We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seafood Lover's Paradise!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Paradisus Punta Cana

Save Saved
You added Paradisus Punta Cana to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Paradisus Punta Cana
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Playas de Bavaro | Punta Cana, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to $1500 Resort Credit
Ranked #44 of 101 hotels in Punta Cana
Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Seafood Lover's Paradise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Just got back last night from the Paradisus after a great week of eating and drinking way too much! I read tons of reviews before we left and I really don't understand why people complain about the food. It was fabulous! We dined at a different a la carte every night. I prebooked the restaurants which I highly recommend because everyone I spoke to said they had trouble booking when they arrived. Some people gave up because they couldn't get an answer after trying to call for hours. Others had to go to the front desk and get agressive in order to get in to the restaurants.Even the buffets were great, especially Naos. The best waitress ever was Kirsy Yudelka Mercidis. She has the most beautiful smile and as soon as she saw us, she had a bucket with champagne ready to go. The only real negative is the broken down bicycles they have in the Adventure Park. We met the manager, Eduardo and he told us they are bringing in 250 bikes in June......guess we will have to go back again! Also, Carolina is Eduardo's assistant and she was kind enough to arrange our a la cartes.....I have to eat gluten free so it was comforting to know the chefs were prepared. I did not get sick at all. We had wonderful prawns, scallops, shrimp, lobster, calamari and many other amazing fish dishes. The Animation staff are excellent! The magic workshop, hat and candle making were awesome. Try to get a Luxury Junior Suite as they are more modern. Do not hesitate to book this resort. Do be aware of the nice guys in white trying to sell time shares. You think they are there to assist you, but they just want to take you for breakfastand sell! We were aware so we told them NO twice. One last thing........... The bartenders at the swim up bar are the best we have ever had! Go ahead and book the Paradisus.......you won't be disappointed!

Room Tip: Building 11 is close to everything.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradisus P, General Manager at Paradisus Punta Cana, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear Mrs. Heather,

It has been a pleasure to host you at Paradisus Punta Cana, and we really appreciate your warm comments.

We do have eleven restaurants with a huge variety of the best quality food. In addition, our Chefs are prepared in case of people who are not able to eat gluten, lactose intolerant, allergic…

The Animation staff is excellent as you said; shows, entertainment and activities are a big part of Paradisus Punta Cana.

We are a company that protects the environment, for this reason we have decided to bring bicycles; everybody will be able to use them anytime and enjoy the beautiful paths, flora and fauna.

We would love to have you back soon, please do not hesitate in contact us for your next visit, we are looking forward to your return.

Best regards,

Eduardo Perera
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,149 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2,196
    1,034
    416
    263
    240
See reviews for
1084
1652
72
116
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (785)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manitoba, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Our group of 8 mid-twenties Canadians stayed at Paradisus March 28 to April 4.

The resort was in great shape, awesome beach, awesome pool, friendly and helpful staff from top to bottom.

The food was fantastic at all 4 restaurants we tried (although i do recommend making reservations on the first day for your entire stay if you want). Ask the waiter/tress what meal is best, he'll be right! The buffets were great for breakfast, OK for lunch, i would not have been a fan if had 2-3 meals a day there.

The rooms were great, clean, and comfortable beds. Even room service food ordered at 4am is tasty and quick.

The bar service at the Gabi Beach bar & Lobby bar was unreal... ESPECIALLY Marcello Sanchez and Juan Cruz at the Pool bar, they were over the top all week! Great service, and even some entertainment.. and every hour is happy hour. Thanks for the Mama Juanas.

The resort (at least at the time of year we went) is perfect for couples and families.. i do not recommend if you are a group of singles.

One frustrating was the towels reserving chairs at the pool and beach, while no one sits in them all day... I understand wanting to keep them if you go to play in the water for half an hour or to grab a drink, but if you are leaving for a meal, or just reserving them IN CASE you decide you want to come to the pool.. thats unfair. There seemed to be a lot of this here.

