We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unforgettable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Barcelo Bavaro Beach - Adults Only

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Barcelo Bavaro Beach - Adults Only to your Saves list
Barcelo Bavaro Beach - Adults Only
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carretera Bavaro Km. 1 | PO Box 3177, Punta Cana 23301, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 35% discount
Ranked #24 of 98 Hotels in Punta Cana
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Unforgettable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

This vacation was pure bliss. We enjoyed every moment of every minute at the Resort. The adults only side is fabolous and is great for a real vacation. No kids, no noise, just adults and personal service from the staff. We were so loved by the staff especially Yunior Rosario who mostly worked in the Buffet Caribe. His attention and detail towards us were excellent and professional. We were able to cross over to the Palace Deluxe and it was just as beautiful. It was more of a family setting and we didn't really want to hear kids running and stuff because we really wanted to just relax but, we did enjoy the amneties so we our thankful we were able to use it. Everything was always clean and the food was GREAT! the A La Carte restaurants were so impressive. The service by the pool was great! They would come up to us every 10 minutes to make sure we didn't want another beverage or if we needed anything. This resort truly makes you feel special and as if you are a king or queen. Thank you Barcelo Bavaro Beach! My family and I had the best vacation we have been on.

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms are way bigger and nicer. The Junior suites are also connecting rooms and are beaut...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,477
    1,096
    343
    114
    81
See reviews for
383
2,196
144
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (837)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Just got back from the BBB : one large, super clean and impressive resort! Site, beach, theater, disco and casino we are all great. Food was good except one bad experience at La Brisa. The best thing at the BBB : friendliness of the staff, mostly of Alexandra at the front desk who helped and entertained us with her nice smile! Golf is 8/10, better than the Cocotal at the Melia. Negative thing : noise from the staff cleaning the rooms is starting early and you can hear them in the corridor from your room. With that big of a resort, there is a way to be in the action or somewhere more quiet. Thanks to all the staff for that very nice week!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Rooms: spacious but dated, super clean
Food: Most of the reserved dinners were at the Palace Deluxe, we didnt have a bad meal , nothing was amazing though but it was decent. My fav was the Mexican
Beach: The beach was nice, cleaned daily
Drinks: Long line ups at the bar, drinks were yummy not over poured like some of my previous experiences
Night Life: Disco was awesome same music nightly but fun(palace deluxe side), shows were well done on both sides, Casino slot machines kept eating my money

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

My 2 best friends and I had a fantastic vacation at this Resort. And everyone who worked at the Resort helped make it wonderful. We were there in early Nov. which was perfect because it wasn't overcrowded. Always a chair open by the beach or pool. I loved walking up and down the beach every day, it just went on and on. The buffet was decent but the sister hotel buffet at The Palace Deluxe was better and easy to get to with the provided transportation. The service was very good, everyone was there to help you for whatever you might need. Rosario in the VIP area took very good care of us and made sure our needs were met and always with a smile. We were also taken very good care of by Mabel and Jackarya, they are very nice and professional. I also have to make sure to mention that Luna our bellman also took very good care of us when needed, such a nice man. Housekeeping also did a very good job and made sure to restock the mini fridge. I always leave tips for them, they work so hard. The one excursion we took that was booked through the Resort was taking a catamaran to go snorkeling. It was a 4 hour package that also included lunch and tons of fun in the sun & water and they got you up and dancing too! This is where we will stay again when we come back!

Room Tip: If you can afford to upgrade to a Superior Room Oceanfront view I highly recommend it and I would al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Our trip started as all do, the check in desk. Here I was greeted by what has to date become the most pleasant staff member I have ever had the pleasure of meeting,her name is Alexandra! I travel a lot and have come across some of the most disgruntled employees imaginable, Barcelo has none. The check in desk is the heart of the resort you will pass it every day of your stay. Alexandra is pleasant, knowledgeable, friendly, upbeat, helpful, and bilingual. The resort is beautiful, we stayed in the very last wing 4000+ the view was quite nice given it was not ocean front. The rooms are super clean beds are super comfortable and the AC will freeze your butt off! Plenty of resturants to choose from plus two buffets. You won't be disappointed. Book your trip and be sure to ask for Alexandra her charming personality and warm smile are sure to complete your stay!

Room Tip: Ocean front gets you VIP status
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

I have nothing but amazing things to say about the Barcelona Bavaro Beach Resort. The service is amazing, as is the hotel, and the location. If you do not enjoy screaming children make sure to book at the adults only Bavaro Beach. Booking here gives you access to the entire complex, Bavaro Beach and the Palace Delude. The complex is very clean and secure as are the rooms. A word to the wise, purchase the Club Premium. The additional befits far out way the cost, well worth it. When you check in and have the Club Premium remember to talk to Joanna. She can and will make your stay amazing. Our 10 day stay in absolute paradise was thanks to Joanna, the Club Premium staff, all of the servers, all of the staff, the amazing hotel, the epic location, and the rum. Thank you all so much and I hope to be back as soon as I can.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

My spouse and I were part of a group that attended the Barcelo resort the week of the 11th of November, 2012. We were all booked into the Palace Deluxe but arrived to find that most of us had been moved to the Beach! However, that is another story involving Air Transat in Canada and an unsympathetic front desk manager at Palace Deluxe! For now I will limit my remarks to the entire Barcelo complex.

