We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradisus Punta Cana the best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Paradisus Punta Cana

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Paradisus Punta Cana to your Saves list
Paradisus Punta Cana
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Playas de Bavaro, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 15% discount
Ranked #18 of 99 Hotels in Punta Cana
Toronto
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Paradisus Punta Cana the best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

We are a family of four and we spent out vacation at Paradisus Punta Cana between 16 - 23 of August 2013. This was the best all inclusive experience we've ever had.

We've been before to Punta Cana three different resorts, Mexico, Jamaica, Cuba but this was by far the best resort. We've fully enjoyed this resort. Our kids, 3 and 6 were very sad when we had to leave. They made friends at the kids club that they could not part with. The staff at the kids zone rocks! Very helpful and nice to the children, organizing kids birthdays and tons of activities.

Restaurants are great. We've enjoyed The Grill restaurant 2 times. The steaks are delicious and the service second to none. Buffet has also a good variety of foods.

There is a lot of shade, for people that cannot stand too much sun, you don't feel the heat because of that. The architecture is exquisite, the way the restaurants and bars blend with the beach is new for us.

Resort is not very large so you can practically walk anywhere if not the golf cart will be 5 minutes away...Beach is great and very clean. So are the rooms, pools and the buffet.

The staff was very helpful and nice.

We are planning to go back again.

Luana, Luke, Ondine and Alex

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,273 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,601
    1,507
    560
    316
    289
See reviews for
1,714
2,501
95
192
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,202)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Everything is a matter of taste. So, let's talk about real things and not perceptions occurred due to a certain experience.
In our opinion, when you go for a beach-front vacation, it is mostly because you are willing to relax and enjoy warm weather, sea, beach or pool.
That is why, we want to describe how this place is suitable for what you may be looking for.

Beach and sea. 5* Paradisus Punta-Cana has the most beautiful beach area at Bavaro. You won't find anything similar at other hotels in Punta-Cana doesn't matter how expensive your hotel is . It is the widest, longest, and cleanest hotel beach probably in the whole island. The service at the Royal Service beach is perfect thank to Jeremia and Jose.

Food and beverage service. 5* By staying at Royal Service, you get access to the best everyday restaurant at the hotel - La Palapa - situated on the beach and suitable for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Its chef Julio Cesar can accommodate and personalize all your needs on fine food. The service team is professional and discrete. We wish to thank Rosabel, Quintina, Jhonffy, Juan Ch., Yahaira, Richard Tejeda, Noellia, and Eliseo - without your everyday attention we would not enjoy our stay as much as we did. Thank you. At the Royal Service area the bar and pool are amazing. The finest and richest selection of alcohol for everyone's daily needs that you can find. The service is excellent thanks again to Jeremia, Jose, and Pamela.

Rooms. 4* The rooms are smaller then you can find at other more recent hotels. In our opinion, it is lacking of uniformity in an everyday service and room preparation. However, everything is clean and you are provided twice a day with plenty of towels to cover all your needs.

If you experience some difficulties you can always get help from managers or assistant managers who are very comprehensive and highly professional. We wish to thank Royal Service team and in particular Enrique Garcia and Anthony Sosa.
Our special thanks to Nathaniel and Sr. Eduardo Perera who are present and available.

At last, do not hesitate to go to Paradisus Punta-Cana - you will find what you are looking for your best vacation and do not forget to treat people who work hard everyday with respect and dignity. One needs to remember that you are in a foreign country and that not all staff members are fluent in your language, just as you are not in theirs. A big smile, "hello", and "how are you?" go a long way especially with Latins. We say this because it was our experience to see some truly obnoxious clients.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles Town, West Virginia, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

I'm going to base this review on a 1 - 10 scale with 1 being the lowest and 10 being the greatest.

Rooms = 9

Resort = 10, Big Beautiful Resort, with Great Pools and a Great Beach.

Pool = 10 - The Reserve Pool is beautiful and less crowded with Plenty of Seating. You wont get a seat at the main pool unless you get there early and claim your spot.

Beach = 10

Service = 4, Bar service is lacking. You will get ignored and if you dont speak spanish you wont be understood.

Restaurants = 5, Be sure to confirm your reservations after they are made. We showed up one night and they didnt have our name down and wouldnt provide us service. We made reservations the first day, but they seemed to screw that up. The food was mediocre. The main buffet restaurant gets very crowded and the popular food items dont stay well stocked.

Kid Zone = 4, not a lot of activities going on for the kids. The kiddie pool is mostly for babies and kids 5 and under.

Nightly Entertainment = 4, shows were ok. No early shows for the kids. All shows start at 10pm.

SPA = 9

Additional Comments;

The big downer here was the lack of service. Felt ignored at any bar unless I was flashing cash. They were very pushy with attending a timeshare seminar. We didnt go to their appointment they setup and they were calling the room. We ignored the calls. They then came to the room knocking on the door in the morning. We ignored the knocks and waited for them to leave. They then tracked us down at breakfast because you have to give your room number when checking in for meals. They didn't bring fresh towels every day unless you called and asked for them. The refrigerator doesnt stay stocked every day. Be prepared to walk everywhere unless you spend big money for Club Melia membership. They had tram cars running around the site, but you will wait a while for them, and they will be overcrowded without enough room.

It would have been great if the service was better and if they had more entertainment and activities for our 9 year old daughter.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

My family recently returned from Paradisus -- it was an excellent trip. This is our second time at the resort - first visit it was just my wife and me a few years ago-- this most recent trip we brought our two small children, both <3yrs old (as well as extended family). I give high marks to the resort overall (I always recommend to anyone who goes to DR) -- you really can't ask for much more. I think that the Hard Rock will continue to be a competing destination in the market (we went there for dinner and gambling), but it's a different experience.

