin or lobster. Bartender could use martini lessons, but liquor selection was good. Grounds are beautiful but this is not a place for those unsteady on their feet. The tiled walkways and stairs throughout the resort are very very slippery when wet and the lobby and guestroom have interior steps too. The room was generous in size and had a nice small balcony. Hot water in the shower was unreliable.
Somehow I found myself headed for the beach volleyball area (much too old for this, really) and couldn't find a ball for our small group. Jorge (Ambrose) literally ran to the other end of the resort to retrieve a volleyball from the pool area and then he and Benjy (Bourjolly) joined the game and were terrific team-mates. They were high spirited and went the extra mile, literally.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradisus P, General Manager at Paradisus Punta Cana, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Dear Guest,

Let me first of all thank you for your comments about your recent experience at our hotel, thank you for choosing us.

I would like apologize if some of our facilities failed to meet your expectations, but let me inform you that I am very happy to know that some of our partners like Jorge and Benjy attended you as you deserve, I will transmit your comments to both of them and definitely congratulate them for their good treatment.

Regarding the slippery floors I would cordially inform you that our team always keeps all our areas in perfect condition always taking care of our guests, in case some area is in cleaning, is always highlighted with a signal to indicate if maintenance or any cleaning process, as we always think first of our guests and your satisfaction is what really matters.

Regarding the hot water, we would have liked to have identified this situation during your stay in order to change your perspective about our services.

For me it is an honor to have this direct contact with you.

I appreciate your loyalty and preference, your feedback has been taken into account.

Best regards,

Eduardo Perera
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,596
    1,506
    560
    315
    289
See reviews for
1,712
2,496
95
192
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,199)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Service personnel were very good, management was very poor. They would promise you anything and rarely followed thru. Example comp'ed us spa treatments and never notified the spa. Took 2 and 1/2 hours to replace room keys that did not work. The room we paid for was not available until 2nd day. Butler was to be accessed by cell phone, had to demand one on 2nd day. Drinks were provided in paper cups. Toilet paper was poor quality. We were impressed by Argenis (butler), Carlos (Passions), Francisco and Maria (spa), Geronimo (wait staff).

Room Tip: Demand ocean front
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradisus P, General Manager at Paradisus Punta Cana, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Google Translation
Estimada Micaela,

Que agradable es poder recibir los comentarios sobre su reciente experiencia en Paradisus Punta Cana. Gracias por habernos elegido.

Le agradecemos grandemente por sus cálidas y positivas palabras, nos hace feliz saber que le pudimos ofrecer lo mejor! Felicitaremos sin duda al equipo de Actividades especialmente a Noel, Rafael, Warlin, Ruben, Jorge, David y Fabio por su destreza, voluntad de servir y por siempre estar atentos a brindarles todo lo que pudieran necesitar.

Esperamos recibirlos muy pronto de regreso! Por favor no duden en contactarnos para su próxima visita.

Sinceramente,

Eduardo Perera
Gerente General
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

We stayed at the resort for 5 days. The food was average. The rooms were nice. We had a sliding door out to a little courtyard. This did not stay locked, which kind of freaked me out. The beach was so pretty. We did 2 excursions. The Floating Spa, which was Excellent and I would do again. We also went on a buggy adventure. It was fun but I wouldn't go again.

My biggest complaint about the resort was that there were garbage and food trucks going up and down the side walks 24 hrs a day. It was kind of annoying and loud. The staff was Very friendly and overall a good experience.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradisus P, General Manager at Paradisus Punta Cana, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us; it is definitely a big opportunity for us to see your concerns with an improvement vision.

It sadness us to learn that we could not get to meet your satisfaction to the fullest with some of our services and installations, it worry us as we always put our biggest effort in every service we provide with the only purpose of meet your high expectations about our hotel.

I would have liked to identify the situation with the door at the room before you left our property in order to definitely change your perceptions about us. It does not represent the excellence in service that we provide; we will definitely follow up on your observations and avoid any similar perception in a future.

I would like to make a remark regarding the point you have mention concerning the trucks around the property, let me officially apologize if you did not feel too comfortable with it as it is not a common practice at our hotel. We would love to receive you once more at our property and make sure yourself of the many changes made by your return.

We appreciate your comments! It helps us keep improving and give the best of us.

Do not hesitate to contact us for a next stay.

Kind regards.

Eduardo Perera.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott Township, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

My husband and I recently returned from our anniversary trip to this amazing resort. From the minute we arrived to the minute we left it was just simply awesome. We stayed at the Royal Service and were truly treated like royalty! Our butler Suri was amazing, she made sure we never wanted for anything ,Thanks again Suri!!! We must also thank Jeremia for keeping us well hydrated while enjoying the Royal Beach . You will enjoy the beautiful grounds, food and service the Paradisus provides.

Hope to see all of you next year!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradisus P, General Manager at Paradisus Punta Cana, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Dear Linda,

Receive sunny greetings from Paradisus Punta Cana.

