We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Year Rocks in Barcelo Bavaro Beach!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Barcelo Bavaro Beach

Save Saved
You added Barcelo Bavaro Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Barcelo Bavaro Beach
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Playas de Bavaro | PO Box 3177, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 100 hotels in Punta Cana
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“New Year Rocks in Barcelo Bavaro Beach!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

We just came back from Punta Cana.
We stayed in Barcelo Bavaro Beach Dec. 27 - Jan 3, 2014
Adults only was a smart choice.
We enjoyed quiet and decent accommodations and were able to use all facilities in adjacent Palace Deluxe (which was rather noisy and crowded, yet fun).
The accommodations were clean and basic, big rooms, nice beds and selection of pillows.
Plenty beverages in mini fridge, snacks and a variety of toilettes (dental set, shaving kit etc.) replenished daily. Top floor is preferred for lightslippers, as soundproofing in the rooms is little to none.
There are six buildings:
1 is closest to a pool & lobby, 3 is also nearby pool/lobby – the noisiest buildings.
4 is the remotest one from the lobby, pool and restaurants.
6 & 2 are closest to a beach.
5 was quiet and close to everything (we stayed in this building and liked the quiet a lot)
Beach was OK, cleaned daily, lots of chairs, yet sea grass was everywhere except for several clean areas in the water for swimming. However the site was good for snorkeling (sea stars, sting rays, sea-urchins , sea snakes, even turtles). Water was warm and calm most of the time, long white sand beach. Also, palm trees make good shade on the beach. No mosquitos, occasional flies. Fare away from quiet beach, as there are lots of watersports activities, yachts, powerboats … they give away strong diesel scent, could be bothersome if not the wind.
The food was average.
Definitely go to the restaurants (we liked Italian, Stackhouse was good, Seafood was OK, French was rather disappointing).
Shows were OK/average. Staff was great and helpful. Strikes sport bar in Deluxe and lobby bar in adults side were the best for drinks. Carlos, the lobby bar bartender in adults side was the best, he makes wonderful cocktails and fun to talk (when not too busy), deserves $ or couple in gratitude.
New Year celebration was very fun and well prepared and organized.
Presents were also good, included 750 ml bottle of premium aged Don Barcelo rum.
Lots of Europeans (mostly Russians, some Switzerlanders, Austrian, French and Spanish).
Also lots of Canadians!
We only went for one excursion – Caribbean Festival ($90/person); was best for kids, started rather slow (long wait), shark pool was a joke as well as riff snorkeling; sting rays petting was fun (yet short) and only good for people who like touching fishes and kids. Elvis from the crew was awesome taking underwater pictures with our camera making excellent pictures of us with marine life. The best part was dancing on the way back (crew put up really good show) and plenty of drinks and fruit snacks. Don from the crew who danced on stilts was the friendliest guy and so much fun.
In general was very fun vacation.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director Sandy P, General Manager at Barcelo Bavaro Beach, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing Barceló Bavaro Beach to spend your vacation and taking the time to give us this feedback.

I would like to thank you for your great review, it is a pleasure for me hear that you recent stay in our hotel was fun.

We have a commitment to provide the best service with a no comparison quality.

We await you soon at this, your second home.

Regards,

Sandy Pfeil
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,596 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,556
    692
    223
    71
    54
See reviews for
247
1404
86
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (559)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

Went here for Christmas December 24-30/13 and all we can say is wow!

I will first start off saying that we've been to Punta Cana Princess...Iberostar Punta Cana and Ocean Blue and Sand in the last 4 years and all I can say is this resort surpassed the other 3 in terms of food, grounds and beach. Not that there was anything wrong with them as they were all very memorable vacations, but this one just seemed to have an edge over them. Steak and lobster every night on the buffet is just a start.....


We grabbed a taxi at the airport...$30...arrived at the resort 15 minutes later. This is the only way to go people. We did not have to wait at check in....
Check in took about 10 minutes and when we arrived at our room we had an awesome oceanview room with a kingsize bed. Room 6045

The ocean is absolutely breathtaking and calm with very little waves. Plenty of beach chairs, we never had any trouble getting one and most days we never made it to the beach until 9 or 10 am.