Our group originally was scattered all over the resort as we booked separately, but a quick request at the front desk when checking in, and we were all side by side.

Overall, a great experience and i would return.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradisus P, General Manager at Paradisus Punta Cana, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear Mr. Jay,

Thank you very much for your feedback. We appreciate you chose Paradisus Punta Cana for your trip with friends.

We will let Marcello Sanchez and Juan Cruz know about your words, as you said, they are great!

Our passion is Pure Freedom of our guests, for this reason we are bringing more palapas and long chairs in the near future, to be able to accomodate all your needs.

We are looking forward to your return!

Best regards,

Eduardo Perera
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This was our first trip to an all inclusive resort and this place was wonderful. Moreno, Sandra and Inez were stand outs among the amazing staff. The landscape and pool crew deserve a standing ovation for maintaining the facility at top notch levels ever day. Housekeeping was excellent as well. We ate at the specialty restaurants that were included, they were very good, but honestly I could have eaten every meal at the buffets. We visited one other resort during our stay and we felt ours had a much more relaxing and tropical atmosphere. It was cleaner and the food was much better at Paradisus. If one thing could be improved would be that our patio door did not lock securely. There was a safe in the room but I was a little uncomfortable that our room was not able to be secured.

Room Tip: We were in building 25 which was closest to the beach and the buffets and the pool. There is a tram...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradisus P, General Manager at Paradisus Punta Cana, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear guest,

We appreciate your warm words, and will be shared with our Housekeeping department.

Our guests satisfaction is the main goal, and after reading your comments we are glad your enjoyed your stay.

We have reported the patio door lock to our maintenance team who will be able to fix it right away.

Thank you for coming and choosing us! we are looking forward to your next visit!

Best regards,

Eduardo Perera
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Binbrook
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We travelled with our family and another family - 8 of us all together (4 rooms) from March 30, 2013 to April 6, 2013.

So this resort could have rave reviews, however, they need to make some adjustments that are not a huge undertaking; but make a definitely huge impact.
We stayed in rooms 1048, 2041, 2051 and 2052.
These rooms are outdated and need some improvements made to them - especially the bathrooms. They are in a fantastic location as they are close to the beach, pool and all the restaurants.

Arrival: kind of a shaky start - took a long time to check in and 2 of the 4 rooms weren't ready - we didn't mind as we had all of the suitcases brought to one room then went for lunch as we were famished from the flight.
Everyone went to the pool to relax and myself and my daughter went to the one room and called front desk to see if the other rooms were ready. One of the remaining rooms were ready and the front desk told me that they gave the key package away to someone else?? We were all just together and so who did they give this package to??? Needless to say, we didn't get the last of the 4 rooms until about 9pm that first night. That was a bit of a tick off.

Cleanliness: The common areas seemed to be cleaned on a regular basis and well kept. However, our rooms were a struggle to get cleaned. The one room seemed to get cleaned on a regular basis, however the 3 remaining rooms were not. There were a few days where the rooms weren't cleaned until after 8:30 pm. One night a maid came to our room at 10:30 pm - my daughter was already asleep and I was just about to crawl in bed myself. So she exchanged the towels quickly and left. One night after many complaints about the rooms not being cleaned, someone called our room to see if the room was to our satisfaction. The room had not yet been cleaned and we still hadn't any more fresh water restocked in our fridge?? Another night the husbands got frustrated and instead of calling, they went to the front desk to ask why the rooms still had not been cleaned at 6:30pm. Front desk called made a few phone calls and pulled out some paperwork indicating that the rooms were cleaned at 2 pm. However, no one had yet been in the room to restock drinks, the beds still had the same linens and no fresh towels. This part of the trip was a bit frustrating as we have been on MANY vacations and have never had these issues.
The other mom commented the one day that she found a cockaroch in her room. She was ready to leave.