We are glad to learn that you had and amazing time during your holidays, we will congratulate our team for providing you the service and attentions you deserve especially to our associate Suri.

Thank you once again for giving us the privilege to make you live the Pure Freedom experience to Just Be.

We are looking forward to hear back from you!

Regards,

Eduardo Perera
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Punta Cana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

My overall trip to D.R. was GREAT!!!! The Paradisus reserve was everything i hoped it would be. We were up upgraded to a different room than originally planned. The staff was amazing everyone seemed to really love their job. We had a wonderful time and I would definitely recommend this resort to anyone planning to visit D.R.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradisus P, General Manager at Paradisus Punta Cana, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Dear Michelle,

Starting a day reading your recommendation words couldn’t be better, thank you for your preference.

We are all glad to know that you had spent such a great time at our hotel, it makes us happy.

Our team is pleased to know about your excellent experience, and that they were able to fulfill all your expectations and desires with our service and dedication.

We cannot wait to host your stance again at Paradisus Punta Cana and create some excellent memories on you once more.

Best regards,

Eduardo Perera
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Punta Cana
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Our overall stay was wonderful, very relaxing. The room was nice and cozy. We did feel a little intruded on by the staff as they knocked or entered our room at various times of day. All out dinners were delicious and had great service. The only place I would never eat would be the pool bar. The food there was pretty gross. Breakfast and lunches were good and had many choices. I wish they had more entertainment during the day, poolside or beach area. We noticed much more on other resorts. We enjoyed the nightlife there with bands, shows (average performances) and casino.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradisus P, General Manager at Paradisus Punta Cana, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Dear Melissa,

Receive our greetings and gratitude for your comment; we truly appreciate your words.
Let me firstly apologize if you did not feel comfortable with some of our team and your rooms as we always get into connection with our guests in order to make them experience our pure freedom to just be concept.

Regarding our pool bar, I sincerely lament that its food could not exceed your expectations as they comply with all the high standards we offer, it is actually going on a reconstruction process to provide even better services to our visitors.

We offer a wide daily activities program with lots of activities for your enjoyment, nonetheless we completely appreciate all of your observations as we will implement some action plans in order to surpass all of your expectations on your next visit.

We would love to receive you once more.

Best regards.

Sincerely,

Eduardo Perera.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Mirage, Arizona
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

They are the sweetest people you will ever meet! When we got there, we were greeting instantly, showed us to out hotel. Be honest with them, let them know that you don't want to do the timeshare. One guy Eveyes said that he was going to take us to breakfast and tour. Well from reading reviews when we got there, I knew better. I let him know, breakfast was fine, but I refuse to be in a presentation room. If he did, I'd be highly upset. Didn't see him again! Our room was probably a minute away from the beach! Everyone is incredibly nice and loving. They will do whatever you need them to do! Room service was great, kinda slow, but it was okay!
You dictate how the trip goes. Dont go there complaining, it's not worth it. Just enjoy. Night life is amazing too!
Those people can party:)

Room Tip: Just go with the flow. It's a great place and time. I did see ants in my room, in the bathroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradisus P, General Manager at Paradisus Punta Cana, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Dear Mykala,

Receive the warmest greetings from Paradisus Punta Cana.

It has been a pleasure for me to receive your comments, to have had you at our hotel has been a privilege.

About our associate trying to do the presentation I would like to apologize about it as their only intention is to introduce our guest’s new products and offers of our brand, however, know that your comment has been very well taken with a getting better vision.

Due to the large property of our hotel, room service might take a little more than what expected, but this does not determine the great service they provide. They have been actually delivering everything on time with some action plans we have implemented.

I am sincerely glad to know that besides the points above you could enjoy of a great vacation, we will be happy to receive you once more at our resort.

Do not hesitate to contact us for a future stay.

Kind regards.

Eduardo Perera.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Paradisus Punta Cana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradisus Punta Cana

Address: Playas de Bavaro, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#16 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#18 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#33 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#38 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Paradisus Punta Cana 4*
Number of rooms: 688
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the unpretentious luxury of Paradisus Punta Cana Resort. An extraordinary island retreat offering a super balance of natural and man-made wonders. Open-air architecture, featuring indigenous organic materials like raw coral and exotic hardwoods, houses an impossibly sumtuous gallery of luxury Suites and an exclusive Garden Villa. All-inclusive and all encompassing, Paradisus Punta Cana Resort is an ocean front playground for all ages. Tennis, championship golf, every non-motorized water sport imaginable, a magnificent array of restaurants, our own Casino, an incredible Spa For Kids, an exquisite full-service spa and health club and personal world-class service all seamlessly unite to deliver you the relaxing, romantic, carefree, fun-filled experience of a lifetime. The Resort features 688 oversized suites including 143 Royal Service Suites and 4 Ambassador Oceanview Suites, plus a one-of-a-kind oceanfront Garden Villa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Expedia, Amex, Melia, Priceline, Splendia, Orbitz, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Paradisus Punta Cana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradisus Punta Cana Hotel Punta Cana
Paradisus Punta Cana Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paradisus Punta Cana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.