I cannot believe when I read other reviews about the poor quality food as we found the food plentiful and tasty. I must say that we did prefer the food over at the Palace Deluxe as their buffet is larger with more options. We would walk there for lunch and supper every day. We had lobster and New York steaks every night.....what's not to love. My husband loved the mussels in sauce and the hamburger patties were by far the best we've ever eaten on any resort....had them every day for lunch. Found them a little under cooked initialy, but just got the cooks to throw them back on the grill while we grabbed everything else. They even had ceasar salad dressing on the buffet which tasted like home so I had this every day too.

We only did 2 ala cartes just because we never knew when we were going to be hungry and the buffet was so tasty. The Gourmet was very good...smallish portions though and Kyoto over at the Palace Deluxe. The cost is $15 per person for this one, but it is worth every penny...delicious. I had the tenderloin beef and hubby had the red snapper. My only disappointment was our chef Jose stood there like a stump and didn't perform any fancy tricks, just cooked the food. It seemed our chef was the only boring one as there was so much action at the other tables so I found myself watching them instead. :)

It takes about 5 minutes to walk from one resort to the other and the grounds are by far the most beautiful I've ever seen. There are many gift shops over at the Palace including a duty free shop with perfume, cigars and cigarettes, jewelery, luggage and alcohol. Bought a 60 oz Finlandia vodka for $26 US...cheaper than the airport.

At the bars they have Absolute and Stolynaya vodka, but you have to ask for it otherwise you get local brand....no Canadian whiskey to be found. Also they only served Presidente beer , but we liked it so no problems there. There is only 2 bars on this property...the lobby bar and the pool bar...never went thirsty though..lol

You have a mini bar in your room which has beer, pop, water and snacks...tacos, peanuts and granola. We always tipped our maid daily and everything was very well stocked everyday.
There is as well in the bathtub a shampoo, conditioner and shower gel dispenser attatched to wall and they smell good as well. I must also comment that this room has the best most comfortable bed I've ever slept on...not like the rocks in Mexico...I brought a foamy but never used it as this bed was so soft and comfortable which is what we like..in case anyone is wondering what their beds are like.

We never did any excursions as we were content with each others company, however we did discover the Natural Pool that others have talked about and all the party boats you see passing in front of the resort as headed to. We kinda found it by accident, but what an awesome find.
It's located to the right past the Bavaro Palace Deluxe. Go to the end of their beach and walk about 1/4 mile down the beach...you will see a peer where boats are docked to take people out to dolphin island. At this point you will see where all the party boats are parked and the water is crystal clear torquoise color. Keep walking past the peer about 300-400 feet along the beach and then head left into the water. Yes the water is kinda squishy under your feet because of the seaweed, but totally worth it to walk there...takes less than 5 minutes to get out there and so worth it...the water is so shallow and warm...and there is so much music coming from the party boats, you can dance in the water too if you like...;)

We never upgraded to Club Premium as it was an additional $800 and I never once felt we were without. Yes they get free internet and snacks. Not worth it to me as I have unlimited buffets so don't really need the extra snacks and I'm not on vacation to spend time on the computer...just my opinion....

We will never go back during the holiday season as the airport was absolutely crazy, however I would definitely return to this resort!

Happy travels and please don't listen to the whiners....I also read all the reviews before our departure and worried and fretted and can honestly say I cannot believe these people went to the same resort as us.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director Sandy P, General Manager at Barcelo Bavaro Beach, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear guest,

First of all we thank you for choosing our hotel Barceló Bavaro Beach for your holidays and for the time you took to share your review with the online community.

I will like to thank you for highlighting out the excellent service of our friendly staff and also for pointing out the beauty of our grounds and our excellent gastronomy.

We will be honored to welcome you back. Do not hesitate to contact us prior your next visit.

