We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time to PC and definitely not the last.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Barcelo Bavaro Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Barcelo Bavaro Beach to your Saves list
Barcelo Bavaro Beach
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carretera Bavaro Km. 1 | PO Box 3177, Punta Cana 23301, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Early booking offer
Ranked #18 of 102 Hotels in Punta Cana
Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“First time to PC and definitely not the last.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Just got back from a 4 night/5 day stay (wish it could have been longer) to celebrate our 24th wedding anniversary. Thanks to all the people on the forums who answered questions, very helpful. First time visiting Punta Cana and I am still in awe. We have been to various adult only AI resorts/chains but this was my favorite destination. We booked a standard room and while it lacked any romantic appeal whatsoever overall it was fine. I would love to return and try for an ocean front club premium suite next time. Key word: next time. We never visit a resort twice and this is one I would consider. We've been to iberostar Grand, Secrets and Excellence in various locations. I will highlight pros and cons. A HUGE shout out to Carlos Mateo at the Mamey lobby bar. Exceptional service, even refused a tip and asked us to give it to the waitress instead even though he was our daytime bartender. Don't let him get away, he's an asset to the resort.

Highlights or pros:
Prepaid $10 tourist card online, awesome!

Get a porter at the airport, he literally took our luggage, handed someone our immigration form (or whatever that was we filled out ahead) and was out the door to our transportation in less than 5 minutes.

Weather was perfect, hot and humid but not one drop of rain!

Chez Gourmet - WOW!! Loved it so much, had 3 out of 4 dinners there. Changed our reservations around. Get the Chateauxbriand, generous portion, beautiful presentation and melted in our mouths. They had a speciality appetizer that varied each night, yum. Tried the Seafood next door, we just were "okay" with it. Service and ambiance at Chez Gourmet, bueno!

Main pool, beautiful. Never a problem finding seats any time of day and the resort was quite busy. For hurricane season supposedly, occupancy was not low IMO.

Get the google translator app. Was able to use it to communicate with our housekeeper and she hooked us up the entire stay. I wish I knew her name. We were in room 3073 from 9/14 through 9/18 if this helps management figure out who was assigned to our room. Was able to personally give her a nice tip from the start.

Beach: whitest sand and clear ocean. Very minimal seaweed and the palm trees are abundant.

We participated in beach volleyball and I did aqua aerobics/Zumba at noon in the ocean. Fun!

Upon arrival we were kind of disappointed in the room. No view, tiny balcony and bare minimum. However I will say management did offer to move us the next day next door to the Palace in an upgraded suite with jacuzzi on balcony. However glad we got to "sleep on it" - after visiting next door and how busy it was we were happy to return to the adult side. The room- bed amazingly comfortable, great soft linens, COLD ac, hot/great water pressure so it was more than adequate and honestly was content. We did hear how nice the rooms were for Club Premium (sold out) so will keep that in mind when booking.

Disco: no one ever mentions it? It's cold (that's a good thing!), HUGE inside with 2 bars and a mega screen that plays videos while the DJ is on. It really picks up the later it gets. If you arrive at 11 when it opens, don't be disappointed or surprised to see only a few people. It really picks up late. Nicest disco of all resorts we've been to.

Cons or maybe suggestions?

Wifi- pain to have to keep logging in. Didn't make it easy as it was a sequence of numbers for login and password. Had to keep my receipt on me at all times to reference back to. It's a shame it didn't keep you logged "in".

Music: the main pool needs to have a bit more lively/volume up a bit music. It was nice to hear the music from the activities on the beach. Doesn't mean it has to be cranked up like it was next door but a few notches up wouldn't hurt.

Room service. Wow, this is something we've had at all adult only resorts. Always 24hrs too. You don't realize until it's not available how much it's appreciated.

Room ambiance. It just lacked that "adult/romance" feel. But see above re the big pluses for the room.

I am sure I am missing a lot on both highlights and suggestions but feel free to PM me and ask away.

Would we return? ABSOLUTELY! I have looked at others for possible visits next year for our 25th and I keep coming back to my pictures and our overall experience and think why change? I do hope to be able to book the Club Premium next year. To me the additional perks seem worth it and what I overheard from other guests it was.

