We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Family Vacation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Paradisus Punta Cana

Save Saved
You added Paradisus Punta Cana to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Paradisus Punta Cana
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Playas de Bavaro | Punta Cana, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to $1500 Resort Credit
Ranked #26 of 100 hotels in Punta Cana
New York City, New York
2 reviews
“Great Family Vacation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

In total, very good. The staff and setting make this place special. All the staff from the waiters to bartenders and the event coordinators are what made the trip. My wife and kids really enjoyed their hospitality, warmth and dancing!

Food was fine, while buffet for breakfast and lunch, there are plenty of other options for dinner including Japanese, Italian etc.

The resort will try to hard sell you on a vacation club from the beginning, just don't be afraid to push back. Its your vacation!

Room Tip: If traveling with kids, you may want to go bigger than the junior suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pablo C, Resident Manager at Paradisus Punta Cana, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Dear guest,

It is so good to know that you had a very good stay with us, we love to read that the family enjoyed a few days of our services!
Hopefully you will visit us soon that will give us the opportunity to serve you again
Thank you so much

Kind regards,

Pablo Cogolludo
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,648 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2,522
    1,140
    455
    278
    253
See reviews for
1225
1851
76
125
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (877)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marie49125
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

It's our third time at a Melia resort (1 time at Paradisus Palma Real and 2 times at Paradisus Punta cana). This time we stayed at the "reserve" because it seemed nicer and had dedicated area for kids.

What we liked:
-Beautiful grounds and landscapes
-Great pools (clean) and kiddies pools
-Kid Zones
-Concierge service (for restaurant reservations)
-Gifts offered to our kids
-Accommodation at the reserve (big family concierge 1 bedroom suite, on the 3rd floor)
- Staff in general is very nice (you need to speak a bit of spanish)
-Casino on site and another one also 5 minutes away outside of the resorts (if you like Craps)
-Themed restaurant (Sakura and Terra did not disappoint)
- Public Bathrooms are everywhere really clean!!!
-Cellular phone was given for the duration of our stay
-Wifi in our room and on property for free (good quality and reception)
-Beach chairs (with cushions and umbrella) were reserved for us everyday first row in front of the ocean

what we did not like:
-Being tricked into signing for a Melia Club Card upon check in (we did not at the end)
-Food is really below average (buffet at Gabi by the reserve was ok, and Sakura and Terra were nice, but aside from that the rest was really poor) and we are not picky eaters!!
-Room service takes forever and always came cold (even coffee in the morning) to be fair, one time we asked for an item that was not on the menu for our kids (mash potatoes) and they did a fresh one just for us, so they are nice anyway.
-Concierge was nice and helpful but we would have liked to get the gifts on the first day since it included a set of kids bath supplies and few toys (our stay was 4 nights).
-Room on the 3rd floor without elevator (hard for stroller and 2 kids with a large beach bag) although in the end, we were glad we were on high floor as we like to sleep late and they was no noise coming from the pool.

At the end of the day it all comes down to the food. Back in 2004 there were lobsters and a lot of choice of buffet food of top quality, now no lobsters (maybe at royal service?). We did had a nice vacation and we would comeback, but they have to do something about the food. The reserve is really a great place to stay because it has everything for kids, it's also quieter even if it's not right on the beach (you can walk 10 mins or take a shuttlem the reserve has EXpress shuttle running all day long to the beach and restaurants without any stops). If you do stay at the reserve, consider to be by the kids pools because you will have less noise from the pool bar at night (if you put your kids early to bed).

A+++ to the Kids Zone team, they are caring, sweet and very nice.

Room Tip: The Reserve does not have elevators, so consider ground floor if you have a heavy stroller. However...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pablo C, Resident Manager. at Paradisus Punta Cana, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear Marie,

Thank you for sharing your comments both good and less good about your recent stay with us at Paradisus Punta Cana. All your comments are taken with the importance in which they are offered.
Many changes are taking place in our resort and we would like the opportunity to welcome you again so that way, hopefully, we can change your perception in the negative aspects.

Best Regards,
Pablo Cogolludo
Resident Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Stayed Nov 22-25 for a wedding

The level service and everything else at PPC is inconsistent....

