We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Vacation, Third Time Visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Barcelo Bavaro Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Barcelo Bavaro Beach to your Saves list
Barcelo Bavaro Beach
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carretera Bavaro Km. 1 | PO Box 3177, Punta Cana 23301, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Early booking offer
Ranked #18 of 102 Hotels in Punta Cana
port murray
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Vacation, Third Time Visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

We've been to this resort three times...it's always been VERY GOOD... We've stayed at the Palace as well as the Beach resort. The overall service, food , facilities and security was very good . We've been when it's been really hot and humid (November) as well as when it's a more temperate climate(February) - I prefer the February vacations...especially if you're playing golf on the challenging (on-site) golf course . We will go back ..but there are some things that irked us....... as follows: At the Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe ...the renovated rooms are really nice.....BUT...because the way the rooms are set up ...there is a reall LACK OF PRIVACY e.g. the WASHROOM facilities are too .. 'open'...everyone needs privacy when using the washroom. And the HOT TUB on the balcony ...is a bit silly ..( we never used ours) when it's a zillion degrees outside....who needs it. At the BARCELO BAVARO BEACH resort....it's Adult only ....we asked and got an ocean front, ground floo room...BUT on retrospect this was a mistake....we were in a room right at the end of the resort.. but it was a bit too 'remote'...and our room had an ADJOINING DOOR...we could HEAR EVERY CONVERSATION , EVERY NOISE FROM THE NEXT ROOM.....NOT EASY TO SLEEP ....we will definitely NOT do that again ....THE PRO SHOP at the GOLF COURSE...the staff were sometimes not overly helpful...THE 19th HOLE Restaurant...The staff's attitude is not always helpful and sometimes just not friendly or prompt (I waited 45 minutes for a toasted bagel for breakfast . However...armed with our knowledge and experience...we know now ..what to ask for and what to avoid...Overall it is a VERY GOOD resort vacation. We felt safe and well taken care of and is Good Value.

Room Tip: DON'T - get a room with an adjoining door (unless you want that) you're going to hear EVERYT...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director Sandy P, General Manager at Barcelo Bavaro Beach, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you to take your time to write and share your review in Tripadvisor. Checking your words we can appreciate you didn’t have a pleasant stay in Barceló Bavaro Beach and we couldn´t fill your expectation about our property. We try to keep our quality service to give you our best and we take all guest feedback very seriously. I would like to give you an honest apology for your inconvenient. Our main goal is the quality service and this is also a good value of our skills. Thank you very much again to give us your opinion.

Cordially,

Sandy Pfeil
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,362 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,065
    874
    269
    86
    68
See reviews for
303
1,744
124
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (671)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

The people and place are the greatest! !!! You'll find a lot of things to do in the hotel but the outside rides gives you the best experience ever.
The all included it's really all included also the drinks

The room service it's sometimes slowly because the size of the hotel take this on mind in the check in and out
Bring with you some extra money for the journeys that the agencies inside the hotel brings and be prepare to buy local souvenir a lot of people live on it and will chase you to get some of it. Keep in mind always the most economic choice its not always the first one.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director Sandy P, General Manager at Barcelo Bavaro Beach, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear guest,

We thank you for trusting in Barceló Bávaro Beach for your holidays and for sharing your experience with the online community and give us your feedback.

For us is very important the experience our guest have about their stay with us. We are glad to know that every time you have stayed with us, you have been able to enjoy of many unique and memorable experiences due to the amazing staff, the high quality food and drinks and resort facilities.

We remain at your entire disposition for any assistance you might need before your visit.

As with any business like ours, the greatest advertising we can have is word of mouth from a satisfied customer. It’s our goal to retain you as a satisfied customer and will hope to serve you again in the future.

