We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful, Relaxing Resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Paradisus Punta Cana

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Paradisus Punta Cana to your Saves list
Paradisus Punta Cana
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Playas de Bavaro, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 102 Hotels in Punta Cana
Newtown Square, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful, Relaxing Resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

We have been vacationing in Punta Cana for about 12 yrs and just returned from our 5th stay at The Paradisus. We stayed for 2 wks. Obviously, we like this resort very much. Two outstanding features are the size and the staff. This resort is smaller than other ones we have stayed in. It is less crowded and it gives you the opportunity to meet nice interesting people, if you choose to do so. It is just more intimate and relaxed. The second outstanding feature, the staff who are so helpful. They are very upbeat and want to do almost anything to satisfy you and keep you happy. The bar tenders are so much fun. They joke and engage the guests in light enjoyable conversation. The Beach Boys are fantastic. We sat on the Reserve Beach and Mikey and Ramon kept our glasses full and joked with us. We didn't even have to get off the beach chairs-they came by regularly to ask if we needed anything! When on vacation we like to have a Bloody Mary with breakfast. Adalberto and Teo noticed this, so every morning when we arrived for breakfast, our Bloody Marys were served within a few minutes. They were so accommodating! The staff that drive the golf carts and trams are very pleasant and helpful. Yoel was especially helpful to us. We met a lot of people that were back for their second or third time. One couple has been coming for 7 years and they stay for 4 wks each time. Hope you find this helpful!

Room Tip: We like to stay near the beach area or else The Reserve.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradisus P, General Manager at Paradisus Punta Cana, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Dear Nancy,

To start, I would like to express my thankfulness for choosing our Resort again as your holiday destination as well for sharing your impressions about your recent experience with us.
I am very impressed about the fact that you have chosen 5 times our hotel. Because it means that we are actually doing things right, providing quality services which exceed our clients expectations. This definitely strengthens our philosophy of seeking the highest level of excellence.
I will definitely share your notes with the staff in order to increase their motivation. Thank you.
Nancy, please come back soon to your home in the Caribbean, Paradisus Punta Cana.

Warmest Greetings,
Eduardo Perera
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,407 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,998
    1,317
    506
    302
    284
See reviews for
1,459
2,157
89
142
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,018)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bayside, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

My husband and I where first time visiting DR. We were very happy we chose to stay at The Paradisus Punta Cana. Our stay was amazing, very restful all the staff were terrific. We enjoyed the beach very much because the entertainment crew made the difference . They where very social talked to us, made us laugh even taught dance lessons.Thanks Fabio, Romeo, Endry and all the rest. The food was really good and for buffet that's good.The rooms where nice and clean and the resort itself is really beautiful. We stayed from 02/0713-02/17/13 and next time we said we are going to stay longer.Three bartenders who worked on the beach bar side made amazing drinks and where very friendly to all. Thanks ! Jose David. Danny Romero, and Wilson Vallo. We will return one day soon! Anna & Peter P.

Room Tip: "Rooms on the south side are quieter". Near the pool is alittle more noisier .
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradisus P, General Manager at Paradisus Punta Cana, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Dear Anna & Peter,

Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us and for the time you have taken to write us a feedback.

Your recognition to the outstanding service provided by Jose David. Danny Romero, Wilson Vallo and the entertainment staff will be sent to their supervisor in order to congratulate them for their efforts to satisfy your needs.
Once again, thank you so much.

Please be back soon for another amazing Paradisus experience.

Warmest Regards,
Eduardo Perera
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Just returned after five days at the Resort and our first trip to this area. We were in the "Royal Service" area of the resort. Royal Service provides: own butler; separate concierge service; computer area; private pool and beach area; restaurant for royal service guests only. Only way to go when staying at this resort. Several people to commend: Butlers: Steeve Philippe and Argenis Perdomo. Concierge: Rafaelina. Beach Attendant: Jeremiah. Pool Bartender whose name escapes me but she was there every day working so hard and always had a wonderful smile and great attitude. Steeve, one of our butlers, was extremely helpful in making my husband's 60th birthday a memorable one. Food okay. Not a big buffet person. Our favorite restaurants: Pilazzo and Ventos.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradisus P, General Manager at Paradisus Punta Cana, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Dear guest,

Happy birthday!