Bathrooms in the rooms: Agian, the rooms are pretty tired looking and need to be updated. This also inlcudes the bathrooms. Towel bars and toilet paper holders have been replaced and the old fixtures have huge patches where the old fixtures used to be. The tub looked disgusting in our room. My daughter stood on facecloths in the shower it was so bad. It had huge chips in the bathtub and were very rough. The tub looked dirty just from the abuse that it's taken. My daughter accidently touched the switch to hold water in the tub, and so 3 inches of water took about 5 full minutes to drain. the plumbing is really bad. No water pressure- the shower faucets spray everywhere but down. The sink faucet is horrible as well. Some days the water was ony scolding hot and you couldn't get cold or warm water - just hot. The toilet we had to take the bag out of the garbage can and fill it with water so that we could flush the toilets. toilet paper from a pee wouldn't make it down the toilet, let alone someone that had to 'go' to the bathroom. This is definitely not a 5 star bathroom. Our shower was the only shower out of the 4 bathrooms that had a fly issue?? From the first day there were these small flies in the shower - I tried a million things to get rid of them, but couldn't. They were easy to kill - but jsut kept returning? I tried leaving the window open to air out the bathroom - that didn't work either. These flies were smaller than a house fly and bigger than a fruit fly, and looked like a black fly. regardless - kind of disgusting when taking a shower. Our bathroom on the first day smelled like puke, but that vanished over our trip.

Beds: Our bed and pull out couch were comfortable, but the bed in room 2041 along with the pull out couch was horrendous.

Food: the food at the resort was really good. Lots of variety and something for everyone. Fresh fruit all the time which is greatly appreciated. It took a really long time for drinks to arrive at tables ie. coke or cappucinos.

Restaurants: beautiful. I love the details. The buffets aren't typical open concept rooms, they are elegant and fun at the same time - like a lounge but only a restaurant.

Trolleys: sparce. they need more. The one mom in our group waited for a trolley for over 45 minutes - would have been faster to walk, but it was late and she was wearing heels. And the exhaust from the trolley is horrendous - like most resorts.

Weather: this isn't the resorts fault - but we did get a few bad days of weather with rain and overcast and high winds. I had some crafts for the kids to do - so we made the best of it.

Beach: beautiful as always. the waves are alot of fun to crash around in. nice lounge chairs

pool: clean and nice lounge chairs. Tourists play the silly towel games with getting chairs in the mornings. The one mom went out at 6am the one day and all the chairs at the pool were accounted for - and no one was at the pool. I don't like this game.

My daughter and I took a little romp over to the reserve pools. they were stunning. Note that this section is very high priced.

Balcony: nice large balcony with some privacy. Note that we did not have a hot tub in any of the 4 rooms from our trip.

rock climbing/trampoline jumping: there is an area that has a small rock wall that can be climbed and ping pong and the trampoline jump that my daughter did (she's 8). She loved it - but there is only one guy that operates everything - he really needs more help there. so he can't take someone off the trampoloine nad out of their harness when he is helping someone on the rock wall - so parents were taking their own kids out of the trampoline harness. Not good practice.

Dune buggy excursion: $55/person - 6 of the 8 people went on this excursion. Didn't get to blast around as they expected. Most of the trails were on roads. They did come back dirty. The beach was absolutely beautiful and the swimming in caves was apparently really nice. All the stops, locals were cagging for money and trying to sell items. This excursion felt more like a money grab than an excursion.

Dolphin swim excursion: $155/pperson - 4 of the 8 people went on this excursion. The photos with the dolphins cost $65 because there were 4 of us?? we only got one disc. We got to swim with nurse sharks and a massive sting ray. and could take pics in that section. but with the dolphins, we weren't allowed any pics - the cameras had to go in the lockers. ALso note - no jewellery - you have to take it off and leave in a locker that has no lock - so leave at the hotel in a safe. There were alot of pickups at different hotels before arriving at the dolphin swim - at least 6 different hotels. And there was one woman from a different resort who had already been on the bus for an hour prior to us getting on the bus. The beach was beautiful and the staff seemed well organized. We took the early morning trip and glad that we did - because when we were leaving and the afternoon excursion was coming in - it was so crowded with people it was almost unbearable.