Piña Colada with Barcelo rum, YUM! Had no tummy issues at all from any food or drinks. Made sure we had plenty of bottled water to brush our teeth and for that first starter pot of coffee. Tip: double up the pods for one pot. We like our coffee stronger so it helped.

Room Tip: We were in building 3, basic room - no view but easy walk to main lobby area. Upgraded rooms were so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director Samuel J, General Manager at Barcelo Bavaro Beach, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear guest,

We thank you for choosing Barceló Bávaro Beach for your holidays and for sharing your experience with the online community and give us your feedback.

I would like to thank you for taking the time to bring your observations to our attention since, it is through communications of this nature that we are given an opportunity to assess and evaluate our performance, as well as to ensure that we maintain and deliver the level of service expected from us. Nice way to thank all your comments about our services. Barceló’s team is in continuous improvement for better performance and enjoyment of our customers.

I hope to give us the opportunity to provide the care and quality you deserve at a future visit.
I remain at your entire disposition for any assistance you might need before your visit.

As with any business like ours, the greatest advertising we can have is word of mouth from a satisfied customer. It’s our goal to retain you as a satisfied customer and will hope to serve you again in the future.

Warm regards,

Samuel Johnson
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,363 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,066
    874
    269
    86
    68
See reviews for
303
1,745
124
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (671)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sarajevo
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

My wife and I went to Barcelo Bavaro for our honey moon and it was the best holiday ever! First of all I would underline the hospitality of hosts, all the crew working in resort, especially Ross, Evelyn, Johan and Maritzabel, who speak english fluently and helped us in all issues- dinner reservations, transport to airport and all other small things that makes your vacation even more smoothly.
The restaurants are above the expectations, we tried Italian (maybe the best), Mexican, Santa Fe and Chez Gourmet.
You can choose any kind of coctail you want, Mojito, Caprinha, Sex on the beach and you can participate in making it, you can say how many alcohol or juice to put or whatever, that's no problem for them.
Beach is perfect, smooth sand, palm trees, perfectly clean sea...
High high value for the money we spent.
I would strongly recommend it!

Kenan

Room Tip: Speak freely about anything with the hosts who are working in resort, they will help you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director Samuel J, General Manager at Barcelo Bavaro Beach, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear guest,

We thank you for choosing Barceló Bávaro Beach for your holidays and for sharing your experience with the online community and give us your feedback.

We are very pleased to know you enjoyed all services in our resort especially the Guest Services highlighting the friendliness of our employees, I’m glad you have been enjoying our wonderful services in the complex.

Thank you for your feedback about our employees, it makes us feel very proud to do this job for you. Thanks for choosing us as a destination for you stay.

We remain at your entire disposition for any assistance you might need before your visit.
As with any business like ours, the greatest advertising we can have is word of mouth from a satisfied customer. It’s our goal to retain you as a satisfied customer and will hope to serve you again in the future.

Warm regards,

Samuel Johnson
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Hello! My sister and I visited and stayed at Barcelo Bavaro Beach from September 13-16.

Positives:
We were on the "adults only" side and it was so nice and quiet. They had music going for water aerobics and boats would drive by, but the were not many people and it was very nice. Always chairs available at the beach and pool and we didnt have to wait for anything. The beach and pool are BEAUTIFUL. We are two younger females and were not concerned for our safety at all. My sister arranged airport transfers through the hotel and were 30$ round trip per person. We did a horse back riding excursion along the beach and it was a lot of fun! (Wear jeans!) Take LOTS of sunscreen! We used plenty and still burned and it is super expensive there. The night entertainment was ok, nothing spectacular, and there are plenty of places to sit and lounge and have a few drinks or play pool and table tennis. It was nice to go to the Palace side and eat and walk around. It is much bigger (and crowded and nosier!) and has more shops and all most of the restaurants to eat at. The weather was great. One day was kind of cloudy, the rest sunny with a great ocean breeze!

Negatives: (Not really negative, but just sub-par)
I shouldnt really list food on here beacuse a lot of it was GOOD! If you're going to the Dominican Republic just for food, then you will be disappointed. Other than that it kept us nourished and did the job. We did experience some tummy troubles. I recommend taking some sort of medicine for this with you as we did not which made the flights back kind of rough. The rooms are ok, nothing special, but we didnt care because all we did was sleep there. Ours was on the first floor and we had no issues with noise above.