It is a pleasure to see so many names on your review; we know that we have a team of people so enthusiastic, helpful and passionate of their jobs. I thank you on behalf of them, I appreciate you recognize their work as we do.
I’m so glad you enjoyed the beach, the spa the grounds and your husbands’ 60th birthday.
We look forward to welcome you back soon.

Warmest Regards,
Eduardo Perera
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

At Paradisus Punta Cana, my wife and I spent one of our most memorable vacations relaxing at a 5-star resort. By rented car we had some trouble finding the place but Reception at their newer sister resort, Paradisus Palma Real, had a handy strip map. Upon check-in, we opted not to participate in their all-inclusive program since we had a rental car. We were assigned a well-furnished room with elegant dark wood at The Reserve. This might have obligated us to spend time with the pleasant Club Melia sales team of Marsela and Alicia. (Our session lasted almost three hours, which passed quickly because of our genuine interest in their proposals.) However, by all accounts, these two Paradisus resorts in Punta Cana, Dominican Republic, are arguably the best in their system, and it showed. Every member of the staff was extraordinarily friendly and helpful: Anuvi, Miquel, Patricio, Felip, Maria and, especially, Jonathan Bonillo, who headed up the amazingly comprehensive water and land activities. We did everything we could manage: jogging, gym, yoga, wall climbing, EuroBungy, archery, and batting. In addition, we attended workshops on magic, cocktails, sushi, casino, and cigar making, plus dance instruction for cha cha, meringue, and salsa. Paradisus Punta Cana, unlike its sister resort which is close to the beach, is so expansive that one has to walk 20 minutes to the beach or take one of the trams that run every 5-10 minutes. There were 14 restaurants in the complex, but the only one not covered by the optional all-inclusive plan was Fuego, where we were treated to a fabulous 9-course tasting dinner for $40 plus a glass of wine. However, our favorite fine restaurant at Punta Cana was heart-decorated Passion (perfect for Valentine’s Day) at Paradisus Palma Real. We found the a la carte menu and wine list to be reasonably priced, but it was the attentiveness and fine presentations by the general manager and his wait staff: Miguel, Franklin, and Linda that made for a most enjoyable and memorable evening. On the negative side, the temperature dial for our showers didn’t work such that the water was often too hot. Further, the housekeeping staff could use some additional training: our maid threw out a stack of personal papers placed on the dining table (and not put in a waste basket). We do not know if the maid was ever identified, but the papers were not retrieved .... a definite black stain on an otherwise great vacation. We recommend highly Paradisus Punta Cana and Paradisus Palma Real, including their fine-dining restaurants.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradisus P, General Manager at Paradisus Punta Cana, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Dear guest,

A BIG Thank you for sharing your feedback about your last stay with us, and for highlighting the good job of some of the staff.
I really enjoyed reading that you have a good time by experience most of our activities and life enriching workshops as well as the restaurants. I’m glad you have the opportunity to have a real Paradisus experience here at Punta Cana as well as to enjoyed some services of Paradisus Palma Real.
Thank you for your observations too, we are working on those minor things by workshops and training in order to increase the quality of our service.
We hope to welcome you back soon, please consider Paradisus Resorts your home away from home.

Warmest Regards,
Eduardo Perera
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Old room, broken furniture and missing windows treatments. Non responsive service, waited for an hour for in room delivery. Cockroaches found in the room and bathroom. Mediocre food, reservations to the restaurants are never available, poor entertainment.

Great beach and amenities, beautiful YHI Spa.

