We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing short of perfection” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Barcelo Bavaro Beach - Adults Only

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Barcelo Bavaro Beach - Adults Only to your Saves list
Barcelo Bavaro Beach - Adults Only
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carretera Bavaro Km. 1 | PO Box 3177, Punta Cana 23301, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 25% discount
Ranked #20 of 99 Hotels in Punta Cana
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Sarasota, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nothing short of perfection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

This hotel is a dream you do not want to wake up from. Spacious modern clean rooms, heavenly beds, views, food, entertainment etc. Nice calm beach, plenty of beach chairs. The resort is stretched along the beach and each building has its own beach chairs. No crowds anywhere. Excellent food. Covered walkway with soft music played sets you in a very relaxing mood from the start. Or you can take a mini train around the property. Checkin and checkout was fast and smooth. Friendliness was superior. I did not want to leave.

Room Tip: I think all rooms here are perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director Sandy P, General Manager at Barcelo Bavaro Beach - Adults Only, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing Barceló Bavaro Beach to spend your vacation and taking the time to give us this feedback.

I would like to thank you for your great review, it is a pleasure for me hear that you recent stay in our hotel was memorable.

We have a commitment to provide the best service with a no comparison quality.

We await you soon at this, your second home.

Regards,

Sandy Pfeil
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,870 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,346
    1,021
    326
    100
    77
See reviews for
358
2,059
133
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (791)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stettler, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

we stayed there from Jan 10 till 24, we were at this resort in 2006 since then there has been some major changes with the addition of the new Palace Deluxe complex 5 years ago it is out of this world with lots of stores and most of the A La carte restaurants located there. We did also go over there for evening buffet it was busy with families no big deal lots of sea food along with anything else that you would want to eat, If you go hungry here it is your own fault or you are very picky.
We stayed in room 6051 with a beautiful ocean view and king size bed. The WiFi is $45 a week and worked well I could sit on the beach and Face time with the Grand kids and listen to my favorite radio station Big 105.5 Red Deer.
One thing that I did notice was that this resort is wheel chair accessible and that the staff really helps them out nice to see. There was also a group of 1200 from Brazil from Libbs pharmaceutical the 2nd week and it was busy at times but the staff handled it well.
I have to laugh at the people that say that there is a language barrier with the staff most of them understand many languages and try hard, maybe you should try to learn some Spanish before you go to their country!
I would like to thank Leidy Lawra from club premium she meet with us and asked if we had any concerns, we would like to see the night shows to start at 9 pm and do not charge for WiFi and she also agreed with that.
Also to Karyne our Air Transat rep she was always there to answer any questions with a big smile on her face. Also to Carman from the breakfast buffet you are a hard working lady and made our stay.
We will return to this resort some day and did enjoy the beautiful bavaro beach. We did tip and all off them appreciated it a few $ goes a long way.

Room Tip: enjoy your stay how much time do you spend in the room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director Sandy P, General Manager at Barcelo Bavaro Beach - Adults Only, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for choosing us as your holiday destination and sharing your comments with the online community.

It is such a pleasure to know that we exceed your expectation overall. We feel very proud of our property and the team that is committed to provide a high level service in all departments.

We look forward to have you back for another terrific stay!

Warms regard,

Sandy Pfeil
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

Save your money and go somewhere else. It is an old resort. Needs lots of upgrades. Food is tasteless. Problem with water. And on and on and on....if you chose the Deluxe area ...it is a better version. Lot of european tourist there but is is better.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director Sandy P, General Manager at Barcelo Bavaro Beach - Adults Only, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Dear guest,

It makes us feel very sad to read you could not been able to have a relaxing vacation in our establishment, unfortunately we did not met your expectations this time.

We are very so sad to read that we couldn´t fill your expectations regarding our hotel. We always try to keep our quality service, in order to satisfy the needs and expectations of all our guests.