Warm regards,

Sandy Pfeil
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

Reviewer should know that we have stayed at a number of resorts in the DR over the last 20 years. We have been at the "Barcelo Bavaro Beach -Adults Only" the last three winters, it suits us. Here's why: Over all a helpful and friendly staff, from food service, housekeeping, grounds keepers to the Security Officers. (We are sending to the resort director a list of 10 employees we thought were exceptionally accommodating, and hospitable.); The beach is very nice, and there are enough lounges available no matter what time you decide to go to the beach; The place is strictly adults only; Breakfast and lunch buffets are very good with a large variety and lots of fresh produce; MIni bar is well stocked and included. The room fixtures are a little outdated, but very clean and well maintained. Our experience over the last 3 years is that requests for repairs are answered immediately. This resort is attached to Barcelo Palace Deluxe Resort.

With access to Palace Deluxe, a family resort you get a lot of Food and Activities options. They are: Four ethnic/fine dining restaurants: 2 meat and seafood restaurants; a 24 hour Sports Bar/buffet; Access to a number of water sports including individual sailing; Nightly large production shows: a nice Spa; beautiful golf course: water park, Hard Rock cafe; and many children's activities. Most of these are all inclusive.

Yes, we like it.

Room Tip: Get your restaurant reservations early when you arrive. We especially like The french and Spanish r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director Sandy P, General Manager at Barcelo Bavaro Beach, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear Guest,

Receive cordial greetings from all the team working at Bavaro Resort.

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at our hotel. We sincerely appreciate all feedback.

It is an honor to know that our staff is providing our guests with the natural warm and hospitality that characterize the Dominican people. Please be assured that your nice comments will be forward to our staff. They will be delighted to know that they are making a difference in each guest experience.

We thank you for taking your time sharing your opinion with us which we will take in the highest consideration.

Looking forward to welcoming you once again.

Best regards,

Sandy Pfeil
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jersey channel islands
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

Having booked this hotel after reading a string of good reviews on TA as it ticked most of our boxes ie adults only, choice of restaurants, golf course and a good beach, however, we travelled with some anxiety following a string of very poor reviews ie awfull food, poor service, dated rooms with paperthin walls,food poisoning,theft from rooms.
We did not encounter ANY of these negatives experiences.
Room (1089) was excellent, as requested highest floor facing pool,close to beach clean and spacious, bathroom could do with some updating but clean fair size balcony with side views to the ocean.maid service was excellent sorry cant remember her name.
Did not hear any noise from rooms at either side.
Food varied and very good standard in all areas service was good and plentiful wine and water.
Santa fe restaurant was our favourite.
Beach excellent powdery sands kept very clean with lots of loungers,pool area very clean again lots of loungers.
Bars and drinks, beach-pool bar good service from nelson always a smile on his face.
Lobby bar great service by Jose Luis Arno, Jose Luis Pena and Jersi Del Rosario who all know their cocktails. Attentive service with a smile at all times overseen by friendly Alessio the supervisor.Good variety of premium brand drinks in both bars.
Entertainment _not our scene but very popular with good reports.
Golf excellent lots of water beautifully manicured and well run bottled water in cooler on carts beer at 10th hole!! also breakfast can be taken from 6am at the club house.
Service excellent in all areas occasional tips appreciated.
YOU WONT FIND BETTER VALUE FOR YOUR MONEY.
British??? book BA holidays.

Room Tip: Building 1 or 2 highest floor facing pool closest to beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director Sandy P, General Manager at Barcelo Bavaro Beach, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you to take your time to write a review and choosing Barceló Bavaro Beach as a destination during your holidays. We also appreciate your personal opinion about the hotel, the staff and the food. We take all guest feedback very seriously, and we're constantly improving all aspects with honesty.

We do not know how to thank you for this kind of comments. Posts such as yours delight us and gives us confidence to keep working hard to satisfy our customers and improve our service.

Please allow us to reassure that we are extremely proud to have provided you a great time, which reflects the commitment and quality of service we have exhibited through the years.

