We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Save yourself a terrible expensive time” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Barcelo Bavaro Beach

Save Saved
You added Barcelo Bavaro Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Barcelo Bavaro Beach
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Playas de Bavaro | PO Box 3177, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 100 hotels in Punta Cana
boyfrombrooklyn
1 review
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Save yourself a terrible expensive time”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Pros: some nice (overworked)staff
cons: where to begin
1. Drinks suck. Cheap undrinkable wine at dinner. Red and white. None of the sodas taste right especially the mixers. Tonic water is nasty. They try to make you pay for top shelf and bottles of wine. Screw that.
2. Walls are paper thin. Impossible to rest. Noisy. Ghetto atmosphere. How bout a non-smoking building. Rooms are barely okay and cleaned late in day and difficult to get towels.
3. Need reservation for all a la carte dining. That means you need to know what and when you want to eat when you arrive. NOT relaxing. And food is FAIR at best. Buffets are disgusting.
4. Activities are a joke and far from the center of hotel. Motor boats and ghetto drinking cruises pollute the beach with noise - ALL DAY. No rest. Ever.
5. Checking in takes forever and they screwed up my request.

Room Tip: Pick another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,597 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,558
    692
    222
    71
    54
See reviews for
246
1405
86
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (559)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
(Qc) St-Jean-Sur-Richelieu
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We have been there on december 22 til 29 2012. Usually we go to Barcelo in Riviera Maya. But this year we tried something cheaper. But I never tought that cheaper will mean such an experience. We booked a room on the second floor, but once there they could not fullfil our request. The service sucks, you always after them for getting, beer, wine etc. They will not come and serve you. The drinks are not that good and they do not put enough alcohol, you need to ask for a diuble or triple shot. The wine is terrible!!! The coffee that they serve is also terrible!!! In Cuba the coffee was excellent, the best I never had and it was cheaper. Note that there is a golf on the resort, and many golfers wakeup at 5h00 AM and they talk very loud and will wake you up because the walls are so thin, you hear everybody. I will never go there again and I do not recommend it. If you can afford it, go to the Barcelo in Riviera Maya mexico!

Room Tip: Avoid room 5001, the toilet malfunction and we lost 2 hours with the plumber.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perrysburg, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We went for our honeymoon in December and had an absolutely fantastic time. Part of the reason our trip was so great was due to our upgrade to the Club Premium package---this will be a must when we return. We received extra special treatment and had access to anything and everything with our Club Premium bracelets. The spot is beautiful, we had a balcony room right on the beach and it was worth it. We were extremely pleased, but there were some negatives we noticed:

-Slow service at the buffet getting drinks, sometimes we would go almost the whole meal without receiving any water from the staff
-Buffet food never changed much, pretty bland
-Although alcohol included due to all inclusive package, drinks were pretty weak
-Their dacquiri's are served without alcohol, you must specify you want it with rum. This was a disappointment after we spent an entire day drinking them before we realized they didn't have any liquor in them (yes, we were looking for a little buzz!)

Nonetheless, we were so pleased and would love to go back. The restaurants that you go to for dinner each night are great (especially the Japanese and French restaurants). This resort is off on it's own which is nice--other resorts we passed appeared to be right in the middle of towns with questionable surroundings. Friendly staff, but we did struggle with the language barrier a little bit. Since we were on our honeymoon we received a free dinner on the beach ($300 value)--if you are going for a honeymoon do this! It was extremely romantic, you get great service, and is a fun memory for my husband and myself. We weren't sure if we would even like it when we scheduled it but were so glad after the fact.

Overall, a great time and we didn't want to leave!

Room Tip: Go for the Club Premium OceanFront Room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