Warm regards,

Sandy Pfeil
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martins Ferry, Ohio
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

I went to the Barcelo Bavaro Beach (Adults Only) with a few friends in Oct 2013. There was a few mix-ups with our rooms when we got there, but they we're able to get them all on the same floor of the same building within a few hours. For some reason we were unable to upgrade to the "Club Premium Package" and wasn't really ever given a reason why either. Our rooms were very nice and big. The main buffet was really good, with multiple food bars and a service bar. The other restaurants were ok, but the buffet was probably our favorite. The Staff was very friendly, however majority of them didn't speak much English outside of Drink orders. We found using the resorts Wi-Fi package and a translation app on your phone really enhances the trip. Breaking the Language barrier allowed us to connect with the workers and really have a good time. One Bartender in particular really made the trip fun. If you go to the Bohio Bar by the pool Look for Nelson De La Rosa and ask for the Nelson Especial. He really took care of us and made the trip a blast! The other side of the resort had some nice gift shops and stores. You can take the shuttle train or walk to it. That's where majority of the restaurants are. Overall the resort was pretty good for the money. But I highly recommend using a Spanish translation app to connect with the workers, it will completely change the trip.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director Sandy P, General Manager at Barcelo Bavaro Beach, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear guest,

We would like to express our gratitude for sharing your experience with the online community.

Exceeding our guest expectations and offer memorable experiences is our goal. Thank you for your nice comments regarding our property and the staff. We will definitely share your review with Mr. Nelson De La Rosa.

We appreciate your review and hope to host you in paradise near in the future.

Warms regards,

Sandy Pfeil
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danvers
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

From checkin to checkout everyone was wonderful courteous and attentive. Wilfredo at guest services remedied a towel issue immediately. There were so many wonderful staff members from the concierge, to the housekeepers, to the waiters and waitresses. They set up an exquisite buffet Xmas eve dinner we ate in Carribe one of our favorite places! See the pictures it was wonderful. The bar tenders were attentive and the entertainment was good. The rooms are a little dated but very clean, with comfortable beds, and pillows. We stayed in room 2095 which had a very nice ocean/pool view without paying the oceanfront fees. The amenities are awesome and being able to use both sides gave us tons of things to do. We even got a free spa treatment which should be taken advantage of.
The beach is superb pristine white sand beautiful water etc. We brought our own masks and snorkels, and went kayaking for free too. The activities people were a lot of fun water aerobics, beach volley ball just a great group!!! We tipped regularly and consistently received great service!
The only reason it's not getting a 5 is because of the dated rooms, dated equipment in the gym, and casino, The gym needs 2 full sets of weights, new equipment etc. The casino was a joke- my money got stuck in the machine no one did anything to resolve it. Then another the money just didn't register and they made no attempt to reimburse me. The machines stunk. But everything else perfecto! Gracias feliz ano nuevo

Room Tip: 12/12/13 until 12/26 room 2095 excellent housekeeping staff. Wanted to submit pictures but can't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director Sandy P, General Manager at Barcelo Bavaro Beach, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear guest,

We greatly appreciate that you have chosen one of our Resorts as your holiday destination. Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience at our Barceló Bavaro Beach. We greatly appreciate your feedback as it enables us to continue improving and providing our service for our guests.

We also appreciate your personal opinion about the hotel, the staff and the food. We take all guest feedback very seriously, and we're constantly improving all aspects with honesty.

On behalf of our team thank you very much for your review.

We are looking forward to welcome you back pretty soon,

Warms regard,

Sandy Pfeil
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

If you can manage the upgrade to the Premium Club Advantage at the Barceló Bavaro Adults Only. Treat yourself with all the extra amenities. The staff and service is beyond perfection. The Concierge service at the Premium Lounge and all of the staff at the resort are the friendliest were extremely helpful. Special thanks go to Jazmin and Ana. We were at the resort last January and now we have booked another trip in late January, 2014. A 5 star rating for the Barcelo Bavaro Beach Premium is my overall rating. *****. I will see you soon (25 more sleeps)

Robert from the Great White North.

Room Tip: If you want quiet and relaxation stay in the Adult side because the beach is closer. Partiers / Fami...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director Sandy P, General Manager at Barcelo Bavaro Beach, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for selecting Barceló Bavaro Beach for your vacation one more time and sharing your opinion with the online community. We highly appreciate your loyalty to our property.

I am happy to know that you have appreciated the warmth and dedication of our staff members, every time you had stayed with us.

We remain at your entire disposition for any assistance you might need at a future visit.