Best Regards,

Sandy Pfeil
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

This hotel upcharges everything, even the TV basic channels. The food and drink are lacking. The nightlife is terrible. The night club is rundown, low rent, and immorally uncomfortable. It plays techno music. Not at all in keeping with the resort atmosphere. This is supposed to be a family resort. Where is the wholesome dancing music. The staff do not interact with the guests at all. It gives it a very impersonal feel. While the main decor is open and modern, the pool and beach are pleasant for relaxing, and the rooms are well appointed that is where the vacation ends. All activities and kids pools are extra charges. We were very unhappy with the experience based on the amount of money you pay to stay here. Felt ripped off.

Room Tip: Get room close to beach. Train is slow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director Sandy P, General Manager at Barcelo Bavaro Beach, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Dear guest,

We feel deeply sorry of knowing that our services and facilities could not ensure a pleasant and relaxing stay with us at Barceló Bavaro Beach. Even though your assessment is very appreciate and important for us.

Anyhow, we regret you did not have a good experience as many other travelers had. Perhaps, most of the inconveniences mentioned in your review could be fixed during your stay to change the negative impression you have so far.

We truly hope you give us a second opportunity to welcome you again and demonstrate the commitment and quality of service we have exhibited through the years and in that way being able to change any negative perception you may have.

Respectfully,

Sandy Pfeil
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altona, Canada
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

We visited Punta Cana for our first time the week of Feb. 7-14/14. We had a fantastic time. The beach is absolutely amazing & the resort is for adults only. That's exactly why we choose this hotel. We had the prime location for our room 6012. We were ground level and were a 15 second walk to the beach, a totally amazing view, I could see the ocean from the bed. The water was crystal clear, sand was like flour. It was so nice that there weren't huge waves crashing in as there was a coral reef out in the distance. The only thing we missed on the beach was beach service & I wish there was a swim-up bar at this resort and not at the Palace where the families stay. That sure would have been a fabulous perk for this resort. The lobby bar / area was awesome and we spent our evenings there after watching the show every night. On Valentine's Day cupid was walking around visiting couples and making them kiss and in the evening had a live band and decorated the lobby area every nicely. The food was excellent and we really enjoyed all our a la carte dinners. Our room had 2 double beds but we pushed them together to make one huge bed! The bathroom (shower & toilet area) was quite dated and could definately use updating. The rest of the room was great. I truly recommend this hotel. You won't be sorry you did!!!

Room Tip: Ask for room 6012 (ground level) 15 second walk to the beach and right beside the walkway
See more room tips
Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director Sandy P, General Manager at Barcelo Bavaro Beach, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing Barceló Bavaro Beach for your holidays and for the time you spent sharing your review with other travelers on Tripadvisor.com.

In the name of our entire staff, we thank you for highlighting out the excellent service of our friendly staff. Thank you for naming those who made a difference during your visit like Alejandro and Stanley. On the other hand, I’ve forwarded your comments to the departments involved to review improvement areas.

We will be honored to welcome you back. Please do not hesitate to contact us prior your next visit.

Best Regards,

Sandy Pfeil
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Above Bucharest
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