Due to the issues that we had, we were offered a single service for the 4 girls that were in our group. Either a manicure a pedicure or a facial. The spa is open from 8am to 8pm. we were informed of this courtesy at 7 pm the night before we were departing. We were leaving the next morning. This felt like this was a set up. basically, they would offer us something that we couldn't utilize because of time constraints. That wasn't fair.

This resort is very beautiful and the grounds are very well taken care of. the staff are really nice and the shows were alot of fun (fire dancer, staff dancing in the lobby, etc), the restaurants were beautiful, even the lobby bathroom is amazing. The beach is beautiful, the food is good, the pools were clean and so were the common bathrooms.
However, to make this resort exceptional, this is our advice:
* fix the plumbing issues
* update the rooms
* replace the faucets (shower and sinks) in rooms
* ensure that rooms are cleaned in a timely manner (at least prior to the pool closing at 6pm)
* ensure that drinks etc are brought in a timely manner - not after the dinner when you are getting up to leave.
* cleaning staff should be aware of any bug issues and resolve these issues prior to having new guests in these rooms.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradisus P, General Manager at Paradisus Punta Cana, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to let us know your comments from your last stay at our Paradisus Punta Cana Hotel. As we are deeply committed to achieving our guest’s total satisfaction, your opinion is very important to us.
On the subject of the fumigation, please know that this is a tropical country and we have to do this procedure constantly to be able to control the insects that we have in the area. I can assure you that your comment will be send to the department involve for them to change the time to not cause any inconvenience in the future to come.
Please accept our most sincere apologies for the incommodities caused. We are concerned to learn about the matters mentioned, It is unfortunate that you didn’t like our rooms, please know that we have recently renovated rooms and if you weren’t pleased with the room assigned you could’ve approached your corresponding reception and requested a change and they would’ve made the changes needed in order to make the quality of your stay as good as you well deserve.
Your notes about the cleaning service were sent to our housekeeping manager. All the misfortunate inconveniences you stated are definitely not a reflection of the quality we strive every day. Please be sure that corrective actions will be taken to avoid future situations like the ones you have shared with us.
Once again thank you for taking the time to extend to us your experience, stand sure that it is of great value to us, for direct feedback from our guests is a guide to strengthen our weaknesses and a motivation to stay committed to our main priority to make our guests feel as if they’re at their home away from home.

Best regards,

Eduardo Perera
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherman, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

