We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stolen Wedding Ring” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Punta Cana Resort & Club

Save Saved
You added Punta Cana Resort & Club to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Punta Cana Resort & Club
Provincia La Altagracia, Higuey, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #76 of 100 hotels in Punta Cana
Guthrie, Oklahoma
1 review
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Stolen Wedding Ring”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

My husband and I celebrated our 20th wedding anniversary here at this resort. On the last and final morning, hours before our departure, after packing up our belongings, we decided to take a last minute dip in the pool. An hour later we returned to our room only to find my diamond wedding ring had been stolen! This was so devestating to my husband and I. Management was uncooperative! They had us fill out a report but nothing was ever done! I was never contacted nor was there ever an invesitgation into what key was used to enter the room. My wedding ring was so sentimental to me! This ring was slightly bent on the inside where my daughter hit her first softball and I caught it bare handed, leaving an indention. I had told her I would never get it fixed so she could have that ring when something happened to me and she would always remember that moment! I have also learned theft is a common occurance at this property. DONT LET THIS HAPPEN TO YOU! THEY DO NOT CARE!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

358 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    102
    115
    45
    50
    46
See reviews for
62
97
18
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida, United States
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

The service was great and the food was amazing. The beaches are crystal clear and they have beautiful natural reserves within the property. They resort promotes local children education and ecological perservation which i thought was very influential. There is one restaurant on the water, with crystal floor, which allows you to see the ocean at your feet while you enjoy a beautiful sunset or dinner. The resort is very spacious which allows for a lot of alone time... they have a lot of family and children activities as well. This resort is very much similar to Hacienda Pinilla in Guanacaste, Costa Rica.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colonia, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

We just returned from a honeymoon with our infant son. I will start with the good.........the reason we booked this trip was due to the reviews regarding the Baby Care Club - we have a 7 month old and this was very important. The staff at the Baby Care was exceptional.............and the remaining staff was also wonderful, especially the housekeeping and restaurant staff..............the manner in which the food is served (all open area) had a lot of flies and birds in and out.......and the food sits out for hours each day......(12-3) and 6:30 to 9:30)...........as a result, I suffered a severe bout with traveler's diarrhea..........as did our baby son and this was tough.........they do have onsite doctors who told me this is quite common..........but I think with safer food practices, this could be avoided. Other resorts that have restaurants I have not had issues with in the Caribbean, including St. Lucia and Jamaica...........

Also, all inclusive is not really the case....on the bars they are pushing moet chandon...but this is an "extra" fee, as are many of the liquors on display behind the bar.............

The bathroom in our room was a little beat up and the walls in bad shape.............

There are activities all day long....that was nice also...

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City Beach
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

The resort is nice but nothing spectacular. The food was set up as a buffet line. The only problem I saw is that the food was left unattended before they actually started lunch and I witnessed birds flying on to some of the dishes and picking out food. Service is extremely slow. The food is way over priced. I have been to other countries and this is the most expensive place by far. The beaches are nice but the crew seems to get in the way a lot and take naps in the bushes. All of their vehicles i.e. work trucks, vans, golf carts, tractors, use the sidewalks and go fast so be careful when using it for walking. When we went to check out it took over 30 minutes. Everyone checking out had issues. They overcharged some people and it took forever to remove the charges. Also they gave us difficulty about leaving. They argued with some of our memebers that they had not paid and checked out of their rooms even though they had the recipts to prove it. They even made one guy get out of our taxi so he could prove that he paid. I will never go back.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

I traveled in March 2011. I met a few of my best girlfriends here for my 30th and we really enjoyed ourselves. The rooms were clean and a decent size with nice welcome with rose petals in the bathroom. The breakfast buffet and restaurants weren't all that great. The staff was nice...even nicer after tips, but definitely moved on Caribbean time. We signed up to go on a tour that didn't happen, but after we inquired they found someone to take us so that was nice. The beaches were decent and their were random hammocks everywhere which was nice. The spa was phenomenal! Overall, it was a great celebration with friends, we found a great deal and it was just what I needed for a bday and break from grad school. However, at time it did feel a little too "mega-resort-ish" for me and if I went back to the DR, I'd probably look elsewhere.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

Totally outdated room, nearly no hot water, no wifi, breakfast is a buffet thats poor, the italian restaurant is not good, beach is full of weeds. Staff is friendly but laid back. This property needs urgent refurbishing and a strong hand to run it.

Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

I had the most enjoyably relaxing week at this resort. Went the 2nd week in July so it was not that busy which I'm sure made the service all the better. You can do all inclusive but would recommend not if you don't want to be regimentive to eating times to get all your meals. The food by the way was out of this world good and their pizza is extremely good.

Staff was extremely friendly despite any language barriers. (google translate works wonders). Starting at check-in to concierge to the wait staff.

As a former professional golfer I was extremely anxious to play the two golf courses on site. They are beautiful and worth every penny to play if you love golf like I do. The holes along the ocean are gorgeous and you have to stop and take pictures it's so nice.

The 6 sense spa was great as well. The daily massage was the perfect end of day experience before heading out for cocktails and dinner. First class all the way!

The room I had was a full two story suite. Downstairs there is a couch and and chairs and a beautiful view of the bluest ocean you will ever see. Upstairs is the master bedroom and full bath. Down stairs has a full bath as well. The only oversight that I noticed and felt was the lack of a ceiling fan up stairs. The suites are on the third floor so upstairs will naturally be hotter as heat rises. A ceiling fan would work wonders. You can also request a mini fridge for downstairs. They are on availability basis so make sure to get one upon making your reservation.

Also I would highly recommend renting a golf cart for your length of stay. The resort is spread out so You would need it in my opinion. It saves alot of walking and you can also use it as your cart to play golf.

Tips are automatically included but they are shared by entire staff. Tip rate is 10% so if you want to,leave a little extra some cash to your server go right ahead.

All in all it was a wonderful week long vacation in Punta Cana at the resort and spa and if you are looking for a place to stay in the Dominican, this be the place!

Also when you are departing, it is in your best interest to go to the concierge and ask for airport VIP service. When you arrive at the airport they took us to the front of the checki in line and also to a private security screening with NO waiting in line. They take you right to the gate and you can tip her there because the hassle she saves you on departure is well worth the tip. Service is actually free for resort guests because as I found out the family who owns the resort also owns the airport, which is located five minutes from the resort

Great place!! You will enjoy all they have to offer which is alot!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Punta Cana Resort & Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Punta Cana Resort & Club

Address: Provincia La Altagracia, Higuey, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#50 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#65 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#66 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Puntacana Resort & Club is home to the Caribbean’s ultimate beach and golfing experience, with 3 miles of magnificent white sand beaches and 45 holes of championship golf. Accommodation types are diverse and contemplated for all preferences. The AAA Five Diamond Award winning boutique hotel Tortuga Bay, Four Points by Sheraton at Puntacana Village. Private residences with views of our pristine beaches and golf courses designed by Tom Fazio and P.B. Dye are also available for rental. Westin Puntacana Resort & Club will open on December 2013. Our International Airport is the most used in the Dominican Republic. The Punta Cana International Airport, (PUJ) is one of the first and largest privately owned and operated international airports in the world. Built in 1983 by Grupo Puntacana, the holding company of Puntacana Resort & Club, the Airport makes Puntacana one of the most accessible destinations in the Caribbean. Conveniently located within the Puntacana Resort & Club property, the airport offers direct flights from over 36 countries and 98 cities around the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Punta Cana Resort & Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Punta Cana Resort And Club
Punta Cana Resort & Club Hotel Punta Cana
Punta Cana Hotel
Punta Cana Resort All Inclusive

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Punta Cana Resort & Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.