We would like to have the opportunity to welcome you once again at any of our Hotels, and that way is able to change any negative perception you may have about us.

Respectfully,

Sandy Pfeil
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

On arrival at the airport be careful that the pre-arranged transport does not take you to the wrong hotel.
Once you arrive the first thing that you are aware of is the enormity of the complex. This is not for the boutique hotel fans.during my stay I wanted to see more than just a hotel and after speaking to reception regarding leaving the complex, I was told it would cost USD$5 each way to and from reception just to the main gate. The hotel is average for a large premises and my room had a pleasant view of the sea. The room was spacious with a poorly fitted bathroom which needs improvement. Although this place markets itself as a 4-5* resort it is definitely not and I suspect that the high prices are an attempt to attract a certain type client. This would be ok if the facilities were much improved to reflect the price and match the expectations of the clientele .
The food is average and the only interesting restaurants are charged at an additional USD$15 per person per meal. The meal areas, buffet or a la carte seem to be understaffed and the staff overworked. I understand the economics of minimizing the expense and maximizing the cost but as a patron you don't end up with a great experience. As a result you are competing for the attention of limited staff who are trying to do the impossible.
A strange system at this hotel is that clients are invited to pre-book the restaurants in a block, this results in clients having to wait 5 or more days to visit 1 restaurant at 11pm as the next available slot (ridiculous)
As someone who has my alcohol neat, the well known branded drinks taste different, some even taste less than authentic.
The resort credits upto $3500 are a gimmick and only represent a discount of overpriced items. This hotels only saving grace is the Dominican people who work tirelessly to improve your experience and the guests tip them regularly.
The beach is nice with economy sun loungers and no umbrellas for shade. Your are left to move your chair as the sun changes position. their are no beach attendants and you are not served on the beach, you need to get your hot or cold drink in a plastic cup yourself and return to your chair. their is no food permitted beyond the restaurants and staff will chase you to prevent this happening. Their are so many rules you are left feeling like a child who might make a mess on the clean beach, this is certainly not 4* service.
We saw a guest drinking from a coconut and when we inquired where they got it from, it turned out to be a hut at the extreme opposite end of the beach at a cost of $1 each.
At checkout the staff is so miserable...... Once presented with your final bill, if you dare to ask for a breakdown you treated with hostility for daring to ask and the final figure is trust under your nose with a "I don't know what it's for".
I could say a lot more about this hotel but will stop here.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director Sandy P, General Manager at Barcelo Bavaro Beach - Adults Only, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Dear guest,

We feel deeply sorry of knowing that our services and facilities could not ensure a pleasant and relaxing stay with us at Barceló Bavaro Beach. Even though your assessment is very appreciate and important for us.

I regret you did not have a good experience as many other travelers had. Perhaps, most of the inconveniences mentioned in your review could be fixed during your stay to change the negative impression you have so far.

As a very responsible hotel chain we take all guest feedback very seriously; therefore we appreciate all your comments and will ensure that those are worked on.

We truly hope you give us a second opportunity to welcome you again and demonstrate the commitment and quality of service we have exhibited through the years and in that way being able to change any negative perception you may have.

Respectfully,

Sandy Pfeil
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

Returned from a wonderful holiday at the Barceló Bavaro Beach Resort. We loved the beach and swimming in the ocean. The meals were nice. A little repetitive but could always find something to enjoy. The staff were attentive, kind and helpful. I'd like to personally thank Evelyn Ramirez in the guest services who helped to accommodate us for a late check out. She was professional and kind. We will definitely recommend this destination to our family and friends. Thank you again.

Room Tip: we were in building 5. it was close to the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director Sandy P, General Manager at Barcelo Bavaro Beach - Adults Only, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Dear guest,

We really appreciate you have chosen us as your holidays destination. Barceló Bavaro Beach and its team feel very proud of your nice comments.

Thank you for mentioning you had a great time in our property, and you had appreciated the warmth and dedication of our staff.

