We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eh....just Ok” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Barcelo Bavaro Beach

Save Saved
You added Barcelo Bavaro Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Barcelo Bavaro Beach
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carretera Bavaro Km. 1, 23301 Bavaro-Punta Cana | PO Box 3177, Punta Cana 23301, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 101 hotels in Punta Cana
Spotsylvania, Virginia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Eh....just Ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We have been to the DR on a few occasions each time staying in a different resort. Our choice this time was Unremarkable...rooms were comfortable, pool area was beautiful and the beach was clean.
Drinks were inconsistent and service was below par. We don't complain and don't expect a lot but we do expect service---not 30 minutes for a drink that doesn't have alcohol (they don't automatically put alcohol in these drinks).
The reservation system for the restaurants was a joke!!! You were told they didn't have availability for a certain time so you were given a later or earlier time and restaraunt would be 1/3 full and stay this way all evening!!!
Internet isn't included, they wouldn't even let us check in for our flight the next day-they told us we would have to buy a 1 day pass in order to do a flight check in.
I could go on and on....all in all I don't recommend...

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director Sandy P, General Manager at Barcelo Bavaro Beach, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear guest,

We greatly appreciate that you have chosen one of our Resorts as your holiday destination.

We would like to extend our most sincere apologies for any inconveniences or difficulties you may have experienced during your stay.

Regarding your comments about you’re a la carte experience, we would like to let you know that, due to internal policies and operational reasons, dinner reservations are subject to availability and may not adjust to your exact request.

Please be assured that your comments have been already brought to the General Manager of our Resort and Food & Beverage staff, in order to analyze your observations.

We would like to have the opportunity to welcome you once again at any of our Hotels, and that way is able to change any negative perception you may have about us.

Kind regards,

Sandy Pfeil
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,854 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,724
    757
    238
    79
    56
See reviews for
264
1513
96
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (592)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Purcellville, Virginia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Our family enjoyed our time at the All Inclusive Barceló Barvaro Beach Resort because the water was beautiful and the beach well-maintained, the facilities were clean and updated, the staff was all very helpful, and we loved the pool! The only downside was that a few in our party developed digestive problems after eating the ice cream.

Room Tip: We did not think it was worth it to buy the room that was beach front. All the rooms are so close to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director Sandy P, General Manager at Barcelo Bavaro Beach, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience at the Barceló Bavaro Beach at Tripadvisor.

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at our hotel. We sincerely appreciate all feedback.

We also are very pleased you enjoyed the all-inclusive program which includes a wide range of delicious food and beverage.

I regret what happened with the people in your group with relation to digestive problems, but to inform you that all our food cold or hot and are prepared with the most hygienic and quality backed by international companies. We take all guest feedback very seriously; therefore we appreciate all your comments and will ensure that those are worked on.

Best Regards,

Sandy Pfeil
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mirabel, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

i went to the adults side april 2013 and 2014 and i am going back to celebrate my birthday in november 2014. this is the most amazing place . you are treated like royalty. if you know how to treat the dominican people you will be rewarded with great service.the staff was very helpful and trying to show us spanish. to the people who complain stay home. you are not in your own country this is not the US or mexico.the domincan people work very hard and most make less in a week then we do in a month or more. try to be understanding and show them some respect and you will be rewarded. thanks a lot to mabel,vianny,daphny,sandy. see you soon

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director Sandy P, General Manager at Barcelo Bavaro Beach, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Client,

Thank you so much for your positive feedback pertaining to your most next visit. I am truly delighted to read that our service team, our location, your room and your experience all together exceeded your expectations.

Comments like yours are a true inspiration to our continued pursuit of excellence in everything we do. Thank you also for recommending our hotel. Your patronage and loyalty are highly valued and appreciated.

We will look forward to welcoming you back and we are confident that we will do a big party for your birthday.

See you in November.

Sandy Pfeil
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Shore, New York, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We have a wonderful time I think is the best place for vacation. Food was excellent very good service. We met and unbelievable person he's name is Rafael Moreta he is the training guy from the gym. Rafael is a professional excellent attitude we feel very comfortable with him.

Room Tip: I will recommend the rooms in front of the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director Sandy P, General Manager at Barcelo Bavaro Beach, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Client,

You particularly mentioned aspects that are of great importance to us; We are glad you were able to enjoy each component of Barceló Bavaro Beach experience. On behalf of the entire team, we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Particularly,

Sandy Pfeil
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I had the opportunity to spend five days at the Barcelo Bavaro Beach Resort in Punta Cana. Everything was perfect. From the superior hospitality shown by every single staff member, to the phenomenal beaches and pools, we had a fantastic experience. Anny helped us with our room, giving us the corner room that looked over the pool areas and the beach - it was spectacular! She arranged taxis for us as well as specialty drinks. She went above and beyond.