Other:
We did tip occasionally, especially the bag guys, but other than that we did not. It is considered all inclusive and we left it at that. It is your descretion on whether you want to tip everyone or not.

We had no issues with checking in or out. We did arrive after 4pm though, so our room was ready to go.

Give yourself at least a couple of hours to get to the airport and do all that stuff. It took awhile. To schedule our ride to the airport, all we had to do was go to the office were you make dinner reservations and tell them what day and time you are departing and they will tell you what time someone will pick you up in the lobby. This was part of the round trp transfer we paid for. Easy peasy.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director Samuel J, General Manager at Barcelo Bavaro Beach, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear guest,

We thank you for choosing Barceló Bávaro Beach for your holidays and for sharing your experience with the online community and give us your feedback.

We would like to express you how glad we are to read that your positive valuation about the beauty of our premises, the variety of our gastronomy and the excellent service of our staff.

I would like to thank you for taking the time to bring your observations to our attention since, it is through communications of this nature that we are given an opportunity to assess and evaluate our performance, as well as to ensure that we maintain and deliver the level of service expected from us.

We remain at your entire disposition for any assistance you might need before your visit.

As with any business like ours, the greatest advertising we can have is word of mouth from a satisfied customer. It’s our goal to retain you as a satisfied customer and will hope to serve you again in the future.

Warm regards,

Samuel Johnson
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

Very satisfied with the service, food, and catering. The hotel is excellent and very clean. Great service by the club premium. Anny, Aldeira, and Ross were very helpful and assisted all in our group. Thanks to them and to all the staff. I will return and recommend it to people.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director Samuel J, General Manager at Barcelo Bavaro Beach, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear guest,

We thank you for choosing Barceló Bávaro Beach for your holidays and for sharing your experience with the online community and give us your feedback.

We are very pleased to know you enjoyed all services in our resort especially the Club Premium and Guest Services highlighting the friendliness of our employees, I’m glad you have been enjoying our wonderful services in the complex.

Thank you for your feedback about our employees, it makes us feel very proud to do this job for you. Thanks for choosing us as a destination for you stay.

We remain at your entire disposition for any assistance you might need before your visit.
As with any business like ours, the greatest advertising we can have is word of mouth from a satisfied customer. It’s our goal to retain you as a satisfied customer and will hope to serve you again in the future.

Warm regards,

Samuel Johnson
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

i was spending my holidays in this wonderfull hotel.
the service the workers are teaching in a excelent way.
all around the hotel and the beach is incredible and i spend one of my best holidays there.
if you go there, pay a few more and take the premium category.
you have your own recepcion with incredible people working there.
i can tell you to sk for MRS. ANA HENRIQUEZ...........sweet, smiling and very competitive person.
thanks a lot Ana to help us all the time.

Room Tip: you have two hotels in the same resort............if you are going with KIDS, go to Royal Palace...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director Samuel J, General Manager at Barcelo Bavaro Beach, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear guest,

We thank you for choosing Barceló Bávaro Beach for your holidays and for sharing your experience with the online community and give us your feedback.

We are very pleased to know you enjoyed all services in our resort especially the Club Premium Services highlighting the friendliness of our employees, I’m glad you have been enjoying our wonderful services in the complex.

Thank you for your feedback about our employees, it makes us feel very proud to do this job for you. Thanks for choosing us as a destination for you stay.

We remain at your entire disposition for any assistance you might need before your visit.
As with any business like ours, the greatest advertising we can have is word of mouth from a satisfied customer. It’s our goal to retain you as a satisfied customer and will hope to serve you again in the future.

Warm regards,
Samuel Johnson
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guatemala City, Guatemala
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

the hotel is a very comfortable property with all the amenities you need for a wonderful vacation. The employees were very friendly and extremelly helpfull, specially Evelyn Ramirez and Ramona Pereira who are incharge of guest services.

If you want to relax and have a peaceful vacation this is the perfect hotel to spend your vacations.