We are so looking forward to welcome you back soon in Barceló Bavaro Beach as you second home.

Sincerely,

Sandy Pfeil
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ottawa
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

we booked this holiday through red tag and flew with air transat first time for both great service with both .We arrived late evening transport to hotel and check in with resort went great.The barcelo bavero beach is adults only on the side we stayed at highly recommend staying here if you don't have kids .staying in this section also gives you acess to all the resort and inc. free golf as well. this resort is 5 star and it shows it the moment you check in Buffett style food was excellent with plenty of choice and changes .The staff are very friendly and are constantly at work cleaning .Beach is the best if have seen it's cleaned daily and there are problems getting chairs to sit on. Note to golfers: I was given a tour of the golf course all eighteen holes by the starter This is a must play course if you bring your clubs the cost is $65.00 for the cart ,you would pay double that anywhere in north America for this type of layout .When booking ala carte restraunts do this on the first day of stay they fill up fast you can also ask for cancellations on any given day .PRO: great beach,golf, eating,cleanliness.staff, CON:no bar on beach.

Room Tip: rooms that are ground floor directly facing the beach would be your best bet
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director Sandy P, General Manager at Barcelo Bavaro Beach - Adults Only, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Dear guest,

We thank you for trusting in Barceló Bávaro Beach for your holidays and for sharing your experience with the online community and give us your feedback.

Thanks for choosing us as a destination for you stay. For us is very important the experience our guest have about their stay with us. We are glad to know that you have been able to enjoy your stay with us and have a memorable experience due to the amazing staff, the high quality food and drinks and resort facilities.

We remain at your entire disposition for any assistance you might need before your visit.

As with any business like ours, the greatest advertising we can have is word of mouth from a satisfied customer. It’s our goal to retain you as a satisfied customer and will hope to serve you again in the future.

Warm regards,

Sandy Pfeil
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

I visited this resort for a second time with my mom and sister from January 6th-January 11th. I had stayed here before in March 2013 with my mom and we enjoyed it so we took my sister with us this time. Overall, we were disappointed, were planning on going back for spring break in March but have since changed our plans.

We had an oceanfront room in building 6 and upgraded to club premium. The first time we were here we did not do club premium and this time we did, and we think it was a waste of money. I can't name one thing that was different this time being club premium except making reservations in the club premium lounge. Being club premium did not help with getting restaurant reservations either, our only options were 6 pm or 10-11 pm. We tried booking on the first day, and still struggled to make dinner reservations.

The room had an incredible view, but everything else about the room was disappointing. The room was incredibly dirty. When we checked in the bathroom, the stool in the bathroom, the floors, everything was dirty. And even after they cleaned the room there wasn't much of a difference. Also, the rooms really need a remodel. Even in just under a year they've deteriorated a lot. Further, our toilet handle was broken and very difficult to flush and that was never addressed.

The food, is just blah. Nothing was good, most things were just okay, and a lot of things were bad. We ate at Chez Gourmet, this was fine. The Mexican restaurant, this was the best a la carte in our opinion. The Italian restaurant, liked it when we visited last March but it was much worse this trip. We also visited the steakhouse, and that was just fine as well. The buffets had the same mediocre food everyday.

It was very difficult to get a drink. Every time we ordered stuff they were out of everything, banana, mint, certain alcohol's. I think it was just because they didn't want to make certain things. I would order a mojito and would be told there was no mint and they couldn't. And a few minutes later I would see a different bartender make someone else a mojito with mint. This happened all week. The language barrier in trying to order things was even more noticeable this time around. One time I asked one of the waitresses which drink she liked on the drink menu(in Spanish,) and she told me none of them. The service really needs to be improved.

The best thing about this resort are the grounds. With the exception of the rooms everything is kept immaculate. The pools, the beach both are very enjoyable. The water is a gorgeous blue, and the sand is super soft. I went for a jog on the beach every morning, the beach is seriously fantastic. The reason we went on vacation was to relax and enjoy the sunshine, so all of the flaws didn't ruin the trip.