I recommend this resort to all who are looking for an all-inclusive stay. It was effortless - a variety of great restaurants, gorgeous beaches, relaxing and clean pool area, friendly staff, and a positive vibe overall.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director Sandy P, General Manager at Barcelo Bavaro Beach, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a thorough review of your recent stay with us. I went ahead and shared your remarks with our entire team and especially Anny, all humbled by your kind review.

Our team has been working diligently to make this opening a success, and it means a lot to hear of your appreciative remarks.

Best Regards,

Sandy Pfeil
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

Muy bonito hotell bello, nice view,the pools are very clean the help is very friendly and helpful specialy evelin who made our reservations for the restaurants. The chek in was very fast food is great the rooms are very clean the entertainmet is great the tours were breath taking

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director Sandy P, General Manager at Barcelo Bavaro Beach, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Guest,

I Thank you for your kind review and nice comments regarding our team on property. I am incredibly proud of the entire team and the work that collectively we have accomplished. I am glad you were able to experience firsthand.

We hope to see you in the future.

Best Regards,

Sandy Pfeil
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Poor service all over the place. The staff mostly dominicans don't know absolutely nothing about how to treat tourist in general. They should all go for training to the beautiful MEXICAN RIVIERA or USA. I totally agreed with other reviewers comments, asking for service was like PULLING TEETH, not just once but always and every where. The adults only resort was boring to death. No activities what so ever, and if you want to go to a bar or club you need to transport yourself to the other resort for families. In fact most restaurants are in the other resort, therefore, major inconvenience if you don't want to take a train or go far out. I WILL NEVER STAY HERE AGAIN, IN FACT ALL BARCELOS ARE BAD.

NO FREE INTERNET, SMALL ROOMS, POOR SERVICE
ALL INCLUSIVE BUT YOU YET HAVE TO PAY EXTRA FOR WINES OVER DINNER unless you drink their only one type cheap wine. ALL PINE APPLE DRINKS AND COCONUT DRINKS AT THE POOL AND BEACH YOU MUST PAY EXTRA. ALL DINNER RESERVATIONS WAITING 30 TO 45 MINUTES FOR SEATING. MANAGERS MOSTLY ALL ARE SPANIARDS INSENSITIVE TO THE TOURIST NEEDS.

WHAT ELSE I CAN SAY, SAVE YOUR MONEY AND GO TO ANOTHER RESORT OR HOTEL.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Barcelo Bavaro Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Bavaro Beach

Address: Carretera Bavaro Km. 1, 23301 Bavaro-Punta Cana | PO Box 3177, Punta Cana 23301, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#13 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#15 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#25 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#30 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo Bavaro Beach 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Barcelo Bavaro Beach - Adults Only*****hotel is located on one of the 10 best beaches in the world, in the Punta Cana area of the Dominican Republic. This dreamy hotel has reinvented itself after a complete renovation to become an exclusive hotel for adults only. The hotel offers first class rooms 80% of which are located right on the beachfront. This makes it the most perfect place for a romantic getaway. Enjoy the exquisite range of cuisine on offer at the hotel through the Barcelo All Inclusive Programme with its Caribbean Buffet, Chez Gourmet and La Brisa restaurants; 9 a-la-carte restaurant options: Chez Gourmet (international), La Brisa (Mediterranean), El Coral (fish and seafood), Santa Fe (meat), La Dolce Vita (Italian), Mexico Lindo (Mexican), La Fuente (Spanish), Kyoto (Japanese) and La Comedie (Gourmet - additional charge except for Club Premium guests). Visit the facilities where you can find different options to fill your days: football pitch, tennis court, swimming pool, golf course, water sports, wellness centre, theatre and casino. This exclusive resort set on a virgin beach welcomes you with a cocktail, spoils you with drinks by the pool and offers you a 45 minute hydrothermal circuit, per person once during your stay. There are also 2 massage beds in the pool area (at an additional charge). Staying at this hotel also grants guests access to the facilities of the Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe, a hotel which shares some of its services and facilities. This hotel is one of the very few in the country that boasts the international BLUE FLAG for compliance with the standards required by the non-profit non-governmental organisation the Foundation for Environmental Education (FEE). Come and rediscover the marvels the Barcelo Bavaro Beach - Adults Only***** hotel has to offer! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Barcelo, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Barcelo Bavaro Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Bavaro Beach Hotel
Barcelo Bavaro Punta Cana
Barcelo Bavaro Beach Punta Cana
Bavaro Beach Hotel
Bavaro Beach Resort
Barcelo Punta Cana Resort
Barcelo Bavaro Beach Resort Punta Cana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barcelo Bavaro Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.