The people on the Club Premium, Mabel Geronimo y Daliza Gonzalez were very friendly also.
The food is very good and the waiters and managers are very nice. Housekeppind department are very efficient and keep the rooms clean and are willing to help you in anything you need.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director Samuel J, General Manager at Barcelo Bavaro Beach, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Dear guest,

We thank you for trusting in Barceló Bávaro Beach for your holidays and for sharing your experience with the online community and give us your feedback.

We would like to express you how glad we are to read that your positive valuation about the beauty of our premises, the variety of our gastronomy and the excellent service of our staff.
Thank you for your feedback about our employees, it makes us feel very proud to do this job for you. Thanks for choosing us as a destination for you stay. For us is very important the experience our guest have about their stay with us.

We remain at your entire disposition for any assistance you might need before your visit.
As with any business like ours, the greatest advertising we can have is word of mouth from a satisfied customer. It’s our goal to retain you as a satisfied customer and will hope to serve you again in the future.

Warm regards,

Samuel Johnson
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Region Metropolitana, Chile
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

I travel all around the world working as sport journalist So after Davis Cup in Sto Domingo i decided to rest en Domenican Republic. I found Barcelo Bavaro Beach for adults and had great experience. Guest services office with evelyn and Ramona heped me always as i needed.
every thing ws cool and i could have 4 fantastic days to sleep at the beach, in the pool have little party, practice tennis.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director Samuel J, General Manager at Barcelo Bavaro Beach, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Dear guest,

We thank you for trusting in Barceló Bávaro Beach for your holidays and for sharing your experience with the online community and give us your feedback.

We would like to express you how glad we are to read that your positive valuation about the beauty of our premises, the variety of our gastronomy and the excellent service of our staff.
Thank you for your feedback about our employees, it makes us feel very proud to do this job for you. Thanks for choosing us as a destination for you stay. For us is very important the experience our guest have about their stay with us.

We remain at your entire disposition for any assistance you might need before your visit.
As with any business like ours, the greatest advertising we can have is word of mouth from a satisfied customer. It’s our goal to retain you as a satisfied customer and will hope to serve you again in the future.

Warm regards,

Samuel Johnson
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Barcelo Bavaro Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Bavaro Beach

Address: Carretera Bavaro Km. 1 | PO Box 3177, Punta Cana 23301, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#14 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#15 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#25 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#30 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo Bavaro Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 589
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Barcelo Bavaro Beach - Adults Only*****hotel is located on one of the 10 best beaches in the world, in the Punta Cana area of the Dominican Republic. This dreamy hotel has reinvented itself after a complete renovation to become an exclusive hotel for adults only. The hotel offers first class rooms 80% of which are located right on the beachfront. This makes it the most perfect place for a romantic getaway. Enjoy the exquisite range of cuisine on offer at the hotel through the Barcelo All Inclusive Programme with its Caribbean Buffet, Chez Gourmet and La Brisa restaurants; 9 a-la-carte restaurant options: Chez Gourmet (international), La Brisa (Mediterranean), El Coral (fish and seafood), Santa Fe (meat), La Dolce Vita (Italian), Mexico Lindo (Mexican), La Fuente (Spanish), Kyoto (Japanese) and La Comedie (Gourmet - additional charge except for Club Premium guests). Visit the facilities where you can find different options to fill your days: football pitch, tennis court, swimming pool, golf course, water sports, wellness centre, theatre and casino. This exclusive resort set on a virgin beach welcomes you with a cocktail, spoils you with drinks by the pool and offers you a 45 minute hydrothermal circuit, per person once during your stay. There are also 2 massage beds in the pool area (at an additional charge). Staying at this hotel also grants guests access to the facilities of the Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe, a hotel which shares some of its services and facilities. This hotel is one of the very few in the country that boasts the international BLUE FLAG for compliance with the standards required by the non-profit non-governmental organisation the Foundation for Environmental Education (FEE). Come and rediscover the marvels the Barcelo Bavaro Beach - Adults Only***** hotel has to offer! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Barcelo, Expedia, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Barcelo Bavaro Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Bavaro Beach Hotel
Barcelo Bavaro Punta Cana
Barcelo Bavaro Beach Punta Cana
Bavaro Beach Hotel
Bavaro Beach Resort
Barcelo Punta Cana Resort
Barcelo Bavaro Beach Resort Punta Cana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barcelo Bavaro Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.