This was my first tropical holiday and the only good part of this resort was the beach. We stayed in the Adults only area and the beaches were never overcrowed and always kept clean. I would never go back and if I could I would ask for my money back. The food was horrible and was hungry for most of the week we were there. We tried a couple of the al a carte restaraunts and was disgusted. The steak I'm sure was not beef from the steak house and the seafood one was just as bad. I was looking so forward to the seafood at this resort but our cheap Red Lobster in Canada is a thousand times better. I realized half way through the stay that they just wipe out your room glasses with rags and the sheets were only changed 1 time it was disgusting. Its hot and humid so you sweat at nite so clean sheets daily would have been nice. We just about had to beg for clean towels on a daily basis. The language barrier is incredible even at the front desk we had difficulties communicating what we needed it was very frustrating. After realizing how they cleaned our room I looked at utensils before eating and everytime for 4 days I had to wipe them off with my napkin before eating it was gross having to clean your utensils before eating every meal. We tipped for every drink and meal but that did not improve our service so I would not waste your money tipping at this resort. We only did one excursion because I was so disgusted with the garbage EVERYWHERE outside of the resort. We went on the dune buggies and ended up going through mud that was mixed with their sewage waste running into ditches and were bombarded by peddlers at every stop which was very annoying and took away from the whole excursion. Do not waste your money we spent 4500 to stay 1 week here and I have never felt so ripped off before. I will never travel there again and will tell everyone I know not to go there. We are both still sick from our stay there which makes it even worse. We had a noon check out and our bus didnt come to pick us up until 6 pm which was very inconvient they leave your luggage sit out in the front lobby for 6 hours unless you insist on it being but into a luggage room. This is suppose to be a 4 star hotel in canada the food and service and rooms would be a 2 star in Canada I'm pretty sure the budget hotel in Canada is cleaner than the rooms at this resort. The drinks had maybe half ounce of booze in them but no more. What a waste of money!
Being Canadian we are sometime over polite so it was stunning to see and experience how rude some peope were 4 out of 5 of the french speaking tourist were extremely rude I dont even know how to discribe the level of rudness.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

There was a long lineup of tourists when we arrived at the airport. It took 2 hours from getting off the plane to leaving the airport on the bus. After a week at the resort, these are my main observations:

The good:
• Fresh towels and drink upon arrival at the resort, and small bottle of rum in the room as promised by Transat
• Quiet, compact and clean resort, beautiful beach
• Clear blue water (some weeds, but not enough to bother); the beach was cleaned every day
• Nice pool area, with water beds; sometimes hard to get chairs by the pool but apparently the resort was 100% booked
• There are a few sun beds available for early risers
• On Christmas Eve and Christmas Day, The Grinch and Santa Claus visited the beach posing for photos. Santa even gave away some small gifts. This was fun.
• Plenty of comfy chairs and sofas in the lobby and the lobby-bar
• Less bugs than in other tropical locations (but saw a couple of roaches in the room)
• Christmas dinner was very good
• Very good real fresh juices (orange, grapefruit, melon, watermelon) and milkshakes every morning
• Coffee machines dispensing specialty coffees (cappuccino, mochaccino etc.) at the buffet; usually long lineups
• Good dessert station, especially the crepes (served by friendly Gabriel)
• Amazing carvings decorated the buffet area
• Had a la carte dinners at the Steakhouse and Chez Gourmet, and they were both good
• Friendly staff everywhere
• Management walks around all the time to check and make sure everything is ok
• There are pool tables and tennis tables available
• There is a church on site (at the Palace Deluxe side)
• The walkway to the Palace is covered all the way – this was much appreciated as it rained for quite a bit

Could be better:
• Could use some plastic tables on the beach
• Tubs plugged; stayed in 2 different rooms, and the drains didn’t work in either one; by the time you are done with the shower, you stand in soapy water over your ankles
• Little variation in food from day to day; tried the buffet at the Palace Deluxe one evening, and it seemed better
• Did not receive good service at La Brisa restaurant
• Entertainment is weak
• Drinks don’t have much alcohol
• Couldn’t make the remote control for the TV work, even after getting new batteries
• Housekeeping not great, even with tips left in the room every day

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

I don't even know where you begin, from the moment we arrived at the hotel we were greeted with amazing kindness! We had no issue checking in and every single person was willing to help us with WHATEVER we needed. The hotel itself is as perfect as the pictures portray it! From the tall mesmerizing palm trees, the crystal clear water and soft white sand, to the optimistic and grateful staff. Miguel the one man show always keeps the energy going! Yissell Esmeralda at guest services was absolutely a pleasure to deal with and made us feel at home. Abrahan at the La Brisa restaurant gave us a night to remember with one of our favourite A'la Carte dinners. Once again great service and a great atmosphere with a gourmet dinner right in front of the ocean. Everyone plays a vital role in making this resort an amazing vacation from the front desk staff, bartenders, maids, servers, cooks, security, lifeguards, and entertainers. This is definitely recommended for couples and friends! We can not wait to go back again and again!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

My husband and I traveled to Barcelo Bavaro Beach for 5 nights. We loved it! We are already considering returning with a group of friends in the spring. For the price (we spent about $1,200 USD per person - after Premium upgrade - for hotel and flight), it is an exceptional value.