So this will be the fourth time that I have posted this review. As you can see if you look at my reviews, I generally only give good reviews, because having been in the hospitality business I understand that sometimes you just have off days. This situation is totally different. I will continue to post this review until it stays. I have saved it and will repost every 48 hours until Paradisus Punta Cana either responds or leaves this review on its own merits of truth in the review.
I had arrived in Punta Cana with two business associated on a business trip over the Easter weekend. We had selected the Paradisus Punta Cana based on suggestions form others that had stayed in the area and recommendations of our corporate travel department. I travel a lot, I spend over 150 nights a year on the road, so I feel that I am qualified to compare this property to others that I have stayed at. Upon our arrival I gave our reservation numbers and names to the lady meeting the taxi at the property. She looked at her arrivals sheet and said that she didn't see our names on the sheet. Well, we have seen this before and knew which way this was going to go. We followed her to the front desk and gave her our information and passports. We stood patiently for about 15 minutes while she disappeared to the back office. When we inquired as to what was taking so long she said that her manager was locating nice rooms for us. So we found some couches in the lobby and began the wait. After another 45 minutes she finally came out with some paper and wrist bands. What is this for? Oh, these are vouchers for discounts on your next trip and bracelets so you can use our facilities ... huh? Well we don't have rooms for you because we are oversold by 90 rooms, but we are going to find you a nice room nearby. Well, we don't want vouchers as we are on a business trip and wouldn't travel here for personal vacation, we don't want to use your facilities because we aren't going to travel to come back here and where are our rooms? Well they got us "comparable" rooms in the Princess Punta Cana (NOT a Fairmont Property). The rooms were anything but comparable, but they were adequate for our stay and we decided that we could probably do anything for two nights. I will say that the people at the Princess were wonderful and VERY accommodating. So we had rooms and were ready to start our stay ... two hours after arriving at Paradisus. There were other memorable events but that would get boring.
Well we have dinner then head to our rooms for the night. But then I get a message from one of my associates that someone from Paradisus was at our hotel and needed to talk to us. NO was the only response that I had for them. The next day they came to get us from the Paradisus, not for rooms that they now had available, but for payment for the rooms that we weren't using ... REALLY, I'm not kidding! The lady that they sent over was telling us that if she didn't collect the money that she was going to be fired, that we needed to pay them, it all just reminded me so much of the beggars that I have dealt with in India. NO WAY was I going to pay them $439 a night for a room that, as I was sitting there, I pulled up on another travel site for $139 per night. So after another two hours of our lives being wasted we got the Paradisus manager on the phone. At the same time we had our corporate travel agent on the line. So after all the people going back and forth and us telling them that there was no way that they were going to get the money out of us we had reached a stalemate. At this point all we really wanted to do was go to the bar! We agreed to pay $169/night, still more than it was advertised for and give back the bracelets that we had all already removed and had no intention of using anyway.
This was the most irritating experience that I have had in over 28 years of traveling for business. I have had hotels that were booked out before, but they had always had rooms set for us prior to arrival at another property, where we paid that property directly. It happens, I get that, but the manner in which this transpired, as a business traveler, was entirely unacceptable. THEN to try and shake us down for their room rate for a room valued at less than half their rate just seems to border on criminal. I have told our corporate travel department, responsible for booking over 550 room nights annually just for our 6 person department, to put this property on the do not stay list. Their greed and lack of respect for the business traveler is unprecedented in all of my travels. Do not stay here!

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradisus P, General Manager at Paradisus Punta Cana, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your feedback, as you have mentioned in your review we request Trip Advisor Management to remove your previous comment. We pride in our associates and their work; in fact, we consider them our most valuable asset. We understood the vocabulary used was offensive towards them and based on this we took the liberty request the removal of the posting.

Never was our intention to block your review. In fact we regret that your reservation was not handled to your satisfaction, and will like to invite you to contact us so we can remedy this unfortunate situation.

Thank you again, and please know that we value and appreciate every one of our clients, as well as our associates.

Best regards,

Eduardo Perera
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed at Paradisus Punta Cana last week for 7 days and nights, and overall our stay was excellent and I would recommend it to anyone thinking of going to the Dominican Republic. The property was absolutely beautiful, very well maintained, and safe.

GROUNDS, STAFF, AND DÉCOR: Each building and restaurant has its own unique but cohesive décor, and you can tell that a lot of thought went into each choice of flooring, artwork, tables, chairs, and other accessories. The landscaping was lush and tropical, and the army of maintenance people took great care to clean up any debris each day. The staff members were pleasant and responsive to any needs, and went out of there way to help when needed. The beach-side seating and lounge chairs were better than anything we saw at the nearby resorts, with plush cushions, nice cabanas, and covered hut-like structures to provide shelter from the searing Dominican sun. The two pools (one main pool and another at the Reserve) were gorgeous and had plenty of space for families to spread out, and each had swim-up bars. The main pool got a little rowdy mid-afternoon when the kids seemed to converge, but otherwise was quiet. Our friends with two kids really enjoyed the Fun Zone area, in addition to the babysitters provided at extra charge by the resort.

NEED-TO-KNOW: If you want a good seat at either the beach or pool, you MUST get up before sunrise (i.e. generally 5:30am) and put towels out and leave them there all day, or you will not have a good seat or any seat at all on sunny days. Also, do your research and make reservations for excursions and restaurants before you arrive, as they fill up quickly. Final need-to-know is that you do NOT need to have Dominican pesos at Paradisus, and in fact, they are almost shunned by the staff. We exchanged some money beforehand, and had real trouble trying to get change for tips. Dollars are acceptable and probably preferred by the staff.