Check in
Kind of slow. They were very nice to accommodate my request to have a room on the second floor. They assign someone to talk to you after you check in to give you general information of the resort. That person also invites you to a breakfast and tour (probably the time share pitch I have read about in other people's reviews). When you decline the tour, the person tells you that you HAVE to participate because it's part of their job and insist that you meet them. Beware

Rooms
We got the standard deluxe suite. Meh. The decor  was okay, but nothing to write about- good or bad. 
I will say that there were a few hiccups, though. We did not have a router for the wifi when we checked in. Someone was sent to check it out and installed a router which worked for about 24 hours. When we called to let them know the wifi had stopped working , they didn't send anyone to fix it for another 24 hours despite the fact that we called about it 3 or 4 times while it was no working. 

We also had a water leak from the ceiling in the bathroom by day 2, but nothing was done about it while we were there. 

Housekeeping was very late as well

Food
We ate a Fuego the first night. We had the tasting menu and everything was very well executed. The service was great as well. We are also able to try Sakura, the hibachi restaurant, which could be improved greatly. The fried ice cream was good and that was about it.  We ordered room service a lot because the only options before dinner are buffets ($5 charge per order) which was just okay. The other food we are was at the wedding which was between okay and good. 

Service 
Sometimes good, sometimes not so much. There is no cocktail service at the beach or pool so if that's what you are used to, don't go there. Some of the staff members were nicer than others. We had prompt responses to our issues in the room at times and other times it was not. Like I said before-inconsistent.  

Layout
The resort is large, but the fact that you are told that everything is far and you need to take their 'bus' makes its worse. We stayed in building 14 an found out that we could actually walk to the main lobby as well as the beach plus most of the buildings our family were staying in. 
Waiting for the bus for 10 minutes was quite annoying. 

Check out 
BEWARE OF CHARGES FOR LOCAL CALLS. They tried to charge me $28 for a few local calls to our transportation company. I was never told there was a charge before checkout. When I called the from desk to ask about local calls they told me how to dial and then offered to connect the call for me. THAT'S IT! So when I checked out and received a bill for these calls I was very upset. They ended up discounting the bill after much discussion, but I was still made to pay  $10 for the calls. 

Other random things
BRING AN INSECT REPELLANT!!! I cannot stress this enough. The mosquitos are HORRIBLY ferocious. 

Gabi beach restaurant and bar is modern and gorgeous

You have to pay for top shelf drinks. Example: Grey goose costs $8, but Stoli is included

Staff handles weddings very smoothly. 

The beach is great!

Overall the resort was okay, but I would not go back.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pablo C, Resident Manager at Paradisus Punta Cana, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear,

We appreciate your feedback through which we can see our weaknesses and try to improve them. Is very disappointed to see that we did not handle your departure in a satisfactory manner and for that we want to apologize.
I would love the opportunity to welcome you again and make your stay better than the last one.

Best Regards,

Pablo Cogolludo
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Although I gotta wake up early to catch the flight from the chilly New York, I was well compensated by everything I experienced in Paradisus. Loved the villa with big in-room jacuzzi.

Enjoyed the free-flow drinks served by genuinely friendly staffs and the delicious cuisine. There is no need to worry about gratuity calculation as this is all-inclusive. Love the private beach where you can do surfing, parasailing or just taking a stroll on this paradise.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pablo C, Resident Manager at Paradisus Punta Cana, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear guest,

I have to say I love the title of your review! That´s what sums up Paradisus Punta Cana! Thank you for the shout out and I’m glad to read that it was worth it getting up early! Come back soon!

Best Wishes,

Pablo Cogolludo
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

This was our second vacation visit to Paradisus Punta Cana, and we are planning to go back next year. This fact speaks for itself. From the moment we arrived, the staff was attentive, helpful and friendly. The grounds are beautiful; the rooms clean and comfortable and the restaurants offer a delicious variety of menus. There is a convenient and frequent shuttle service on the premises, but walking is always enjoyable in the luscious greenery of the resort. The biggest attraction for us is the beach. It is well maintained - lounge chairs and palm umbrellas for everyone, and one does not feel crowded. The spa is highly recommended - the massage was unbelievable! This resort is THE place to relax, be pampered and enjoy time with friends.

Room Tip: We prefer rooms on the second floor because of the beautiful garden view of the surrounding area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pablo C, Manager at Paradisus Punta Cana, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Dear Olena,
Thank you for embracing us as your destiny for your precious vacation each year! It's people like you that help keep the Paradisus Punta Cana spirit alive!