We had certain expectations since we did enjoy ourselves last trip. I think because it was our first time there we ignored some of the flaws, but this time there were even more flaws and it was hard to ignore. The complaints about this place, the food, the room cleanliness, and the rooms outdatedness are things that many reviews bring up, but yet nothing is done to improve them. You can get this place for a good deal, and if you've never been before I think you could have a decent time, just don't set your expectations too high. We will not be returning to this resort, our next trip will be to Jamaica to the Iberostar Grand. After our last two vacations and dealing with the language barrier and the crabby people of the Dominican we can't wait to get back to Jamaica where the people are the friendliest around.

Room Tip: Buildings 5 and 6 are closet to the Deluxe side, the views in building 6 are incredible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director Sandy P, General Manager at Barcelo Bavaro Beach - Adults Only, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Dear guest,

We thank you for choosing Barceló Bávaro Beach for your holidays and for sharing your experience with the online community and give us your feedback.

I have read thoroughly your comments because they are very important for us as a responsible and professional hotel chain. For us it is very important the experience our guest have about their stay with us. I accept your feedback for continuous improvement in a future stay.

Barceló and its team are working very hard to improve our service on the daily basis.

We hope to give us the opportunity to provide the care and quality you deserve at a future visit.

We remain at your entire disposition for any assistance you might need before your visit.
It’s our goal to retain you as a satisfied customer and will hope to serve you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Sandy Pfeil
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Barcelo Bavaro Beach - Adults Only? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Bavaro Beach - Adults Only

Address: Carretera Bavaro Km. 1 | PO Box 3177, Punta Cana 23301, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#11 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#17 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#19 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#25 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#30 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo Bavaro Beach - Adults Only 4*
Number of rooms: 589
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Barcelo Bavaro Beach - Adults Only*****hotel is located on one of the 10 best beaches in the world, in the Punta Cana area of the Dominican Republic. This dreamy hotel has reinvented itself after a complete renovation to become an exclusive hotel for adults only. The hotel offers first class rooms 80% of which are located right on the beachfront. This makes it the most perfect place for a romantic getaway. Enjoy the exquisite range of cuisine on offer at the hotel through the Barcelo All Inclusive Programme with its Caribbean Buffet, Chez Gourmet and La Brisa restaurants; 9 a-la-carte restaurant options: Chez Gourmet (international), La Brisa (Mediterranean), El Coral (fish and seafood), Santa Fe (meat), La Dolce Vita (Italian), Mexico Lindo (Mexican), La Fuente (Spanish), Kyoto (Japanese) and La Comedie (Gourmet - additional charge except for Club Premium guests). Visit the facilities where you can find different options to fill your days: football pitch, tennis court, swimming pool, golf course, water sports, wellness centre, theatre and casino. This exclusive resort set on a virgin beach welcomes you with a cocktail, spoils you with drinks by the pool and offers you a 45 minute hydrothermal circuit, per person once during your stay. There are also 2 massage beds in the pool area (at an additional charge). Staying at this hotel also grants guests access to the facilities of the Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe, a hotel which shares some of its services and facilities. This hotel is one of the very few in the country that boasts the international BLUE FLAG for compliance with the standards required by the non-profit non-governmental organisation the Foundation for Environmental Education (FEE). Come and rediscover the marvels the Barcelo Bavaro Beach - Adults Only***** hotel has to offer! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Barcelo, Booking.com, Expedia, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., BookIt.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Barcelo Bavaro Beach - Adults Only reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Bavaro Beach Hotel
Barcelo Bavaro Punta Cana
Barcelo Bavaro Beach Punta Cana
Bavaro Beach Hotel
Bavaro Beach Resort
Barcelo Punta Cana Resort
Barcelo Bavaro Beach Resort Punta Cana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barcelo Bavaro Beach - Adults Only, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.