FOOD & DRINKS: The restaurants provided healthy and delicious food, including grilled lobster most nights and an assortment of fresh grilled meats, fish, vegetables, salads, breads, breakfast items, and desserts. We tried almost all of the restaurants at Paradisus, and I would recommend sticking to Naos, Gabi Beach, Bana, and Aqua. Naos and Gabi are the only ones that you do not need reservations for, and there are a few others that you pay extra for (but we didn’t try them). The other restaurants are really not worth the extra effort because the food was just ok. Although the website is a bit vague on this point, almost all of the alcoholic beverages were included in the overall price--including wine, beer, rail drinks, and CHAMPAGNE!

ROOM: Our recently-renovated room had plenty of space, and was tastefully decorated with modern furnishings and artwork. We had a nice patio outside as well with couches and a separate cabana--the perfect shaded area to read when the sun was at its highest. The only real drawback was a pervasive moldy smell, which is not too surprising given proximity to the beach and high humidity, but still unpleasant. The mini-fridge was stocked daily with water, juice, beer, and soda—all free as part of the package. There was also bottled water in the bathrooms (which I would recommend you use to wash your toothbrush with if you don’t want issues). The maid service was a little sporadic (not sure when they came each day), but they did a good job of cleaning up the sand we inevitably tracked in each day.

ENTERTAINMENT: Our room was located close to the water, and Gabi Beach has an awesome space to have entertainment (and sometimes even a DJ nearby), but there was positively no action. Big complaint!! Sometimes in the afternoons they had dance/fashion shows, but Gabi was disturbingly quiet in the evenings given its potential to be a great night-spot for music and dancing. We found out only towards the end of the trip that there was live music, entertainment, and a dicso up at the main lobby each night. It was located far enough away that generally you have to take a shuttle, so we just thought that nothing was going on. Next time we’ll do our research about entertainment at the resort.

TO-DO: Generally we spent our time on the beach or at the pool, but we did one excursion off the resort with the Marinarium company. They shuttled us from the resort to the dock, where we took a glass-bottomed boat to a place offshore where we swam with sharks and sting rays, and enjoyed a relaxing day on the boat. It was a safe and exciting way to experience the waters of the DR. We also heard that the buggy-type driving excursion was awesome, but booked too late and there was no space. There are multiple companies that do this type of driving excursion, including Fun Buggy and Xtreme Buggy.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradisus P, General Manager at Paradisus Punta Cana, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear guests,

Thank you for choosing us for your vacation at Dominican Republic.
Regarding your comments, we are glad you enjoyed the overall experience at Paradisus Punta Cana.

Your friend’s kids and all children at the hotel are more than welcome in going to our KIDS ZONE AREA, especially design for them, with a specific pool for kids. Responsible associates are in charge, so kids are able to enjoy as much as their parents are during holidays.

Pool and beaches have several palapas and long chairs to all our guests. Unfortunately we are not able to control how many long chairs or palapas are occupied or just have a forgot towel.

We do have eleven restaurants, buffet and a la carte, we feel proud of our product and we are glad you were able to try the grilled lobster, which is delicious!

All our rooms and suites are fully equipped and inspected before guests’ arrival. We do use aromatherapy in the bedroom area as well.

Gabi beach, as you mentioned, is an awesome area for our guests enjoyment, listening music, doing activities, drink and eat. We do have a large amount of activities all over the hotel, also at Gabi beach; rest assured we have shared your comments with Activities department to provide more information of our entertainment spot.

THANK YOU again from PARADISE! We really hope to have you again soon.