Everything as far as traveling and customs etc, went fine, no long delays or holdups. We stayed in one of the blocks at the Barcelo Beach. The room was okay, lots of hot water, cleaned well every day and the mini bar restocked.

The "Beach" side is definitely a lot quieter than the Palace Deluxe. There was never any problem finding a seat (in the shade if you wanted) either by the poolside or on the beach. I love my kids but sometimes its nice to get away and not hear other people's kids yelling, crying, whining, etc, so in that respect the Beach is the way to go. We had ample opportunity to head over to the Palace Deluxe side to socialize with our friend's children.

Any staff member that we dealt with seemed willing to assist and even with our limited Spanish we were able to communicate our desires easily. The staff really appreciate your attempts to speak Spanish and you should certainly not expect everyone to be fluent in English, after all, it is a Spanish speaking country!

We had full access to the Palace Deluxe side. We ate at five a la cartes, Sante Fe steakhouse, Kyoto Japanese restaurant, Fuente Mexican, Chez Gourmet international, and La Dolce Vita Italian. All were good although only the Chez Gourmet was actually at the Beach. My spouse liked the Mexican the best while I liked Chez Gourmet (very fancy). We had to pay 30 USD to eat at the Japanese restaurant as we were not registered at Palace Deluxe, not sure why. The buffets at both resorts were typical. Ate once at La Brisas buffet at the Palace Deluxe Junior Suites area and while it was a bit smaller it was fine too. Strikers sports bar is a 24 hour bar at Palace Deluxe which also offers a limited 24 hour buffet. I didn't meet anyone brave enough to try the hotdogs but there were lots of other offerings!

For the most part, waits at the bars for service were fairly short if they existed at all. Premium liquor is available but if you're just there for the sun and fun the local liquors will do it for you!

Beaches were very nice, much better than the north side of the island. Five out of seven days were green flags.


We did two excursions. The first was zip lining booked through the hotel (89 USD per person). It was called Canopy and it did not disappoint us. There were fifteen platforms and this company seemed very safety conscious. Our second excursion was booked through a guy on the beach just at the marketplace where the resort ends. I forget his name but he was originally from Halifax. The excursion was on dune buggies and we were able to barter the price down significantly than from what the hotel offered. This trip was with "Wild Tiger" and was a blast! Expect to get dirty but also opportunities to get clean at Macao Beach and in a pool of water at the bottom of a cave (kind of!). Well worth the 50 USD per person!

Overall, other than the mix up by Air Transat, this was a good trip. I would most likely not go back as we like to try different places and experience new things. However, some people like to stay at the same place and for those persons I would give this resort a thumbs up.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Barcelo Bavaro Beach - Adults Only? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Bavaro Beach - Adults Only

Address: Carretera Bavaro Km. 1 | PO Box 3177, Punta Cana 23301, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#13 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#19 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#23 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#25 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#30 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo Bavaro Beach - Adults Only 4*
Number of rooms: 589
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Barcelo Bavaro Beach - Adults Only*****hotel is located on one of the 10 best beaches in the world, in the Punta Cana area of the Dominican Republic. This dreamy hotel has reinvented itself after a complete renovation to become an exclusive hotel for adults only. The hotel offers first class rooms 80% of which are located right on the beachfront. This makes it the most perfect place for a romantic getaway. Enjoy the exquisite range of cuisine on offer at the hotel through the Barcelo All Inclusive Programme with its Caribbean Buffet, Chez Gourmet and La Brisa restaurants; 9 a-la-carte restaurant options: Chez Gourmet (international), La Brisa (Mediterranean), El Coral (fish and seafood), Santa Fe (meat), La Dolce Vita (Italian), Mexico Lindo (Mexican), La Fuente (Spanish), Kyoto (Japanese) and La Comedie (Gourmet - additional charge except for Club Premium guests). Visit the facilities where you can find different options to fill your days: football pitch, tennis court, swimming pool, golf course, water sports, wellness centre, theatre and casino. This exclusive resort set on a virgin beach welcomes you with a cocktail, spoils you with drinks by the pool and offers you a 45 minute hydrothermal circuit, per person once during your stay. There are also 2 massage beds in the pool area (at an additional charge). Staying at this hotel also grants guests access to the facilities of the Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe, a hotel which shares some of its services and facilities. This hotel is one of the very few in the country that boasts the international BLUE FLAG for compliance with the standards required by the non-profit non-governmental organisation the Foundation for Environmental Education (FEE). Come and rediscover the marvels the Barcelo Bavaro Beach - Adults Only***** hotel has to offer! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Barcelo, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com and Travelocity so you can book your Barcelo Bavaro Beach - Adults Only reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Bavaro Beach Hotel
Barcelo Bavaro Punta Cana
Barcelo Bavaro Beach Punta Cana
Bavaro Beach Hotel
Bavaro Beach Resort
Barcelo Punta Cana Resort
Barcelo Bavaro Beach Resort Punta Cana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barcelo Bavaro Beach - Adults Only, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.