FYI: When I refer to my experience here, I intermix Beach (adults only) with Premium Deluxe (families), 2 separate but sister resorts. Since Beach guests get full access to Premium Deluxe, it was really like one big resort. They are all located on the same vast grounds so you can barely tell when you move from the central Premium to the Beach area towards the end.

When you book: Upgrade to an oceanfront room. The view was amazing, the breeze when we opened the door was wonderful and you get extra perks (free dinner at the French specialty restaurant at Palace Deluxe, special guest services, free massage, and on and on).

Rooms: We stayed in the 6000 Beach block on the 2nd floor. They are a tad outdated but clean and the bed is comfortable. Honestly, the average-ness of the rooms is my biggest complaint and that's mute because we barely spent any time in the room since the resort is so gorgeous and had so much to do.

Food: The food here is a lot better than most all-inclusives. Lots of choices. Favorite was the fresh pasta bar at the buffet on the Beach side and La Comedie (French restaurant) on the Palace side which you get free if you upgrade your room to Premium. If you like coffee (or cigars or rum) definitely visit the Coffee, Cigar, Rum lounge.

Beach: AMAZING! Since it's on a lagoon the waves are soft, the sand is perfect, the water so blue. Seriously one of the most beautiful, serene beaches I've seen.

Pools: Some of the cleanest I've seen and lots of them.

Activities: Lots to do. Free ocean kayaking and mini catamaran/sailboating by yourself. Dancing and aerobics on the beach. Volleyball on beach. Minigolf, lasertag, waterpark, disco, shows. It's all included. Plenty of things to do if sunbathing isn't your thing - but it's not overwhelming, in your face, which is nice.

Grounds: Pristine. Absolutely amazing. Beach (adults only) side is relaxing and quieter but still fun and Palace (families) side is bustling and energetic. People complain about the vastness of the resort but we liked it. It was a 7 minute stroll from where most all the attractions were at Palace to our room at Beach (much needed after all the food we ate). If you have problems walking or kids, get a room at Palace close to the pool. Very safe, never had a question about my safety.

Service: Service at the bars is just fine considering these people don't work for tips. The drinks are weak (spike your drink with the bottle of rum you get free in your room if you upgrade to Premium) - but it's like this in most all-inclusives. We liked the margaritas and beer the best. The staff is always friendly and helpful. Just don't expect them to get you a drink at the drop of the hat - they don't work for tips. And the specialty restaurants could have slow services sometimes, but that was because they were packed. But again, the staff was helpful, respectful and friendly.

Room Tip: Upgrading to an oceanfront room, in my opinion, is worth it. You get extra perks, too. We stayed i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Barcelo Bavaro Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Bavaro Beach

Address: Playas de Bavaro | PO Box 3177, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#16 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#17 Business Hotel in Punta Cana
#25 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#30 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo Bavaro Beach 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing on the sands of one of the world’s top 10 beaches, the hotel Barceló Bávaro Beach has been reinvented following extensive renovation work to become an exclusive 5-star hotel for adults. Offering access to all facilities at the Barceló Bávaro Beach Resort complex of which it is part, it has numerous bars and restaurants serving lovingly prepared and varied dishes 24 hours a day in a perfect setting, on Punta Cana’s original Bávaro Beach, at the eastern end of the Dominican Republic.During the day, guests can practise any number of sports, ranging from football, tennis, water sports and golf on our 18-hole course. At night, we offer a wealth of entertainment with the various evening shows, discos, casino, and more... Highlights:- Hotel for adults only - Perfect for romantic getaways. - Located on one of the world’s top 10 beaches - Just 15 km from Punta Cana International Airport - 80% of its rooms are right on the beachfront - Rooms with the highest quality finish and cutting-edge technology - Very varied cuisine - Golf course at the Resort- Spa at the Resort ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Barcelo, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Venere, BookingOdigeoWL, Booking.com, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Barcelo Bavaro Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Bavaro Beach Hotel
Barcelo Bavaro Punta Cana
Barcelo Bavaro Beach Punta Cana
Bavaro Beach Hotel
Bavaro Beach Resort
Barcelo Punta Cana Resort
Barcelo Bavaro Beach Resort Punta Cana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barcelo Bavaro Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.