We stayed as a young couple for 8 nights during February 2013. We really enjoyed our stay at the Barcelo Bavaro Beach, relevant points would be the ones below.
The Good:
> the beach: wonderful wonderful beach, crystal blue waters, warm and calm, fine sand and lost of shadow from the palm trees. From what I have seen while walking on the beach and being up in the air with the flying boat this hotel seems to have the nicest beach in the area.
> the rooms: nice, spacious, comfortable bed, new furniture. Bathroom could have been a bit better, but nothing to complain about.
> the grounds: lots of green areas, a lot of stuff to do both here and in the Palace Deluxe. Nice and varied entertainment shows, however beach activities were rather repetitive (same basic dance lessons every day for example). Water-sports should benefit from a higher number of boats, catamarans and kayaks, as now some of them can only be used by reservation 1-2 days in advance.
> the staff: always friendly and trying to be helpful.
The Not So Good:
> the food: while the offer is varied and diverse, a lot of the ingredients are frozen. Probably this is the way to go considering the number of people to be served, but you would expect a bit more quality-wise.
> the drinks: non-Club Premium guests only got local drinks. Decent rum (Barcelo) and tequila, but the good ones were with an extra charge.
> the beach noise: this beach seems to be in the middle of everything: catamaran rides, pirate boats, helicopter rides, everything. And all boats were travelling with the music at the maximum. Luckily there weren't too many throughout the day.
The Bad:
> fresh juices: no fresh juices to be found anywhere on the premises. A beach bar with such drinks, coconut cocktails and some fruit (between meals there weren't any real alternatives for a quick snack) would have been a nice addition.
> the dinner reservations: during our 8 night stay we weren't able to book a dinner at Chez Gourmet or La Fuente. No chance, everything booked a week in advance, most likely by tour operators for their guests. Which just isn't fair, we felt a bit cheated considering the price paid. And for the restaurants located in the Palace Deluxe, if you try to reserve at the Beach's Guest Service most likely you will be offered only weird times (6-6.15 or after 10.30), the only chance is to find someone friendly at the Palace Deluxe and book it directly there, even if we have been told more than once that we should not book from there.
Overall a very pleasant stay, we would definitely return despite all the shortcomings.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms facing the pool, lots of noise at night from entertainment shows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director Sandy P, General Manager at Barcelo Bavaro Beach, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing Barceló Bavaro Beach for your holidays. In the name of our entire staff, we want to thank you for taking time to share your review with other travelers.

We regret to hear that our gastronomy offer at our restaurants didn’t fulfill your expectations as well as the inconvenience you had with the smoke generated by other guests.

We thank you for your feedback. It helps us to improve our standards of service.

Please feel free to contact us, in case you decide to visit us again.

Yours Sincerely,

Sandy Pfeil
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Barcelo Bavaro Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Bavaro Beach

Address: Carretera Bavaro Km. 1 | PO Box 3177, Punta Cana 23301, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#14 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#15 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#25 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#30 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo Bavaro Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 589
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Barcelo Bavaro Beach - Adults Only*****hotel is located on one of the 10 best beaches in the world, in the Punta Cana area of the Dominican Republic. This dreamy hotel has reinvented itself after a complete renovation to become an exclusive hotel for adults only. The hotel offers first class rooms 80% of which are located right on the beachfront. This makes it the most perfect place for a romantic getaway. Enjoy the exquisite range of cuisine on offer at the hotel through the Barcelo All Inclusive Programme with its Caribbean Buffet, Chez Gourmet and La Brisa restaurants; 9 a-la-carte restaurant options: Chez Gourmet (international), La Brisa (Mediterranean), El Coral (fish and seafood), Santa Fe (meat), La Dolce Vita (Italian), Mexico Lindo (Mexican), La Fuente (Spanish), Kyoto (Japanese) and La Comedie (Gourmet - additional charge except for Club Premium guests). Visit the facilities where you can find different options to fill your days: football pitch, tennis court, swimming pool, golf course, water sports, wellness centre, theatre and casino. This exclusive resort set on a virgin beach welcomes you with a cocktail, spoils you with drinks by the pool and offers you a 45 minute hydrothermal circuit, per person once during your stay. There are also 2 massage beds in the pool area (at an additional charge). Staying at this hotel also grants guests access to the facilities of the Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe, a hotel which shares some of its services and facilities. This hotel is one of the very few in the country that boasts the international BLUE FLAG for compliance with the standards required by the non-profit non-governmental organisation the Foundation for Environmental Education (FEE). Come and rediscover the marvels the Barcelo Bavaro Beach - Adults Only***** hotel has to offer! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Barcelo, Expedia, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Barcelo Bavaro Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Bavaro Beach Hotel
Barcelo Bavaro Punta Cana
Barcelo Bavaro Beach Punta Cana
Bavaro Beach Hotel
Bavaro Beach Resort
Barcelo Punta Cana Resort
Barcelo Bavaro Beach Resort Punta Cana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barcelo Bavaro Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.