Best regards,

Eduardo Perera
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

This is a very nice resort but we had some problems. Overall, we will not return back to this resort.
The good things: nice architecture, very modern, the beach and the pool just beautiful. The room was very modern.
Negative aspects:
1) The food: the buffet is very small, not much variety; it is more like 4 stars hotel. We compare with other 5 stars hotels, like Gran Bahia Principe. The buffet was not even a quarter of what you can find in a 5 stars hotel (variety) . Every day, the same thing, for a week, nothing changes. Even in Cuba we had more variety, a bigger buffet 
2) Restaurant a la carte: that’s a joke. They ask you to call from the room, not to go in person to make the reservation. We met in our first day some people who called in the morning and they were told to call in the afternoon. They couldn’t have the reservation in the afternoon, so they had to call next day. At the end,, they were told there are no more places. We went directly to the Public Relations office and we told them to make us reservations. After one hour of waiting, we got some reservations, but not what we wanted, “Because it is full” . In our first day! We talked with several people, and they had the same experience.
3) There is no toilet on the beach. The beach is very long, so, we had 2 options: to go to the buffet toilet or in the room. We were at the end of the beach (no more palapas after 7 am ), so we went in the room. We were with 2 small children. My wife and my kids had some digestive problems because of the food. Never happened before. Not even in Cuba. One day, we had to go in the room to use the toilet. But the door didn’t want to open. Problems with the keypad. We had to run to the buffet toilet. They came 3 times in that day to repair the door. Second day: same problem. They came again and changed all the keypad.
4) No minibars on the beach. Only at the buffet. We were at the end of the beach, so we just brought some drinks from our room instead of taking long walks to the buffet restaurant.
5) The show is at 10 pm. If you have children who fall asleep around 9-10, forget about it. We never had the chance to go to the show.
6) Our last day: we had the bus coming at 11:45. I called the bell boy at 11 to pick up the luggage. They never showed up not even after 3 calls. We had to ask somebody who was just passing with a mini-car to help us.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradisus P, General Manager at Paradisus Punta Cana, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for your feedback; we appreciate your observations.
We are glad to find out that there were some aspects from our services you find worth to mention, especially the beautiful beach, the pool, and our moderns rooms.
It is surprising to know that our gastronomy did not satisfy your palate, as we offer a wide culinary tour through a lot of international gastronomies. Our chefs at all the restaurants are always willing to spoil our guests by preparing some special dishes even out of the many if necessary.
In reference to the bars at the beach, it should be note that our property has 3 bars near the beach (Gabi Beach, Royal Service and Family Concierge). However, I would like to inform you that we are working on the remodeling of the beach area, including some mini extra bars that will be distributed all over the beach
Despite these inconveniences, we hope you will be willing to give us the opportunity to welcome you once again at our hotel and that way is able to change any negative perception you may have.

Best regards,

Eduardo Perera
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Paradisus Punta Cana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradisus Punta Cana

Also Known As:
Paradisus Punta Cana Hotel
Paradisus Punta Cana Hotel Punta Cana
Paradisus Punta Cana Resort
Address: Playas de Bavaro | Punta Cana, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#35 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#37 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#37 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#39 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#44 Business Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Paradisus Punta Cana 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the unpretentious luxury of Paradisus Punta Cana Resort. An extraordinary island retreat offering a super balance of natural and man-made wonders. Open-air architecture, featuring indigenous organic materials like raw coral and exotic hardwoods, houses an impossibly sumtuous gallery of luxury Suites and an exclusive Garden Villa. All-inclusive and all encompassing, Paradisus Punta Cana Resort is an ocean front playground for all ages. Tennis, championship golf, every non-motorized water sport imaginable, a magnificent array of restaurants, our own Casino, an incredible Spa For Kids, an exquisite full-service spa and health club and personal world-class service all seamlessly unite to deliver you the relaxing, romantic, carefree, fun-filled experience of a lifetime. The Resort features 688 oversized suites including 143 Royal Service Suites and 4 Ambassador Oceanview Suites, plus a one-of-a-kind oceanfront Garden Villa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Melia, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., BookIt.com, Tingo, Venere, Hotels.com, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Paradisus Punta Cana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paradisus Punta Cana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.