There is one small area where the hotel must focus (by small, I mean quick and relatively inexpensive fix) and it was a consistent observation during this visit and is different than our first stay -- lack of service / bar staff at the pool and the beach.

1) One bartender (two max) at the pool bar!? -- come on! There are two levels / sides (in the pool side and out of the pool). Lines were forming every day - and the "in the pool side" was most neglected. It looks like some work was being done on the "in the pool side", but should not be an excuse. It was chronically understaffed and I have no idea why. We were told by a staffer that the pool bar "has been an issue". Just fix it.

2) The first time we were there, there were servers on the beach, taking orders for the bar (drinks, chips). Service on the beach was all but nonexistent. What killed me, was that it was often the same solo bartender from the pool bar, coming by to take orders. At least you guys gave me a chuckle on that. Really, how much does that cost?

I tell you, if you guys tweaked these two things, I would have nothing negative to say.

Special notes:
- for those with small kids and want a babysitter -- request Esther -- she is great (she works at the spa, but can coordinate through the concierge). Leave your kids with her, then go out to have a blast. No need to be concerned = priceless.
- I am a scuba diver and used scuba quatic (during both trips). It's a solid outfit and was pleased with the service I received from Domingo and JP (Juan Pablo) this trip [Nitrox certification].
- shout out to Anton Moneta at Bana restaurant, who works extra hard to make dinner a fun experience (especially with one child throwing a tantrum)
- most solid food experience (my opinion) Palazzo (Italian). While this is for Royal Service guests (which we were not), we did eat there one night.

Thanks.
Trevor.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kearny
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

I go on 2 trips yearly and I must say this by far has been my worst the rooms looked cheep the night entertainment was horrible every night the same music played in the same order which it was boring to me also there are not too many choices of food in the restaurant. I was on the 1 st floor and the windows didn't lock properly. Over all the workers were nice n the outside care of the resort was nice.

Room Tip: Up grade to more luxury rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

I recently celebrated my birthday and my radio show's anniversary at the Paradisus Punta Cana. Thanks to the staff at Paradisus Punta Cana, our trip was excellent and our group had a fantastic time. Team Paradisus Punta Cana did an excellent job for our group and events. All of their efforts made our trip not only a success with our friends, family and clients but made the enviroment celebratory and easy! The extra touches made the trip very memorable. The accommodations were well received by our guests. Some stayed in the Reserve, some upgaded to Royal Service and some had standard suites. The property and grounds are beautiful with mangroves, gardens, statues, flora and fauna. The Yhi Spa is fabulous. The Hibiscus Treatment is a must! It's an 80 minute treatment that leaves your skin feeling silky and your body relaxed. Our group was able to have some private events and take advantage of the resorts regular activities and events. I was a bit spoiled because we were a group and the group coordinator Yohanna made sure all of our needs were met.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Lawn, Illinois
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

My husband and I went with a group to celebrate a wonderful friend's birthday and The Traveling Eye 6th anniversary on radio. We opted to upgrade to the Royal Service and it was simply fabulous. The room's location, view, terrace and outdoor jacuzzi was exceptional. The Royal service included a butler, a private beach, lounge, restaurant and pool with Bali beds that we spent most of our time on. The concierge service while lounging was great and a special Thank you to Margie and Andrew from Royal Service in making our trip something we will be attempting to duplicate at another Melia Paradisus resort in Mexico for upcoming birthday. Well done Paradisus...

Room Tip: Rooms closer to the beach are more convenient and closer to beach, restaurants, pools, and local mer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradisus P, General Manager at Paradisus Punta Cana, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for having selected Paradisus Punta Cana as your holiday destination and for taking the time to write this review.

It is gratifying to learn that our Royal Service team exceeded your expectations and that your experience was exceptional, we can assure you that our main objective is exactly that, to provide you a unique Pure Freedom stay. We appreciate your positive comments regarding the service given by Margie and Andrew, we will extend you gratitude to them.

Please do not hesitate to contact us for your next visit, we will be waiting for your return.

Best Regards,

Eduardo Perera
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Paradisus Punta Cana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradisus Punta Cana

Address: Playas de Bavaro, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#16 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#17 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#33 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#38 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Paradisus Punta Cana 4*
Number of rooms: 688
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the unpretentious luxury of Paradisus Punta Cana Resort. An extraordinary island retreat offering a super balance of natural and man-made wonders. Open-air architecture, featuring indigenous organic materials like raw coral and exotic hardwoods, houses an impossibly sumtuous gallery of luxury Suites and an exclusive Garden Villa. All-inclusive and all encompassing, Paradisus Punta Cana Resort is an ocean front playground for all ages. Tennis, championship golf, every non-motorized water sport imaginable, a magnificent array of restaurants, our own Casino, an incredible Spa For Kids, an exquisite full-service spa and health club and personal world-class service all seamlessly unite to deliver you the relaxing, romantic, carefree, fun-filled experience of a lifetime. The Resort features 688 oversized suites including 143 Royal Service Suites and 4 Ambassador Oceanview Suites, plus a one-of-a-kind oceanfront Garden Villa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, BookIt.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Amex, Melia, Priceline, Splendia, Orbitz, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Paradisus Punta Cana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradisus Punta Cana Hotel Punta Cana
Paradisus Punta Cana Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paradisus Punta Cana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.