We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best tropical vacation location outside the U.S.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Punta Cana Resort & Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Punta Cana Resort & Club to your Saves list
Punta Cana Resort & Club
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Provincia La Altagracia, Higuey, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #69 of 102 Hotels in Punta Cana
Buffalo, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best tropical vacation location outside the U.S.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

The hotel and location is absolutely breathtaking. Spanish is the main language spoken in the Dominican so don't be surprised if it takes a little back and forth to be understood. The food is absolutely wonderful here- I mean absolutely wonderful!! The dive shop "blue vision" is right on the beach and is operated by an English guy who along with his staff are by far the most professional (and fun) divers we've experienced. Although we have chartered bigger boats from bigger operations all over the bahamas and carribean- none have been better. The fresh water pools, also on the property, are unbelievablly beautiful and easily acsessable. We will most certainly be back. P.s. rent a golf cart- this property is massive. Also, the bartender Anulfo makes the most amazing Mojito you will ever enjoy.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    108
    46
    49
    46
See reviews for
70
102
19
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

This resort has some great food and good drinks.

The rooms aren't the greatest as the beds are hard, the pillows suck, and the showers are pretty awful.

However since you won't be staying in the room, the resort itself is beautiful with great white sand beaches, palm trees everywhere, and awesome restaurants.

We were here on a LivingSocial deal which gave us an all inclusive stay for four nights for only $400. Without this deal this hotel would be way too expensive as it's $96/night plus $95 per person per night for the all inclusive. Making it somewhere around $375 per night with the taxes figured in.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

We stayed at the PUNTACANA Hotel 4 years ago, and, when presented with a chance to return, did so without hesitation. When we arrived, we were warmly welcomed by the staff and driven to our room in a golf cart. The room had air conditioning and a nice bed, it was clean and refreshing. Our only room complaint was that the safe needed a big, clunky key, and a hefty deposit.

We had the continental breakfast plan. The dining room for breakfast is right on the beach, with a gorgeous view. The breakfast is very good, with many choices. For the other meals, we ate at a couple of their restaurants and found them to be way too pricey for the food quality and quantity. in other words, the food was perfectly good, but very, very expensive.

We appreciated the free Wi-Fi in the lobby area, as well as the overhead fans to keep the air movie. We love walking through the resort, from the beach to the ecological area, to the nature preserve across the way. The staff was awesome and accommodating.

We would definitely recommend the PUNTACANA Hotel to friends, and have, in fact, done so!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with queen or king sized bed, as there are rooms with twin beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guthrie, Oklahoma
1 review
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

My husband and I celebrated our 20th wedding anniversary here at this resort. On the last and final morning, hours before our departure, after packing up our belongings, we decided to take a last minute dip in the pool. An hour later we returned to our room only to find my diamond wedding ring had been stolen! This was so devestating to my husband and I. Management was uncooperative! They had us fill out a report but nothing was ever done! I was never contacted nor was there ever an invesitgation into what key was used to enter the room. My wedding ring was so sentimental to me! This ring was slightly bent on the inside where my daughter hit her first softball and I caught it bare handed, leaving an indention. I had told her I would never get it fixed so she could have that ring when something happened to me and she would always remember that moment! I have also learned theft is a common occurance at this property. DONT LET THIS HAPPEN TO YOU! THEY DO NOT CARE!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida, United States
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

The service was great and the food was amazing. The beaches are crystal clear and they have beautiful natural reserves within the property. They resort promotes local children education and ecological perservation which i thought was very influential. There is one restaurant on the water, with crystal floor, which allows you to see the ocean at your feet while you enjoy a beautiful sunset or dinner. The resort is very spacious which allows for a lot of alone time... they have a lot of family and children activities as well. This resort is very much similar to Hacienda Pinilla in Guanacaste, Costa Rica.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colonia, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

We just returned from a honeymoon with our infant son. I will start with the good.........the reason we booked this trip was due to the reviews regarding the Baby Care Club - we have a 7 month old and this was very important. The staff at the Baby Care was exceptional.............and the remaining staff was also wonderful, especially the housekeeping and restaurant staff..............the manner in which the food is served (all open area) had a lot of flies and birds in and out.......and the food sits out for hours each day......(12-3) and 6:30 to 9:30)...........as a result, I suffered a severe bout with traveler's diarrhea..........as did our baby son and this was tough.........they do have onsite doctors who told me this is quite common..........but I think with safer food practices, this could be avoided. Other resorts that have restaurants I have not had issues with in the Caribbean, including St. Lucia and Jamaica...........

Also, all inclusive is not really the case....on the bars they are pushing moet chandon...but this is an "extra" fee, as are many of the liquors on display behind the bar.............

The bathroom in our room was a little beat up and the walls in bad shape.............

There are activities all day long....that was nice also...

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City Beach
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

The resort is nice but nothing spectacular. The food was set up as a buffet line. The only problem I saw is that the food was left unattended before they actually started lunch and I witnessed birds flying on to some of the dishes and picking out food. Service is extremely slow. The food is way over priced. I have been to other countries and this is the most expensive place by far. The beaches are nice but the crew seems to get in the way a lot and take naps in the bushes. All of their vehicles i.e. work trucks, vans, golf carts, tractors, use the sidewalks and go fast so be careful when using it for walking. When we went to check out it took over 30 minutes. Everyone checking out had issues. They overcharged some people and it took forever to remove the charges. Also they gave us difficulty about leaving. They argued with some of our memebers that they had not paid and checked out of their rooms even though they had the recipts to prove it. They even made one guy get out of our taxi so he could prove that he paid. I will never go back.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Punta Cana Resort & Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Punta Cana Resort & Club

Address: Provincia La Altagracia, Higuey, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#46 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#48 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#57 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#61 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Punta Cana Resort & Club 4.5*
Number of rooms: 354
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Puntacana Resort & Club is home to the Caribbean’s ultimate beach and golfing experience, with 3 miles of magnificent white sand beaches and 45 holes of championship golf. Accommodation types are diverse and contemplated for all preferences. The AAA Five Diamond Award winning boutique hotel Tortuga Bay, Four Points by Sheraton at Puntacana Village. Private residences with views of our pristine beaches and golf courses designed by Tom Fazio and P.B. Dye are also available for rental. Westin Puntacana Resort & Club will open on December 2013. Our International Airport is the most used in the Dominican Republic. The Punta Cana International Airport, (PUJ) is one of the first and largest privately owned and operated international airports in the world. Built in 1983 by Grupo Puntacana, the holding company of Puntacana Resort & Club, the Airport makes Puntacana one of the most accessible destinations in the Caribbean. Conveniently located within the Puntacana Resort & Club property, the airport offers direct flights from over 36 countries and 98 cities around the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Punta Cana Resort & Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Punta Cana Resort & Club Hotel Punta Cana
Punta Cana Resort And Club
Punta Cana Hotel
Punta Cana Resort All Inclusive

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Punta Cana Resort & Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.