Room Tip: Upgrade to The Reserve for the nicer room but the complex is far from the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradisus P, General Manager at Paradisus Punta Cana, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Dear Maria,

I deeply regret to learn that your stay was not up what you expected. I was surprised by your comments becasue my staff always tries to fulfill all our guests’ needs. If a problem is reported, we do our best to solve it on location in the best manner for all parts. However I truly apologize if you didn’t experience that with some of the staff.
It is worth mentioning that as a tropical destination we are exposed to insects and moisture however we work very exhaustive regarding the insects or mold odor, along with our hygiene consulter and our pest control chemical providers, whom fumigates twice daily. Nevertheless I regret you experienced this uncommon situation.

Please rest assured that we are following up on your particular observations.
We hope you can give us another opportunity, in order to change that impression so you can enjoy our great location.

Sincerely,
Eduardo Perera
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankford, Delaware, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We stayed at this resort last year the same time with our teenagers and had a blast. We again returned this year(just got back) and had another great visit. Few changes on the restaurants,but were all good. We again we close to the pool and the restaurants. Maid service was always friendly and helful to any needs. Best part was the North Bar - gotta see "Jorgelvis Vilorio Ramirezand ask for the Blue Bird with Brugal" he's the one that nails them every time, the others just didnt do the drink justice! He was Great and was the friendlist Bar Tender ,this year and last. purposly went to this bar to have him make our drinks. juana Epirtusanto was there during the mornings and was again always friendly. If you go to the pool bar , see Juan Cvuz, he was always pleasent even though there were a few that would attend the bar who were not so pleasent.Recomended this resort last year and agin would recomend. . .if not wouldn't have gone back again a year later. Awsome place to relax , spend time on excursions with the family!

Room Tip: stayed on the lower level last year and stayed on the second level this year, rooms are the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradisus P, General Manager at Paradisus Punta Cana, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Dear Karen,

Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us as well as for your recommendation. It is a pleasure for me to hear that your experience with us keep letting memorable impressions on you.
I’m glad to learn that you enjoyed all the changes and that you found them to be as positive as we want them to be.
I have already shared your notes with the staff. Thank you.
Please come back for that ¨Blue Bird with Brugal!¨ We look forward to welcome you for the 3th time soon.

Best Regards,
Eduardo Perera
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatineau, Canada
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

I would like to thanks all of the people that works at that ressort Paradisus Punta Cana. Thank you Noemi Taylor for your help, thank you Pepe to you and all your staff, thank you to all bartenders at all bars on the resort, thank you to all service in all restaurant very good personnel . Very well maintenant grounds and very clean. I would like to recommend to change your restaurant like it was before better food and only one booking at the Japonesse. Thank you to all.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Paradisus Punta Cana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradisus Punta Cana

Address: Playas de Bavaro, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#24 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#25 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#25 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#27 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#33 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#39 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Paradisus Punta Cana 4*
Number of rooms: 688
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the unpretentious luxury of Paradisus Punta Cana Resort. An extraordinary island retreat offering a super balance of natural and man-made wonders. Open-air architecture, featuring indigenous organic materials like raw coral and exotic hardwoods, houses an impossibly sumtuous gallery of luxury Suites and an exclusive Garden Villa. All-inclusive and all encompassing, Paradisus Punta Cana Resort is an ocean front playground for all ages. Tennis, championship golf, every non-motorized water sport imaginable, a magnificent array of restaurants, our own Casino, an incredible Spa For Kids, an exquisite full-service spa and health club and personal world-class service all seamlessly unite to deliver you the relaxing, romantic, carefree, fun-filled experience of a lifetime. The Resort features 688 oversized suites including 143 Royal Service Suites and 4 Ambassador Oceanview Suites, plus a one-of-a-kind oceanfront Garden Villa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Melia, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Paradisus Punta Cana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradisus Punta Cana Hotel Punta Cana
Paradisus Punta Cana Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paradisus Punta Cana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.