See you next year!

Kind regards

Pablo Cogolludo
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We just returned home from a wonderful vacation at Paradisus Punta Cana. Our family of four had a great time. It was both fun and relaxing. There was something for everyone. The place is beautiful and the shows/entertainment at night were great and really brought everyone together! But most importantly, the staff was amazing. They were all really friendly and professional. They really made sure you had a good time! We really connected on the beach with Julio Nice and Edrey! They made sure we had fun and the kids were entertained. At night they took special attention to make sure the kids were having fun and engaged. My daughter misses them both. They really had a positive impact on our vacation. We also must give a shout out to one of the best bartenders....Jorge Vilorio in the lobby bar. Whether he was making a martini for my husband, a Cosmo for me (best I ever had by the way), a Roy Rogers for my son or a banana mudslide for my daughter he was so nice and welcoming. Even when the bar was crowded, he made you feel like you were the only ones there. The biggest criticism we had was the push to get you to attend a sales pitch by your concierge. We respectfully declined.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pablo C, Resident Manager at Paradisus Punta Cana, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear guest,

It filled my mood with happiness to hear you enthusiastic about your experience!
Those martinis and cosmos are waiting to be enjoyed by you in your anticipated return! And of course bring the kids! We will amuse them in our Kid´s zone.

Thank you for your words, our associates does not get tired of reading them and taking joy in what they do! As well for your criticism, we will definitely check on that.

Greetings,

Pablo Cogolludo
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornhill, Ontario, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

My husband and I were at this amazing resort Nov. 11-18 and I have to say that it is truely Paradise on earth. We have been to other resorts in Punta Cana, but nothing like this amazing property. The service is excellent. The staff is the friendliest and always willing to help if you need anything. We had the pleasure of meeting Mr. Ivan Galarza, room Div. Manager. A true gentleman and the hardest working manager that I have ever met. He was everywhere in the resort at all hours, morning to late evening, overlooking the opening of the New Gabi restaurant on the Beach. A true Gem. A beautiful multi function restaurant. Great food. Congratulations for a job well done. We would like to thank Ivan for his true hospitality. The grounds and the main lobby of this Beautiful resort are absolutely Impeccable. The only way to describe it is "Paradise" Many restaurants to choose from and they are all very good. We recommend the ROYAL SERVICE. We can not wait to come back to our favourite resort.
Thank you from Emily and Peter Sigalas, Thornhill Ont. Canada

Room Tip: Royal Service, rooms near the beach and all the restaurants. Great service.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pablo C, Resident Manager at Paradisus Punta Cana, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear Emily and Peter,

Thanks for sharing your lovely comments about your recent stay with us in Paradisus Punta Cana. We do try and pride ourselves on proactive and caring service and Ivan of course does it awesome!

Thank you for recommending us; we appreciate your loyalty and of course good taste...Come back and visit us again soon!!

Greetings,
Pablo Cogolludo
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Paradisus Punta Cana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradisus Punta Cana

Address: Playas de Bavaro | Punta Cana, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#22 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#22 Business Hotel in Punta Cana
#23 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#33 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#39 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Paradisus Punta Cana 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the unpretentious luxury of Paradisus Punta Cana Resort. An extraordinary island retreat offering a super balance of natural and man-made wonders. Open-air architecture, featuring indigenous organic materials like raw coral and exotic hardwoods, houses an impossibly sumtuous gallery of luxury Suites and an exclusive Garden Villa. All-inclusive and all encompassing, Paradisus Punta Cana Resort is an ocean front playground for all ages. Tennis, championship golf, every non-motorized water sport imaginable, a magnificent array of restaurants, our own Casino, an incredible Spa For Kids, an exquisite full-service spa and health club and personal world-class service all seamlessly unite to deliver you the relaxing, romantic, carefree, fun-filled experience of a lifetime. The Resort features 688 oversized suites including 143 Royal Service Suites and 4 Ambassador Oceanview Suites, plus a one-of-a-kind oceanfront Garden Villa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Venere, Melia, Booking.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Expedia, Tingo, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Despegar.com and Otel so you can book your Paradisus Punta Cana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradisus Punta Cana Hotel Punta Cana
Paradisus Punta Cana Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paradisus Punta Cana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.