Looking forward to see you during your next visit,

Sandy Pfeil
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

How bout a pro's and con's list:
Pro's:
The view from the room was great!
The Dominican buffet was pretty good.

Con's:
-The room was small, dated, and we had roaches!!( I took a picture of one)
-The food over all was AWFUL!!! (This point cannot be stressed enough!!!) Even the Resturant's we made reservations for we're sub par!
-There is no drink service on the beach. So if your looking for refreshment of any kind you will have to go to the bar at the pool or the lobby neither of which is a short walk depending on what part of the beach you are on.
-Did I mention the food was AWFUL?
-Id say half of the staff were friendly and helpful the other half not so much. They seemed rather annoyed even when receiving tips.(this I could not figure out).
-If you are a beer drinker u should try to pick up some of your favorite beer at a store on the way in. The only beer they serve on the premises is presidente(Dominican beer), and it's not very good.
-If you are getting the all inclusive deal room service is not included.(just a heads up on that one.)
- Stay out of the casino!!!! I was playing black jack and when the card machine ran out of cards the dealer would take about a 2inch stack off the top of the just used/discarded hands and put them back in the machine to deal. It wasn't till after a couple of us playing mentioned that they should be using all of the discarded cards did they start putting all of the cards back in the machine to be dealt.

I would probably visit the Dominican Republic again, just a different hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director Sandy P, General Manager at Barcelo Bavaro Beach, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear guest,

We thank you for choosing Barceló Bavaro Beach for your holidays and for sharing your experience with the online community and give us your feedback.

I have read thoroughly your comments because they are very important for us as a responsible and professional hotel chain. For us it is very important the experience our guest have about their stay with us. I accept your feedback for continuous improvement in a future stay.

Barceló and its team are working very hard to improve our service on the daily basis.

We hope to give us the opportunity to provide the care and quality you deserve at a future visit.

We remain at your entire disposition for any assistance you might need before your visit.
It’s our goal to retain you as a satisfied customer and will hope to serve you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Sandy Pfeil
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

Was a wonderful holiday food was great and staff were very attentive, thank you to Michele for the quick check- in at 3am.
Would go back in a heart beat. The beach was the best I have seen, the pools where great could have been another swim up bar there was only one!! Did not like that people could smoke anywhere this is my only complaint! There was lots to do for kids as I was with my 2 grand-daughter they had a wonderful time.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director Sandy P, General Manager at Barcelo Bavaro Beach, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear guest,

First of all, allow us to express our gratitude for your nice comments about your stay in Barceló Bavaro Beach Hotel.

I will share your comments with our team, who I am certain will be encouraged by your remarks.

We look forward to host you again for another great vacation,

Warms regard,

Sandy Pfeil
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Barcelo Bavaro Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Bavaro Beach

Address: Playas de Bavaro | PO Box 3177, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#16 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#17 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#18 Business Hotel in Punta Cana
#25 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#30 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo Bavaro Beach 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing on the sands of one of the world’s top 10 beaches, the hotel Barceló Bávaro Beach has been reinvented following extensive renovation work to become an exclusive 5-star hotel for adults. Offering access to all facilities at the Barceló Bávaro Beach Resort complex of which it is part, it has numerous bars and restaurants serving lovingly prepared and varied dishes 24 hours a day in a perfect setting, on Punta Cana’s original Bávaro Beach, at the eastern end of the Dominican Republic.During the day, guests can practise any number of sports, ranging from football, tennis, water sports and golf on our 18-hole course. At night, we offer a wealth of entertainment with the various evening shows, discos, casino, and more... Highlights:- Hotel for adults only - Perfect for romantic getaways. - Located on one of the world’s top 10 beaches - Just 15 km from Punta Cana International Airport - 80% of its rooms are right on the beachfront - Rooms with the highest quality finish and cutting-edge technology - Very varied cuisine - Golf course at the Resort- Spa at the Resort ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Barcelo, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Barcelo Bavaro Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Bavaro Beach Hotel
Barcelo Bavaro Punta Cana
Barcelo Bavaro Beach Punta Cana
Bavaro Beach Hotel
Bavaro Beach Resort
Barcelo Punta Cana Resort
Barcelo Bavaro Beach Resort Punta Cana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barcelo Bavaro Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.